IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

nancy and babychole, yes this forum is indeed a source of motivation and strength for pple like us...dun think i can come this far without the support and encouragement from my forum mates! Jia you!

Nano,
How are u...so long never hear from u... everything ok?

hi Nancy & Babychloe,
All the best for your IVF! Yes, this forum has been very helpful to me too, and the sisters on the various IVF threads are all willing to share their experiences and tips. The initial decision may be difficult, but once you decide, you will find that u have the courage to take all that comes. Jia you! Don't give up on ur dream to have kids...

Dawn,
Dunno when i will have time to cut my hair...v shapeless already. Did u stay at home thru'out confinement, or did u go out to run errands sometimes? How long did it take b4 you are more mobile after the c-sect wound heals?

dawn

yes, DD just came back yesterday. had really sleepless night n she cried e most. kk usually feed her 40mls which last her only for an hour then she wil cry for milk again. dare nt to increase her feeds too fast so planning add 10mls every 1-2 days then see how. hopefully she wil feel better n cry less after we meet her demand. compare to her, my 2 boys r much easier to take care. :p

Nancy & Babychloe

yes, this forum gave me a lot of motivation n kept me going during my treatment. u can pour out all ur anxiety, happiness or even sadness n our sisters here understand u e best bcoz we went through e same path. jia you!!

petals, better cut your hair b4 u deliver...i cut mine one week b4 i deliver...till now no time to go and cut....look very very ah soh liow! i almost stayed at home throughout confinement except twice when the twins were sick, i had to bring them to the PD. I could oni walk normally 1 week after i delivered...was on pain killer during that period too.

weiwei, oh dear if the feed only last her for 1 hour, that is very siong on you! maybe it is just that she has not adjusted to her home oni. what is her weight now, think for her weight 40ml is okay right?

weiwei, petals and dawn

Thanks so much , ladies!!! Enjoy the motherhood
with the ivf sisters here, i will stay positive and look forward be a mum like you.

dawn

she s 2kg now. thought 40mls should be ok for her also. but frm wat i observe while she still in hospital, she got hungery n angry after 1 hour of feeds. hav to carry her make her sleep so tat she wil forget abt e milk. did ask e nurse whether e feeds enough for her or nt, e nurse told me in kk usually wil feed 7/10 fullness only so it wil b easier to feed.
got e green light frm e nurse tat can feed her 50mls once we came back n can increase as tolerated. dun knw leh, she just keep crying for milk n wil finish 50mls in 5 mins. last time my boys seem to be fine with 40mls when they came back. maybe she cry too much tat's why her body demand more?

petals

agree with dawn, better cut ur hair b4 deliver. u wont find time to go n enjoy salon service after ur babies arrive. re e wound, mine was veyr good n i din hav much pain. started walking on 1st post-op-day. only took panadol for e 1st 2 days b4 bedtime so can sleep better. it really depends. try not to restrain urself on bed n walk early as much as u can. adequate exercise wil help u recover faster.

dawn, weiwei,
Thanks, guess will have to find some time during these 2 weeks to cut my hair then. Too long liao.

Weiwei, maybe your gal still adjusting to being home and also want to catch up with her brothers' weights.

weiwei, wow finishing 50ml in 5min is a feat! my boy still can't do that right now even though he is oredi 5 kg. He is a slow drinker.....takes 45 min nowadays to feed him his 120ml. His sis is much faster usually 15 to 20 min can liow. they so fifferent...sigh.

Hi Petals,
I'm feeling tired past few days so din log in. Partly bcos i've been going out everyday since last Thur. When i'm home, most of the time i sleep. Can really feel more tired during 3rd trim.

I actually wanted to cut my hair when nearer to my due date but cannot tahan so went to cut last Fri. Dun think confinement will go out to cut so better cut 1st.

Reg the themometer..actually was talking to my SIL last sat reg the outstanding things to buy, she mentioned she got a spare one maybe can pass to me but dunno she will remember or not. May get one myself in the end. Now USD quite low the pr will be quite attractive. If u got gd lobang let me know k? Thks

Nano,
I'm also very tired, even when I don't go out...haha...can just doze off halfway. Oh i bought the huggies/kotex bundle u told me abt. The romper v nice, but doesn't say mothercare on it?

