Petals,
The reason I brought my appt forward was because I decided to switch to TPS. Luckily, my doc was avail on Fridays so I could see her on short notice. BTW, my doc is Dr Sadhana.

Nano,
My discharge is yellow, sometimes sticky, sometimes not. To be safe, I just told the doc. My next visit is on Friday 12/10.

Rammy,
How did u change your appmt from clinic D to TPS? Did u call IVF centre or call the general appmt line to mke the change? What about the form they gave us to bring to AMC...just throw away? I'm thinking of changing.

Nano,
Thks for the charges b/down. Oh, so they do charge for u/s separately at TPS.

Petals,
I just called the main appointment line, & told the person that I want to change all my doc visits to TPS. She gave me a date in early October, but I insisted on seeing my doc asap. The form for the AMC appointment, just ignore it. Can throw away because your doc will be doing the scanning himself.

Hi all, sorry for the absence......fri n sat normally out whole day

Pui: thanks for the encouragement...r u embaking on IVF too?

Lefty: Wow triplets! u r so blessed...can close factory after this liao .heehee. Take care, rest well, do not overexert yrself k n enjoy yr pregnancy

BBTeng: I really salute u n yr positive attitude. U r an inspiration! Thanks for the sharing, m sure u'll have yr reward of a miracle soon! keep hanging on to give us hope ok!

BTW, i'm not afraid of the puregon jabs as i've done it 4 SO-IUI. I'm jus afraid of the stringe type!...not to mention the HUGE one i saw when the nurse was explaining to us about the
IVF process....I can't concentrate..i kept looking at the huge jab tt's going to go on the thigh! FAINT! do they have GA for tt jab?!!

Nano: did u or yr hubby go for acu to improve chances?

Petals n all preggies: I heard from my preggie friends tt warm ginger water helps relief morning sickness. u can get those repacked ones from the supermarket to boil n drink. it also keeps the womb warm so it helps......( I saw so many gynaes did so much research on pregnancy for my friends when they were preg....i was their consultant ,heehee except no one can help me 4 infertility cos none of them had probs

Petals n nano:

I mentioned TCM to Dr Loh, he didn't seem positive about the TCM i'm seeing ...Ying chuan Medical. Cos,Like wat the previous post said, the sinsei will say tt u have PCOS, Adenomyosis n hubby varicocle n will send you to Prof Chris Chen of Gleneagles...We went.....He confirmed her diagnosis n made us do mucous n semen test again.....said my mucous toxic so won't conceive naturally, hubby's sperm no gd so both of us need to go thru surgery b4 he will wanna do IVF on us.....
His nurses imm wanted to schedule us for surgery in 2 wks!!!

I went back to Ying chuan n she said our condition not tt bad to go thru surgery but we can if we want cos no harm. I told her i wanted to do SO-IUI n not go thru the surgery, so she sent me to Dr Fong Yang. He scanned my womb n said i do not have adenomyosis n my womb is not swollen as wat the sinsei said. no need treatment n dun need jab to shrink my womb......
Can't imagine if i went ahead with the surgery!!!!

I even tried raffles hospital for accu, it was a young lady tt did 4 me not Jingjinghua....some pts were really painful 4 me. I found a blue black spot on my tummy where she poked when i went back.....no wander she said my body has bad blood circulation n bruise easily...i didn't know wat she meant until i saw the bruise

This is my experience with TCM.....don;t know wat to think liao....except is there any good TCM n ACCU i can go to? which one did u guys go to n did yr hubby go as well to tiao body?
Dr Loh rec one at paragon but said it is ex n mentioned about one in AMK tt most of his patients go to ......do u have the tel n add to tt?

BTW, Dr Loh said with or without TCM, the results n chances for IVF is the same

hi petals_bloom,
aft the initial consultation at tps , the subsequent consultation charge is as such:

consultation with senior consultant,Dr SF Loh including u/scan (After hours cos i see him on wed'nite): $65
Obstetric routine test: $10
Total charges including tax : $80.25

yellow dischage

i had yellow discharge too. dr loh said as long as we do not feel itchy and it does not smell then it is ok. otherwise you have to seek treatment immediately.

Rammy,
I remembered wrongly, mine is 4.5mm instead of 4mm. How come Dr haven't tell me abt the test for abnormalities? I very likely will want to test..maybe will ask Dr on my next appt.

Petals,
I think appt at TPS is easier to get but the waiting time is long. From the time i reached and left the hospital it was abt 2hrs. But at least for TPS you dun have to go pharmacy to queue for yr med. Will you be seeing Dr Loh?

