IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Hi Maykel, Emma, Yck, Cale, Imel, Dawn, Merlenna and Rose,

Thank you for all your well wishes.

Finally, Dr Loh came and see me yesterday at abt 9.15pm. Wasn't expecting him cos the nurses told me that he was very busy and will come and see me this morning instead.

Dr Loh has confirm that there's a blood clot adjacent to the embryo( I call it my bb but the medical officer told me it's not a bb yet :-( ??!!) Hopefully the bleeding stops, which by now it's only dark brown stains upon wiping, and my body can reabsorb the blood clot. Good to see heartbeat so there's a 90% chance of making to full term but there's also another 10% that it can lead to m/c ( I belong to the 10% the last time but dun remember them telling me there was also a blood clot). The cause of the blood clot was probably during the implantation, the embryo was attach to one of the blood vessels causing it to rupture.

Dr Loh just kept asking me to rest and pray. I'm totally lost now and can't seem to get any assurance.

Miko,
My instinct says that everything is going to be ok. The blood clot will subside eventually. Pls rest well. Miko, so if you see a hearbeat on your first scan, does that mean that you have a 90% chance to make it to full term? Do u need to go for another scan after the first scan?

Josephine - Welcome to the thread. What is a USG scan? You got pregnant thru' FET? How was your HCG and how many did u transfer? All the best on your upcoming scan.

Wish all of the gals on the thread the very best.

Any idea when is the crucial period of pregnancy is over? Is it 10 or 12 weeks?

Cale - When is scan? gd luck

mikojade,
I also have the blood clot. its shown so clearly on the scan pic when i had the bleeding. but when i go for my 10 weeks scan, it gone. so dont worry ok, im sure yours will be gone soon.

ms hae,
my next scan only on the 22nd. very long. you will be having your detail scan at week no. what? is it to be carried out between 18 to 20 weeks?

hi mikojade,
i wish you all the best k? hope that blood clot will go away. and no more bleeding for you.

hi rose,
technically its after the 1st trimester lah.. which is after 12 weeks. but even after that, gotta still be careful. coz i believe ivf cases more sensitive lah..

mikojade,
don't despair. we'll pray that everything will turn out fine for you.

merlenna,
scrub a bit only lah. help my husband wash toilet last wknd.

yck,
my next scan, which is the detailed one is on the 25th. i'll be about 18wks+ pregnant then. hope i'll know the gender too, if they cooperate. i think so because it's a fetal anomaly scan. on ur 22nd is ur fetal anomaly scan too?

rose,
1st tri, the important period one is till wk 12.

maykel,
i bought one of those Pooh baby pillows to support my belly when I sleep on my side, cos i thought those preg wedge pillows looked quite high and i wanted something flatter. Then as my tummy got bigger in 3rd tri, i had to sleep at 45deg angle to the side, so i used a few of our normal pillows to prop up my back and tummy.

joie,
you can find mustela anywhere...robinsons, taka, firstfewyears... I heard it's gd, but didn't try it. I used the palmers and clarins creams during my preg. Like dawn, my stretchmarks suddenly popped out during my last few wks. Think tummy expanded too fast by then. I read that creams are only superficial and wont help, but i still tried.

Hi Imel,
So far how's the feel of the mustela cream? Hehe...me oso lah, will take sips of cold drink here and there. Ur gastric pain sounds bad...milk works for me, maybe ur gastric juice too active. Think i'm same like you leh, when i dun feel anything, i'm worried, but when i got pain, i oso worried, think at our stage, any tiny thing oso we will worry....

Hi Emma,
Thanks alot for your suggestions

Hi Josephine,
Welcome to the thread

Hi Dawn,
Wow, ur stretch mark cream sounds bad....Oh, you mean Clarins actually got 2 types ar? Toni oil and stretch mark cream...so means i shld get the stretch mark cream since its better?

Hi Cale,
Back pain is really no joke...i oso worried it would get worse when the preg progress. Yes, think we'll check with dr loh again.
Yup, think we tahan and dun put med. we'll jia you 2gether!

Hi Ms Hae,
My next scan is this fri. Oh great, must be exciting to know the gender. Did you do the FTS (First Tri screening)?

Hi Merlenna,
Thanks, aiyo, but i nvr heard of pupsik studio leh....where did you get it from? Do you feel kinda wierd when you sleep sideway? Like the tummy kinda wobble to the side kekeke.....

