IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

dawn,
Oh I thought looking at the dimensions, it's a little small once we put the 3-4 bottles & flask in, and the top is sloping so may not contain much. Was tempted to get it but I thought also too small if i want to use it as gym bag later on. But very nice...

Oh ask you, did u buy 2 cots? How long will the cots last? Cos my MIL wants to use mattress on floor, but I was wondering how old b4 bbs can be trsf from cot to sleepg on mattress? I only have one cot now.

petals, i bought 1 cot and 1 play pen (put in maid's room). originally both of them sleep in the playpen (first month) cos maid and confinement lady taking care of them. after confinement lady left, gal sleeps in the cot in my room during weekdays boy in playpen next door. intent to buy another cot 2 or 3 months later as the play pen can only take up to a certain weight. so both cots will be in the maid's room. oh yah, my frens also told me no need cot one, just sleep on mattress can liow. think it is up to u. also have colleague's baby who refused to sleep in cot....when i heard this, that is why i only bought 1 cot first....to test my babies. haha.

re: diaper bag
think we better save money lah, we got 2 mouths to feed....actually any big bag will do....my hubby says a nice bag is juz for us to feel good when bringing the babies out. ;)

Dawn,
Hee, I know...I think a diaper bag is to pamper ourselves...for me, another excuse to buy another bag. :p
Hmm, maybe I'll see if any of my friends have extra cot to lend later on...trying not to buy a 2nd one if it's only going to be used for a few mths.

littletwinstars, hey this bed looks quite cool hor? but a bit ex....hmmm....can consider buying, but next time the babies can stand liow, they will fall out of the bed cos no railings?

yes, women have lots of excuses for the things they need to buy...hiaks!

dawn
my friends who have kids mostly sleep on the floor as one of my friend's son fell off the bed before n landed in hospital. now their room is padded with mattresses....not very sightly but they are afraid of another episode i guess

ladies:
my shoppaholic nature has returned es when i found out i'm having a girl....already ordered alot from bulk purchase.....

The mattress bed looks quite nice hor. Nicer than those fr Kiddy palace. My friend's child still sleep in one of these mattress bed till now almost 2yrs old.

Yalor i also got friend who bought cot but it ended up as a white elephant...wasted lor. Tat's y i just bought a playpen fr JL, hope to use at least up to 1yr+ or 2yrs then buy a proper bed.

Dawn,
Dunno leh, i always see a banner there..shd be the same shop, it's at the corner if i'm not wrong.

Petals,
I will also put the bb in another rm...will let my CF lady sleep wif her during conf. After she left, will put baby moniter or maybe got to shift her,see how.

LTS,
Haa..i think the bulk purchase is getting u addicted. Did u buy alot of pink stuffs too

nano
i also scared cot become white elephant. that's y i'm looking for a big one that can sit adult so i can use it as a day bed beside the phone area or as a reading chair in case

i ordered burberry dresses n all the other nonsense. hehe most of them are cheaper than if i buy it outside. also i have alot of wedding dinners to attend to when baby is out. so now stocking up lor......woman alot of excuse to shop hor

Stardiva,
Ya, the bed u showed us quite cool, but a little exp. Now i can only do my shopping online...looking fwd to GSS in Jun/Jul. That's when i can go out shopping at all the sales! I also find bp addictive...feel like buying a lot of stuff. But must compare price, sometimes a few bp selling same thing but diff price.

petals
dunno y the bed has 2 prices.. yeah, u can look forward to gss, will b worth it. by then'll have to use my big tummy to push thru lo, hoho. yes bp is addictive

littletwinstar, the beds they show got 2 dimension, the more expensive one slightly taller and border is 1 inch thicker....pay 30 dollars more. hahah.

