IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

anyone had toothache or swollen gums during pregnancy? i have a painful tooth decay but the dentist refuse to do x-ray and also cannot pull out (as near the wisdom tooth area). He also don't dare to give me any medication, just ask me to go back to gynae. I was given anti-biotic and stronger pain killer at gynae. Hope these medication can last me till delivery.

Hi Lina,

I do onlt have gums bleeding.. during pregnancy, better dun do x-ray or removal of tooth (need jab).. so u can only depends on pain killer.. the best heal is use strong literine n gurger with thick salt water.. that will relieve the swelling faster.. Avoid heaty stuffs n eat light food.. the toothache will gets better n u dun need to rely pain killer all the way till delivery.. =)

Hi 76,

Time really flies and your confinement is ending in 1 week time. Glad to hear that you are doing fine. Continue to take good care of your health.

Lina,

I do not have gum bleeding but whenever I brushed my teeth, I do have some sour feeling at some part of my teeth. Is it a beginning sign of tooth decay? I haven't book appointment to see a dentist yet.

fresh,
better to get checked by dentist.
i had dental chk up when i was abt 7-8 mths. it's safe.
but like wat lina's dentist says, no x-ray & tooth extraction allowed, cos may not be safe for preggies

hi develyn,
i tried all the gargle with salt, mouth wash, listerine, etc. These are dentist recommendation but still does not work. Even put ice on the cheek area to numb it. And this pain has been a few days, causing pain throughout the day and sleepless night. Nothing to do with food intake either as even i don't eat, the pain is still very bad. So no choice, taking the painkiller now.

Hi fresh,
gum bleeding is common during pregnancy but you could visit the dentist. Just remind them that you are pregnant.

Hi Lina ,

Omg.. look like bo pian.. now depends on pain killer but still continue with the gargle habits first.. hope really will get better soon...

As for me , bloated bloated or vomit vomit.. still very xin gu.. now started to have backaches and nothing can help too.. even anti-nausea pills can't help.. constipated also.. Have to ren ren ren .. Btw, how many weeks are u le ?

Hi Lina,
oh, I only experienced slight gum bleeding during my 1st trimester. Tooth decay can develop into infection or other complications if not extracted for too long... there is really nothing your dentist can do to help beside your gynae giving u the painkiller and anti biotics? So sorry to hear about this. Is it possible to check with another dentist or again with your gynae of what alternative to be done to take out the decayed tooth?

Fresh,
it is safe to do general cleaning up of teeth during pregnancy. I had my normal dental check up when I was in my 6 weeks and 36 weeks of pregnancy.

Develyn,
sorry to hear about your discomforts. Really have to ren...
Stay happy and think of positive things!

so have you been switching on the air con everyday from that night onwards? Hope you are feeling better from then. Jia you!
Your bm ss should be more than enough for your twins now, rite? Heehee... keep it up, you are doing very well.

hi develyn,
for back pain can get the pregnancy back support, hope can relief a little. I am 27 weeks. Do you know the other baby gender yet?

hi bliss,
the dentist cannot see clearly without the x-ray, so he don't dare to just extract any tooth. If it is on the wisdom tooth area, then need to have surgery. Gynae request to see my teeth but he also cannot help. Do you show baby teng teng flashcards?

Hi Lina,

I bought pregnancy pillow, is it the same? But no use so far..I only know one bb gender (Girl).. another one playing hide n seek.. need to wait for detailed scan.. wow u r 27weeks, everything ready?

Lina,
oic...then really have to bear with the pain and take the medication till delivery?

Thanks for reminding me! I am going to get flashcards from my sister, she bought lots of flashcards in Chinese n English for her sons in the past.
It is time to teach Teng teng some new things.
Recently he is learning to hold and remove the milk bottle and pacificer by himself. Sometimes when he's cranky and crying, he shouted 'mamamamama'! My hubby said he is calling for me, hahaha! But I dont tink so lah, probably just happened to be the similar sound. :p

Hi MTBs!!! I just got BFP and going for my 1st scan on 17 Sept! Any advise for MTBs that i need to look out for now? Btw... my stomach very bloated n cramped leh... like 2-3 mths like tat... hope its normal?

