IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

petals, i dun have enuff supply to freeze. Usually i either latch on, or pump to give EBM. Sometimes I store the EBM for 1 or 2 days in the fridge (not freezer), heard they must be consumed withing 48hrs. U can get bottles/milk bags if really alot of supply cos feeding twins v exhausting. ;)

hihi...looooong loooong time din come in ......just some info to share...it nice to do 3D or 4D but the heat generated by the machine is very high which is not so good for the bb so that y it usually not so encourage....u/s machines doesnt have radiation but it generate high heat due to the high frequency of the sound wave that they produce to reflect the image on the monitor.

mrs teng... i had similar exp as u during my early preg.. me worst cos i keep vomiting even though i din eat or drink..just vomiting the whole day tht i have to be hospitalised for a few times due to dehydration. i vomit gastric juice, bile juice every morning and later watever food or drink i had even it just a bit or nothing..i lost wt and on hl and no pay leave till i 5 months +...so the only happy time i had during my preg is only from 5+ to 7 mths cos at 7+mths..my vomiting come back and i had early ocntraction which i din know.. immediately warded after i see dr loh for my vomiting..on drip and was given injection to mature bb lungs in case i deliver early cos that time my tummy was very hard that dr loh gave me a very serious and worried look.haahaa.. now still on hl resting at home and taking anti contraction med to prevent contraction cos dr loh wan me to tahan till at least 37wks..now i oredi 35+ wks gg 36 wks soon....hopefully everything will go on smoothly.

mrs teng.. must be positive then ur bb will be happy and positive cos he/she will jia you wif u...i almost pre natal blue during that worst time...that i almost wan to give up but the thgt of wat i have gone thru make me continue and i know it will end soon...
..so jia you and be positive..will end soon and later when u think back it worth a while..

Mika

Thanks for the encouragements. It must have been tough for you. Will try to be positive as much as I can.

Glad that you'll be delivering soon, dun worry too much.. everythings gonna be fine.. Try to get as much rest as you can. Once babies arrive, there's gonna be sleepless nite. All the best to you.

Nano

It seemed that my rash could be due to pregnancy and there's a high chance that it's not going to stop until 6 weeks after delivery. So now, I'm trying so hard to get used to the itch and all the sleepless nites. Looks like I need to adjust my new lifestyle again.

Hi Mika,
Want to check with you how you managed to hold on for so long? When did u start having contractions in ur 7th mth? Cos i have it on and off now, and need some advice how to prolong my preg as long as possible. Do u still have it occasionally? Are u carrying singleton or multiples?

I was warded for contractions too.
Was given a jab for uterine support, jabs to mature bbs' lungs and increased dose of anti-contraction pills. Good thing it stopped my contractions and i could go home the next day. But then now I still get it once in a while when I change position, but at least not to freqt. So quite scared now also...monitoring and trying not to move too much...just lie in bed. Also trying to distinguish bwtn real contractions and those tighterning caused by my movement or babies' movement.

Anyone else gone through this? Hiaz...worried...

mika, wow u almost there liow! Jia you and keep us updated after u have delivered! ;) I delivered exactly when I was 36 week.

petals, do rest more and dun walk unless necessary? are u on complete bed rest now? Do take care ok, i am sure Dr. Loh have prescribed all the medication to ensure u r alright. how many weeks are u now?

Petals, have lots n lots of rest, will pray for you, just a few more weeks it will be safer. I was also on anti contraction medication during my whole 3rd trimester, was worrying like u that i may deliver any time, so understand what u going thro. Take care n keep us updated.

Thanks Dawn.
Will try...still get tightening every now and then when babies don't like my position. Then when I change position, they will settle down. Sleeping also quite difficult as i'm half on my side and half on my back, so as not to squash both of them else they will cause the tightening. Also, my boy kicking my bladder...makes me keep wanting to go toilet.

Petals,
Oh..hope u r feeling much better now, u must be quite worried at tat time. It's not easy to carry twins so u must rest more ok.

I still not sure how contraction will feels like but maybe when it comes i will know?? Like u, i've been going toilet very often. Do hang on, we r already in the last lap, i'm sure u will hold on well!