i realise the first few months hardly bring the babies out other than for check ups leh....so end up they sleep also wear oshkosh and other nice nice clothes....very wasted especially they like to vomit out their milk after feeding recently. sigh....so think it is better to buy the nice nice clothes in larger sizes....probably 9 months? Those 6months clothes that i bought my kids oredi wearing, and NB and 3 months clothing going to be too tight liow....they oni 2 months now...so better dun spend too much on the first 6 months clothing, as they r often swaddled, cannot see what they wear! some clothing i realised they oni wore once...now looks abit small liow.

nano, yes , it is the corner shop, u very observant. ;)

BP is very addictive...buy that time very shiok hor....but when check bank account will always scratch head and wonder why suddenly got those "seemingly" small amounts which i cannot account for...then realise it is so easy to click and transfer money and forget about it. end of month check account, faint!

Im from the IVF -support group/2ww. Im going thru IVF in May @ SHG Care. I wanted to know if any of u who has lovely bumdles or joy or soon will be giving birth to their bundles of joy got their IVF @ SGH- Care.
I hope Im able to join this group soon..... Hoping for a baby for 3yrs now

Nicole, all the best to you....hope to see u chatting here soon!
these 2 weeks must be the longest 2 weeks u have been thro! I have a fren who got her daughter via IVF@SGH, mine is at KK. Good luck!

little twin star...!!

so u having a girl huh..?

WOW...lots of cute things to buy woh..hehe..

i can only find out mine next wk.... so long hor..? aiyoh...can't wait...hehe..

Can i chk whether we need to shave(v area) before we r admitted? If c-sect, need to shave or not?

Nicole, hello! Hope u can join us soon! me fr kkivf.

Petals,
Is yr feet swollen? Mine has been swollen for past few days...

Been mia for a while.
Well, that's bcos i popped last wk! Waterbag broke at nite and we rushed to hospital. Next day, contracttions came despite my drip, so went for emerg c-sect. Both twins sent to scn. Guess they'll be there for a few weeks.

Weiwei, Dawn,
How long does the pain from the wound last? i find it painful when I get up from bed even when i roll onto my side. And my whole tummy will clench. Do u get that too?

petals,

congrats!!!!!!!!! omg, that is fast! time really flies...next will be nano's turn. do post us pics if u have
in the mean time, rest well ok. "pu" back yr health

hopes,
ya lor, we were all very surprised, hehe but i was so happy, went out to buy alot of girly stuffs liao. so many things to buy...then tom supposed to go for another detailed scan to reconfirm..oh dear.....don;t play with me lei baby!

dawn
i bot a baby bed liao...super ex but we not paying

Petals, CONGRATS CONGRATS!! That is so fast! how many weeks are you? How are the babies? how long do they need to stay there?? How are you doing?? Hope you rest well and recover from your wound so you be strong when you twins come home... Congrats!!

Hopes, you know the baby gender oredi?

Congrats petals!!!! I was wondering how come last week this thread quite quiet wor! Yes yes, very painful for me when i get up from bed for at least the 1st week. imagine when i want to get up to pump milk in the middle of night, i also need hubby's help to support me then i can get up, otherwise it is too painful. First 3 days at hospital, i also can't roll to my side, so need to press bell to ask for nurse's assistance to get own the bed to go toilet. Meanwhile, rest and rest more, don't walk unnecessarily ok? How are ur babies now, don't worry too much they are in good care in SCN.

lttiletwinstar, which bed did u buy in the end? got sponsorship liow har? heee hee...........

nichole,
very fast it will be june one, see u then!

dawn
i got the mishka and maven bed
u can go and see from their website. actually i don;t know if it's a mistake......i seems to be making alot of purchase mistakes lei.....first time mum, not experience. don;t know what to get so anyhow buy...sigh

Petals,
Congrats!!! No wonder u MIA.
U so fast ah make me scare leh cos dh not in town, i better dun pop so early..

Post us yr bb pics when u can. In the meantime, have a gd rest...

Aiyo can't wait to tell my hb abt yr gd news!

Petals!

Wah... Congrats Congrats!!
Take good care of yourself leh!!
Hope all the pain will go away soon and u can enjoy quality time with ur babies

How's their weight like?