Stardiva,
I did went for acu just before I'm going to start IVF. I also dunno whether it really helps but i think no harm going since there are reports that it can improve chances. My hubby did not do acu. Last time, he was prescribed Tribestan by another gynae but no improvement in sperm quality. Dr Loh gave him Andriol to take also but think din help much also.

stardiva,
I tried the acu at Zou Yumin, blk 505 AMK Ave 8, tel: 64560833. I only tried acu cos i wasn't keen on TCM as I was abt to start my jabs then. She does both tcm n acu. $25 for 40min acu.

Rammy,
ok, thx! Will call tmrw to see if i can change.

Rammy,
I tried to change my appmt, but they said next available is 17-oct for tps!! Guess I can't change it now.

Do u feel any abdominal tightening? I feel a tight feeling just behind my bellybutton...like stomach is very full...since yesterday and this morning.

Petals,
Oh dear, looks like your doc is a real busy man. Abdominal tightening? Not only that, I have gastric, constipation, heartburn & diarrhoea. This pregnancy is making my stomach topsy-turvy. Sometimes I don't even know whether I need to go to the toilet or it's just mild cramping or something else. I've experimented on different kinds of food & have made a list of what to eat & not to eat.

Nano,
My doc suggested the tests to rule out DS baby. If the results of these tests show my risk is low, I don't have to go for the amnio test which is quite risky. The chances of DS baby for my age group is 1:290. Better to be safe than sorry.

Rammy, Nano,
I feel like something is pushing my bellybutton...so funny.
Oh, for ur morning sickness, i read that you can add a slice of lemon or orange to flavour your water if u don't like the taste of plain water now. Also u can try some of those sports drinks to help replenish electrolytes.

Petals,
Abdominal tightening shd be ok, i got that too. Besides that i got mild cramping almost everyday one wk after i was tested +ve, now dun have. Like Rammy, at that time i also dun know is it i need to go toilet to do biz or just mild cramping.

Ok will try add a lemon to my water later. I think I'm getting abit sick of ribena. That means ok to drink 100 plus occassionally?

Rammy,
I intend to do test to rule out DS also. May i know wat is the name of the test? Now, my tongue always covered by a layer of the white thing(those tat u get when heaty)..strange.

i am embarking for ivf this october.do you have any advice for me like what to eat what not to eat. i heard chiken can not take. is it true?

Hi Pupi,
I din really avoid any food during injection time, still eat chicken. I only avoided cold drink during that period even till now. It is not difficult for me cos i dun really like cold drinks. For fruits, i avoid those like watermelon, pineapples, banana(esp those big ones)etc . Maybe other sisters can give u more details.

pupi,
i also ate chicken throughout. Didn't hear that cannot eat chicken.

nano,
100plus or H2O shld be fine. We shld avoid fish that have high mercury - shark, swordfish, tuna, tilefish and maybe salmon.

Petals,
Is it ok to eat stingray? I like to eat grilled stingray with sambal but now got to try to avoid eating it cos dun know ok or not.

I ever read people wrote dun eat batang fish but dun know true or not..think outside alot of fish soup stall use batang fish. But now i still continue to eat fish soup at hawker.

dear nano and petals,

thank you very much for your advice.
nano
i heard that during the 2ww pinapple juice really work for implantation. so y do u avoid that fruits? and y did u avoid other fruits like bannana or watermelon?

i heard that chiken got hormone injected so need to avoid. but after your advice i am thinking i will take chiken

Pupi,
I thought watermelon, pineapple belongs to the "cold" category so i avoided it. But i think if u take very moderately shd be ok.

thanks nano. can u give me one idea how i can make ginger water? will i buy raw ginger from shop then boil in the water? how i can take?

do u have any idea how to keep the womb warm?

Hi Hopes - thx for sharing.

I took TCM herbs from EYS(Paragon) but hv since stopped taking - lazy lah. I'm thinking of doing acu this time instead. Do you know how often we should do it?

Petals - you mentioned doing acu in your post - how often did you do it and was it before or after transfer?
thx!

