IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

hi Imel

Congrats on the safe delvery. Hope bb can go home soon! May i know how much was yr bill in total - since you had natural labour & c Sect by Dr Loh?

Imel,
have guessed you have popped that day since no posting from you liao! CONGRATS!!

So happy and touched to hear your joy of seeing your bb after so long! I feel like crying... kekeke...

You must rest well and eat well!

I am sure bb will be home very soon.

Imel,
your c section was under epidural only, not GA? So you could see baby that time? Your hubby was beside you or not?

imel - congrats ! what a smooth delivery. i'm going for c-sect and quite nervous abt it, but after reading your description it sounds quite easy ! phew
did you BF your baby immediately after delivery ? i want to know if its going to be difficult to BF immediately after C sec. thanks !

hopefully - so lucky you can start leave so early. what is the medicine for ? are you ok? whats the gender of your babies ? i'm having 2 princesses

Imel
Congrats! Was it scary to do c-section under epidural? I am thinking of doing mine GA...my hubby quite squeamish too..

Imel
Congrats on the safe delivery. Do take care during your confinement.

hopfully
i measure my waist, mine is no much better...till date its 43 inches. 1 inche lesser than urs onli.i've been applying stretch mark cream from day 1 of pregnancy, still i'm having stretch mark...how abt u?

hi josephine,
i stayed in kk only for 1 nite. (cannot tahan the cold and the hard bed.. haha) so i had excess cash from my delivery package. i went home the next evening. used the excess cash for my baby's stay at scn..

hi bliss,
wow, you must have had a scare. but good thing its nothing serious. rest alot yeah.. you need it. anyway, when i was pregnant, my baby tend to play alot during midnight especially when i'm about to go to bed.. or while in bed. and guess what, she stays up in the middle of the night now usualy after one of her nite feeds. woah, me and hubby had to take turns to carry her and try to make her go to sleep. haha.. but she sleeps a lot in the day..

hi imel,
congratulations! so happy for you! yeah, it does feel wonderful after you have your baby in your arms instead of just feeling the kicks and movements in ur tummy right? is your baby at scn? don't worry, for jaundice usually it won't be a long stay..

thanks for you concern.. my baby finally came back on the 13th evening.. she's fine and i should say adapting well to the new environment at my mum's. after spending 18 days at scn, i'm just glad that she's home with me and i can take care of her. i have endless appointments though to keep up.. due to the several medical issues she has.. but other than that, she's feeding well, pooping well, and a delight to have and hold in the family.

and true to the words of all new moms, your marathon and challenges starts after birth actually.. all the aches and pains i endured during my pregnancy are now long forgotten as i juggle breastfeeding, sterilising her bottles and my pump each and every time, changing her diapers, making sure she's comfy and flabbergasted a little once she starts crying. hehe.. but despite all that, these are the things that sum up the meaning of the joy of motherhood. i won't trade it for anything..

merlenna,
nice to hear from you and all your happy updates!

Thanks for all the encouragement and sharing, it gives me more strength in a way to tahan all the discomforts at this stage.

Oh no, so you mean that baby will have the same sleeping patterns before and after born? Aiyo... I must get myself prepared for the sleepless nights later on, though I am already getting that. Will treat it as training for the future days. Hahaha!

Imel,
may i ask what is your bb's birthweight? You were in how many weeks on your delivery day?

hi merlenna,
glad your baby is back. And welcome to the beginning of motherhood. The joy of seeing your baby cry and smile is worth all the hard work.

hi hopfully,
will start on leave on 5 May.
Thinking to take earlier but want to save the leave for other occasion. ^_^

hi sam,
have u discharged yet? hope u r ok.

hi imel,
C o n g r a t u l a t i o n s.
Welcome to motherhood. Hope i can join u soon. ^_^
wow.. u still have time to bath and wash hair before going to KK? i thought water bag burst already.... pain or not?
wow... 7 hrs not open. btw when they do c-sect, how come u still able to hear your bb cry?
4D3N? i thought c-sect is 3D2N. Total bill how much for c-sect?
how is c-sect mark? i heard at here the c-sect, they cut not so big and very nice nice one... (*never c before so very anxious to find out)
^_^

hi merlenna,
welcome to motherhood. btw, what is scn?