Hi Mikojade,
So nice of him to go and see you so late.
Ya lah, to us its already a baby liao keke.....
If its brownish stains, then shld means its stopping soon. Things seems positive now, cos there's heart beat and stain stopping soon. Be positive and dun stress urself ok? Rest well gal.

Hi Petals,
Thanks for your advice. Actually i'm keen to see wat the actual wedge pillow is like, cos i saw it in a preg massage video. Any idea where i can find the wedge pillow?

I just graduated from the support group. Nice to meet you gals here.

Hi Emma,
How do i know if i am carrying singleton or twins thr the beta value? Do i have to wait for the 6th wk scan to know? Dorothy said she doesn't know from the value.

ms hae,
no. 22nd i will only be 16+ weeks. so maybe that day then doc will schedule for the detail scan. im approx 10 days behind you.

did you try to ask the doc about the gender yday? maybe he can see. you've got 3 babies, you sure get to know at least 1 of 2 of the gender. dont think all of them will be so in-cooperative right.

Hi Rose
Crucial period usually after 12 wks but since im carrying twins, doc said after 14 wks...

Hi Bakaholic
Congratulations!Thru Beta test, you will be able to know. Dor should know. I remembered last time, I asked her to check and let me know. She even told me it's twins. Altho 6wk scan will be more detailed to see if singleton/twin/triplets.

Hi Bakaholic, welcome and congratulations!!!

Hi Mikojade, that must of been so scary for you, I'm glad everything is stable now. Must get your rest ok.

Hi Maykel, I sleep on my stomach, you think it's ok?

Hi all, tomorrow is my first scan, and i have a lot of anxiety. I'm also having heartburn, is that a pregnancy symptom? Hope everyone is doing well and not stressing
I know how hard it is....

Hi MaybeBaby,

I got ask the nurse whether I can sleep on my stomach because I am comfort to sleep on my stomach but ohhh.. the nurse told me not to leh... she said better sleep face right/left side.

Dun stress yourself, try to relax.
Which hospital you go? and which doctor?

Hi Josephine,

Not sure I welcomed u to the thread yet, anyways WELCOME
congrats on your BFP. Thanks for the info... I'll try to sleep on my side for now on... it's going to be hard, so use to stomach. I'm w/ Thomson, Dr. Cheng.

Hi rose,

USG Scan to scan the baby loh.
It is my fresh cycle and 1st IVF.
My HCG is 1901, I transfer 2.

How about you? How many egg you transfer? what is your HCG level? is it multiple?
When is your first scan? (* sorry oh, got many question) Hehehehe

Hi Josephine,

That is a very gd no. It could be twins! Hope for the best for you.

It was a 3rd FET from a 1st IVF. HCG: 1549.
3 transfered. Not sure whether it is mutiples, I will wait for the scan on Friday. I don't think so..as long as healthy baby.

Hi Rose,
My scan is end of the month.

Big HI to everyone. Thanks for warm welcome!

Had some cramps just now during work. Think i worked too hard today.. haha..
Was a bit worried but now that i have rested at home, cramps seemed to have gone off. Think i will take it easy from now on.

Hi Rose,
Thanks! My scan is on this sat. Your scan this fri right? You are one day earlier than me. Good luck to you too! I look forward to your good news first

Hi mikojade,
Rest well and take care. I am sure you blood clot would slowly go off. Have faith to yourself and baby. Jia you!

Hi Maykel,
Recently i am getting tired more easily. Feel to apply a day leave to rest. How about you? Got rest well these few days?

Hi Bakaholic,
Congrats and welcome. You tested your beta really early, we usually only tested on 17dpt only. Good for you to be able to know so early and end the anxious waiting

May i know how many embies did you put in? How old is your embies when you did the transfer? Which doctor are you with now and which hospital?

Hi MaybeBaby,
I remembered that i ever read that heartburn is a pregnancy symptoms, but looks like it's usually appearing later stage of pregnancy. You may want to check with your doctor tomorrow. Good luck to your scan! Hope you can see the sac and heartbeat tomorrow.

Hi Rose1,

I think is multiples. Because your HCG is more than 1K is consider high.
Keep us update on your scan oh.. ^_^
Wish you all the best.

Hi Josephine,
From what i understand from Maykel, if you see doctor at private suit, the ultrasound is done by the doctor inside the consultation room. However, if you are with clinic D, you would required to go AMC to do scanning by a sonographer first before seeing your doctor.

