IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

hi maykel, imel,
haha, can't drink cold water?! haha.. but i'm not the hot water type. these days plain ice cold water is the right stuff to ease my thirst. yesterday i was craving coke light. asked hubby to buy.. i sipped it and then give the rest to him. haha.. i think it works lah.. get rid of the craving.

hi maykel,
good to know u can see one baby now. but its still early k? just take it easy. hope you can see where the other 2 go in your next scan.. me, think too much? more like i have an active imagination. i'm at my most relaxed state ever.. usually i don't bring work home once i leave work.. so haha, brain must be buzzing even when i'm asleep..

hi juju,
yeah i do rub especially when i do feel an ache or twitch i wanna ease off. i'm rub very lightly.. in circles. i don't think its the rub maykel's referring too which could sound like those given in a massage. although massage can be good in the 2nd trimester..but too early is not advisable also.. so, rubbing lightly is ok i think..

Rabbit,
u going for birth soon? so fast...

Cale,
haha... i dunno... hope lor.

Maykel,
agree wif Imel dat perhaps is ur history dat make Dr Loh worry. dun think so much. not good for baby(s)
hee... i realise i rub more & more these 2 days. will try to refrain from rubbing too much.
as for the itch, i try to reduce by putting on baby lotion. haven't buy anti stretch mark cream yet.
summary frm another thread : cocoa butter/ shea butter/ natural source anti-stretch mark gel/ mustela anti-stretch mark cream
(http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/284010.html?1212561821)

all so good gals? dun take cold?
i jus started trying to cut down sushi, cold drinks & ice cream. but, not so good. at least i cut away quite a lot of coffee and coke alrdy. ;p

merlenna,
i rub in circles too, maybe need to be more gentle. hubby say i'm still too rough... haha

i also like cold drinks. i only take hot tea on very cold days.
nowadays, i try to restrict to only cold milk, plain water & some coke, if very sleepy then a bit of cold coffee.
sometimes, i feel i exceed 2 servings of caffeinated drinks, i will sip coke from hubby's glass too. feel less guilty yet satisfied

anyone been putting on too much weight. i've gained almost 6 kgs since ivf started. think kinda too much liao. any comments?

Hi Merlenna,
So seems like most of us here are guilty of taking cold drinks haha....ya, me oso not the hot water type, so if i go makan and forgot my plain water, i would rather not drink anything. Ya, think we can only take in sips now, at least less guilty right....? kekeke....

Ya, you are right, thanks....
haha...maybe you really do have an active mind going on ;)
Oh, talking abt massage, i'm really keen to do massage after my 12wks, cos now my body is already aching and so stiff now. Any idea if we can do slight stretching? Just to ease the aches...

Hi Juju,
Thanks, i will be positive

Ya loh, i oso put johnson baby lotion for my itch and rashes.
Thanks for the link, seems like a lot are using Clarins or cocoa palmer and shea butter, i'm thinking of the clarins one. When i feel better then go and check it out.

haha...i'm not really a good gal lah, can be stubborn too. I think some cold water still ok, but raw food cannot lah, cos i read somewhere raw food contains bacteria and may not be safe for baby. So now i didn't eat my sashimi and steak already.....But dr loh did told me 1 coffee a day is ok if really need to. But anyway, i dun drink coffee.

haha...be gentle on ur baby lah...can you believe that i do not have weighing machine at home....? Think i shld get 1 and monitor liao. But i'm sure i gain alot too, cos see my tummy can know already, like 4mths preg like that.

Maykel,
the clarins one cost over $70 in retail shops. so ex... i jus start trying body shop almond and shea butter, feels smoother than baby lotion. later see if tummy still itch, if dun itch, i may continue wif body shop one

Hi Juju,
Ya loh, clarins quite exp. But i dun mind trying if its good, i got an ex-colleague who bought it for his wife when she's preg, think quite good.
I've read alot of them use shea/cocoa butter from Bodyshop oso. Is it sticky?

Maykel,
yes, alrdy stopped eating sashimi and sushi le. ever since i told hubby why ppl say preggies shld not eat, he totally dun allow me to eat liao. so, now i can only hv bento box or noodles when i go jap rest.
hee, actually gentle liao la. jus dat hubby trying to be SNAG, his rubbing even gentler - feather light only.
every morning & night i weigh, to see how much i start the day, and how much i had eaten during the day. see the numbers feel so sad, gaining too much for my own good liao

Maykel,
so far, this almond shea butter not sticky. feels better than the johnson's baby bedtime lotion dat i was using the last few days

body shop's cocoa butter works wonder for me. it feels sticky at first but after that, it leaves ur tummy very moisturized.