Abt the ear thermometer, i don't have lobang lah, just buying from one of the US websites, so thought of sharing the US-to-Spore shipping charges if can buy 2 to max 4 sets, instead of buying 1 set on my own. So we'll be able to get it at approx $65-$75 depending on how many people, which site we buy from, etc. Anyone keen, can pm me.

Petals,
I got the pink romper, quite sweet hor. Think it is sold as 7pcs set, the quality quite thin but ok lah. If u chk the washing label, it stated Mothercare. The lady told me for NB but actually meant for 3-6mth. So far u bought how many packs of NB diapers for standby?

2mr got another baby fair coming, i will be going to take a look. Do u intend to buy carseat or stroller b4 due or wait till later when bb bigger?

Hi Nano and petals
when do you estimate your actual delivery date. I'm thinking of inducing. what's your opinion?
By the way, when do we have to start packing our bags and what should be the content?

Nano,
hee, I bought 2 packs, so got the blue and pink rompers. The pink one has this sq design piece stuck on it, but the blue one was printed on, maybe diff stock cos bot on diff days, but still sweet lah. That's my standby liao...dunno huggies good or not, so maybe later on then try out other brands like nepia. Will check the label later. Oh, the lady told my mum the romper free size wor...i said where got romper free size one?! haha...babies don't come in free size one leh.

Abt the car seat, hiaz, dunno where to start. So many brands. I was reading a thread that britax was good, but I can't really go shopping now. Dunno buy now or later. Some ppl say must use it when discharge from hospital for safety, but some say just carry baby home and buy later. What u think? Stroller i guess no hurry, will wait for it as a gift later...hee...

Needle,
I was just thinking whether to pack now or not. Was looking at the babycentre list. Can modify a little. As for date, I haven't think so far, as I'm trying to hold on as long as possible. But maybe Nano can answer u as both of urs singleton, so u both can plan more.
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/labourandbirth/planningyourbabysbirth/whattopack/

hello, i bought 2 carseats (Britax Royale) when Robinson was having 20% storewide sales, so can save quite a bit, but i din let them sit in the car seat till they were about 6 weeks plus. Think it is safe to carry them...

Stroller i bought it after my confinement. ;) need to use it when i bring them out for checkups at KK, cos they getting heavier to carry liow.

gals, just to share, no need to pack so much to the hospital cos nowadays hospitals provide almost everything. When i was checked into the delivery suite (unplanned), my dad went back to get my hospital bag which i only needed the camera and the clothes/blankets for babies when they discharged 3 days later. other than that, everything provided by hospital. ;)

Dawn,
Wow, the model i read abt was the Royale you bought. It's quite exp right? Somemore we must buy 2...hee... Which stroller did u get? The Maclaren twin? Or 2 singles? Also from Robinsons or Kaki Bkt?

Needle,
Y u wan to induce leh? I'm preparing myself tat bb might come out anytime between 38 to 40wks. Maybe nx visit i'll chk wif my doc whether there is any changes for my est edd based on bb size.

Reg hosp bag - I also haven't pack leh..suppose to pack at least a mth b4 edd. i will try to pack by early Apr.

Petals,
I also bought another pack of huggies, so now i have 2 packs too. Ya dunno really gd or not, will try other brand nx time. Haa so funny, the lady tell u free size...

Yalor, so many types of carseats i also blur. Guess the more popular ones r Britax and Maxi Cosi. I Today JL got advertise one Maxi Cosi for NB to 4yrs old..seldom see carseat model can last so long. Anyway will chk out the fair 2mr.
Stroller...dun think anyone will give me stroller leh so will buy myself.

Dawn,
How do u find the Britax Royale? Heard it is quite a gd one, can give some feedbk?

Did u wear the hosp gown thru'out yr stay or did u wear yr own pyjamas 2nd day onwards?

Nano,
Looks like I will miss all the baby fairs...let me know if any gd deals. Ya, I read the Royale is gd and can use from NB to 18kg which is abt 4YO? Shld be low $300+ aft the disct. Also read that the britax models carried by Taka and Robinsons are diff and from diff ctry...not sure. Does Tangs carry Britax too?

