IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Ok call me cheating and yes Im cheating. Today my HB go and make appointment for u/s in pvt clinic. And YES Im PREGNANT!!! I saw a heart beat. Its the most beautiful flickering small light. I even hear it...the most wonderful music in the world. I cried and Thank God for the wonderful creation. I have been worried and regreting the decision of going for earlier peek, plus have to wait for nearly 2 hrs to see the doctor. But then all worthwhile.

Miss Hae,
I heard from the doctor that we cannot go for u/s so often because of the exposure of thermal heat. He only suggest me to go for scan again in 14 weeks. So for wednesday I won't go for scan in KK, I will just see Dr. Loh with the scan report.

Maykel,
Its better you don't smell too much chemical thing. Not healthy leh...worst than my 2 unhealthy food. Hahaha....anyway you won't stand the smell of it. Even thinking about it make me want to vomit.

Maykel and Cale,
Enjoy the food as sooner or later you won't feel like eating. I have been nauseating for the whole journey in the car. Its terrible. The nausea worsen during evening time.

Rose,
The first scan will be thru vaginal as its very early of pregnancy. I think the nausea is not due to the medication. As we become pregnant our digestion operation working very slowly and lots of gas forming due to the Estrogen which only happen due to pregnancy. I have been taking gaviscon to ease my gastric problem.

Imel - so happy for you
I hope to see the same for me on the 10th when I go for my first scan.

Hi feibb!
It's you!! haha... Was told your beta was high, Congrats! Do send my best wishes to J**** . So happy for the both of you:-D Hope you are taking it easy at work. You still have 9 days more and for me, it's another 12 more torturing days... sigh... I'm actually starting to look for excuses to go down and see Dr Zou cos thats the only place my hubby allows to to go now... sob.. sob

Hi Imel, Congrats on seeing bb's hb.. It's worth our every effort once we see the flickering light:-

Hi Mikojade,

Haha...so now you noe who I am liao? Although beta on high side (1169 on 17dpt), but still feel insecure w/o seeing it on the screen. Plus my bloatedness feeling has gone, though tummy still big, and no other symptoms, except go toilet a few times in the night....don't noe how to pass this 9 days....

mikojade,
my edd is 23rd february 2009. yes, am waiting excitedly for their arrival and also waiting with nervousness with what the next few months are going to make me feel (heavy, tired, backaches and all).

emma,
i went for my NT scan when i was in my 12-13 weeks, if im not wrong.

cale,
i won't be entitled for the maternity leave as i am not working. have not been working since the ER days. i gave 24hr notice when i found out i'm pregnant. think it's the best that i can give my triplets to let them grow well without any unnecessary stress. about the beta reading, you won't believe it. the nurse said it's 200 and i wasn't paying attention as i was crying with relief. all i wanted to know was that i am pregnant. it's 200 but i am having triplets.
i was tested on day 12 as i was spotting lightly a few days before.

imel,
of course you don't go for u/s so often for nothing lah! i will only go when i feel pain or when i don't feel good. since i am with triplets, i can't and won't take any chance to just wait till my next scan. since now i'm in my 2nd tri, all the more i must be alert with any pain that i feel. cannot just bear the pain and wait till your appt even if it's like a week away right? at least if i know they are ok, i feel ok too. and both gynae has advised me to just go to a doctor if there is any pain so i'm ok with it.

woah so much has passed in a day!!! hehe..

hi miss hae,
you shld have told me you also had the similar experience as me. you only saw one heartbeat during the 1st scan! haiyah, it would have reassured me.. at least give me some hope.. ok, now i don't feel so much despair.. haha.. just a little..

hi rose,
my first scan was both. coz the sonographer only saw one heartbeat, she proceed on with a vaginal scan. so, maybe the same for you or its just abdominal for most.

hi emma,
haha, i'm still trying to hide, although there are some friends who blurted it out accidentally when i haven't made any announcement yet. even my relatives dunno at the moment. trying to stretch the secret as much as i can.. hehe..

hi imel,
congratulations! hehe.. that was nice to be able to hear the baby's heartbeat. time to take extra care now.. more than before!

