laki_gal, im sorry to hear that *hugs*
dun give up ok... we are all here for each other...

diantang / dreambear, Other than working from home now.. im lying on the bed to type these... lols

I also cant wait although abit fearful...

laki_gal: *hug hug* sorry to hear abt ur BFN but dun give up. con't to tiao ur body n u will succeed. must remain positive n let's JY again for the nx cycle.

Sandra, I hve 4 more but dont knw whether r they strong coz previous I thaw 4 n only 1 survive. Hope they b strong. Was thinking for acupunture nw. Shld I go now or wait till my review?

Juz smehw already expected so I'm ok juz only feeling a bit sad.

Laki gal, * hug hug* tiao ur body now and start again. Don't give up. May I ask why ur frozen thawed 4 and only 1 is survived? Did dr said anything?

dian tang, r u discharged already? hope yr bleeding has stopped. wish u a smooth pregnancy ahead n we prayed hard for you too.

wonderss, has the embryologist call to update u on how many fertilised and how many cells already?

laki gal, cry all u wan but dun despair,ok ? since we cant change the result..let's look forward to the next successful ivf. We, the sistas here will b supportin u and cheering u on.

Laki gal,

Hugz.. Sorry to hear that.. We all continue to jia you together k... You still have your snowbabies waiting for you..

Grace, I hvent c my dr. Only nxt mth then will go c her. Got 1 embryo didn't survive, d other 2 didn't future develop so only got 1 strong 1 n manage to transfer tat but still end w bfn.

Jelly, I wanna cry out bt tears juz wnt flow out.

Min, thks mayb I b ur cycle buddy oso

Laki gal, Hugs! May I knw, since they thaw 4 and only 1 survived, meaning u only transfer 1 embbie not 2?

jelly, KKH standard will not call to update on the fertilised. Will only know on the ET day itself.

Wondersss, Stay zen! Sure can meet up de. All the best to your ET tomorrow yayy

Laki, sorry to hear that, hugs...please hang in there and don't give up. I know it has not been an easy journey. I will keep coming in here to help you jia you!! And also for you Min81 and the other sisters here. Hopefully after your review with your doctor, you will have an idea when you can start trying again. In the meantime, take care of your body and enjoy the end of the year. There is also no harm if you decide to try acupuncture. I was with Dr Zhou from Raffles Medical (because the location was convenient for me) and she has experience with IVF. She is also a motherly figure so even though I can't feel if the acupuncture is helping or not, it was nice just to talk to her. Take care!

Min81, sorry I may have missed some posting, have you decided which month you are doing your IVF yet? Jan or Feb?

Leor, thanks dear..

Brchow, U are how many days transfer...?? Did the embryogist call u after ER that day?? I did not receive any calls le..means what?

is ICSI a Day5 transfer?? how did the doc choose whether to do a Day 2 or day5 transfer? My ER is yesterday n tomorrow is ET... then am i consider day2 transfer??

Leor, yup I only transfer 1.

Lil, was intend to try raffle hospital for acupuncture. Can u share w me on wat u did tat x n hw many x u went? B4 ET only or af ET?

Ladies juz wanna ask ur opinion. Previously b4 I do my ET, my dr got recommend me to do scrapping of d lining n mention it will increase d success rate. Do u all think I shld do it?

Laki gal,

Yup we could be cycle buddies.. Wait for your review and see what doc says.. If u really feel like trying acupuncture, i think u can just go ahead, seems to have helped many ladies here..

Lil ponyo,

How are you getting on? Thanks for your encouragement
Just confirmed yesterday that will be doing it in feb.. Good news is that prof will be ard for that whole duration.. He actually told me it could be a timely delay as he's expecting govt to be rolling out some 'goodies' in jan for those doing ARTs.. But not confirmed so we're crossing our fingers for more subsidy.. At the same time, brought up my concern of my allergy rhinitis, eczema and nail psoriasis which are autoimmune disorders.. He got me to do some blood tests yesterday, he wants me to have a peace of mind before i start on ivf.. Hubby and i felt much better afyer seeing him yesterday, he somehow has this calming effect on us.. Haha..