Dawn,
Yes, also wanted to ask ur fdback on the royale. There's supposed to be another cheaper model at robinsons, rite? Is there a diff bet the two cos most seem to buy the royale? Sorry, so many questions...

gals

was so busy with e little 3. they turning 2mth soon and become clever liao, everyone want ppl carry him/her. my arms broken already!

dawn

hav been feeding my gal 60mls 2 hourly since yesterday. she still gets hungery each time n wil never let go e teat til i pull it out. dun knw why she's so hungery. but good lah, she eats more then can grow faster.

korkor usually takes 30-50mins to finish 120mls depend on his mood. didi s faster, 30min for 140mls. my FM finish very fast. 3 days a tin. :p

petals, nano

agree with dawn, no need to pack so many things. just clothes for urself n babies. hospital wil provide most of e things. oh, if u want to bring hp, bring ur charger also hor. for me, we brought video cam also so can catch e very 1st moment. esp on op day n 1st post-op-day, i cant get down frm bed so hubby took pics n videos of babies to show me.

Petals,
At the fair, they selling the combi coccoro carseat at 10% disc..it's for NB ard 4yrs old, might b getting it cos it's quite lightwt and compact, easy to handle by mum. The disc not much but combi distributor seldom give disc lor. Tat time went to the distributor outlet they also say no disc. Not too sure whether Tangs carry Britax. The cheaper model u mentioned issit britax Omega??

Did a lot of shopping yest. Finally, bought a Maclaren stroller at Taka fair, so far cheapest compared to the disc they giving at hypermart & get to utilise my taka voucher.

WeiWei,
U must be real busy tending to yr 3 little ones...haa nx time yr arm will have muscles
Glad to know tat yr girl girl is drinking alot..gd sign.

Nano,
I don't really know the names of all the britax ones. So u buying the combi? How much is it aft disct? For the stroller, is taka giving more than 20% off? I know Robinsons sale usually 20% off maclaren. Oh, maclaren also launches new models annually around Mar/Apr, so they may sell their prev yr stuff cheaper? How much u paid for the stroller?

weiwei,
thanks for the tip. Your gal gal sounds like she's doing well...will soon slowly catch up with her bros...

Hi petals and nano, britax royale is good lor, and very very comfortable, but expensive. if not bcos my mum says she will sponsor the carseats and stroller, wun splurge on it. after 20% discount at robinson, we pay $350 per seat ( so 700 reciept) , plus got 5%rebate ($35) after that and a 20 dollar robinson voucher. the other slightly cheaper model is Omega (coffee brown colour), also quite nice but the base is bigger n as we putting 2 car seats, it is better to get royale, as royal's plastic base is smaller. Oh yah, last year, robinson had a special december promotion on Omega where they sell very cheaply, think around 30- 40 % discount.

For strollers and other baby stuff, u can call this shop at china town (upper cross st) which offer very good price, lady boss is winnie ( Tel: 65329355)

Petals,
If i remember correctly, the combi one is $339 b4 disc. Ya usually Robinson, Mothercare sometimes got 20% for maclaren. The 07 techno XT after disc is $368/- so i paid $318 after using my voucher. The 08 model is already out. One of the difference is it got slightly abit more cushion and the safetly buckle is different..gd to have but $120 more ex compared to the 07 ones lor. R u looking at twin stroller?

Dawn,
I heard Royale is quite a gd one too but haven't really seen it. Tat time i thk they selling Omega at $279 for cardmember...quite cheap

Good morning ladies!

Nano,
Oh i c...then no point getting the new model. I really don't know if we need a twin stroller. I find it more convenient if one person pushes both while the other carries the stuff. But worried it'll be too wide in some shopping malls and will block everyone's path. But if two single strollers then definitely always need two people everytime we go out. That said, I really don't know if I would dare to go out alone with both of them...hee...now no confidence yet.
How much are they charging for cordlife at the fair? any promo?