Hee Pupi,
I also dunno how to make ginger water so i went to buy those instant pack ones fr supermart. Ended up, hardly drink cos not used to the taste. Ya another thing, my acu doc at that time advise not to eat fruits out from fridge, this will help to keep the womb warm.

hi nano,
where did u do the acu?i am doing at amk blk 505.
did u do after embryo transfer also? i am doing 2 times a week. i have done 6 times already.

one more thing, after ET can we sleep at aircon room that 2 ww ? but i always on aircon during sleeping time.

yuli,
i did acu twice a wk starting just before my lucrin jabs until er. And then everyday for the few days b4 er.

nano,
hmm, dunno abt stingray...i was reading a bk prob written for preggie angmo, so they didn't mention sambal stingray...heehee.

Pupi,
I went to the same acu at AMK. i did twice a wk. One week before ER supposed to do daily but i did not go everyday. But i did do 1 day before ER and one last time on the day after ER.

Not sure abt the aircon thing cos i am those that feel cold easily so hardly on my aircon during my 2ww..maybe u can chk with Dr Zou.

Petals,
haa u r rite din read abt stingray in bks..guess angmoh dun take. Anyway, i will try not to take during 1st trim.

It was a sad week for me. I have just failed my natural cycle. My eggs was matured and good, but unfortunately DH sperm could not fertilised it. I was so upset when i received the news from kkh on saturday and since we were already there, the nurse made an arrangement for me to see Dr Loh.

According to Dr Loh, my DH sperm is too weak. And if the problem lies on the man, there is nothing much that can be done to improve it. So even if i am able to produce more eggs, the chances of it being fertilised is also low.

Now, i am really in a lost. Really don't know what to do next. Wanted very much to give up this whole thing and forget about it. DH talk to me about adoption, but frankly i am not very keen. Dr Loh tell us about donor sperm, but that is out of the question for us. I will rather not have any kids.

We have tried TCM and acu, but my DH sperm still show no improvement. Really lost and upset.. i know nobody can help me, but just needed someone to talk to. Pls tell me, if you were me, what will you do...

It was a sad week for me. I have just failed my natural cycle. My eggs was matured and good, but unfortunately DH sperm could not fertilised it. I was so upset when i received the news from kkh on saturday and since we were already there, the nurse made an arrangement for me to see Dr Loh.

According to Dr Loh, my DH sperm is too weak. And if the problem lies on the man, there is nothing much that can be done to improve it. So even if i am able to produce more eggs, the chances of it being fertilised is also low.

Now, i am really in a lost. Really don't know what to do next. Wanted very much to give up this whole thing and forget about it. DH talk to me about adoption, but frankly i am not very keen. Dr Loh tell us about donor sperm, but that is out of the question for us. I will rather not have any kids.

We have tried TCM and acu, but my DH sperm still show no improvement. Really lost and upset.. i know nobody can help me, but just needed someone to talk to. Pls tell me, if you were me, what will you do...

Hi JR, I have a problem with fertilization during the ivf process and I have been trying to do some reading up on this. Just to clarify - did you do ICSI? ICSI is supposed to help a great deal (ave 60 to 70% success) if it is only a male factor issue only. You can PM me and I can share with you some of the stuff that I found. Priscilla

Hi JR,
Sorry to hear abt your cycle. Was wondering if u did ICSI? I thought once they inject the sperm, it will fertilise more easily? Could it be a timing thing with ur DH sperm? Maybe a few mths later his quality will improve, and if u try a fresh cycle with more eggs, there might be a higher chance of fertilisation? Sorry, I can't recall your earlier postings abt choosing natural cycle. I haven't heard much abt it.

JR,

hmm.. didn't Dr Loh suggest ICSI at all?

How long has your hubby been doing acu and stuff? I heard coryceps are good for guys to improve their condition. Did you try that?

Babe.. dun give up hope yet. Give your hubby some time to improve his condition first.

It's only ur first try right..? Dun give up yet.. there will always be miracle...

yuli..

me and petals went to the same acu at AMK 505.

think alot of sisters here goes there for acu too.

yuli.. be good.. take ur TCM and acupunture combo for best results..hehe..

I read that cordyceps is good for men so I bought it for my DH too
after taking for about a month, his results were slightly improved - though we're not sure if its due to the cordyceps but I guess its worth the try.