Lina/juju,
Teng teng does not call "mamamamama" every time lah, just happened several times lately, dont tink now he already knows that is to call me.
He is probably trying to pronounce some of the words I often say to him, esp "papa" n "mama".

maggie mee,
congrats!!
Enjoy your pregnancy from now on.

Check with you all about MS. My MS was quite bad during my 5th and 6th week of pregnancy then into my 7th week, it got better and sort of like ease off in my 8th Week. Is this normal? I'm a little concern and getting a little worried

orangey,
for me it comes and goes... when i thot it's easing off it'll come back in full force... but from 14 weeks onward much better... but still having ms in the evening/nite sometimes... so dun worry too much... maybe it'll come back again....

Bliss
In the end, after all my fussing and complaints to you, i still din on aircon, but i blow my fan direct to me... but like what you said, lucky these few days cooling weather..I just tahan till next thu, end of confinement.
Just an update: both my bbs still in icu, doing well..The bigger twin will proceed to nursery tmr and from there abt 1 more week to discharge. the small twin still needs to catch up in terms of weight, other than that, he is sucking well and v impatient and notti...

Eskimobaby,
Thanks! Now 8 weeks and 5 days already so really hope baby is continuing to grow well. So far it has been quite okay for me just that I don't really have much craves for food. I still can eat but don't ask me to choose lor.. big headache. My friend told me MS varies with different individuals, for her she didn't had MS at all and her baby boy very healthy while another friend only had mild MS which is on and off.

Juju/bliss.. thanks... so now we will continue our next stage here... upgraded liao.. keke..

Actually when do we start counting how many weeks we are at ? Start of ET date?

hi eskimobaby,
i heard about babyplus from one of the thread in this forum. Quite ex for the set. One of my friend using it but still cannot see results as baby not born yet.

hi 76,
glad your babies are doing well, hope they can return home soon.

orangey,
it's good that u can eat... ms comes in different forms... some ppl feel nausea.. some ppl feel headache/giddiness... some ppl dun have any symptoms... so dun worry too much...

lina,
actually the salesperson approach me during taka fair but never gave it a 2nd look... but now hear ppl in other forum talking abt so wondering if it works...

i'm sure it's a relief that one of them can come out of icu and he sure sound like a bright and mischievious fellow...hehe

eskimobaby,
think itjabi using babyplus...

maggie mee,
by ER, alrdy 2 wks preggie. count frm 1st day of AF

glad ur bbs doing well. hope both can be home real soon!

maggie mee, congrats and welcome to this thread!

organgey, i think ur symptoms are normal. i dun hv ms so cant give u any advice... but i hv a friend who has very serious ms and got to admit to hosp.. she is mum to 3 children liao

haha bliss... ya, just take it as teng teng is calling you
time flies... he is going to be 4 months old soon... btw, rem you complained abt backache a few weeks b4 delivery. when was that ah? i still hv 4 weeks of work b4 my long long leave starts... hopefully, if backache comes, it will be during my leave

what?? You blow the fan direct to you?? Omg! Then your mum never nag at you? I tot blowing fan directly is worse than turning on the air con(at abt 25 or 26 degree C is fine)? Aiyo, you huh... kekeke...
Glad that ur bbs are growing well. The hosp virus doesnt bother them anymore liao, rite?
Looking forward to see pics of your handsome Ethan n Evan in your blog soon! You take good care still even after confinement. It is supposed to be 40 days of confinement, strictly speaking.
How's the days of being a 'milk cow'? Heehee... :p

bee,
ya, time travels v fast indeed. Soon we will see your posting here, talking abt your life with bb.
Enjoy yourself as much as possible b4 bb arrives. Hmm...as for backache, I think the backache will still continue after bb is born, in fact it will worsen...heehee... :p

Bliss
Yah, i dun care abt the fan already... its blowing in my direction, but not direct into my face... tilted slightly... yah, heard its 40 days of confinement, so got to revert to normal slowly.... milk cow, sian...and sometimes dread it...when will this end??

there is no end to being a milk cow unless you stop breastfeeding. :p I know how it feels having to do pumping out of bm totally(esp to pump out every 2 to 3 hours at beginning stage),it is horribly tiring esp when have to take care of bb by yourself 24 hours.
Try to latch on ur bbs when they r home, or else it will be even more tiring to pump out bm n feed them separately.

hey! Eskimobaby,
Im using babyplus. Dun know if it really works but juz decided to give it a try. I bought mine from Ebay. U must use it 2wice a day, 1hr each time.