Hi Feibb, keekee.. yup,yup;-)
I'm not having much symptoms now as well except for some headaches, feeling a bit nausea but no more cramping.. are you taking the 'an tai yao' from Dr Zou?

Hi miss hae, between now til then, there's a lot of preparation to do :) maybe you should try to catch a few more movies cos when the little darlings are out, your hands will be full for the next few years;-P

I've just had my u/s scan jus now. The sonographer jus saw one baby. 2 sacs but the other sac seems empty. Can't see a fetus in it. My other baby tho is growing fine and has increased in size from the last scan. So, I've resign to fate that its one healthy baby for me. I'm still absolutely thrilled btw. Not disheartened at all. Jus really excited now to concentrate on this little precious of mine.

Merlenna - As long as your baby is healthy, thats most important. All will be fine.Stay happy.

Cale - My scan is on 12 Sep at KK TPS with Dr Loh.

I had crampings like period last nite. Today it has stopped. No bleeding. I really hope everything is alright down there.

Gd luck to all sisters out there.

Hi Marlenna,
Ya as long the baby growing and healthy, one or two is doesn't matter. Don't forget to rest more leh Marlenna, don't stress yourself, must really take care.

Miss Hae,
Hahaha once I know theres a baby inside, I will be very kanchiong leh. Will always wondering whether the baby still there. I really salute you, you have three. I have one already so many symptoms, like nauseating. Can't really sleep last nite coz of the nausea and gastric and then cramping. Morning wake up already feel nausea. Luckily got ginger water if not I dunno how to go thru my 9 mths.

Hi Rose,
I also had cramps in the middle of the nite. It comes like waves, stay for few minutes and then gone. Think its our uterus stretching. You take care ok.

To all,
Thanks for all your wishes. This baby is really a perfect gift for us. Yesterday from the scan, the doctor found out I have endo cysts at both of my ovaries. Left side is larger with size of 2cm. I hope it doesn't effect my pregnancy. Anyway I still have to becareful with watever I do and really take care of this baby. And yes finally my HB go and tell my mil that I want to eat luncheon meat and had it for breakfast. It feels so good.

Hi Merlenna,

May I ask yr HCG level and which day did u test?

Hi Mikojade,

Jxxxx HCG 3000+, nurse said likely triplets! I am so happy for her.....

Hi mikojade,
hey, tat means still got hope for us to have more than 1

I didn't know i had ectopic until the scanning. For 1 wk before the scanning, i was bleeding and it gets heavier, i was oso doing beta test every 2-3days, eventually the numbers seems to drop slightly, tat is when my gynae ask me to do detailed scanning by sonographer, os she can't see any sac in womb. By right should have pain, but my pain tolerance was very high, so didn't get pain until its too late. So eventually lost 1 tube.
So for your 1st natural FET, you just make appt to do like an ET thats all is it? No need for any jab or med b4 that? Oic...i am oso taking tcm now, have been taking since i started ivf.
Yes, you are right, everyday is a challenge for us and we became worried of almost everything. But we must always hope for the best.

Hi rose,
Oh i see....how does the doc decide if you need additional hormones? Me oso with TPS

Hi MaybeBaby,
Hope you are feeling better today. I oso has dull pain on and off over my ovaries, esp when i sat for quite some time and get up suddenly. Its like a rebounded kinda pain, but it would go away in a while. Is ur pain consistent or for a while only?

Hey Imel,
Oh, tats great, so happy for you! Wat a lovely description you have of teh heartbeat, sounds so musical and magical kekeke....
Oh ya, i took 2 days MC today, cos dun wana go bk office and suffer. My nausea is getting bad today, i oso got bad cramps this Am...
I am starting to lose my appetite leh, i kept feeling hungry but after ate a bit only very bloated already. Haha...so you can 'officially' eat ur luncheon meat already loh ;)
Oh, i have a fren who oso had a cyst when she was preg. The cyst actually grows as her preg advance and she was oso very worried. But eventually can tahan until she delivered then doc took it out. Her initial size was as big as the embryo, but grew slower at the later stage. I think it could ease ur mind better if you go for regular follow-up to monitor. Dun worry ok? We have come this far....things will go smoothly for us.