Nano,
I was given a number of brochures that I haveen't got time to look through them until you asked me for the name of the tests. If I'm not mistaken, it's the Premier Fetal Screening.

hi JR,
I feel sad when i hear this news from you. What's Dr's next suggestion? I tot what Priscilla and Petal shared is true that ICSI does help alot for males with sperm conditions. Did Dr Loh know that your husband's condition at the first place? If he did, then I think he would use his wisest judgement. Perhaps, we can look at this way, you are fertile and your only challenge is your husband's condition. Try not to talk about children first and spend some quality twosome moments. I believe your husband is equality stress and to him adoption is an ultimatum because he does not want you to go through so much pain. How long has your husband been on tcm and acu? Some people take longer time to respond. I know it's not easy for you to get over it and it takes time and you will make it... Cheer!

hi JR,
I feel sad when i hear this news from you. What's Dr's next suggestion? I tot what Priscilla and Petal shared is true that ICSI does help alot for males with sperm conditions. Did Dr Loh know that your husband's condition at the first place? If he did, then I think he would use his wisest judgement. Perhaps, we can look at this way, you are fertile and your only challenge is your husband's condition. Try not to talk about children first and spend some quality twosome moments. I believe your husband is equality stress and to him adoption is an ultimatum because he does not want you to go through so much pain. How long has your husband been on tcm and acu? Some people take longer time to respond. I know it's not easy for you to get over it and it takes time and you will make it... Cheer!

Hi Baby Low, Hopes,
ICSI was done, but still that does not guaranteed fertilisation. According the Dr Loh, the way sperm are chosen is by naked eye. That means, the embryologist will just select the one that 'swim' the fastest and inject into the egg. In terms of the quality of the sperm, they can't tell as well.

This is a natural cycle, I only managed to produce 1 egg which is normal. So, Dr Loh's suggestion is that if we want to try again, we will have to go for the stimulated cycle. More eggs will be produce and than the chances of fertilised egg will increase. But the thot of going thru the whole thing again make me scared...haiz

BTW, i called my sinseh. She too suggest that we should just take a short break for about a week or so. Don't stress ourselves too much. And she strongly believe that acu will help DH on his sperm. In fact, DH has been doing acu and TCM for about 3 months. And indeed, his count has improved, but quality is still not there yet. So, she said still got hope one. Haiz.. i am now not too sure if she is trying to comfort me only....

Hi Priscilla,
Thanks for your mail. I will read it thoroughly and revert. Thanks

JR,
Maybe go for a short holiday and not think abt this for a little while. After that, you can consider whether you are willing to go thru stimulated cycle again, which I feel has a higher chance. For me, even with ICSI, the no. of fertilised embies we managed to get is just under 60% of my eggs retrieved. I think it'll be even harder with just one egg in your case. But at least your body is not filled up with any drugs now, right? So you will take a shorter time for your body to recover. All the best in whatever you decide.

yah... JR,

dun be sad ya..! take ur time.. go for short trip!!

we are all poor souls.. need to pamper ourselves once in a while..

Nano, Rammy and Petals,
May i know what is your dosage for duphaston?
I was asked to take thrice daily. Dun know if my all my symptoms are resulted by this medicine. Feel very moody, no appetite, sleepy, and always have bitter and sour taste in my mouth. Its affecting me a lot.
Wonder if i should ask doc to adjust my dosage.
But i'm only seeing doc Loh next friday.. Do you know if IVF pregnancies are any different from normal conceived pregnancy. I always have this feeling that we r going thru much much more..
Haiz..

Needle,
My duphaston is taken twice daily. And Vit B once daily, which my doc did say causes constipation. I don't know if the symptoms are due to the duphaston or just the pregnancy. But, I'm also like you. No appetite & feel nauseous at the slightest smell or taste.
The nurse said our pregnancy is like a normal one, so shouldn't worry. She even said I could fast as long as I take my medication & eat the 2 meals daily. Boy, was she wrong! I tried fasting for a day, & I nearly fainted. I had dizzy spells & couldn't get up. My nauseousness was worse, keep wanting to throw up although my stomach was empty. I gave up fasting. Don't want to jeopardise both my & my baby's well-being.
I think we should take extra precaution in our pregnancy. After all the effort we had gone through...

Petals,
Good for you! So when are you seeing your doc?

Needles,
Hmm, i'm taking twice a day only. How come urs is thrice? I cut down on my food intake, cos I get full quickly. But I snack when I get hungry betwn meals. I think I'm bloated cos I see my tummy quite big. Also sleepy but i try not to nap too much during the day, cos it seems to spoil my night's sleep. I think the pregnancy is the same, just that for ivf, we take more hormones to support the precious pregnancy. So I guess that's why more side-effects. Pls bear with it, cos I think 2nd trimester will be better. But of course if it gets too serious or unbearable now, maybe u can email dr loh on ur questns or see him earlier. He responds within a day usually. What was ur progest level?