Hi Cale,
Is it? I heard from the nurse, at TPS do not have the ultrasound so the nurse said better at Clinic D. Later Where you go TPS or Clinic D?

maykel,
you mean the NT scan? yes, i did and all 3 passed with flying colours!
the fetal anomaly scan up next.

yck,
no i didn't ask him as i was more anxious to know if they are ok than to know the gender. anyway, high chance i might know during the upcoming FA scan so i'll just wait.

Hi Cale,
I put in 2 embryos. I think they are 3 days old? (ER on Monday, ET on Thur). I am with GlenE, SC Ng. Yeah, it's good to know earlier. Very agonizing to wait for the results. Just want to get it over with.

Bakaholic, Josephine - Pls take good care of yourself. Next wait would be our upcoming scan.

Josephine - I think mine is singleton, bec i did go to the 24 hr clinic last fri, they saw a single sac. But, lets see how the next scan turns out. Just want baby to be healthy.

Cale - All the best to you! Pls rest well.

Ms Hae - Can you just give me a rough timeline of all the scans/procedures you did so far since the first dating scan. So, i roughly know what is upcoming as I have to travel with my hb soon.
For eg: 1st dating scan - week 6 etc.,,whats next. thks

rose,
i only remember for my case my gynae seeing me about every 2wks during the first tri after the dating scan. when you're in ur 11-13wks, you can choose to go for the NT scan. once i hit 2nd tri, i see him once a month. r u with pc wong?

i think the appt you have with your gynae will differ as each pregnancy is different so it's best to ask your gynae. what i had might not be the same for you.

Hi MaybeBaby,
Think like wat Josephine was saying, think better not sleep on ur tummy, feels kinda like putting weight on ur foetus kekeke...me find it difficult to sleep flat leh, plus everynite get up so many times to pee...
Looking forward to hear from you after ur scan
i think heartburn is cos of indigestion, try to take light diet and see got get better or not.

Hi bakaholic,
At least you still got a lots of leave to take, my leave is minus value already now, cos i took long leave earlier this yr to take a break and think wat i wana do. Eventually decided to do IVF, but now no leave liao keke...but i dun care lah, still got mc and HL to take now. Had decided to take unpaid leave after i used up my HL

Hi Cale,
Ya, me too, thou i'm resting at home, i still get tired, maybe cos at nite can't sleep well due to back pain and frequent PU oso. I think you oso didn't sleep well is it? If you dun want to waste leave, why dun take 2 days mc and rest? Anyway 2mr thur already. I got bad nausea these few days oso and got reduced appetite....if got no more HL, i oso dun know how to go back to work....

Hi Cale and Jos,
I went appt to see dr loh last fri at TPS and he did scan for me in his room leh. I know that all rooms in TPS has U/S machine, cos i was seeing TPS all along. Maybe unless its a detailed scanning later on then have to go AMC.

Hi Ms Hae,
Yes, i mean the NT scan. Great to hear that ur 3 precious passed with flying colors ;)

Hi Petals,
Thanks, i'll go and check it out

Hi babywee,
Thank you, last time when i was in TMC, my gynae oso gave me Obimin. Think fri then i ask dr loh wat to take.

Hi Maykel,
I feeling guilty for taking leave, as we are trying to finish up the current project. It's been dragging for some time now and worst of all, I have to work with an incompetent colleague so most of time I have to be there. And alot of crappy stuff at work going on the same time. My blood boils few times a day. Sigh.. I trying to take it easy but i get carried away.
I guess i will probably take few days off to rest this wk and maybe 1 day/week onwards so that i do not tire myself out.

Btw, the jab for stablising the pregnancy very painful! My bum still aching since Monday. Any way to alleviate the pain?

Hi Backaholic,
Oic....means you are kinda like a workaholic like i was haha....poor thing, i was oso like that, my blood boil a few times when i talk to a new colleague who thot she knows all. After that my tummy cramp liao, after that i keep telling myself its not worth it to get angry with them. So eventually just take mc and rest cos i think tats the best way for me to avoid stress.
Ya, take leave if you can. I was taking pregnyl jab at my tummy after my ET. But i remembered that i took a thigh jab 2 nites b4 ER and it was painful. But i was warned b4 that and took a hot water bottle along and kept rubbing against it after the jab. Matbe you can try?