Hi Merlenna,
I agree tat as long as we have 1 healthy baby growing, it is already a blessing
did the doc say wat would happen to the other sac? Would it come out by itself?

May I know if anyone of you had managed to get HL (esp in kkh) during ur 1st trimester? Cos now i am only 5wks1day and i am having bad nausea and cramp this Am. Also has whitish discharge, does any of you experience these b4? My 1st scan is next fri, but i managed to make an earlier appt to see dr loh this fri to ask abt my cramp. Also wondering if he would be able to give me more HL, cos my work very stressful and my cramp started after i went bk to work for the 1st day yest
very miserable now...

hi hi maykel, i was under Dr Loh last yr too, dun worry, he is very supportive of us IVF gals taking leave one... He gave me HL from my WK 6 all the way to WK14....then Week 26 onwards all the way to the day i delivered, he literally *FORCED* me to take the HL. i remembered telling him i felt alright, still quite energetic n can work another 2 more weeks till next appt as i have some work to clear....he told me "take lah, just humour me can?". Apparently week 22 to 28 is quite a dangerous period, I m thankful for that as i could carry my twins up to week 36. oh, but he will give the HL in short intervals one, like 2 weeks type...not one shot 3 months.
just ask, i m sure he will give.

merlenna,
eh, i nvr tell u meh? i tot i have, in the ivf forum last time. don' t worry about the other sac ok. having 1 is just as precious for all of us after so long of trying.

mikojade,
yeah, you're right. my life is definitely changing once they are out. that's y i told my hubby must paktoh as much as possible now, irregardless of my size.

imel,
you can try h2o, but not the carbonated ones. now im also having difficulty sleeping as i keep wanting to pee. the urge is so strong but when i went to the loo, aiyoh, little bit come out. my husband ask me sleep in the toilet. hee3! btw, am very happy for you and your husband.

Hi Maykel, thankfully the pain around the ovary is gone today... so strange, was occuring yesterday all day on and off it really got me worried. I'm not spotting now, so I have to hope all is ok. But now I have a cold!!!

I'm not working now (quit last year when started IVF) so don't know much about getting leave. I really hope the Dr can give you HL so you can get some rest. Take care, k.

Hi Merlenna,
It's a blessing to have 1 healthy baby. Sorry to hear abt the other but do try not to ponder over it.

Hi Feibb,
Wow,3000++!! Sounds like triplets to me:-D Ask her to really take good care...

Hi Maykel,
There's hope for us to have more than 1!:-D 1,2 or 3, let's look forward to that little flickering light on 12/9!
For my natural FET, I have to go down for them to scan my lining and follicles almost everyday. Once my lining manage to reach the ideal thickness and my follicles were of a good size too, I have to use the ovulation test kit everyday to detect when I ovulate and 3 days from then, Dr Loh did the transfer for me. No medication before the transfer but thereafter I was given Cyclogest pessaries to insert everyday. My 1st cycle was very stress up cos after transfer, I had to go down to KKH for the progesterone jab everyday and I had a lot more discomforts.
I'm not sure if you can get HL, but can you take leave from work? sounds like your cramps and nausea came by due to stress. I was a bit stressed up yesterday as well due to my new place 2nd appt today and the renovation stuff and ended up having horrible headaches and very bad nausea.

Hi Merlenna
Good that your baby is doing well in your tummy. Dun worry, the other sac will come out as discharge. So your next scan will be in 2 wks time? Have a good rest now that it's school holi. ya.

Hi Mikojade
Are you taking chinese medicine? Was told by my gynae that it's best to avoid during 1st trimester. Mayb my gynae is a bit 'scared' kind..hehe but beta check with your gynae tho.

Hi Miss Hae
After your NT scan, do they give you the report on the spot?