Remember to take pictures to show us leh!!

twin star..

how many wks are u in already huh..?

michelle..

not yet leh...next wk then will know the gender when i go for the detailed scan...

ladies, to check with you all something. the last scan shows my baby weight is 522gm at 23wk3days. Dr commented that baby weight is slightly low. Then he also said i am carrying the baby really low (i can feel the movement very low as well), and also checked my cervix to make sure it is still tight... I got so worried after the visit.. Dr said if I feel any tummy tightness to go in straight away! I am like, har?? is this a risk for mummies who carry their babies low? i have low placenta during the detailed scan as well... in addition, my weight gain is also very minimal....

any of you have the same experience and is there anything i can do to push the baby up or at least increase the weight??

hopes,
base on calculation i'm wk22. base on baby size i'm wk23!!
soon it'll be yr turn for DS...gan jiong hor

michelle,
it's common to have low placenta. only if yr placenta don't move up by wk 28 then need to worry. yr dr very gd lei. still help u monitor... if need to, jus do a stitch will do....to play safe.mine always say everything ok, even when my placenta was low...however by ds, my placenta moved up

before it moved up, i make sure i don;t walk too much.....very imp!!! also do not carry anything heavy until it moves up.
i'm also carrying low........will ask dr tom

btw, yest. my tummy tight the whole day. can;t walk much at all.
better ask dr tom too

Michelle,

When i did my DS, i was told my placenta also slightly low. But another gynae which is my current gynae said mine is ok, need not worry. However, i also can feel my bb kicking very low.
Actually, i've walked quite alot during this pregnancy, luckily so far ok, must remind my gynae to moniter for my placenta.

Yr bb wt seems ok leh...according to babyctr guideline, 23wks ard 501gms. Usually during 3rd trim bb will have growth spurt, will put on more wt by then. Some pple eat durian to incr bb wt but heaty lor, dun eat too much.

LTS,
So u and Michelle ard same timing. Do update us on yr doc appt 2mr.

Thanks. I also read that baby weight should be considered average, so not sure why he made that comment. I am more concerned about baby being too low, and DR Loh did ask me not to be too active and to walk slowly.. (he saw me walking into the office a little fast). I try to remind myself on that the whole day today.. i think i still tend to walk quite fast...

At least he did a check to confirm my cervix is still tight.. will monitor closely. thanks.

Thanks, everyone. But I was quite sad to not be able to hold on for another few more wks...I was 31wk+. Hope I don't get postnatal blues...feeling very down since i've been home. My bbs generally ok so far other than jaundice, but even though they were born with gd weights, they still need to be at least 2kg b4 they are allowed to come home. Really pray nothing else crops up.

petals

congrats!!! dun worry, e nurses n drs in scn r very nice n ur babies r in good hands.

my wound was a good one, never giv me prob. me start to walk around on e next day of operation. of coz it's a bit painful, but still must move around n do some light exercise. do u hav e abd binder? it helps e womb to go back its normal n reduce pain as well. yes, tummy wil hav pain when u r side position. our womb very loose n need a lot of support so u need to hav a towel or a small pillow press against e tummy when turing or getting up.

how r ur babies? what's their birth weight? u BF? jaundice s quite common in premature babies. it should b ok as they grow older n bigger. do u visit babies everyday?

Petals,
Maybe yr babies can't wait to come out to see mummy n daddy.
Yr babies have been growing well in yr womb so i believe they are strong bb, will put on wt very fast. Take care and dun worry too much.

Michelle,
Up till now, sometimes i also walk abit fast, told myself to slow down. Since yr cervix is tight then shd b ok, think Dr Loh will moniter closely for u.

Petals,

Congratulations!!!!! You're the first among our cycle buddies to 'pop'! Rest well, ok?

Right now, I'm taking the anti-contraction pills cos I'm feeling the tightening now and then. Doc gave me until the end of the month. If still persists, I will have to go for c-sect.