Dawn,
Did u buy a twin or 2 single strollers?

hi petals n nano

finally u see me here! hehe. i told myself i will post here after my detailed scan. well, tell u guys a shocking news.....all these while dr told me mine most prob boy and showed us the "stick" then detailed scan turns out to be a girl!!!!!!! hubby was giggling away. my little princess is really mischievous !haha

now finally i have the mood to shop for stuffs liao
maybe god heard my sulks when i knew i was expecting a boy as hubby n i wanted a girl. my mom and mil were over the moon as they already have grandsons n i'm expecting their first grand daughter. think our family and friends waited for us to have a baby until their neck long long ............ most of the things we r going to buy r all sponsored by friends n family

m in my 21to 22 wks now. baby getting really active especially when i play mozart for her to listen

car seats:
i did my research over the wkend and bought mine already. i had to buy in a hurry as sil is sponsoring and wanted to borrow it for a wk when she's here in s'pore.

got the britax safe n sound premium from baby kingdom $380. not a gd deal but it's comfy n the col fits my car leather interior perfectly
also we wanted to test if it can fit my car booth n that's the only place that we can try i guess.

the britax royale there is super ex at $438. not worth to get there n only 1 col so we didn't get it. also i'm afraid my bb will feel claustrophobic with the shade n the back of my car is so dark so sun is not an issue.

maxi cosi: sale at JL $299 they r suppose to have the 0-4yrs old seat but don;t bother. it has only 4 recline positions and baby can never sit in that upright lowest recline position they have. not comfy too.

britax first class: mothercare now having sale $325 only ( v gd deal )...down frm $438 i think. i would have gotten that but the col don;t match my car seat lei

combi roco: very nice in so many cols but becos there is no base...it's very diff to put baby in upright position in the future as it will always slide down and the cushioning is not so gd, think u might have to buy a baby headrest n body support

aprica: hubby wanted to get it although the cheapest cost $699!!! pros...can recline fully ( however i read some car seats archives that it is not safe for baby to be in full recline position es in cases of emergency break as baby will slide to the direction of the break) also when in upright position...the backside or thigh area is so small that we doubt it can fit any 4 yr old. we give it max 2 yr old

britax omega: sounds like a gd deal es if u can get it for $200 plus! but also need to purchase an additional baby headrest n body cushioning

i need help for strollers too
......anyone knows where i can view alot of diff brands strollers besides baby hyperstore? robinsons got sell graco or peg perego?

petals, bought 2 single strollers. sometimes oni need to bring one of them out only, plus twin stroller heavy leh, i am the kind of bo lat kind of mummy, so go for light weight strollers which i can put in and take out of car boot (i drive them out on my own...without hubby, so no help with carrying strollers lor). maybe when they are older, then buy twin strollers.

britax omega, yes...it is a very good deal going for 279.
originally was targetting that one, but bought the royale instead since got sponsorship.

strollers:
today still got mother and baby fair at expo right? i heard the combi strollers got discount leh.

dawn,

the britax royale only comes in navy blue for singapore right?

combi stroller: my sil has it as it is lightweight but feedback is now her kid is 2 yrs old n the wheels r already falling out lei

littletwinstars, yes, only got navy blue....u mean got other colours one ah? actually the britax omega matches our leather seats better...haha...

re combi:
You are the 3rd person i have heard telling me about the stroller's wheel falling off. my colleague's combi wheel fell off after 5 months...so yours 2 yrs considered quite long liow.

dawn

britax royale in aus got alot of colors!
for my case i bot the car seat to match my leather seat, hehe. no discount also don't care

wah, yr friend's combi use for 5mths only?!!!!!!!!
today i went mothercare n fell in love with the peg prego black stroller with white polka dot!
after 20% discount =$503.........

Stardiva,
Hello! Nice to hear from you here. Hee, so ur notti princess was teasing u all this while...maybe what ur doc saw before ur detailed scan was her finger...

So u got ur car seat already...I'm thinking at the royale but will see how later. As for stroller I'm v impressed with the maclaren range, so will prob get that. Oh, hyperstore can negotiate one leh cos they are the agt for maclaren.

Dawn,
Oh royale is n/blue? That's shld match with my black leather seats then...hee...

petals,

that "finger" is in the strategic location for the 2 scans lei!!!!! haha
my bro is using maclaren, his feedback is there is no bar in front of the stroller for his kid to put his hand n rest his leg on top which kids like to do in strollers. other than that it is not bad la ...... choosing is a headache right

Hello Everyone!