Tigg3r, Nano,
You can feel ur uterus harden all around when you gently press to check, when lying down. Normally shld be soft. Mine wasn't painful but i counted about 5 times an hour so quickly went to hospital to see dr. My CTG indicated i was having contractions quite frequently, that's why was warded to monitor.

Petals,
Thks for sharing. Yest felt some hardening at different spot at diff time of the day, lie down to chk but thk it's my bb stretching...

The bb fair coming, hope will have strength to do some shopping.

Nano,
As long as the tightening is not regular and too many times in an hour then should be ok, prob normal BH. Looks like i have to miss all the shopping...will get hubby to buy instead. How you doing so far? Bought your cot and other stuff yet?

Do we need an ear thermometer for newborns? Saw the bp like quite cheap leh, but not sure whether we need.

Petals,
When having my lunch just now can feel abit harden abt 2 to 3 times. I hope mine is just normal BH, DH not in town so hope nothing will happens.

I already bought a playpen, will not be getting a cot. Bought most of my stuff, only left a few more small items to buy...like maternity pads, bb bath lotion, bb wipes, cotton pad/wool etc. Big items like car seat n stroller not yet too.
I think it would be useful to have a ear thermometer for standby. Will chk first.

How's yr babies doing so far? Now how often is yr chkup?

Nano,
For me, quite hard to tell when sitting down as everything seems quite hard then...so i'll rest betwn meals and monitor then. I'm always sleepy too. Haha, reading those books, all those symptoms seem to happen to me the moment i enter 3rd trim like fatigue, freqt toilet trips, BH, etc. Think my checkup shld be fortnightly, not sure, but maybe he want to see me more often after what happened. Will ask him during next appmt. Guess my little ones shld be 1kg now. How abt ur appmts?

Maybe Dawn or Weiwei can advise whether we need an ear thermometer now.

nano,petals

me using e normal digital themometer for babies. thought of buying a ear one at 1st, but saw kk nurses also use normal one n they say normal one s good enough liao. just dun put in mouth but put under armpit when use for babies.

WeiWei,
Oic, so hosp also use normal digital themometer. Sorry if my question sounds silly...When we put under bb armpit, issit with the clothing on?..or underneath the clothing? I have the normal digital one but tempted to buy the ear one but will consider 1st.

Petals,
The bulk purch one seems to be a gd buy but only thing tat it doesn't have a back light for nite use. Not sure whether tis is impt.

Gd tat yr babies are growing well too. My appt now is every 3 wks. Same as u, my energy level getting low since i entered into 3rd trim. Ya frequent toilet trip too. Well, still hope to go for some shopping tis wk.

Weiwei,
oic...normal digital thermometer can already ah...that's good. How's your gal doing? Is she home yet?

Nano,
Ya, bp promo looks good but i think it ended yest. I guess no hurry then, we can decide later. Last nite my tightening was quite freqt for abt an hr plus. Quite worried until i managed to find a position lying down that minimised it...phew. Scared i had to go hospital again...hiaz.. Have fun shopping! Let me know if have any gd deals.

Petals,
Reg the BH contraction, can it b hardening at a one spot only? last nite felt hardening somewhere below the left of my navel, tried to lie down to chk but not sure..

Nano,
For me, it's hardening almost all around my navel when i check all 4 directions. I think one spot is ok, prob just ur baby. Don't want to scare everyone...but at least just monitor.

Wonder how are LB n Needle doing...haven't heard from them.

Hi Petals... just came in and read about your contractions. How are you feeling now? it seems like just ytday that me you, nano and needle all started the lucrin injection.. so fast you all are in 3rd trimester oredi.. hope you can hold on for as long as possible!!

I just did my wk20 detailed scan. baby is boy.. not gal as i guessed.. hee....

nano

under e clothing. just need to hug bb for a little while for e reading. quite easy to use.

petals

she s progressing well. weight 1.7kg n able to bottle feed well now, maybe few wks later she wil b able to come home.

Petals

Thanks for sharing. Wow! sound quite scary. I had several occasions where the whole womb felt very hard for an entire morning or day. Sometimes it's so hard and painful until I cannot stand for even a minute. I hope this is just the uterus stretching and nothing else...

