Min81: I see. I only been briefed until ER only so don't know yet. I very laxed this cycle and very glad choose Nuh cos they very patient to tell you step by step even tho I did once before
yes I had suprefact 50iu for trigger. Did you have ovidrel jab after ER?

Chris,

Yup they'll explain the relevant things as each step comes up so that we won't be confused.. Looks like our protocol is the same.. Apparently this is quite new.. Suprefact for trigger, then abt an hr after ER, a chr nurse came to give me ovidrel jab.. Then today when i went back for review, they gave ovidrel jab again..

Min81: Yup! I don't know it's a new protocol but I am pleased with it. I read sometime ago that using hcg to trigger maturity isn't good so I am really glad they use Suprefact. Can I ask if they wake you up after the procedure or do u wake up by yourself? It's fast you recover in 1 hour.

Lin, I am first fresh with nuh. Should start on short protocol on 18 march. Previously did 2 fresh at gleanE.

Ladies anyone starting ard same week as me?

Positive,

I did ask the nurse the purpose of the jab and she said it's support jab.. I was quite surprised cos i already have so many vaginal suppositories.. My jaw dropped when the nurse gave me the med and instructions before ER.. 6 utrogestan ball tabs, 4 estrofem tabs and crinone gel in a day..

Chris,

Oh then it sounds good
Hmm i think they woke me up.. My ER was at 12.30, back in rm by 1.45.. Think the nurse came by ard 2 plus.. Do you have the same suppositories too? A lot hor..

Positive: My dose this time is 300iu max with a drop in dose after 1st scan. Though I have yet to complete the whole protocol, both dh and me think that I do very well on short in all aspects so far. Yes ER is tomorrow. Will update later on embryo status. Support meds i think Min and me hve should be same, I thought its quite a lot. Crinone, progestrone and estrogen which are all inserts.

Min81: I had the same reaction as you on the support meds. I had lesser on my first. I wonder if they are overdoing it.. Haha! I thought the estrogen is very small to insert, did u have problem with that? Previously I took estrogen orally but it's not the same tablets though.

Laine, you started your ivf? I would have started this month too! Haiz.... now need to delay for anther 2 more mths!

Accupuncture comes from China. But people in China did not do accupuncture for infertility leh. I find this quite strange....

Lakigirl, Lynhope, is red bean soup so powerful that in less than a month of drinking it, our lining can increase so much? seems like this is more powerful than taking supplements that require about 3 mths to see the effect.

Sunstillshines: Cetrotide is an antagonist. It works like Lucrin but instead of suppression, it competes to bind with the hormones hence "suppress" ovulation. Ovidrel is basically Pregynl, a hcg. Suprefact works like Lucrin as an agonist to trigger maturity as a one-dose med.

Technically, Lucrin starts on d21 of cycle but I started on d23. You will have your AF and on d2-3, you will start stimulation jabs. Lucrin does not interfere with AF as your body has already into the natural cycle of your usual cycle when you are supposed to shed the lining. Lucrin in fact suppress the start of your next cycle.

Joyfully: yay!

Chris,

I do find the estrofem a little more difficult to insert cos so tiny, and ermm...sometimes it follows my finger out again! (sorry if tmi! Hehe) And gotta insert 4 times at 1 shot..

Min81: That's what I am thinking also and I also ask the nurse how to insert. She say it might help to put a tiny drop of water then insert the tiny tablets. I think it will follow finger out again is a common issue, was thinking about that too (tmi- no problem.. Haha!). I forgotten also now: put the tablet then the gel right or is it reverse? I certainly hope this insertion "schedule" is not so hectic after going back to work on BFP ;P

Chris, so Lucrin is also a suppressor for ovulation in a long protocol like Centrotide?

Is Suprefact the only type of jab for maturing the folicles?

Chris,

Tablets then gel.. Ehh if gel first will be very eeky.. Hehe.. I think after bfp will reduce leh.. Today prof said if next fri got gd news, he'll get me started on jabs.. So i guess there'll be less inserts? But i'm ok with anything as long as can get sticky bfp.. Hehe

Sunstillshines,

How come have to delay?

Min, because dh suddenly told me he does not want to do because he is sick and his sperms will not be good. Then next mth, dr will be out of town.... sigh... so I wait for 2 more mths lor..

Sunstillshines: I modify my previous reply to you above. Yes Lucrin is used to suppress in long protocol and Suprefact in short. How they work is different but the end goal is the same: prevent ovulation. I am aware Suprefact can be used but not sure if its the only one. Most drugs have multiple purposes, it depends on what is commonly done. I am not sure if Suprefct can actually be used in long protocol if that's what you want to know since Lucrin and Cetrotide's mode of action on ovulation suppression is different. Have to read more literature on that and if this is not commonly done, your doc might not know as well or reasons for not doing so.

Min81: ok ok, sounds right..
Wah, good leh cos I am thinking how to keep up with the hectic routine. Sticky vibes to you!

Sunstillshines: yes I am on Gonal F. Will be taking lots of water and protein (if needed)

Sunstillshines, haven started yet, supposed to start last month but af falls on CNY so waited till this month. Going to start on 26Mar.
Believe everything is fated...jus go with the flow lo!