Petals,
Ya everytime when i see pple wif twin stroller i find it very bulky but guess i'm not the best person to give advice cos mine is singleton.Like Dawn, i also 'bo lat', initially looking at Combi cos it's one of the lightest but the standard seems to drop oredi. However, i like Combi one-hand open features, really convenient if go shopping alone. Actually, i wanted to get Maclaren Quest but ended up buying techno cos it got more features. Hopefully got strength to bring it out alone nx time.

Cordlife - $300/- disc at fair so it's $1,100 + GST for 5yrs plan. Additional disc if u got referral. Finally, signed up wif them.

Little Twin Stars!
No time din see u post. Gd to know tat u r already abt 22wks. Haa..yr princess really cute, playing trick on you all. I also hope my bb will not give me any surprise cos already bought alot of things in pink..luckily doc chk almost every visit.

When i read yr feedbk reg carseat, i wondered i made the right decision cos just bought the Combi one. Haa..i also bought it partly bcos it matches our car seat qite well.

Strollers: Think Robinson Ctrpt got some Graco models. Dun think they have Peg Perego. So far i only go hyperstore to view Peg Perego, din see it elsewhere. It' also a gd brand, very sturdy but also heavy lor.

Dawn,
During the fair, they give 10% for Combi Stroller. Seems like Combi can't use too long leh.

Ya i also like those stroller wif bar infront for the reasons tat LTS has mentioned. Can put toys also. Too bad Maclaren dun have but the hypermart pple said u can buy the bar from them if u wan but i haven't seen it so dun know ugly or not.

hi nano,
ya long time no post. now can finally do serious shopping. hehe. thanks for the tips. think from now onwards, every wkend is reserve for baby sopping liao
oh, if maclaren can use external bar..tt's great!

ladies:
can i ask yr opinion on milk bottles n teats? wandering which brand to buy. very confused with the bh a thing in plastic that is not gd to heat up plastic. sigh. guess may have to use glass bottles lo

Twin Stars,
My past 2 wkend also used up for bb's shopping. Spent alot of time to shop but quite enjoyable lor. Think there is a Motherhood fair in June, by the time u can shop too. Btw, when is yr due date? Are u still wif Dr Loh?

Reg the milk bottles, mine all plastic leh. Dunno whether the rest using plastic too?

Abt bottles, i bought pigeon first, and then nuk when i read that a lot of mummies say that theit bbs seem to prefer that compared to avent. Nuk has this std-neck offer pack that comes w 3 tall bottles and 2 short ones (all latex teats but 2 diff sizes), 1 bottle brush and 1 bottle of bottle cleanser for $44 (u.p. $68 i think). And latex teats seems to be recommended for NB compared to silicone. Mine also plastic bottles, and the nuk salesgirl says nuk not affected by that plastic issue...dunno true or not.

Nano,
Which brand of bottles did u buy? Oh, will be gd if motherhood fair in June, then i can go...finally...

Oh, recd the robinson mailer...this wed/thur also sale for cardholders. Can get $20 vcher if u spend > $150 on nursery items.

strollers:
initially i also looking at combi, went down to baby kingdom to try out, find it abit too light, if hang shopping bag/diaper bag and my handbag, seems to be able to topple easily. in the end bought cappella, can consider, quite light too and sturdy and price is good. i tried out there....and decided on the model i wanted and called the shop at china town to see if they could give me a better price, got free delivery some more. ;)

littletwinstars, wah aussie got so many colours, why they dun ship to singapore hor?

petals, but navy blue good lah, can resist stains. u know our babies hor, dunno it is an expensive seat, *sigh* will regurgitate the milk any how, then will have milk stains....

bottles:
I bought all avent one...i avent mummy. before giving birth i also bought 2 Nuk bottles to standby in case my babies reject the avent teats, haha...end up my babies r very versatile, any teats also can. btw, during week4 and 5, my baby boy had abit of colic, and one of my forum frens suggested using Bfree bottles. so i went to buy one, not sure if it was coincidental, but the day i started using, his colic seems to go away....
juz to share in case u r driven crazy by your baby/ies crying non-stop.

motherhood fair
there will be another motherhood fair in the 1st week of june, so petals u can get ready! ;)

Petals,
Robinson having sales again? This time din rec the mailer but think my shopping almost done.
So far I bought NUK n Avent bottles but i got 1 or 2 pigeon bottles given to me.