WeiWei,
Thks, then prob i dun buy yet, will use my normal digital thermo 1st. Gd to hear tat yr bb girl is doing well, hope she can reunion with her 2 kor kor soon.

Michelle,
Heard tat ivf mostly will get boys but mine is a girl
Gd lah u can start buying things leow. Enjoy yr 2nd trim, tis is the stage where u can still shop alot.

Petals,
I also hope to hear fr LB, Needle n Rammy. I went taka just now..shopped for more than 2 hrs, quite tired now..

Tigg3r,
How's yr rashes? Is it better?

Michelle,
Congrats on your prince...now can start your bb shopping.
Ya, time flies hor...worry from start until now...hee...

Tigg3r,
Take note what u were doing when u feel these tightenings, and try to minimise this activity. Rest for a while & drink some water, or change position. I read dehydration can cause contractions too. If it's pain from ligaments stretching, it'll be at the sides near your hipbones. I still get that sometimes.

Weiwei,
How u coping with 2 so far? Gd practice when ur bb gal comes home. Do u get much sleep? Can I ask how long does the c-sect wound take to heal? Think can only start malay massage a mth later right?

Nano,
looks like we can try normal thermometer first. Anyway, no hurry, maybe later on, the bp price drop even more...hee...Did u buy anything yest?

HELLO LADIES!!!

It's been a long time since my last post. I've been travelling! Yes...travelling! My hubby constantly has to travel for work. Since he couldn't bear to leave me, I tagged along. I timed my travels so that I could come back for my appointments. Then it's back on the plane. Very tiring but fun. I was in Shanghai, Wuxi, Shenzhen, Hong Kong, Frankfurt, Bangkok, Jakarta & Melbourne. I'm back and I'm not allowed to travel anymore since I'm already 30 weeks.

To my cycle buddies, Nano, Petals & Needle, we're in the last stretch! Don't know about you girls, but I've been having all these mixed emotions. Excited, Nervous, Anxious, Frightened.... I've even broke down several times, even when I'm happy!

To the ladies who have delivered,
CONGRATULATIONS on your bundles of joy!!!

petals

never sleep for a entire night since e boys came home. hav been with them day n night. mum n mil r taking turn to help me out everyday but i m stil e main person. babies sleep, i sleep. they cry, i must settle them. really miss e time they were inside my tummy, just make myself comfortable can already...haha....

my wound didnt giv me much prob. on e next day of operation, e nurse wil remove e pressure bandage on ur tummy then u left with e simple dressing to cover e wound. on e date of discharge, dr loh wil check on e wound n instruct e nurse to change correct type of dressing b4 go home. so far my wound s ok, i removed e dressing 5 days after discharge. never cover since then. ya, massage can only start 1 mth after delivery. do remember to ask ur hubby get abdominal binder after u giv birth so u can wear it on e next day when e nurse remove ur pressure bandage. e binder s a must as it wil support ur wound n help to hold ur loosen tummy. with e binder i din feel much pain when walking on e next day of delivery.
btw, e nurse can advice u on e size of binder n they can help u to wear also. just let them knw when u need help.

Petals, WeiWei,
I bought quite a few misc things at the fair...1 pack of maternity pad, NB pamper,pigeon wipe, some clothings etc. Actually, find the sale so so only cos usually Robinson also have similar gd deals. Tdy also have alot of sales, so tempted to go shopping again...

Rammy!
Gd to hear fr u again. Seems like u've been busy travelling..so gd. My hubby is opposite, he prefer to play safe cos worried i can't cope with travelling so prefer i rest at home. Ya sometimes i also have mixed emotions..happily pregnant but sometimes thinking how much my life will be changed after bb comes out.

Just to add reg the sales...some items on sale but they r not on displayed at the atrium, they only have it upstairs, like the Mustela range.

Petals,
If u buying the Kotex adhesive maternity pads + NB huggies ultra pampers, remember to get the free mothercare romper fr them.

Rammy,
Hi! Wah, you globetrotter...I can only do that online...hee...now can't even walk far, much less trot.

Nano,
Hiaz, now i just think of what to buy n send my mum to get for me. Is the romper promo for pampers or huggies? Is it only avail at Taka sale? I also dunno what brand of diapers to buy.
Oh, do u also feel ur bb hiccup?