Petals, Nano, Michelle, Little Twin, Xixi &Hopes,
How are all of you? Did IVF in Sept/Oct07 with some of you... Just dropped in to see what's happenning to you guys and have found that Petals has delivered!!
CONGRATS, Petals!! Dont worry babies will be fine. Cant get better care than at Kk SCN. that's half the reason I chose KKIVF in the frist place. how are the rest of you ?
Nice to see some familar names...

I am having my FET now and am in 2ww - D8 PET.
Dont feel anything... so am a bit worried. Had a bad flu too...fingers crossed.
Have read a bit of the thread... Any news from Joanna Tan (nana_jo) ?
Anyway, just to say "Hi".
All the best to you all. please pray for me too.
Love, babydust2

Congrats Petals..
Yah, pray hard for u that the babies will guai guai grow well and come back to your arms soon. Cheer up and think more positive. Why feel down? you should be so glad that you have your 2 lovely babies now.
Hi Rammy,
Please hold on tight. See if u & i will meet up at the delivery ward. t told my baby to hold on for another month.I am hoping for a natural delivery.
Michelle,
I was told that my placenta was a bit low during my DS. But doc Loh said its moving up and not blocking the birth canal during my last scan. So don't worry too much.

michelle,

don;t think yr baby's weight is low lei...i jus did a scan today. 22wks 1 day 400 gms only. this dr say my placenta is still low lei but he's confident it will move up.......he figured out i shd b paranoid as a first time mum...he told me not to worry and jus enjoy the pregnancy

nano
all went well, dr ask me to count base on first edd not by latest scan. i think i kena heartburn n indigestion ........ abit early for that
oh well........it's back to retail therapy

babydust
8dpt.......hang in there!!!!!!! hope u can join us soon!!!!! jia you!

don;t base on symptoms.....not accurate one. btw, i also had flu after et. sending out all the good vibes to u!

petals,
u are in good hands. don;t worry. rest well so u can have the energy to take care of yr babies when they arrive home

Babydust,
You r halfway thru' aredi so hang on. I remembered tat time esp during the 1st half of the 2ww i dun've symptoms compared to the rest, only feel bloated in the later part, so be positive

Twin Stars,
Try to break yr meals into smaller portion, maybe u'll feel better. Haa...guess retail therapy is still yr best medicine

Rammy, Needle,
Gd to hear fr u two. I was thinking which of u will be next
I also hoping my bb will only pop nx mth.

weiwei,
For me, it's not the wound but my left side that really hurts when i get up. Er, our wound is in the centre, right? Wanted to get the binder from pharmacy but i couldn't fit into the 2 sizes available, and they don't sell this brand at guardian. So suffered for the first few days, only until yest then I tried the sample again and found that my tummy went down enough to fit...hiaz. My bbs weights are 1.7kg+. Now trying to express...took quite long b4 my milk finally came in. Today only 15ml per session. How long did it take u to start having EBM and how much did u start with? Also want to check whether you tried to bf your babies directly when in scn?
Quite tired from the 3hrly pumping and daily visits. So far not much chance to really rest. Was it the same for you?

nano, rammy, needle,
Hope u gals hold on till full term. At least u have passed the 34 wk mark... Jia you!

Babydust2,
Hallo...hope u succeed and get BFP. Don't worry, I didn't have any symptoms during 2ww too...other than feeling tired.

stardiva, hopes, michelle,
you 3 are around the same time hor...take gd care and rest well. Don't be afraid to ask dr abt anything you notice...whether tightening or something that may seem insignificant.

weiwei,
there was another set of triplets born yest and trsf to scn...heard all the nurses talk abt their arrival.

dawn, weiwei,
do we need to take any supplements now after delivery? Like calcium or neurogain?
Think I'm having a slight fever today...dunno if i shld see doc.