Little Twin Stars,
Reg Graco, there is a showroom at Tagore Lane. They r the distributor for Aprica also.

Nano,
Ya, the mailer is like a big folded postcard, not those booklet ones. Only lists the brands on sale, no pictures of items. Tangs also having 12% rebate for citibank cards tmrw and Thur.

nano:
thanks for the info. i will go n heck out tagore lane .i can go to the june fair to get some last min stuffs then. edd long way to go...29july to 5aug i think. m not with dr loh now. m with a dr at mt a. nearer to my place

dawn:
which chinatown shop"? i will be going to mosque st to look at the baby cot there. b free is supposed to b anti colic. it's not bad n the plastic can use too but not easy to find places that carry them. i also not sure why they bring in 1 col for royale

petals:
the nuk package is cheap, where did u get it frm? btw, must wait till june to shop? u giving birth in april? very fast hor

ladies:
do u know where i can get nice white baby cot that is 28"x52" or bigger? n have u guys seen any white cot bumper?

hi michelle

thanks for the link
i almost bot this but because i am looking for 28"by 52" type. this one is smaller lor. i like their dual purpose bed though. have sent them an email to ask where i can view that

stardiva,
I got my nuk pack at Robinsons. Oh, i can't go shopping now as I'm having tightening quite freq, so cannot exert myself. And my tummy v big, get tired easily.

littletwinstars, think i mentioned there is a shop at chinatown, in the flat beside the round carpark behind OG. sells baby stuff( toys, strollers, detergents, clothes and etc) v cheaply. think i gave the phone to call in some earlier posting which u can call to ask about the price of things u want to buy. the lady boss winnie v frenly, so no prob just checking the price when u go other places and look at their products. free delivery if above $150.

why u want white cot bumper? usu i only see got cartoons one leh....

eh, these diaper bags look nice hor....so tempting....
http://www.withcharacter.com/productpg.php?product_id=168

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1313116.html?1206261228

petals
oh, i didn;t see it last wk. au check it out. i'm also thinking of dr brown's glass bottle to arrive in s'pore to decide

dawn
yes i saw that. it's nice but i though of getting a bag to match my dressing instead so was thinking of getting this one
http://www.coochicoos.com/images/citychic2.jpg

however my hubby reminded me of the many bags in my storeroom left untouch

dawn,
Ya, i like that bag too, but I think it's too small for 2 bbs leh...what u think? What u usually bring when u go out with your twins?

Oh, abt the robinsons sale tmw, my mum says it only starts from 6pm onwards...you might want to check b4 going down. I didn't really read the card cos i passed it to her.

Petals,
I got the Tangs mailer but not the Robinson one. Seems like Robinson having sales very often. Will yr babies be sleeping wif u or another rm? Me suppose to pack the rm but haven't start...the rm getting messy cos bought alot of things n just left it on the flr.

Twin Stars,
I think i saw pple selling Dr Brown's brand bottle during the expo fair but not sure whether it's glass. I also planning to deliver at the same hosp leh.

Dawn,
I think i know which chinatown shop u referring to, always see their banner from downstair but haven't went up to see b4. One day will drop by when i'm there.

Nano,
Actually haven't set up the nursery too...all the purchases on the floor...like urs.
Bbs will be in another rm, as mine is too small for the cot. Don't know when will be truly ready... :p

nano,
i also got the tangs one. dr brown glass one has not reached s'pore yet so shldn't be the one i want lei. but tks for info

dawn
thanks for the info, will go to the chinatown shop to look see this sat

littletwinstar, cool the diaper bag u eyeing. i also telling myself no need to buy diaper bag. i have using a bigger sports bag these 2 months when i bring them out to visit PD/hospital check ups.

nano, got banner ha? i blur blur...i think it is on 2nd or 3rd floor, corner one. ;)

petals, i usually bring diapers/wet wipes and tissues/FM and bottles/change of clothing/changing mat/ziplock bags to keep dirty clothing or throw
rubbish. think about that enuff liow. ;)