Weiwei,
i think no choice, 1st time mums/mtbs like us will need time to learn bbs' routine. Guess no sleep for 1st 3 mths? :p

Rammy, long time no hear!!
Happy to hear that you are enjoying yourself everywhere in the world!! Are u carrying boy or gal or twins???

needle, how are you??

Petals,
The promo is when u buy 1 pack of Kotex mat pad($5.70) + 1 pack of Huggies ultra($8), u get one pcs of romper only. Shd b only at Taka. Actually plan to buy Nepia or mummy poko but i heard huggies is quite gd too compared to Drypers so just bought a pack since got promo.

I think i felt my bb hiccup a few times..find it so funny. U also feel it?

WeiWei, Dawn,
How many NB diapers shd we standby?

hihi, haven't logged in the past few days cos babies cranky....so no day no night. sleep deprived, luckily MIL came to help out today, so can take a breathe.

I bought the ear digital thermometer, v good cos u can get the babies' temp within a few seconds , impt when they running fever and r fidgetting alot. think the BP quite a good buy cos usu price about 125 to 140 right? i bought from another lady on this forum brand new at $95, but the BP even cheaper hor? ;)

NB diapers ah...we got twins right? i finished 4 packs of Nepia Diaper (for day time + some nights) and 2 packs of NB pampers (night) within the 1st month. now, there is a new company Goo.N, but their cutting v big. Small size is equivalent to some M sizes. I bought 2 packs, but my babies can't wear them yet! so have to wait till prob next 2 weeks then can try. it is cheaper than Nepia, not sure about quality though, feels soft, will update u all when i get to use it.

Dawn,
Thanks for the diaper feedback. Think i must be bored at home n itchy fingers. So tempted by all the bp.
Kept thinking of buying the thermometer too. Oh, ask u, do u think those electric food/bottle warmer is useful for our twins? Instead of boiling hot water all the time.

Nano,
i c, will buy some diapers standby too... Ya, bbs' hiccups v cute...got rhythm.

Thanks for remembering me, I am well and at 30weeks going 31 weeks. Tomorrow going to see dr loh at 9:50am. last scan @ wk 28 was 1.276 kg.

Now very worried with labour, but guess I will cross the bridge when I reach it hor...thot of telling dr loh i want cesarian leh, but don't think he will allow, will try my luck tom

to all MTB, we are in the last stretch, hang in there...

Michelle,
Just like you, I'm carrying a boy. A very active one indeed. Just like me I guess. Hee...

Hmmm, I see that you ladies are almost done with your shopping. During my travels, I didn't buy many baby stuff, just a few NB clothes in each country. Was advised not to get too many NB clothes as baby will outgrow them very fast. Now will have to get the big stuff like stroller, cot, car seat...

Nano,
Was reading the bp thread, seems like there's some issue brought up abt the warranty for the ear thermometers sold in the BPs...may not be valid in S'pore.

weiwei,
hospitals in spore dont provide binder for mom e?

how are your babies now? do they get immunisation shot after one month?
as for mine here, took them to second hepatitis and polio immun shot. both were screaming for awhile only. babies are doing ok, korkor is now 4kg and meimei is 3kg. with irregular interval they can ask for milk, sometimes i scare if i overfeed them. how about you? can you catch their feeding time or you make a fix schedule for them?

so far so good, quite tired but fun. hahahah...

we even make fun of their crying tune, while korkor's crying is more like crying baby toys, meimei's crying like F1 rally, dont give you sign e, she just scream to the tp of her voice, very loud, very sharp one and we all will be so busy calming her down.

dawn,
ur babies use disposable diapers all day long?

deasy

hi. kkh dun provide binder, hav to buy frm pharmacy.

my boys just got their hep b 2nd dose last wk. wil get e rest when they r 3 mth old. taking 5 in 1 package. e boys put on lot of weight also. korkor s 3.45kg n didi s 3.65kg a wk ago, guess by now they wil b much more heavier.heehee.... u BF them? my boys r taking 110mls n 130mls 8 hourly a day, also scared i overfeed them coz some of e books say cant feed them more than 1L/day but some say as long as babies can take it's ok. going to kk for an education programme next week, maybe wil ask them again. normally babies wil get hungery ard 3 hours time, i wil prepare their milk b4 they scream, then wont b so rush when they want to drink. if too early, just feed a bit of water 1st, also good for them, e FM s still heaty for babies. so far can stil catch their routine.
baby gal still in kk but they r preparing to discharge her already. she s almost 1.8kg now, 200grams more she can come home.