Wondersss, No ICSI not a day5 transfer. KKH standard is Day2 transfer and yes, tomorrow is your day2 transfer

Btw, just for your info embryogist will not call to update you de. U will only know during ET.

Laki gal, Oh am surprise that they didnt transfer 2 for you wor. My understanding is transferring 2 will have higher chances to strike. Maybe u could check with your Dr isnt true. Hmmm...since u paying the same amount of sum, why didnt they transfer 2 for you *scratch head* since u still have embbies. Pardon me hor. I am just simply curious. Hope I didnt make you angry/sad abt what am mention.

Leor, no worry. Coz our plan is juz to thaw 4 tat x so didn't knw only 1 can make it n I guess they afraid tat precious 1 mayb oso can't mk it soon so they juz transfer first.

Leor, thanks.. maybe getting abit kan chiong liao..
My hubby say he will come tml to see our baobeis ... more comforting now...i really need him to see our baobeis..

laki gal, y dun thaw another 2 and see how, can this b arranged? i dunno, i m jus asking.

Leor,i din know kkh dun update patients on embryo devts..so patients are kept in suspense for two days....

Laki gal: sorry to hear that . Maybe u can try acupuncture with dr zhao which Lil and I went . The Dr always make us at ease dur the visit and maybe u can tiao ur body too.

girlgirl, im also very happy... i will sleep early as tml is my big big day and i think im the first one again.. hehehe

So do i stay in the bed and dun move after the ET? need to tilt my backside upward or ???? lols

Laki gal, Oic....no wonder they only transfer 1. Cos I thought if those thaw cannot make it, they will thaw further so that u can transfer at least 2 embbies. Anyway, see wat dr says then decide further.

Wondersss, heehee, tomorrow is your big day sure kan chiong de mah. Can understand hehe... That's is great! Your hubby can accompany you liao

hi all!

i'm oso a silent reader but the thread is too long to read thru :p

brief intro of myself.. have a 5yo boy and been trying for #2 for about 1year+ and no news.. suffered from PCOS and hubby's SA is not very good too so tot of going to try IVF/ICSI straight.

Question is.. if i wan to get the govt subsidy, do i have to go polyclinic for referral or can actually book appointment with KKH?

Mei2> if want to get govt subsidy, go to any polyclinic for referral letter.

Wondersss> hehehe i can remember that for ET, must keep bladder a bit full. Only after ET ok liao, then can go wee wee. Hmm..after ET, have to rest and embryologist will see u etc. Then once you are cleared, can go home/go makan. Dun run anywhere hor. Remember your daily medication support.

wondersss: KKH no update of embryos de. this is my story: sperm samples submission & ER on Fri with 3 immature. they called to inform on sat morning at 8am that finally 2 became mature "yesterday" (fri) after monitoring n inseminate it immediately "yesterday" (fri). ET on mon n was infm that although 2 eggs fertilised, 1 of grade 1 n the other of grade 3. so only trsfr grade 3 cos grade 1 won't survive. mine is consider day 3 trsf.

Leor: so that comes to your question. yes, pay same amt but I only trsfr 1 embie cos grade 1 is not gd n KKH won't proceed to trsfr. i believe, if they do trsfr n heng heng or suay suay the grade 1 survives, the baby may have chromosome defects end up m/c or ....

Mei2, Welcome

FYI, IVF no subsidy. If you refer from Polyclinic, you may have subsidy rate for the bloodtest and SA check only. You will not be able to choose doctor also. Once start IVF journey, all will be in private rate liao for all jabs medication and ER/ET procedure. But since u doing IVF in govt hospital, u will still entitle the govt grant even if u come in direct to kkh just that your bloodtest will be in private rate.

wondersss: also forgot to mention mine is IVF with ICSI cos sperm not gd auality. KKH dun practive day 5 trsfr cos they said put embies in petri dish with culture sometimes may affect the eggs quality. also i read fr internet some eggs not so strong n will not make it pass day 4 to 5.

mei2: yes Leor is correct. everything under IVF procedure becomes private costing once u embark on it. 1st time can use medisave 6K n govt co-fund of up to 3K.