Just wanna check if anyone of you do not have any discharge. Was surfing the net and they mention about some discharge but I'm totally dry down there....

emma,
no, they don't. they just give me a 4d scan of all three triplets, something that i didn't ask for but they were kind enough to give me. i asked the gynae and sonographer doing it how are the results and they said all 3 are ok. my gynae will show me the report this coming monday. r u going for your nt scan? all the best ya!

Maykel - Explain to the doc if you have spotting. He will decide on the dosage from there. Pls rest well.

I am also wondering. After the 1st scan, will TPS give us a report on the spot?

Hi Emma, I didn't ask my gynae abt it but from what I know they are now more open to chinese medicine and in my case, I've notice the difference after taking it ;-)

Hi Dawn,
Oh, great to hear that, i love dr loh for that hahaha....wow, his HL really generous hor. Do we need to be high risk or twins like you then he will give HL? Tat means every few wks gotta go bk and see him to extend HL?
Thanks, i felt so reassured after hearing this
So how big are ur babies now?

Hi Maybebaby,
Good to hear that
Oh, got flu ar, eat vit C if you dun wana take med, cos it works for me. Gd lah, at least dun have work stress like me haha....

Hey Mikojade,
I going to see dr loh this fri, cos i got bad cramp this Am, thot wana ask him some questions. But shld be too small to scan, so next wk may still have to go bk again.
Oh, FET dun sounds easy either....i think i better dun think too much abt that for now hor.....
Ya, think i got stressed from work yest, was thinking if i can't get HL, i will take unpaid leave and rest at least for the 1st 2 mths.
Poor thing, you mean you shifted into ur new place already but renovation not complete yet? Was told tat preg women cannot be in the same hse when doing reno leh, maybe its pantang, but depends on how you see it. Partly oso i think the smell and dust can affect ur mood oso. Me oso got bad nausea after i inhale the painting fumes from my wrkplace yest, lasted til nw leh

wow, so many new MTBs. CONGRATS to all of you and have a smooth pregnancy.

For those who are interested in the HCG readings, mine was 2748 on 16dpt. and on my 1st scan i got triplets but after that downgrade to twins.

Merlenna,
Good to hear that your baby is growing great. take very good care of yourself. i also had bleeding earlier when the 3rd sac and placenta are detaching from the womb.
and got leh, ms hae did mentioned previously that she only get to see the other 2 heartbeats on the 2nd scan.

Ms Hae,
how are you feeling now? got your appetite back already? me not yet. still feeling nausea sometimes. and yes keep wating to pee and each time only little come out. sometimes in the morning bladder a bit pain when releasing myself, maybe hold urine too long. you must have spend alot on your visits to the gynae. but at least you set your mind at ease seeing your 3 babies. i will only be seeing my gynae again in 3 weeks time. so long. think 2nd trimester onwards we only see them once a month.

Emma,
was told by my gynae to avoid chinese medications too during 1st trimester. Even when my MIL goes to the chinese medical store to ask what i can take, the guy also told her to avoid until 1st trimester is over.
for the NT scan, if you are seeing your gynae on the same day, you should get the report on the same day (at least for my case). if not, maybe by your next visit.

mikojade,
i do not have much discharge too during the early stage. only those residue from the vaginal gel. or maybe its mixed together with the residue, im not sure. any ivf pregnancies is symptoms are somehow different from normal pregnancies since all our hormones are being controlled.

Hi Maykel,
It's a good idea to rest more now esp with cramps, at least til after the 1st trimester.
Today is the 2nd appt at HDB and will only start renovation end of the mth.. My hubby will be running the whole show and I've actually packed all our stuff before the cycle.. Poor hubby has got limited clothes and 2 pairs of shoes left.. haha.. are u resting at home now??

hi merlenna,
my case is just like yours..one sac is empty..just take extra careful cos i experienced discharge during 6-8 weeks and have to increase the dosage of duphaston to 3 times per day. take care

Hi Mikojade,
ya, i agree....cos 1st tri more critical.
oh, you mean 2nd appt with hdb keke...sori hor, i sotong, thot yo go hospital appt...
haha....you very funny leh, but talking abt clothes, i oso have limited now leh, cos my tummy very bloated now leh, like 4mths preggie like tat, but dun wana buy until i confirm with the scan

Yup, me at home now, mc today and 2mr.

