IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

gals,
i'm already having swollen feet at 17 weeks... had it for the whole week and yesterday was quite bad that i find it painful to walk or stand... i'm starting to wear those socks that helps circulation... anything that i can eat or drink to help reduce the water retention?

Hi fresh,
then wait and see the detail scan results first. So the blood test is not accurate at all, we can just ignore it. Meanwhile stay positive and relax till the scan.

hi maggie mee,
congrats on hearing the heartbeat.

hi eskimobaby,
i also had water retention swollen leg since 2nd trimester. Just need to drink lots of water and elevate feet whenever possible. But though i have been doing this, still swollen feet but certain days when i wake up, slightle less swollen, only gets worse at the evening time.

eskimobaby.... yeah i also think so .... most likely i will take the test... to see if im at high risk... wow.... so manu hurdle to cross... these 9 months really not easy for us.... but im sure we will make it!!

lina... thanks....

hi eskimobaby,
still about the same in 3rd trimester and very stiff to walk or bend the ankle area. I find that walking around does help relief some retention. This swollen could also occur on hands and face for some people.

Hi Fresh,

I did my 1st trimester scan at SSR too. The one at Camdem Medical Centre right? My gyna referred me there cos he doesnt do detail scan due to the high no. of pts he has.

Dun worry, u'll b in good hand cos Prof Ananda is very experience and his nurse is v friendly.

Hello familiar ladies,
Most of u migrated here. Would like to join this tread too.

Just saw Fresh's posting about her OSCAR. Just want to say to u u that twins usually, they are more conservative. My friend's twins also, scan results also very low. She did not go for amnio and took the risk. Both turn out fine. However, for maggie mee, since have family history then better to to go for OSCAR 1st for peace of mind.

While I have a different set of problem here. I have been spotting on and off since wk 7. Went to GP and ask for progesterone support, he don't give as he said after preggy nothing to be given, if bleeding and cramp then go emergency. By that time, too late already I think. So I ask to see a gynae, he said too early for one. Waiting to go for another scan next week and see how things go. Feeling so helpless that I can only pray everything is ok. It is really not easy to get through especially the 1st tri.

bubbybear,
whr did u do ur ivf? try to make appt wif dat gynae. or go bk to dat ivf centre & insist to be reviewed by ivf gynae. see if u can get progesterone support

juju78
Its a long story. I'm in AU, so its a different system. This pregnancy is natural, conceived in between my ivf treatment, so can't go back to ivf Dr. To see gynae, need GP referral. So I'm kinda stuck, meanwhile can only wait wk by wk lor. Sometimes, feel system is better in spore.

Orangey
To calculate wks just count from the day of your last period. In ivf, u will know when u ovulate so EDD is usually 40 wks(full term for singleton, 37 wks for twins etc etc). The scan will roughly estimate whether bb is growing in acceptable range according to age.

bubbybear,
i see... try to rest more. like wat lina said, if is brownish or pinkish spotting, dun nid to worry. dat will be old blood.

orangey,
ur ER date is alrdy 2 wks preggy. can count frm thr, the link provided by lina also quite accurate!

Lina and Juju,
Thanks! Means now I'm 11 weeks! :D
If I calculate according to my latest scan, I'm also 11 weeks just that sometimes you will realised that the est weeks differ with diff scans so got abit confused. Thanks both of you!

orangey,
jus now i went to the link & keyed in my ER. the given EDD is the same day which jodie was born! so coincidental!

Juju,
Wow!!! My EDD according to that link is 12-Apr but my Scan shows 10-Apr. Keke.. Diff of 2 days lor.. but Tuesday went to KK24hrs cause of pelvic discomfort then scan shows 11-Apr.. So abit worried lor.. Wondering if thats normal for EDD to jump 1 or 2 days.

juju,
Oh! So just 1 day diff.. can share your KKH bill?
You stayed in A1 ward right, if I recall correctly. My sister just got conceived also and we were discussing about KKH bill. She was saying KKH bill like quite ex now, about the same as TMC. She's deciding to choose between KKH or TMC.

My friend who also recently conceived seeing Dr Adrian Woodworth who delivers in TMC and his antenatal package is very good. $550 for unlimited sessions starting from your first visit till delivery. Vitamins and supplements are not included but if you compare to KKH, its so much cheaper. I'm seeing Dr Loh in TPS and per visit already $100 excluding vitamins and supplements.

orangey,
my kkh bill ah... need to dig it out. give me time ya?
if going tps & delivering at A1 ward, think is more ex than going tmc. heard tmc can opt for 4-bedded & usu get free upgrade to 2-bedded, dunno how true.
how come u r paying more than $100 per visit?
hmm... if u dun hv civil servant discounts, take up their FAST scheme, at least can get a $100 kkh pharmacy discount voucher after delivery.

