IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

deasy

congrats!! ur babies r of good weight!
so how r u coping so far? anybody helping u? how s ur wound?

my 2 boys r with me now. korkor s e impatient one like me, whatever he s not happy, wil cry very loud til u attend to him. he must get immediate attention. didi s e quiet one like DH. unless very hungery, he wil just wait for me to feed or change him. gal gal stil in nicu, she needs to stay there til weight gain to 1.5kg at least. so far she s doing well, hubby visit her every night n i wil see her once or twice a week also. last night hubby said gal gal already has weight of 1340g, soon she wil b able to get out of nicu.

i could nt find e connection wire so got a bit of prob uploading my boys pic. wil ask hubby for help tonight. :p

one of e boys crying already, hav to go... see ya...

Do u let ur newborn babies wear those one-piece rompers/bodysuits that are have to be pulled over their heads and fastened at the bottom? Or shld we stick to 2-pc at the beginning? Are their necks too soft?

Deasy, congrats!!!! Their cheeks so rosy! the gal doesn't look small size leh. who's helping u look after them?

weiwei, good to hear ur boys doing well and ur gal gaining weight fast. post photos when u free ok?

my confinement lady went back for CNY, sigh...and it was tiring looking after the twins with only the maid and myself. luckily she came back yesterday. my twins had been down with blocked nose and phlegm during the CNY but all the clinics not opened. yesterday morning brought them to PD. received bad news that my boy may have heart murmur, that is why he always had difficulty breathing when drinking his milk, always panting. thought was cos of his blocked nose. Was v sad....so immediately made appt with KK cardiologist next week.
so heart pain...

petals, i prefer 2 piece, easier to wear. oh btw, those long pants, i like those with covered feet, as my twins legs still skinny, the booties keep falling off. so if wear those with covered feet, no need to bother.

gals, can i ask those who have given birth about vaccination? should we go poly clinic, KK or private doc for the vaccination?is there anything different or anything that i should take note of?

Hi Ladies!

This is my first time posting here. First, Like to congrats Dawn, Weiwei and Deasy for the arrival of the babies. And to all, Happy Lunar New Year.

Petals, Nano

Glad to hear that you gals are doing well! There's lots of questions I really like to ask you gals but dun know where to begin. I'll probably ask alone the way.. hehehe...

I'm now coming to my 15th weeks and honestly, I'm still not coping well.. My tummy been producing lots of gastric juice which kept me extremely bloated even to the extend that my tummy hurts badly. I'm still throwing up everyday, therefore I couldn't take the Neurogain and Obimin doctor prescribed.

Is it normal to feel tight or crampy everyday? I still can't sleep on my side, it's extremely uncomfortable.

I'm NOT enjoying any bit of my pregnancy at all.. I'm alone at home, dealing with the discomforts, got to cook for myself and DH (cos most hawker food will make me throw up) sometime even have difficulties preparing my own meals... I really can't cope both physically and emotionally... each day seem so long... everytime I brokedown, I dare not let DH know.. I haven't even made any preparations yet. Just thinking of where and when to get Confinement lady, to get maid, and the necessary things for babies arrival stressed me out.. I'm so worried that I'm getting pre-natal blues..

SORRY for these but I just got now where to seek for emotional support....

Hi tigg3r,
Take it easy...don't stress cos it will affect babies. Take things one at a time. Main thing is your ms...did doc give u anything to help? It shld improve in the next few wks from what I read. As for food, if too tiring to cook as u get bigger, can try ordering those catered ones quite similar to homecooked food? At least until u feel better. Sleeping-wise, i'm now using a small flat pillow to support my tummy when lying on my side. Try not to sleep on ur back as the circulation no gd. As for the rest, you still have a few mths to search for CL/maid and buy stuff, so don't stress now. Just relax and browse some of the other threads that discuss abt these issues so that u can get a better idea. Whatever it is, we always have to remind each other of the big picture...we always wanted to be preggy right? Natural to worry but try to think happy thoughts, ok?

Dawn,
Thx for the info. I do have some baby clothes , mainly separates, passed to me from my sil, but will have to check the sizes to see what else i need to get.

Hi Tigg3r,
Yr nausea seems quite bad hor...but dun be too stress cos it shd improve soon. I also puke when i entered into 2nd trim, though not as bad as yrs, but it disappeared ard the middle of my 2nd trim. Ya if u tired better dun cook. I also took alot of outside food cos no one cook for me too
Not so nutritious compared to home cook but better than stressing yrself when cooking the meals.

Dun worry, u still have alot of time to do yr bb preparation. Take one step at a time.

Petals,
At least yr result is borderline so not too worrying, let's see wat doc say 1st.