Hi Rose, yck, cale, merlenna, ms hae, maykel, maybeBaby, cale, Imel & Emma!

I'm back home! All I can do now is keep my fingers cross and wait for my appt with Dr Loh on Friday to see how things goes.

yck: Can I check with you did you have any spotting after the bleeding? For me now, sometimes there's 1 or 2 spots of light brown blood on my panty liner but other times, only when I wipe, there's some light brown blood mix with my discharge.Thanks!

Maykel: Will be seeing Dr Loh on Friday at 2.40pm instead... Did he tell you your EDD when u saw him last friday?

Jos & bakaholic: Welcome to the thread ladies & congrats!

Mikojade,
Home Sweet Home. From now on all you need to do is rest more. I hope your spotting will go away soon.

Maykel,
I also feel with my current nausea and gastric pain dun think I can work. Luckily I quit already so staying at home all the time and only go out on weekend. Yesterday I had a very bad nausea, gastric and headache one whole day. At nite my HB cannot tahan see me like this, so force me to eat stronger medecine. But then the medecine will only work 3-4hrs later. Cannot wait that long lah, in the end I vomit. Feeling much better after the vomit. And finally had a good sleep. But this morning my nausea and gastric came back to me but I can tahan. Maykel hows your back pain? Are you seeing Dr. Loh on friday?

Rose,
If you are with Dr. Loh, you should be given a scan schedule. My scan is in week7, week9, week12 and the rest haven't make appointment yet.

Hi Backaholic,
Welcome to the thread. Try not to be too stress and rest more coz our baby still very fragile.

Hi Mikojade,

Hope everything ok now for you! If KK let you go home, should mean that yr condition has stabliszed, so dont worry too much! Rest well, am sure everything will turn out fine this friday!!!

Imel, thanks! Am glad to be home, the food at the hospital taste horrible.. haha.. but haven't been having much appetite as well.

Hi feibb, thanks! Your appt with Dr Loh is today rite??Keep us updated!

Hi Mikojade,
Welcome back! So glad to hear from you. Me seeing dr loh at 4.10pm this fri. Think you shld still be waiting there by the time i go haha....No, last week nvr tell me my EDD cos still small leh. I hope this fri can hear heartbeat and NO ectopic!

Hi Imel,
I'm just abt to send you message

Now my nausea is daily leh, this Am hubby boil the ginger drink as per ur advice b4 he go work. Very spicy leh, after drinking my throat very hot. I try not to put honey and sip slowly. But it really works well for the nausea.
I oso told my hubby i dun think i can work now....we'll wait for a few wks then decide to quit or not. Cos since now can still take HL, just take 1st loh.
I also got no mood to go out lately, just hybernate at home and go out makan with hubby sometimes, oni take car when i go out, you think i'm paranoid? Poor thing, i dun actually vomit yet, but the nausea feeling is terrible and i have reduced appetite now....
My back pain still bad. I feel pain when i sit, stand, walk and sleep. There is not a moment when i dun feel pain, its really torturing leh
and i dun dare to do stretching to relieve the pain oso. Yes, seeing dr loh this fri at 4.10pm.

Mikojade,
great to hear that you are back home. tat time mine was fresh bblood gushing that last abt 1 min. 2nd day spotting still a bit red. 3rd day dark brown spotting then discharged. 4th day spotting stopped.
did the doc scan you again before you discharged? try to rest as much as possible.

Hi Maykel,

Yeah, think I'll still be waiting there... haha... I'm sure you will see bb's hb :) Was telling Dr Loh I had some aching ard my pelvic area and he suspected I hv ectopic cos I put in 2 embies, dun know where 1 go to...

Hi yck:)
My bleeding was quite bad... 1st was fresh blood with blood clots when I was at home, then at the clinic, when I was removing my panties, a lot of dark red blood was running down my leg. A few hours later when I took a shower, there were more blood coming out with some dark brown blood clots. Eventually, it stopped the next day with red spotting.
They did a scanning for me before I was admitted and the next day but not before I discharge. Was told not too good to scan too often. Did your gynae give you any jab and if he did, how often did he given you? Sorry for all the questions but just wantd to find out more. Thanks!

mikojade,
no problem for your questions. i can understand that it is worrying. even until now, i am still worried.

that time doc gave me proluton jab twice weekly and another additional hormone pill progynova on top of dusphaston. and of cos i also continue with my daily follic acid and crinone insert all the way to 12 weeks.