Twinstars,
My sis in law havent given me the number yet. Seem like she is so busy to sms me. will let u know once i have the number ya

Btw like to check when we breastfeed the 1st week.I understand we may not have enuff milk. Do we have to give powder milk then???

bliss/76 - do u pump out the breast milk after u breastfeed ur bb? i thot if bb can latch well, pumping is not required... but someone told me, good to still pump out the remaining

Itjabi - yes, if not enough bm, u will hv to substitute with powder milk.

Itjabi - one more thing, i attended the parenting course and the nurse told us not to bottle feed if possible cos bb may not latch well after that. she recommended cup feed or spoon feed

bee,
yes, need to pump out the remaining bm if bb didnt empty the bm. Bbs do not finish the bm fully at times, pumping is still necessary then.

Itjabi,
really depends on you. Some will advise to top up with fm if your bm is not enough for your bb. However, some(esp lactation consultants) will advise to bf bb solely even if not enough bm, and never attempt to feed bb with fm coz bb might choose bottle feeding in the end.
I am a good example, I allow my bb to have fm too, coz I couldnt bear to starve him at the beginning stage, so he choose bottle instead of my breasts in the end... Hahaha... There is no right or wrong regarding latching on or bottle feeding bb with bm, it is more important to choose the method to suit your lifestyle and make you feel happy and comfortable and not stressful.

itjabi,
i'm quite fascinated by how it works... and it seems that baby born is supposed to be calmer and more alert... even now at 4th month i can still feel ms sometimes esp at nite.. so wondering if i use this will calm my bb down or not... if not my colleague say my bb is going to be a difficult baby at nite :p

orangey,
me too.. first baby... like u when my ms easing off during 1st trimester i also worry... but still having ms bugs me more than not having it...

I've babyplus. Passed down from SIL. Havent started using it yet cos find it a bit troublesome to use. Twice a day, 1hr each time and must used it ard the same time everyday.

Eskimobaby,
Yah lor, first pregnancy = happy, nervous, anxious, paranoid and more to go! Hehe.. I have been talking to my baby everyday. Been asking baby to continue to grow well and show Dr Loh how good baby's progression has been

Fresh,
I had hot green tea when I ate at Sakae sushi. My mum says as long as its not cold, it should be fine. It's so sad not able to take raw salmon when dining at Japanese resturant.. I wonder if we can take those marinated octupus, jellyfish and abalone? Just curious cause they are all my fav for sushi!

Anyone tried prenatal massage? Any good recommendation? I've found 2 ladies from the website but not sure good or not. One is hannah and the other is Maya.

Ever since my ohss, I've been walking with a hunch back till now which has became quite aching at times. so thinking of releasing some tension.

orangey,
i was very greedy... i took the marinated scallop wings :p the marinated octopus, jellyfish and scallop wings are raw ah? i thot they are boiled first before marinating... maybe i just trying to find excuses :p

fresh,
i couldn't walk straight too for a month after i bfp... due to the bloatedness caused by ohss also... but now i'm ok... get a good pair of shoes.. it really helps with back

Eskimobaby,
My friend who is preggie told me that the marinated octupus are cooked before marinating, so are those jellyfishes.. As in, they will wash and boil them to remove bacteria. My colleague says so too. I so tempted to eat leh but DH always "stare" at me!

re: raw sushi
i was very greedy & still had my raw sushi when preggie. but i douse it in tons of wasabi & soy sauce!
mtbs wif weak stomachs cannot try!