petals

wow,u visit ur bbs everyday? tat's very tiring leh. me visit my bbs every 2-3days but hubby went over everyday. my BM went up to 20-30mls when i discharge frm hospital. dun worry, ur supply wil come up as long as u r pumping 3 hourly. yes, it's so tired but u hav to do it otherwise wont hav much BM later liao. din try latch on while bbs in scn coz dun want them get too tired then waste a lot of energy. also talking about feeding 3 bbs, nt possible latch on all of them. so gav up n just pump out bottle feed. e 1st wk of pump was really painful for me n had to massage my breasts each time to open e milk ducts. but after tat milk supply came up quite fast liao. is it ok if ur hubby send BM for u everyday n u visit bbs every 2-3 days? u need to rest as lot in order to hav enough BM. n also try fish n papaya soup, it helps. last time i just eat, pump, n sleep when bbs not back yet. once bbs back, wont find much time to rest liao.

petals

dr loh gav me iron tab n vit c coz my red bld cells r low even b4 giv birth. other than tat never take other meds. but am taking anmum lacta for better quality BM. better go n see dr if u r not feeling well, dun self medicate as u r breastfeeding.

Rammy, Needle,
Is yr feet very swollen now? Mine started swelling this wk. How's yr babies wt now? Mine is abt 2kg+, doc said for me abt 3kg when due would be ideal areadi.

Petals,
It seems quite tiring for u to travel to and fro hosp so frequently, hope u will get enough rest. Luckily, here got helpful mummies like Dawn n WeiWei to give advice.

petals, better go and see doctor and rest more. i understand the feeling that u want to see ur babies daily....it is the mummy instinct. btw, i only finished up the NeroGain that were left over b4 i delivered, after that just make sure that i take fish every day.
after 2 week (cos we c section) can take chicken essence or those black chicken soup to bu.

some gals from other threads shared this baby language stuff....wished i had watched it earlier! I just watched yesterday and true enuff....my babies do cry the way the describe when hungry and need burping!!!!

i thought this is rather useful..
http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=_IRQc2hOiKE&feature=related

I'm currently 9 weeks pregnant. Need advise on the type of milk to drink now? I'm only taking HL milk, is that sufficient? And also, should i be taking any other vitamins other than folic acid?

Petals

Congrats! I also MIA for a while and the next thing I know... you've popped. So happy for you.. Don't worry about bbs, they'll be fine. My nephew also popped at 31 wks and now he's already a monster.. Take good care and have lots of rest.. see the doc if you are not feeling well.

Nano,

Surprisingly, my feet don't swell a lot. I can still wear my slippers & sandals. The last scan I went, my baby was 1.8 kg. But doc was surprised his head is down already. Also, I'm beginning to feel pain in my crotch every now & then. So, I'm sort of mentally preparing myself for an April baby.

Nano, petals and Little twin,

Thank you. I have been very reassured by you all.My fingers and toes are all crossed ! ;)

Hi Mrs Teng and Viviself,
How are you all? Vivi, when did you do FET? or was it another fresh cycle? Congrats !!! Very glad for you.

viviself

congrats!!!!! and welcome abroad

most gynaes will only give u folic acid at this stage...they will only start to give you lot of vits from yr 2nd trimester..don't worry. but u can ask yr dr to confirm

babydust,
waiting for u to join us soon

dawn

ya, my babies do cry e way show in e video. babies always hav e same language, no matter wat s his race.
just came back frm kk. my didi had seen e cardiologist today for his heart murmur. he said nothing serious just e hole in didi's heart nt yet close which s quite common in premature babies n some wil close up as they grow.

Viviself,
Congrats! For milk, HL shd be enough. U can also drink supplement like Anmum later on if u want but it is quite heaty.

Dawn,
Saw the video, must learn how to decode the different kind of crying..

Rammy,
So gd ah..not much swelling. I hope my swelling doesn't have other implication.

Yr bb so fast turned aredi. Actually these 2days i also suddenly felt some pain down there..

Dawn, Weiwei,
Did yr feet becomes swollen during yr 3rd trim?