Hi yck,
Thank you, i have a lot to learn from you ladies here
me oni 5wks1day heehee....take good care, so good to have twins

Hi Maykel,
hahaha, sorry I din say clearly... but my temptation to see my private gynae is increasing everyday ;-p
What to do... cannot really trust him to pack.. he will just throw everything into the box.
I oso look abt 4 mths.. haha.. the last time I went maternity exchange to rent instead of buying...
Rest well and relax..

beta hcg results out at 914.7, nurse said this will be a singleton
next appt on 17 sep.
am thinking, since singleton, better to see outside doc? dun need to always take leave when i see doc

hope i can join this thread

Hi yck,
Thanks for the assurance.. Was just telling my friend I'm so bore at home til I keep looking out for the pregnancy symptoms...

Hi Mikojade,
its ok lah, me oso blur blur. You got pte gynae to go to meh? You thinking of doing scanning is it? Any idea if there is any minimum wks then can hear fetal HB?
ya, you are right, men can be very sui bian one...
aiyo, so we all the same ar haha....so coincidence, i was just asking the ladies abt maternity exchange. Which pkg you took? You think its sufficient?

Hi juju,
tats great! congrats

Think for doc wise, its up to you, why not wait for the initial scan to confirm then decide? Most impt the doc must make you feel comfy.

Hi babywee,
Was just reading that you have discharges as well. I am oni 5wks now, but i got very bad cramp this Am follow by alot of whitish discharges, but now got decreased, is it normal? Any idea wat does these discharges signifies?

Hi Juju,
Glad to see you here. Wow more and more students graduate from primary school leh. So happy. But well we have to keep going on till university, so let us jia you together.

Hi Cale,
How are you, how's work? Me took mc today and 2mr heehee....i made appt on fri to see dr loh, cos got cramp. Wonder if can see baby or not, but maybe too early oso.
I sent enquiry to birth and Beyond few days ago but no reply leh....thinking of going down to take a look at the place....

Hi Juju,
Congrats and welcome!:)

Hi Maykel,
I can go look for my gf's gynae and his chargers are very reasonable. Just thought of scanning to see if can see the sac and the fetus. Usually about 6.5 weeks can see but some take up to 8 weeks.
I took the basic instincts pkg cos just wanted to try out and they have a 1 year expiry. Used only for 3 pieces but luckily still within the expiry date.

Hi Mikojade,
oh, 6.5wks ar...then think this fri if i see dr loh oso can't see....
Oic....think i'm quite keen to try out maternity exchange oso. heng ar, ur pkg not expired yet, still can use

Hi Maykel,
This fri should be able to see sac and fetus:-D
Think it's good cos there's a variety of designs to choose from.. yeah, lucky not expire yet :)
Are you still seeing Dr Loh next fri?

Hi Maykel,
Better wait till 6 weeks plus then go and scan. Coz if you scan now and can't see anything you will feel stress leh. My nausea better leh after drinking ginger tea. But dunno whether can last till evening.

yck,
hello! so long you never come in here! initially i lost 4 kg now i gain back 2kg. appetite is ok2, didn't really have any weird cravings for any type of food, except for my husband. very leceh!

ya, i think so too. i have not seen him for 4weeks. but i think 3rd tri i'll be seeing him every 2 weeks. how many weeks are you now?

I am getting worried now. I have small amt of brown spotting. 5 weeks now. Hope all is fine. Really worried.

Hi rose,
When I had spotting, was told to cook glutinous rice and 'Lian ou' into porridge and eat everyday which I'm still doing now. It worked for me cos my spotting stopped the next day. Not sure if it really works but no harm trying..

Do you have a metal taste in your mouth still, followed by a loss of appetite and nausea? Is this morning sickness?