Thanks alot..
praying for the best. Hope I will be a brave mummy.
Stay positive and you will soon be proud mummies.

After pregnancy, I very KS..no more coffee, sushi, occasional cold drinks, no ice-cream etc. Also because my TCM dr has been telling me before pregnancy that my body is a little cold, so I prefer to be on the safe side.

Hi Maykel,

I have checked with Dr Loh before, he told me clarins stretch mark cream is ok. Been using it till now…but it is quite ex.

i was also using clarins stretch mark cream...think about $78per tube. quite good. must apply diligently. urmm...all my stretch mark suddenly appeared at wk30....very very red and itch...cos the expansion too fast liow....

Hi Ladies!

Sorry, MIA for some time. Am now hospitalize at KKH and what happened was...

Everything was fine the last few days. Except feeling nausea, which last til late afternoon, and very tired, my spotting was gone.

My nightmare started yesterday evening! I was in the toilet and was just abt to pee when I suddenly felt a gush. It felt like when I was having heavy menses and immediately I used a tissue to wipe. I saw RED BLOOD and SOME BLOOD CLOTS! Totally freak out, I started screaming for my mum. When she saw the blood clots, she assured me that everything was alright. She say it didn't look like the embryo. But still I was crying like a crazy woman and my hubby sent me to the 24Hr Clinic.

As I was removing my panties for the doc to do a scanning, blood was tickling down my legs. But in the next few moments, I saw the most beautiful thing- My Baby's Heartbeat. Tears were rolling down my face.. As i was only just a day from 6 weeks, I wasn't expecting to see bb's hb so soon but at the moment I saw it, I can't describe the feeling inside me.

Will be going to AMC to scan later and looking forward to see bb again...

Hihi Maykel!
I haven't had a drop of cold drinks since 2 months ago. I used to love coke and will never drink plain water but now for bb's sake, only warm plain water. Nothing cold at all though at times I'm at the verge of almost giving in ;-P

The last time I signed up the package my 6th week.

Hi Maykel,

Didn't login yesterday so a little late on my replies..

So great to hear about your scan on friday
I'm so happy for you. My first scan is on Wed and I should be 6 1/2 weeks. I'm so scared!!! I too don't think I'll be able to sleep the night before.

Cale, I also having back pain, usually in the morning only and my afternoon it goes awy.

Hi gals, my cold has subsided, but still have a very bad cough.... don't know when it will end, very worried it will effect the baby... sigh.

Mikojade - I am very happy that your baby is ok. What did the doc say about the bleeding? How many weeks were u then? When was your actual 1st scan? Pls rest as much as possible as this is a very crucial period.

Take care and eat well.

MaybeBaby - Gd luck on your upcoming scan. take care.

mikojade,
good to hear that your bb is alright. dont worry about bleeding. few of us in this thread has bleeding ranging from spotting to gushing. i am one of them who experience the gushing. but so far all our bb turn out to be fine. but rest as much as you can.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nickname</TD><TD> EDD</TD><TD> No. of Baby</TD><TD> Gynae</TD><TD> Clinic / Delivery Hospital</TD><TD> Baby Gender </TD></TR><TR><TD>Twinnies</TD><TD> 16 Feb 09</TD><TD> Twins</TD><TD> Gordan Tan</TD><TD> Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ms Hae</TD><TD> 23 Feb 09</TD><TD> Triplets</TD><TD> P C Wong</TD><TD> NUH </TD></TR><TR><TD>yck</TD><TD> 05 Mar 09</TD><TD> Twins</TD><TD> L C Cheng</TD><TD> TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emma</TD><TD> 25 Mar 09</TD><TD> Twins</TD><TD> Prof. Ng Soon Chye</TD><TD> Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Merlenna</TD><TD> 04 Apr 09</TD><TD> Singleton</TD><TD> Sadhana</TD><TD> KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Imel</TD><TD> 21 Apr 09</TD><TD> Singleton</TD><TD> Dr. Loh</TD><TD> KKH</td></tr></table>

hi ladies, any new updates?

do you feel pressure at your abodmen area? i had it today. not sure whether is it due to the stretching of the tummy. i have it at the side only and feel it when i walk, sit down ok.

yesterday measured my tummy line, increase by 6.5 inch already. from the day of ET till now. i start to show liao, cannot hide from my colleague anymore. got to get new sets of clothing.