I'm getting alot of rashes on my body..sometimes scratch till bleed, guess likely to get ugly scar..trying to control but very very itchy..cannot tahan.

Deasy,
It's amazing tat yr boy can turn already..so fast!

Hi tigg3r,
Sometimes thinking "there is an end to this" will help. I know it's hard to stay positive but you have to forced it on yourself, the positive thinking/feeling doesn't come naturally for all, especially not me! I was given suppository to be given twice a day and was still sick till I was 17/18 weeks and I woke up one day with no symptoms at all and it just left me for good.

I remembered being very upset with myself cos when I was trying to cook, chopping shallots and garlic was already very tiring that I need to sit down to do that and cooking took a very long time to complete! Plus after cooking I can't really tolerate eating much. Mainly during those times there is a lot of "forcing" that I do. Force myself to stay positive, force myself and husband to go for walk after dinner even though I feel unwell, and I always ventilate my discomforts to my mom and sister. The other thing I do to feel better is to read forum entries of people who are of same milestone ( my EDD is April 2008 so I read/follow that forum) and knowing there are other ppl who felt as crappy as you or some who are worse off than you PLUS having to work and deal with ppl during those crappy moments... you will definitely count your blessings. So cheer up!

hi mrs teng, try to avoid root veg (potato, carrot, turnip etc) or anything that ripens in the ground (eg groundnuts). all that will make your gastric juice even worse.

tigg3r ...

long time no see!

so happy that we all managed to "graduate" to this thread

i agree with petals, maybe u should try to rest more instead of tire urself out with things like cooking and other housework..

how abt trying out those tingkat dinner? whereby they'll send the dinner to you daily..? well.. of coz they are not as nice as home cooked..but.. u have have a trial to see whether u like it or not before u order on a mthly basis.
saves u lots of time and trouble cooking. I have tried one from this caterer Neogarden before.. not too bad

Relax urself and keep urself entertained when at home. Do you like reading? Perhaps u can try this "Shopaholic" series of books by Sophie Kinsella , they are really very funny... and will help to lift ur spirits
It helped to lift mine during my 2WW, I hope it will work for you too

Your MS should be gone soon.. after all, you are over 1st trimester already right..? hang on my friend.. you can make it.

Hopes,
Hello, nice to see u here. How r u? Shld be nearing the end of ur 1st trim soon?
Have u gone for ur FTS yet?

Hi lefty!
how r u and ur babies? Long time no hear from u.

Nano,
My clarins finishing, so i've started on my palmers and use both alternately. R ur rashes on the area u apply the sm cream? Maybe it's from sudden growth spurt n ur skin stretch that's why itchy?

Petals, how did you solve your sneezing problem? my sneezing has gotten really bad, i can really sneeze non-stop until my throat hurts. I would like to try the nasal spray u mentioned. Does it help for you and what is the brand and where can i get it? thanks.

Hi michelle,
actually my sneezing and blocked nose phase went on for a couple of wks. It went away for a while when i bought a humidifier for my aircon rm. But this week my nose is partially blocked again so i'm breathing quite heavily. The nasal spray is to help ease ur blocked nose... brand is called Sterimar, in blue & white packaging, and is made of only seawater.

Great! I will go get it and try. Hope it helps with my bad sneezing problem. I normally have both runny and blocked nose problem.

Thanks a lot.

michelle,
I find it eases my blocked nose and provides a little comfort temporarily, but it won't cure it. Our problem is hormonal, so just have to grin and bear it. :p

Anyone knows where to buy nice pics or decals to decorate baby's room?

Michelle,
Nice to see u here, how many wks are u now?

Petals,
The rashes are not confined to the area tat i apply the SM cream so dun think it's due to it. Think prob bcos my skin more to the dry side so more prone to it...gonna let my doc see during my nx visit..got to bear wif it for now lor.

Michelle,
Wow so fast u r already in yr 17wk+. Do u know bb gender already?..if not you'll get to know during the detailed scan.