my babies seem can understand what i say sometimes. sometimes i was feeding didi n korkor cry want pp carry him. i told him mummy busy, he must kuaikuai so when mummy finish with didi wil come n carry him. he wil stop screaming n just open his eyes big big, look ard n play by himself. when changing diappers also. they wil cry til u attend to them. once they knw u r there, they wil keep quiet n let u change. ya, tired but fun.

nano

i use clothes diappers for my babies in e day time, only use disposable one at night. so may not able to tel u how many should buy. think u can buy 1 or 2 packs 1st n let ur baby try. some baby can even choose their diappers, some can hav sensitive skin n not used to certain brand.

looks like a gathering for us. Petals, nano, michelle, Rammy and LB.
All of us are having bb boy except nano and petals. But i guess we are all happy!
Like most of you, i'm at my 30th week, and still working like mad. How are you gals? anyone still working?
I am counting down to my big day. seems like a long way to go

deasy, yes i use disposable diapers all the way.
luckily the bb's not so choosy so any brand also can.

petals, i told u i v kia su one, so everything also buy liow! hee hee, yes have the tolly joy electric warmer to warm up the chilled EBM but abit too warm,so must always take out very fast b4 the beep sounds. think use hot water in a cup works just as well lah!

juz brought my twins for their 6-in-in jab on thursday, they v brave only cried 2 seconds when the needle went in and stop liow, think they forgot the pain liow, so farnee. they putting on weight fast too, gal is 4.7kg now and boy is 4.35kg. ;) both on 120ml every 3hr feed but these few days v cranky leh, keep vomitting out milk 1/2 way during their feed. very heart pain esp if it is Breast milk.

to the rest of gals, so many of u in 3rd trimester! jia you!!!! you will hold your babies soon! and go thro the joy of watching them smile !

Needle,
Wow, i forgot so many of us all due around same time... jia you to us. I just ordered some baby bks on my own to read...didn't join o/seas spree as their exchange rate quite high. Hee, must start reading ahead to prepare...

Dawn,
I also feel very ks, everything also want to buy...
somemore i tell myself the cost is divided by 2...not so bad...hee...

petals, u more on than me leh! what books did u buy? can share the titles and what are good? i oni bought some clothe books. i also have the same mentatlity as u, 2 babies can use the things i buy...less wastage! hiaks

weiwei, 6 in 1, less number of jabs so the babies dun have to suffer more pain. ...sigh...i compare prices till i also blur. in the end, i gave up, just went to KK to have the jab when they go there for their 6week check up.
have ur triplets gone for the check up yet?

Nano

Thanks for your concern, my rashes are under control right now, but there are still new ones coming out, just got to get used to it until after delivery.

Petals

My tummy gets tight each time I stand for more den 15 mins. Sometimes it can be painful. Sitting down or lying down immediately would usually help. Bcos of my rashes, I need to spend sometime applying moisturiser and ointments. By the time I'm done, my tummy will get tight and heavy.

My activities are usually cooking lunch and dinner. Most of the time will be sitting down watching TV or reading. Is that considered okay?

dawn,
oh, the books i bought are for mummy to read abt bbs' first yr, not for baby to read...hee... I bought Baby 411 and Mothering Multiples based on Amazon's reviews. Dunno good or not...will let you know when I receive them and read through it. Most of the books are for singletons, so I wanted to include one for multiples to see if there's a diff perspective or tips unique for multiples.

Tigg3r,
My tummy tightens when i stand for a while, so i try to sit whenever i can for any activities...showering, brushing teeth, etc. Maybe u can lie down and get ur hubby to apply ur creams for u? I also cut down on my time spent on all these activities as i get bigger. I guess just listen to your body and let dr know if it gets too freqt (> 4 per hr)...cos some people don't feel any of this, but I have no choice, every small thing might make my tummy tighten at this stage, so I lie down as much I as I can.