Juju,
Sure.. take your time

Yah lor... DH not civil servant so cant use the CSC card which is why it is on the high side.. but actually nurse told me the consultation is just $5 more than Clinic D. She says in every clinic, first pregnancy will be charged at 1st visit price then subsequently 2nd visit price.
If go Clinic D, must go AMC/ADC to do scan but if go TPS scan is done by Dr Loh.

My sis told me when she delivered at KKH in 2007, also taking consultation at TPS. Her bills were about 3K+ - Natural with Epi. My friend who went TMC says she was given a package of $3000 (c-sect and 2 bedded) without doc pro fees and neonatal fees.

Thanks, Lina and juju. Yah, mine is brown, but it must have been red at some point before it turns brown. What I can get from GP is only mc and only ask me to rest more. Can only take it wk by wk. I think I must have strain myself when I was moving house as didn't know I was pregnant.

So, do u all experience it at somem point too ?

GP says its very common in 1st tri. But also scared that all m/c also happen with spotting.

Hi orangey,
is ok about EDD as most people don't deliver exactly on EDD. A few days difference is alright. But good thing about us doing ivf is that the EDD is very accurate, unlike natural pregnancy, most gynae could only guess base on the last menses first day but again the ovulation date for different ladies could still varies, so not very correct.

One of my friend also with Dr Adrian but she don't quite like his attitude. He does not talk much and unless my friend ask him question, then he will answer. But don't base on this as is individual experience. My friend consultation package might be cheap but she has induce followed by emergency c-section. The cost went up to 8K (lots of hidden cost such as duration of operation room, medication, etc). So do remind your sister that the delivery charges of thomson will still be ex.

hi bubbybear,
do take care, if brown is alright. Continue to take mc, just rest well during 1st trimester (the most crucial).

orangey,
if normal situation there's not much difference between kkh bills and other pte hosp bills... but if there are complications then there'll be a difference... if we are with kkh in the beginning, we can downgrade easily during complications so that hosp bills not so alarming... but if at pte hosp and transfer to kkh for treatments, the bill will still be considered as pte patient bill... this is the difference i know of from my colleagues who chose kkh to deliver

i have the csc card but for me there's no special discount... only thing is i can claim up to $350 for outpatient bills only... i just signed up for the fast scheme... $480 and when deliver there's a $100 voucher to spend at pharmacy...

juju,
can the fast scheme be use to claim for the detailed scan at 20wks?

bubbybear,
if u see red, is red. if see brown, is brown. dun think so much. i din have brown or light pink discharge in 1st tri. jus try to rest more.

orangey,
heard some may09 mummies share dat dr adrian kinda pro c sect. dunno how true also. maybe can chk out the thread discussing abt him.

eskimobaby,
i remember bliss ever told me if sign up for FAST scheme, cannot make use of CSC claim. think need her to come online to verify this.
basically, $480 is the first deposit. as u go for appts & use up this money, need to top-up the amount in ur FAST scheme "account". after u deliver, they will give you $100 voucher to use at kkh pharmacy. but i only got mine quite some time later...
nope, cannot use for detailed scan. i could only use FAST scheme to see gynae inside TPS. GTT & all other tests have to pay by cash/card.

my kkh bill :

(1) total delivery bill - $2,978.40
(2) Antenatal claim - $1,597.61
total amt - $4,576.01

(3) deposit made during bed booking (A1) - $2,030
(4) Medisave deducted - $1,812.84
(5) antenatal claim deducted - $1,597.61

received a refund of $864.44 in cheque.

juju,
ic... yeah i know cannot use csc for fast scheme... cos i almost use up the $350 this yr so decided to go for the fast scheme... but was thinking of after i use up the $480 can i stop cos when next yr start i will have another $350 to claim under the csc again... if not every time i go see GP i can only claim $10 from the $350...

wat is the antenatal claim? is it benefits from ur company? did u opt for the premier pkg where gynae is with u throughout? there's 2 pkg for A1 rite? premier and classic?

the different charges i paid during preggie...

FTS scan, pkg C (scan & blood test done on different days) - paid $384.99

1st consult wif dr loh @ tps + routine test + obimin + dha - $173.47

20 wks detailed scan - $85.60

follow-up consult wif dr loh @ tps + routine test + obimin + dha - $147.79

follow-up consult wif dr loh @ tps + routine test - $75.97

eskimobaby,
not sure whether u can continue to claim frm CSC next year.
but, if u terminate FAST scheme, u r not eligible for the vouchers liao. u can only get the vouchers if u r still wif FAST scheme when u deliver. any balance in FAST scheme, they will refund u via cheque.

antenatal claim is from govt as part of medisave claim, i think. kkh did all the paperwork, in this sense. nothing frm my company, not so generous. i can't even claim for my consultations.

erm... i took up the premier hospitalisation package. ok la. i saw dr loh when i was admitted, & he ok-ed to give me induction med. then, he came in to chk on me in the afternoon, re dilation. then saw him agn jus before he gave ok to go delivery suite. then he sort of popped in & out till i was 10cm dilated & gonna deliver. after dat, i din see him till i was gonna be discharged on sat morn (vesak day), he pop by to say hello (on a PH!) & say i'm good to go home.