Dr Loh tried to find that thingy but cannot see anything... tho he din say anything, i went away thinking it should be gal lah... will confirm in 2 week time..

anyone interested in owing a peg perego pram cum stroller which can be used from new born to toddler? It is in a almost brand new condition as only used 4 times. If you are, pls pm me. Thanks.

petals,
boyish and feminine looked made in singapore ler, hahhahahha, more trendy ones.

weiwei and dawn,
luckily my MIL got a nanny for my helper so we can both cooperate, otherwise, faint liao lar, even she couldnt tahan. I myself get baby blues sometimes when holding my babies, my tears just come down like tht and then hubby would be looking at me strangely, and sometimes his eyes suddenly red also, wekekeke... now i'm trying to catch the rhythms of them since nanny only works for a month.

so far so good, tiring but so happy, i was not sleeping for a whole nite last 2 nites and those baby blues attacked yesterday.

i found out tht its important to let ourselves to get rest, or our emotions can unpredictable.

i breastfeed my babies, how about both of you?

petals,
me also prefer two pieces. since i only use disposable diapers at nite.

mrs teng,
try to enjoy your pregnancy, every moments of it, your MS, excitement, unhappiness, its really worthed, sometimes when i flashed back, i missed being preggy again. but with these two babies, i must prioritize them first.

nano,
me also rashes in my 3rd sem, my gynae prescribed mustela cream for me, it worked for me. if i'd known earlier, i'll prefer mustela.

got to go, babies are calling...

Petals, Nano, lefty, xuanting, hopes and Deasy

Thanks so much for the words of comfort and moral supports.

Hope my MS and gastric problem will go soon...Trying my best to stay positive for babies.

As for cooking, I'll slowly do so becos most tingkat or hawker food uses soy product (esp.. soy bean soup base) which I cannot stomach.. I'll throw up almost immediately after comsuming....

Meantime, I have you ladies to give me moral support... I hope I'll survive till then... Thanks very much again

deasy

my boys were bottle fed during their hospital stay. now they became lazy n seem nt interested to suck frm mummy liao. so i pump out then bottle feed them lor. anyway, my breastmilk wont b enough for all 3 of them, stil hav to bottle feed n add on fomula milk. :p

was v tired coz e boys got mild jaundice since came back home. hav to bring them to polyclinic everyday for bld test til turn out normal. also hav to go n visit gal gal in nicu every 2-3days. my confinement gone case liao, running here n there.

tigg3r

is it possible to arrange for a parttime cook for u? or can anyone in ur family cook for u? u've been waiting so long for this experience of pregnancy, dun spoil ur mood just bcoz of food stuff... every moment s so precious, no matter good or bad during pregnancy. cheer up, dear

hi petals..

yah..me in wk 12 now...

I went for my FTS yesterday... hmmm...baby not co-operative, the Dr can't get a good view to do the necessary measurements.

So, I have to go back again on Monday to re-do the scan, hopefully baby is co-operative on Monday..hehe..

Nano,
Ya, see what your doc says abt your rash. Hopefully he can help. For me the skin around my breasts was v itchy at beginning of 2nd trimester...couldn't stop scratching. Ended up with flaky skin even though i applied body lotion or sm cream. Then after abt a mth, the itch just stopped like that. Oh, my GD is mild but i still need to learn how to control my diet. Have to cut down on my fave sweet and starchy stuff now.

Michelle,
hiaz, now my nose partially blocked throughout the day, i didn't realise until my mum even commented how come i'm breathing so loudly. :p Now even my humidifier doesn't help liao.

Hopes,
Don't worry, I also had to re-take my FTS one week later, cos dr couldn't see one of their side profiles clearly to check for the nasal bone. Which dr did you get? Can celebrate ur moving into 2nd trim now! I'm very happy everytime i cross each weekly milestone.

Petal,

I got this lady Dr June something..hehe.. cannot remember her surname..:p

btw .. just wondering if u can advise, do u remember we must take our progesterone pills (duphaston) until when huh..?

I just ran out of duphaston, dunno whether must continue or not coz Dr Loh did not prescribe more of these pills to me and I also forgot to ask him.

Yes... and I am so looking forward to my 2nd trimester.. at least things should be more stablised by then...

Hopes,
I think generally, for ivf, they will give progesterone support till end of 1st trimester if i'm not wrong, but if your next appmt is far away, you can email him to check whether you need to continue or change to a diff type of progesterone. Cos he will prob assess on case by case basis based on personal history.

Hi Hopes, DR Loh also did not prescribe more duphaston after my wk10 visit, he said just finish the batch and can stop. I started multivit from wk 10 onwards. I also stopped Folic from then since the multivit contains folic too.

Petals, i got the Sterimar. First nite i used it, SUPERB! no sneezing. 2nd nite, SUPERB! no sneezing.. third nite I din use, no sneezing...
this afternoon after bath, i sneeze and sneeze and sneeze... then i sprayed some, but i guess it is too late...

so i still cannot conclude if it helps or not. but for now, i have stopped turning on the aircon, but my hubby could not tahan the heat and ON the fan full blast. I also cannot have fan blowing at my face... so really dunno what to do... sigh......

petals, michelle..

Thanks alot for ur info and advise

Okie..I'll drop him an email to cfm.