Hi Rose,
Thanks:) Haven't spoken to Dr Loh yet but not much info given to me by the medical officers as well. I'm suppose to be 6 weeks today and bb measure 5.4 weeks. Was told by my TCM physician a few days difference is ok. My 1st scan was suppose to be on Wed. Just came back from another scan and the lady took a really long time to do it. My hubby told me the doc who scan me yesterday did it so fast. Just put it and can see Bb whereas the lady just now move here and there. I had the same experience the last cycle so kind of have a phobia but will try to relax as much as I can.

Hi yck,
Did your gynae tell you what's the cause of the bleeding. Mind sharing your story with me? For me, it happened so sudden.

Hi Juju,
Aiyo, my hubby dun dare to bring me to jap resturant yet cos he scared i cannot tahan the temptation haha....but i think i can lah, cos i want the preg to be as safe as possible mah right?

hahaha...i think most hubbies are like tat, sometime he talk to my tummy so gentle, cannot tahan kekeke....i think men are worried abt being too rough or 'scaring' the baby lah.
Aiyo,ur weight is the last thing you shld worry now, just eat well. But how did you know you gain too much?
Oic, thanks you, i will check out the cream 1st then decide wat to buy.

hi ladies.

just came back from my gynae's visit. i lost the 2kg that i gained.
but my blood pressure is good and most importantly, my 3 babies are really growing well and they were so fidgety and kept moving around. now i will be on weekly proluton jab to help maintain the pregnancy. i did ask him about the possibilities of having pre term labour so i kena the jab. he also says since i am not working and it's the best i can give them right now as my rest is the only thing that can help prevent the pre term labour. from now onwards, i have to take a full 1 hour rest of not doing anything for at least 3 times a day. no more scrubbing of floors too.

he is also happy with the progress the babies are making. they are doing very well in there.

this simply makes my day!!

Hi Dawn,
If the clarins quite good, how come stl can have stretch marks later on? Did ur marks go away later on?

Hi Mikojade,
Oh dear, poor gal...no wonder i find it funny that nvr see you online so long.....You still in kkh now?
Must be so traumatic for you...did the doc say how come like tat? Is it possible that its the other twin? Cos i remember ur beta was quite high one right.
But i think its wonderful for you to hear baby's hb. Must rest well ok.....I think you are very discipline to totally stop cold drinks leh.

Hi MaybeBaby,
Thank you, but gotta wait til this fri's scan to make sure everything is ok....hopefully can hear hb

Oh ya, me too, thou last fri not suppose to be due for 1st scan, but the thot of the scanning itself excites me and i really cannot sleep the nite b4, no matter how tired i am haha...think we are all anxious to see how many and to hear the hb, so i think its normal lah.

Regarding ur throat, why dun you try honey like Ms Hae? Maybe you'll feel more soothing.

Hi Ms Hae,
Glad to hear that ur babies are doing well, sounds so active heehee...must be so cute to see them. Hope i can see mine soon too heehee...

mikojade,
doc suspect due to the 3rd sac which stopped growing and is trying to detach. that time was around 6weeks plus.

Maykel,
im into my week 15 now. maybe i quite slim to start with so show later and i do not have any bloatness from after the ER procedure.

Hi Miss Hae,
I am happy for you. It's such a wondering sight to see them kicking around
. How many weeks are you in now? Must rest well until the birth of your babies, don't want to risk anything especially during this crucial period.
Btw, check with you on the strech mark cream, did you ever check with your doctor if it's safe to use this body shop's cocoa butter?

Hi MikoJade,
Sorry to hear about the sudden bleeding. However, it turns out you can hear your baby's heartbeat earlier. Isn't it wonderful
. Must rest well and take care ya.
Would you have a chance to see doc Loh while hospitalised at KK? Did doctor say when can you be discharged from hospital and explain to you what is the possible reason of bleeding?

Hi Maykel/Juju,
For the sake of bb, i have not drink cold drink since i started TCC, so i will just keep it up
. I usually just drink warm water. Sisters, jia you too, don't give in to the temptation.

Hi YCK,
I don't have that feeling that you described yet. For me, the most obvious is the lower back pain and i started to feel a bit nausea. I am still in a very early stage. I guess yours most likely is due to the expansion of your uterus, should be a normal process bah. Don't worry too much ok.