Sorry, did not post for very long cos super busy with my elder gal at home. Younger gal is on bottle feed already and may be able to comes bk in 1-2wks time

Congrats to Imel!

Hi Merlenna,
So glad that ur baby is home with you already

jia you to all the ladies here. I'll come in whenever i could

Jo,

Well long story, as mine was the 1st triplets in SGH this yr, they are very concern about my case and actually dun aloow me home yet.. all doctors and even 1 more junior doc begged me to stay.. what a dramatic sight la.. cannot imagine it.. well.. but eventually, i insist i wanna go home this sat promise them i will stay till sat, which i suppose to go home today, after so much persuading..

Oh ya.. in SGH if natural delivery, with 24 hrs can discharge already, but if epi than 48 hrs and i think c Sec 72 hrs can discharge liao..

HI! All,

Can i join u.. I did my IVF recently n have +ve HCG. Going for Scan in 2weeks time to see heartbeat. Can i check at this stage can i take brands of essence?? And also my job requires me to move ard.. I try to do it slowly, is it okie..??
Also I seem to have problem sleeping at night coz of very bad stomach pains due to constipation.. Am really worried all this may affect the baby's growth. Pls advise..

Thanks and congrats to all

hi itjabi,
welcome to the thread!

Not sure if it is safe to take chicken essence at early stage or not, coz was told not to take any tonic food or herbal stuffs during 1st trimester since baby just starts to grow all the vital organs.
Your job requires you to move around alot as in what kind of activity? It really depends. Yes, try to slow down, not only physically but also mentally.
Maybe you can take prune juices or high fibre fruits and food to cure your constipation. Most importantly, must drink lots and lots of plain water to soften the stools.

anyone experience no movement from baby for around 2 hours, then baby started mild movements again?
is this cause for concern?

bliss,
thanks. she's moving more le.
think also bcos office table always against tummy when i'm at computer, so can always feel her protesting no space.
now at home, a lot of space for her... haha

juju,
good.

haha, may be this reason.
So you have been doing counting of bb's movements daily? I have not done any leh... it is a must to count daily huh?

bliss,
i dun realli count. i jus try to track she move at least once every 1 or 2 hours. i tried counting, by lunch time i lose track liao

juju78: Thank you. My aunt was with Dr Loh when she was pregnant with her daughter.. She also faced the same thing baby didnt move.. So Dr Loh told her to go get something cold like ice kacang or something.. After she tok that within mins she started moving n kicking..
so maybe u wanna try that next time.

Bliss: Will keep that in mind then thanks.. I juz have to travel ard so dont know wheather i sud drive or juz take public transport. Coz driving requires strength with the handbrake..

juju,
wah, at least you are counting leh... not easy to keep track every 1 or 2 hours... I am so free at home, but find it so difficult to sit there to feel and count.

I just know my boy moves when I finished eating something and whenever I lie down on my sides... so my sleeping time is always his active hours. So the number of movements during all these periods in each day should be more than enough for the min normal range of bb's movement, right?

juju, bliss - my babies move most at 2 certain times, abt 10 plus in mornings and at night abt 11pm. in between also got movt, but think i'm busy moving abt so tend to notice less

itjabi - congrats and welcome to this therad.

merlenna - so happy to hear your story. yes i'm looking forward to the diapers and bottles and BF, even though i know its going to be tiring. but thats what i went through ivf for !
also, i tend to forget more and more abt the procedure pre-ivf nowadays. all those injections and checkups. a thing of the past. now my mind is all on my babies!

ladies - are you buying more maternity clothes. i havent reach 3rd tri but think need more clothes. but sayang to waste money, so keep repeating same clothes.