Thanks ladies

Michelle,
I'm the opp. I can't stand feeling warm. So i'll have the fan on wherever i am. Then at night i need the aircon to sleep. My poor hubby has to wear an extra layer to stay warm.

Hopes,
np...also might be good to highlight to him ur past experience in your email then he can quickly reply cos he may not have ur file on hand.

Nano,
Do u have any stretching/stitch-like feeling? Normally i have this feeling but just slightly uncomfortable for a while. Last nite as i finished my shower, had this intense stitch-like feeling on my right side. It felt hard on the lower right side of my tummy. I couldn't really straighten up, and quickly lay down as i was scared it was a contraction. But when i press around the rest of my womb like what dr told me before, it was soft everywhere except that small area which was hard n rounded, so i think it's not contraction. Maybe a serious ligament pain. Anyway, lay down with a for an hour before it was back to normal and relaxed again. Scary. Good thing it didn't repeat during the night.

Petals,
Gd tat yr GD is mild, gotta watch yr diet hor.
So far, i haven't feel any intense stitch-like feeling. Just tat during the wkend, i felt some pain on the side of my tummy when i din sit properly...likely i stretch the muscle or ligament. Read tat anytime fr now we may get BH contraction leow so i also try to b alert to such thing...but sometimes i wonder whether i'll know when real contraction comes...quite scary.

Have u been doing any exercise? I've been very lazy..only started to do some stretching since last wk..hope it's not too late to start.

Deasy, Petals,
I find myself waking up scratching my tummy, legs and hands every nite. The moisturiser and SM cream doesn't seems to help. Hope my baby wun inherit any skin prob fr me.

Nano, petals, when do you start to feel baby movement? i am going on to wk18, but so far have not been able to feel the baby at all.. I am getting quite impatient or is that normal? I can't wait to feel something from baby, cos my every scan is spaced out once per month, dunno how the baby is progressing...

Michelle,
Haa..i understand yr eagerness to feel the bb movement. Some can feel as early as 16wk+. I only started to feel very mild bb kick towards end of my 19th wk. It is normal for 1st time mummy to feel it later so u r absolutely normal.

Petals,
U mentioned tat u also feel the small hard n round area ard yr tummy. Sometimes i also feel an area of my tummy abit tighten and raised for few seconds...seems like the bb pushing to one side so i assume tat is not BH contraction rite? If i remember correctly, last time Needle asked Dr Loh he said tat is the bb buttock...

Some of you may remember me as i was IVF cycling with you earlier. Can i ask ... anyone here with low BBT but succeeded IVF?

Dr Zou just told me yesterday, my BBT very low and weak pulse? Haiz, like that how to proceed to another IVF next mth? No wonder my previous IVF cycle failed. Could it be unhealthy ovulation assuming no thyroid problems? How can we improve BBT overall?

My BBTs are rock bottom, i can be cold blooded snake already. They are in range of 35.8 before O and after O, about 36.4 maximum.

Ladies..

Just wanna check with u...anyone taking Chinese Tonics ?

If so, when should we start taking tonics and how often?

Hi Hopes, i started taking dong cong cao (boiled in soup) once a week from wk14. no other chinese tonics.

Hi hui, i also did FET, currently 18wks.

hui, just to boost ur moral, me too FET, now my twins are one month old, i also went to Dr. Zou for accupunture ;) u planning for 2nd kid?

Hopes,
Other than birds nest, I'm not taking any chinese herbal stuff now.

Nano,
Actually quite worried when i read that some contractions could be painless...then how do we tell whether contraction or not? One bk suggested lying down for one hr everyday and monitor. If more than 6 per hr, must call doctor.

michelle,
can't remember, but i think u will start feeling some fluttering first, which i did around wk18 and it got more obvious in the next 2wks.

maplebabies,
not too sure, cos i didn't measure my bbt previously. But i thought as long as your bbt shows a pattern, u can use it to track ur ovulation, cos everyone's bbt range varies.

hui,
r u trying for another one? gd luck

hello ladies

does amy one have the email of dr SF Loh from KKH? I"M his new patient but lost his name card. Would any one pls help me?

thanks in advance

Maplebabies,
I only measured my bbt mths b4 ivf...if i remember correctly think it can be as low as 36.2 to as high as 36.8.

Hui,
Me now seeing the same doc as u

Petals,
Yalor i also wonder how contraction is like. Another thing i always wonder is how will i feel when the baby head is engaged..dunno will it be painful or uncomfortable or not...

Ya agree..some bp quite interesting...tempted to buy. U can consider getting the swaddleme since it is cheap..or maybe during the coming baby's fair?