Hi MaybeBaby,
Lucky you. The back pain only stay with you for a while. It's with me for the whole day le
. I am worried that it might get worst during the later stage when the baby is bigger and more weight and pressure is put on the back side

Hi Cale,
You oso very disciplined hor...think i must tahan oso liao. So how are you at work, busy? Never go lunch meh?

Hi Cale,
Talking abt back pain, mine is oso constant and it get worse when i stood up after sitting for oni abt 30 mins, so i must get up regularly. some more now usually sleep on the back, so the pressure is there too. I wanted to sleep at the side but the tummy feels wierd leh. Thinking of buying a cushion for side sleeper, saw 1 at mothercare but dun look like it'll ease my problem leh, wonder if the other ladies have any recommendations.
Dr Loh ask me to tahan the pain cos not safe to put analgesic cream now, he say if cannot tahan then eat panadol....

Is anyone here a side-sleeper? Any recommendation for cushion for side sleepers? Cos i went mothercare and saw a Farlin brand, but it dun look very convincing leh.

hi imel,
ya, i also didnt expect to be able to see my baby swinging legs and hands in such any early stage. i told my hubby that our baby must be a very active one and that maybe due the crab that i ate two weeks ago

hi merlenna,
yes, so so much medication to take..so sian..my gynae said we shld be KS a bit cos it is a preious IVF baby..no choice lor, mummy has to suffer a bit

hi maykel,
you take good care and im sure you will be ok..i will check out the brand of the multi-vitamins that my gynae has given me and will let you know tmr

hi yck,
pls add my details to the table, thanks:
edd: 25/03/09; singleton; benjamin tham, kkh.

Hi Mikojade,
It must be a shock for you to experience that. But its a relief that everything turns out allrite. You have to be total bedrest ok.

Hi Maykel,
My sis in law introduce me to mustela stretch marks intensive action. Yesterday I cannot resist and have a few sips of coke...hehehe but then it doen't help with my gastric. Still having gastric pain especially at nite. Have tried drinking milk, and in the end can only take half of the glass only coz my gastric so pain. I wanted to vomit my food out but my HB prefer me drink gastric medecine. Today this morning I only feel abit of gastric but after than feeling ok lah. But sometimes without any symptoms I become paranoid lah.

Miss Hae,
Wow your babies growing up well. I have to wait till next week to see my baby again. I miss my baby and want to know whether they continue growing.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nickname</TD><TD> EDD</TD><TD> No. of Baby</TD><TD> Gynae</TD><TD> Clinic / Delivery Hospital</TD><TD> Baby Gender </TD></TR><TR><TD>Twinnies</TD><TD> 16 Feb 09</TD><TD> Twins</TD><TD> Gordan Tan</TD><TD> Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ms Hae</TD><TD> 23 Feb 09</TD><TD> Triplets</TD><TD> P C Wong</TD><TD> NUH </TD></TR><TR><TD>yck</TD><TD> 05 Mar 09</TD><TD> Twins</TD><TD> L C Cheng</TD><TD> TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emma</TD><TD> 25 Mar 09</TD><TD> Twins</TD><TD> Prof. Ng Soon Chye</TD><TD> Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>babywee</TD><TD> 25 Mar 09</TD><TD> Singleton</TD><TD> Benjamin Tham</TD><TD> KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Merlenna</TD><TD> 04 Apr 09</TD><TD> Singleton</TD><TD> Sadhana</TD><TD> KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Imel</TD><TD> 21 Apr 09</TD><TD> Singleton</TD><TD> Dr. Loh</TD><TD> KKH</td></tr></table>

updated.

Hi Miss Hae
Good to hear that ur triplets are doing good.

Hi babywee
We have the same EDD! Great! Am doing well but feel heavy on my tummy already. Going for NT scan this wed and keeping my fingers crossed that both bbs are healthy and normal. When is your next scan?

Hi yck
Only now then your tummy shows? My tummy started showing last wk at my wk 11 and some of my friends even guessed Im expecting twins..

Hi Maykel
Maybe you might try pops like '7-up,100 plus, fizzy orange' etc... As coke contains caffine and was told it's better to avoid...

Hi Mikojade
Take good care. Rest is important right now.

My tummy and breasts start to develop rashes and was told by my doc that I could be sensitive to my lotion ( was using victorias secret and body shop body lotion). Am using BUDS stretch marks cream as well as Vit C belly cream (with plants extraction). Been using it sice this morning and seems the rashes starting to diminish.

Hi Imel

I have been trying to locate this Mustela stretch mark cream. Do you know where I can find it?

Hi all.