Laki, initially when I wanted to choose a TCM doctor, I wasn't sure to go to AMK or Raffles. Although AMK has a lot of good reviews, I chose Raffles because of location and no waiting time. They also have an IVF package that you can buy.

I did acupuncture before, between and after ER & ET.

Before my ER, I did acupuncture once a week for 6 weeks because I was on the long protocol. For the first 2 weeks, doctor gave me some chinese medicine to 'bu' my liver which was apparently too cold. After that she stopped with the medicine when my stimulation jab started.

Between ER & ET, I also did 2 session to prepare my lining for ET. The 2nd session was immediately before my ET. I went to the TCM doctor and then went directly to Gleneagles.

After ET, I did 2 more sessions. She stopped after 5 days after my ET because implantation may have happened.

Apparently, all IVF patients from Raffles will do a session immediately before and after ET.

Hopes all these information helps. I think the most important is to try and relax especially during the session to reap the max benefit from the acupuncture. I just try positive visualization everytime I'm lying there with needles all stuck in me.

Min81, good that you have a plan and that you are happy and comfortable with it. It's good that you and DH feel so good about it because the process is stressful enough and having a doctor that you can fully trust is crucial. So all you need to do is to follow your doctor's advice and let him do all the hard work. You just relax and know that you are in good hands!

BrChow, Hehee...thanks for your answering. Yrs is bo bian so can only transfer 1 but for laki gal, she still have extra embbies to thaw so just curious why didnt the dr proceed to thaw further mah. Saw Laki gal reply that they only ask the dr to thaw 4 of her embbies so that's why only transfer 1 for her.

To my understanding for KKH will thaw 2 each time if no survied then they will continue to thaw another embbies unless no extra embbies wor. Sistas please pardon me if am wrong as I still havent go into this thawing stage. Am just remember on the info that I had read from the past post.

thanks all! and welcoming me

sorry i mean the grant haa.. yup am under 40!

thanks alot
so it doesnt matter if i call up KKH for appt for the 1st consultation since i will be under private and got the grant.

Any idea how much to fork up for the 1st visit? BT and SA need to be done at the same time too?

Pina, Yes I knw. Maybe different hospital different policy/standard. That's y I ask laki gal lor. Btw, KKH embbies store 2 embbies in each straw?? I dun knw mine wor. What if they thaw 1st straw, 1 survie and thaw another straw and the 2 survie but can only transfer 2 instead of 3. Then the balance 1 survie will be refreeze or discard huh?

Mei2, get your appt first cos the q should be around Feb/Mar le. As for the blood test some can do on the day but some cannot. One of it require to do only on yr Day2 menses. As for SA checks also needs to book appointment de.

Brchow, thanks for the info... think i getting abit paranoid.. scared this n that cos i never receive any calls from them at all... so i take is ok or they will onlhy be cruel to break the news to me tml??

i will give a field report tomorrow... whahahah... bless me ladies...

mei2: i'm with KKH n spent more than cash $700+ (incl GST) for blood test & checks during my 1st IVF consultation.

breakdown (excl GST) as follow for me:
doc consultation fees $80
antenatal panel 3 $66
TP antibodies $14
Hep C $39
Rubella $28
Anti-mullerian $55
12 lead ECG report $38

breakdown (excl GST) as follow for DH:
HIV screen $19
TP antibodies $14
HBS ag $20
Hep C $39

registration & counselling by Nurse (excl GST) $89.50
Counsel, counsult & consent, art procedures by IVF doc (excl GST) $190

leor: dun think they discard la. our embies r so so precious. think they will carefully check before n after thawing one. maybe like u said refreeze...

lil_ponyo: thks for the detailed explanation. wud u mind sharing an estimate of the TCM package at Raffles hospital?