Juju,
Your bill size looks quite okay leh. Cause I saw from some other ladies, their bill size like have to fork out 2K+ of cash. Which is almost similar to TMC de.

Regarding Dr Adrian Woodworth, not very sure about him but cause he has his own Thomson Women clinic at Sengkang Compass point so it is more easy for my friend to go over cause she also stay in Sengkang (me too!). But she told me the Materity package seems quite ex.. $3000 for C-sect w/o Doc fees and neonatal... so was asking her how much for doc fees she says like 1.2k! The materity package is offered by TMC instead of the gynae.

hi eskimobaby,
i have the csc card too as hubby is civil servant. I can't take up fast scheme and don't need to pay a single cent on any visit as will be deducted from hubby's pay (40% paymenet only). How come you cannot use the csc card?

orangey,
i din hv epidural, which will be another $500 + gst. upfront, we did pay $2k+. only after discharge & received the final bill, then we got the refund.

lina,
ehhh... i think ur hubby on different scheme from me lor... cos i join abt 4 yrs back... and i think different ministries have different schemes also.... for me, max i can claim is $350 per yr for outpatient bills... will go find out more if i can claim more from csc then i'll cancel the fast scheme...

juju,
*nod nod*.... thanks for reminding

btw, u really can tahan the pain? no need epidural... really incredible... hehe

Long time never log in here, see that there's many new grads here.

for those who have PCOS and already given birth, have your AF resume yet? is it regular?

& for those who have given birth recently & NOT breastfeeding - are you on any birth control? - any worries about getting pregnant again?

hi eskimobaby,
hope you can get more subsidy, also check if you can get any reduce rate on delivery charges.

hi juju,
you are very good, no epidural.

hi babymaking,
after deliver, i will go back to gynae to get a permanent birth control as i close factory already.

Lina,
i've checked... no additional subsidy for me lor... just that $350 per yr to claim for outpatient bill... seems like those civil servants who joined after 2004 bo hua... kekeke... cos my colleague told me that long time ago... they dun even have to pay a single cent for any outpatient or hosp bills at public hospitals!

juju,
my fren got preggy with no. 2 while still breastfeeding...

hi eskimobaby,
opps, really bo hua. That's true, my hubby totally don't pay a single cent for any medical bills but he joined 20 yrs saf already.

Eskimobaby,
At least can claim $350 which is about 3.5 consultation charges. Kekek.. Non-civil servant like us cant even claim at all. I realised some ladies did mentioned that they can claim their maternity charges through their company insurance.. Wonder if my company's insurance policy have that too.. I hope leh!

ju & lina, thks for reply.

Just wondering if necessary to use contraceptives lor...since so hard to get preggy in the first place :p

haha, i don't mind if 'accident' takes place :p but worry abt how healthy the pregnancy will be if too close to the 1st one.

orangey,
c how la. as of now, scared liao.
go chk ur co policy. if can cover then good!

lina,
not good. is stubborn!

eskimobaby,
ya, dat's why must use contraceptive.

babymaking,
if u ok wif #2 coming nw, then dun nid to use lor.
bb shld b ok. but no more bfg, which can lead to womb contractions. also, ur body might not recover well yet

Juju,
Anyway hor.. you says the Antenatal claim 100% from Medisave? Cause I read CPF website, they says can claim $550 max for pre-delivery expenses which i presumed its referring to Antenatal claim right cause they states, consultation, scans and medications. If can claim 100% then at least not so bad!

orangey/juju,
antenatal also can claim? alamak i think some of my bills not in order....esp those few dollars bills i just throw away... kekeke... but antenatal will come up to so much? so after deliver have to submit all the bills before discharge? or kkh have record, they will submit for us which is the best case.. kekeke

hi babymaking,
that was what i thought before. So hard for us to conceive, if next baby can come so easy, then will be quite surprising and no need to spend a single cent on TTC. Has anyone heard of examples that previously conceive via ivf but can still conceive easily for next baby?

Eskimobaby,
I checked CPF website.. they says if want to claim Pre-delivery bills.. must accumulate your bills and ask the hosp where u will deliver to submit together with your delivery bill. They indicated Antenatal claim is $550 max but from ju's bill size, it looks like 100% claimable.. if so really very very good.. show that Singapore gov really encourage Singaporeans to have more babies :p

orangey, eskimobaby,
dun think is 100% la. i left it to kk to do. if other hospitals, then nid to submit bills. if kk, they will claim for us

juju,
so for kk no need to submit bills? good... cos i'm not a very organised person... kekeke

orangey,
hopefully so! hehehe