itjai,
he actually told me to go in for ctg.
but since baby started moving again, i decided to monitor some more lor. ya, she started moving after i had sweet drinks.

bliss,
i try only lor. sometimes when hubby ask me at home, i also have to think very hard whether bb moved constantly.

ponytail,
hee... at least ur bbs move at certain timings.

ponytails.. Thanks for the warm welcome. So nice to heard stories on baby movement.. Hopefully everything goes well n can feel that soon.

ponytail,
i din buy much maternity clothes.
only bottoms, bras, and some tops to add on cos cannot squeeze into old ones anymore.
if wear underwire bras, also better to change to non-wire types.

hi bliss,
its what we're here after all.. to support each other and learn from one another. i'm glad i'm in here too coz, a lot of you went through the journey of ivf til my bay's birth with me. hehe.. anyway, yeah, get ready for sleepless nites.. waking up just to feed. my eyebags has gone even darker bcoz of waking up every 3 hours at night to feed her. hehe.. must wear good concealers already.. lol!

hi lina,
thanks.. yeah of coz. she's what i've always wanted.. hehe.. its all worth it..

hi josephine,
scn is special care nursery. its the place where they do monitoring on newborns especially those with medical conditions or jaundice.

hi imel,
so happy your elder gal can come home already.. don't worry the 2nd one will follow suit soon!

hi ponytail,
yeah ivf process seems like aeons ago! all those jabs, er and et. and having baby in my arms just makes the journey worth it.

ponytail,
thanks, this is the similar method i had used to chose my son's name. But there are more details to look into.

hi ltjabi,
welcome to this thread. I take one bottle of chicken essence since lucrin stage, now still continue daily.

hi juju and bliss,
as long as got movement within 24 hours is ok, don't really need to know the number of times kick.

Hi Ponytail,

Thanks for your concern... I am ok but sometime the BH is so strong i m afraid also. I just hope everything is ok for my babies. The med is to prevent early contraction. I am having 1 ger n 1 boy.

Btw, i think BH cant be prevent (this is wat i know) as it is a way for your body to prepare you for the real labour. However, I m just worry at the frequency and intensity of each BH.

Actually, i think u should start planning your leave already. It is to play safe for our babies. My doc ask me to walk very slow and rest more since i told him abt the increase in frequency of e BH i have.

Really hope everything will be well for all our babies......

Pleasance: Same here. I appiled but still got tons of stretchmarks. I think no choice just have to bear with it. The best part is new stretch marks are starting to form too. Aiyoyo

Wat do u do daily? Are u always lying down or? If you are lying down, are you always on ur side? I realise i sit alot. Not sure if it is ok or should i lie more?

Hopfully,

You need to inform your gynae if you are having contractions be it BH or real contractions.. They are danger signs of early labour, but if BH is mild and occurs only 1/2 times a day its fine. Doctor will prescribe medication to control contractions.

Recommended sleeping position is sideways and when you get bigger, its more comfortable lying sideways too.

Hi Sam,

Even if BH with no pain also need to inform doc? He has given me med to prevent early contractions already. My next check up is early next week. Mayb I will inform him again. Thanks for your adivse.

How are you feeling these few days??? Discharge tomorrow??

Welcome Itjabi
I remembered you from the other thread.Congrats! Which hospital and gynae are you with? Must be very happy with the BFP!! Dun walk around too much.. When i went to work, i take cab, to and fro $40 ah....but nvm lah...for the sake of bbs.Now i am on mc, been on mc for 1 mth liao...coz i got bleeding that time...so better bedrest....