I am still in nausea and have not eaten well. Try to munch on fruits to keep my stomach full. Just now, I ate a packet of maggi noodles and it seemed to go in well. So far.. That was the only dish i ate without any problems so far.

Really trying to eat but it is tough.

Hi Rose,
I also having nausea, can't eat too much in one go. I have been having bad moods whenever I want to eat but my stomach won't allow me. I feel full most of the time and feel gastric pain. Hehehe like you instant noodle blend well with my stomach and I also try to eat "xiao long bao" and it also works well, may be due to the ginger and back vinegar. You can try it. Usually my nausea and gastric pain worsened by evening. My HB has been asking me to drink gaviscon (gastric medecine) but then I just try to avoid until if I really cannot tahan then I will drink it.

Hi Josephine,
Welcome to the MTB thread. Glad to have you here.

maykel, i started off using Palmer Cocoa and Clarins Tonic oil alternate day once a day...no stretch mark till week 30....then all the red lines suddenly ERUPTED....really itchy...the other 2 no use...so bought Clarins stretch mark cream...after applying skin felt much better.
was told after deliver the babies also can apply the stretch mark cream...to help to improve the elasticity.

mikojade, went through exactly what u described, about 5wk plus, suddenly bled, blood was gushing out and i really panicked! i was all alone at home also in the evening and cried when i called my parents and hubby. wanted to take a cab down to KKH 24 hrs but it was peak hours, and i stood by the roadside 15 mins not getting a cab so gave up, and drove myself there instead. my hubby met me at the hospital. luckily after the scan everything was ok. i bled/spotted all the way till wk14, it was indeed v worrying...but dr loh will take good care of u.

Hi Josephine,
Welcome to the MTB thread. Glad to have you here
. When is your first scanning appointment given? Are you seeing Dr Loh at the Private Suit or Clinic D?

Hi Maykel,
My back pain sometimes quite intense, sometimes not. Donno why like that. The pain is still bearable la. I will check with Dr Loh during my next appt if this will be gone by itself when we move on to other stage of pregnancy.

We jia you together. Try not to put the medicine ok? Unless really really cannot tahan anymore.

maykel,
when is your next scan? mine will be the detailed scan so most likely i will know the gender.

cale,
no, i didn't check with him as i don't feel the need to. anyway, the cream was given as a birthday gift and it is formulated for pregnant ladies. there are so many brands with all the whatnots in each so you can choose which suits you best. i prefer this to palmer's.

yck,
when is your next scan?

babywee,
benjamin tham is a very good gynae. very friendly and approachable. lucky to have him.

josephine,
welcome to the thread! congrats!

Hi Rose,
Yep Gaviscon is safe for pregnancy and have asked Dr. Loh about it. Though he prescribed a stronger medecine (famodine)for me. I feel I try to take mild one first and if really cannot tahan I eat famodine.

Hi Josephine,
I put 3 embies and my beta number is 650+. Singleton for me.

hi mikojade,
wow, that bleeding episode must be such a scare! i personally was praying that i don't start to gush coz i'm constantly spotting.. now slowly its easing off.. phew! i hope you feel better soon and yes, nothing beats seeing that heartbeat yeah? rest well.. you're gonna need it..

hi miss hae,
you were still scrubbing floors?! don't! hehe.. glad your doc told you to take full rests now. carry 3 eh, no joke!! must extra precaution. hehe.. btw, must be so much fun seeing your babies move yeah?! so happy for you! i'm looking forward to seeing mine too..

hi maykel,
i'm a side-sleeper. i recently purchased a pillow from one of the sprees. if i'm not wrong the brand is pupsik studio. bought it becoz the pattern of the covers quite cute. have yet to receive.. hehe.. at the moment, i just use my bolster to sleep snugly..

hi josephine,
welcome to the thread! congrats!!

i see the rant and rave about stretch mark creams you all have been recommending and using. i've yet to start! haha.. at the moment just using my normal moisturiser to put on the tummy. even that i'm not diligent yet. hehe.. tummy's beginnning to show slightly, especially after dinner. only 10+ weeks, but showing as if 3-4 months already.. heh..

Hi Cale,
My 1st scan will be on 23 sep. Yup seeing Dr Loh.
The nurse said the queue at Clinic D &amp; TPS are the same and she said better go to clinic D because they have the USG Scan and TPS doesn't have it.
How abt you? where u go? TPS or Clinic D?
You will go this sat, rt? Keep us update oh.. ^_^

Hi Imel,
Oooo ic...