Sunstillshines,

I see.. Nvm, can take this time to continue to tiao your body, even better.. Jia you!

Chris,

Thanks!! Same to you!!

I see some discussion on TCM. My tcm practionier actually recommends to have at least 3months of tcm for better support in implantation. Alot of her patients suffer miscarriage, but after taking tcm, they manage to pull through. As whether accunpture is necessary, it depends on individual.

If anyone keen to take ensure, I have lobang! My DH works in Abbott. Can get at staff price.

tsf,

oops, i jus stock up 20 pkts of ensure milk today..hehe

btw,how much can he get for those packet ensure milk?

if not convenient to reveal here, u can pm me.

or u on yr pm so that i can pm u?

Anyone experienced light staining during stimulation? Technically I am in d7 of my menstrual cycle. Have been clear since d5.

Lin, thanks for the reminder, will take extra care when exercising.

Chris , all the best for your er tomorrow!

Hi positive and jelly,

Abbott manufacturing is at Tuas. If buy can collect from biopolis. Staff price is abt 20% cheaper than outside retail price

Lin: when we go er. The embryologist will know how many mature, immature n also some is just empty eggs. Then they will mix with the sperm.

During et, they will tell u how many embryo n whether any under observation.

Btw, there is an Ivf talk conducted by prof n his team on 23/3, 2-5pm at NUH. Interested peeps can register. It's FOC.

Tsf, i am also interested....hope not too inconvenient for u...

i told my dh abt the bed thingy...cos a fren of mine is delivering next mth...he was rolling his eyes at him and prob cant believe i actually wanted to try out...

Min:
JY!

Thanks Ting. All the best on your cycling!

Lin: Miss out your post. It's common to have some months where ovulation do not happen but should not be always tho.

Tsf: I really enjoy the seminar! Are you going for it?

tsf, the retail prices for ensure milk varies lei..how do we determined which retail price cos i can get $2.80 per pkt at unity, but can get 20% cheaper at another retail pharmacy.

Is the ivf seminar at nuh open to public as well?

Positive, I am not with dr sf loh for this ivf.

Chris, thanks for the explanation. I remembered that I used Centrotide for my last fresh but cannot remember what medicine was used to mature the folicles. Wondering was it Suprefact.

Anyone doing FET? what jabs are you using to suppress ovulation in a medicated FET? can share with me?

Jelly, you drink the packeted Ensure? Why not the tin type?

tsf0205, where in NUH is the ivf talk conducted? Seriously, I think that is one hospital that I have never visited before... it is like going to JB to me... so far...
kao_embarrassed.gif

Sunstillshines: usually what to use for what is dependent on doc and hospital
I think diff people here can help.. Hee

Jelly: which retail pharmacy is cheaper by 20% leh?

sunstillshines (3S),

For a very simple reason, i m lazy to mix the drink from the tin..hehe. And takin the pkt one is so much convenient for lazy person like me.

Chris,, I get it from CGH at $2.29 per pkt. They got strawberry, raspberry, choc, vanilla flavor.

Lin - I have 3 frozen embbies, transferred 2, left 1.. My mum is very alert anything with conceiving esp ivf. Whenever she sees news on which actress preggie thru ivf, she will cut out the article. She was quite disappointed that my 1st fresh was unsuccessful. This FET, I didn't tell my parents.

Min- that's a lot of support, I was only given cyclogest insets, no injections after ET.

Dream - haha, I told my hubby about that bed thingy, he also roll eyes at me.

Laine, I'm doing the reverse this cycle. My 1st fresh, I did lots of things u name it,I eat it haha. Like egg whites, max I ate 6-8 egg whites during the Stims till I wanna puke, Brazil nuts, ensure milk, LRD tea plus accupunture 2x - 3 a week. For this FET cycle, I'm more chill, I only start to drink ensure, LRd tea after my ET. I would say no harm eating those supplement but in moderate.

Sunstillshines, I'm on natural FET, no jabs. I think some sisters here are doing medicated FET.

Dream, my regular is 28-30 'dream' cycle but I felt not all months I ovulate cos sometimes I do test the opk. Luckily this cycle I tested+opk on day12. I only did 2 scans Before ET, was unprepared that its so fast.

Chris, thanks. I am already quite heavy usual days haha. But, anything for a baby!

Min, so glad to hear that you are doing fine. Jia you!!

Chong chong, I dont really know leh. The lab told me the quality so so zzzz. But as the sisters say here, we only need one to BFP!!!!! I hope my frozen babies make it for thawing. :D

Dream, the medicated one that I am on requires Lucrin jabs + pills. Natural I guess no medication.

Ladybuggy, sorry just retrack and saw your post. They never inform at all? If it was me i will be very anxious. *sweat

Jelly: ok.

Muff: we are all in here for the baby.. Heee!

Positivecalm: all the best for your 1st scan! Chill!

Lakigal: thanks.. Same to you too.. May you be Laki Laki!

Jelly,

Wow 20% disc at cgh? Does it apply for the tin powdered type as well? I stay near cgh, can go there
I realised recently there's an islandwide increase in the price recently, but i saw nuh pharmacy still selling $34.40 and wantedto buy but hubby says it looks like old stock and said don't buy..

Ladybuggy,

I think FET will have less supports.. When is your BT?