Hopfully,

Yes yes.. i requested to be discharge tom.. Yippie..Still they dun allow me to go home one la..but i insists.. anyway will guai guai n CRIB at home.. and i really really miss my dogs la..really cant wait to hug them..

just went for my 34 weeks Growth scan and appt this afternoon. It was really a LONG and TIRING WAITING day for me and hubby!
Just to share a few good news,
1)my baby boy is measured abt 2.3kg now and he is growing very well according to the sonographer. He is in head down and facing my back position which is normal.
2)My placenta has moved up, so possible for me to have normal vaginal delivery then!
3)I have gained only 100g over the past 3 weeks, and so I am 62.6kg today. Doc Sadhana said it is gd and normal, coz baby is gaining and not me(since I gained a bit fast the previous appt liao)...kekeke.
4) I have signed up for the KK premier hospitalisation A1 class package today, so one thing settled.

But the very 'siao' day today for me,
1)I waited for 1 hour at the ADC for my growth scan!
2)When I reached TPS for my appt, Doc Sadhana had to be away for some time to attend to some emergency operation, so more waiting time.
3)Hubby and I decided to make use of the waiting time to see doc, to sign up for the hospitalisation package at the admission counter. But we waited for 1 and half hour for our turn when we are only the 3rd Q no at the counter!!
4)When I rushed back to TPS at around 5.05pm (when my appt time was supposed to be 3.10pm), doc sadhana asked me for the growth scan report. I did not have it as the ADC sonographer told me they will send the report straight to my doc! So dont know whose fault then, dr Sadhana told me to get the report from ADC then and go back to see her... so my hubby rushed to ADC to get the report since they were closing soon. And finally we got to see doc. But it was 6pm when we left TPS....

Anyway, I am glad to see my cute baby after weeks, and I am still in very good mood though feeling tired.

Babymaking,
nice to see you today at ADC!

I spotted you first again, heehee! My hubby was quite surprised that I can recognise you since we only talked online. He was not awared that we already know each other's faces thru FB liao..heehee.

juju,
too bad we did not get to say hello at the TPS this afternoon, though I did see you for a sec there. You know what a crazy waiting and rushing time I had in KKH this afternoon. Haiz...
Your baby is in good weight now, can really deliver at any time, Gd gd!

hi bliss,
gosh, what a long wait for you. Glad your boy is growing well. A1 will be the single bed ward right?

hi juju,
good weight your baby.

lina,
yes, A1 class will be 1 bedded. Quite exp, estimated 5K for normal delivery, not inclusive of bb's bill and any extra charges needed. If c section, it will be abt 7K!
I just asked my friend who gave birth last yr in 1 bedded room in Thomson too, she paid 4Kplus, normal delivery with epidural, not sure bb's charges was included or not.
Anyway, just pray to have a smooth delivery and pleasant stay there for me and baby.

here is the updated,
will need Lina's and itjabi's EDD.

<table border=1><tr><td>No</TD><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>hospital</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Baby gender</TD><TD>EDD </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Imel</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy (delivered)</TD><TD>21 Apr 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Juju</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>6 May 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Josephine</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>12 May 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Bliss</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Sadhana</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>27 May 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Sam</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Dr Hema</TD><TD>3 boys</TD><TD>11 Jun 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Pleasance</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>Dr Chia</TD><TD>1girl 1 boy</TD><TD>12 Jun 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Hopfully</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl 1 boy</TD><TD>3 Jul 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Ponytail</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof Wong</TD><TD>2 girls</TD><TD>4 Jul 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Babymaking</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>25 Aug 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Kaira</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD></TD><TD>30 Sep 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Cribby</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>10 Oct 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>76</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Prof Ng</TD><TD>Twins</TD><TD>10 Oct 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Lina</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr HC Han</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14 </TD><TD>Tintedsky</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Prof SC Ng</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>18 Nov 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Itjabi</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

hi bliss,
single bed more privacy and your hubby can sleep over. KK will provide a single foldable bed for him. My EDD is 7 Dec 09 singleton, help me add in. Thanks alot!

do note that u can go any national library to collect ur bb journal (a goodie bag) when u present ur ic.
inside my bag : 1 x height chart, 1 x baby cd, 1 x parenting book, 1 x bb journal (aka diary), 1 x library reading record card.