eskimo, I've heard differing views. Some say the number of eggs we retrieve are the number of eggs that would have been released/would have died that same cycle anyway, so doesn't really affect. Others say will deplete our supply faster. Well, can't do anything abt it lah...

Anyway quality of eggs more important than quantity.. So even if we still release eggs when we are 50, the quality is not good . So might as well use them earlier

sunniehope> hw are u now? went clinic le?

sandra> u can inc yr protein intake now also.. thru 2 ew, meat etc

all along i thot the eggs retrieved is from our supply/reserves. i dun think w/out stim, we can have so many eggs in the same cycle.. we inject the stim to stim eggs fr our reserve

lin, that's what i tot too. But one of the clinics told me that in any cycle many follicles will be stimulated (and therefore the eggs used) but only 1 is stimulated enuf to mature usually. Wheareas in an IVF cycle, there is greater stimulation so that hopefully all the eggs that were supposed to come out that cycle can mature.

luvnhope, yap, that was what my gynae told me too when I cancelled one of my IUI cycle cos I had 6 follicles. He told me per cycle, there are more than 1 follicle released, but only those that are big enough will mature

huh, i thot per our normal cycle, there is only one matured egg that will be released to the tube.

when i scan on my usual cycle on D10, there is only few eggs, less than 5. does that means aft stim i also so few eggs? then stim is only stim it to matured?? like tt then not good leh.. so few

when i did my iui i had 5 folicles, and still proceed leh..

Lin, five is a good number for iui. in fact u dun want too many cos of risk of multiples. Optimal no for ivf is abt 15. Dun worry, the stimulation in ivf is greater than in iui.

Lin,

When our cycle starts, many follicles will start growing.. As the cycle progresses, 1 follicle (sometimes 2) will emerge as the dominant follicle.. The other follicles will stop growing and all tje energy will be focused on developing that dominant follicle which will mature eventually and be released.. In a stimulated cycle, med is used to develop all those follicles which would otherwise had 'lost' to the dominant follicle in a normal cycle..

Hope this helps

lin, I didn't proceed for my IUI when I had 6 follicles cos like what luvnhope said, we & our gynae were afraid of multiples as it is not within control.

hello ladies,

Went for my d3 scan and started my short protocol today. clinic was extremely crowded today due to PH yesterday...phew!

right ovaries only 3 follicles and doctor say left ovary bit on the high side...cant see the follicles clearly.

M quite worried and disappointed as i ovulated on the left ovary last two cycles. looks like my left ovary is more productive but yet doc may have problem searching for it.

What else can i do/eat to have more follicles esp for my right ovary?

sandra,

I have actually asked one of the doctors before on your question as I m also worried that would happened. BUt before i could finish my question, he already answer me.

His answer is NO, so can 'put heart'.

sandra, I asked this question the first thing and on my first consult...hehehe. super ks. And yes, this is my first ivf...still blur blur and gong gong jus follow nurse instructions.

egg factory /sandra... thanks for reassurance on more follicles , already up 2 more EW today le...
n guess i have to go for needles poking session soon...hehehe

if not for your reassurance, i m still worrying unduely and getting myself into headache.

Dear sisters, this is my first FET (fresh cycle failed...), also not sure what I should be eating and whether I should take any supplements. Am only taking folic acid.. Nothing else. Wanted to go check out tcm but dr said so need. Any advice on what I should be taking? Do I need to take egg whites again? Took until *scared* before and after ER in Aug..

Chris, I just started on my medicated FET today. Taking progynova x2 tablets daily fr day 3-7, then 3 tablets daily fr day 8-?? Actually wanted to try to wait for natural ovulation one more time since we missed it the last cycle, but dr recommended that we go for medicated FET instead. But he assured me that it is not as much as what was taken during the fresh cycle. So am going ahead with it. The good thing about it is that won't have to keep during ovulation test every day, just go in for scans on day 11 and 14/15.. Then after that can do ET.

Jelly, don't worry, just keep taking egg whites. I started taking 3-4 egg whites for the first 1 wk or so.. Then slowly increased to 6-8 egg whites..

Must stay relaxed and happy, ok?

godislove, will continue with EW and try to stay relaxed n happy.

cant advised u what supplements to take as I have not BFP yet but currently i m taking daily conceive well, folic acid, ensure milk plus, royal jelly, walnuts, chix essence (alt days) and of cos EWs.

Jelly, dun worry about the numbers. It's the quality that we need ya. And also, u r already taking so much supplements daily le, try not to overload ya. Stay happy & zen. We will all pray for ur success

Godislove, am planning for medicated FET early next year. However, i already started taking immunocal, folic acid, pre-natal vits and calcium

I also try to stomach an egg daily.

Sunniehope, how are you? Did u go for early BT or extra support?

Dear girls, thank u for yr support, I am very glad to have all of you here. I went to do a BT this morning but kKh called to say results will be out only on mon.
They refuse to give me any support and the nurse just told me "maybe it's because your menses is coming" and straight away she ask me "oh u still haf frozen embryos?" is She trying to imply i fail?? I was really upset to hear that. They couldn't check with dr sadhana coz she was on leave. So the only thing they could tell me this go home n monitor and continue yr inserts. Am really sad and anyway I think its most likely AF, now it's turning red. Sighs.

SunnieHope, please dun give up now k. Cos I also have red and blood clot (not spotting hor) but BFP yayy! Please do continue yr support until BT result. Might be 1 make it and the other one being force out only leh.

dreambear, u r always such a wonderful sista, despite having to deal with your mum's ailment, u still do not fail to give support and encouragement here.

have drop coq10 supplement actually as i realise it is also found in conceive well.

Sunniehope, like what leor say, pls perservere atw to Mon...dun giv up yet!

Sandra, haha...i din really take egg white for FET. I taking an egg a day to prepare my body. Somehow, I feel egg is very important source to get pregnant. Just my own thought hehe.

Leor, thanks for that info, I'm quite adverse to taking pills so have only been taking folic acid. Conceive well tabs were too big to swallow!
I asked my dr if I needed to take Conceive well but he said no need to take anything except for folic acid...

Sandra, i'm with dr loh at tfc. You?

Eskimobaby
yes what you've said made sense..the lining might be 'old' so hmm..

Eskimobaby/godislove..thanks to you and the others' inputs..im now more calm to give this drug a try and i guess i have to trust in my new doc's judgement and skills too..

sunniehope
*hugs* never give up till bt results are out ok gal? I know it's not easy but keep your mind off from it doing some other things like watching a comedy..

Sunniehope - please dun lose hope since your BT results are not out yet. Tmr it's my moment of truth too. Baby dust to you n me and the others having ur BT tmr too
have a great Sunday everyone.

Hi, is it normal for ohss to come go and come again? My cousin had mild ohss before retrieval but subsided before transfer. But it came back 2 days after transfer. Today is third day and she's feeling nausea and no appetite.

I saw on some overseas websites say can drink gatorade? Any ladies tried it before and helps? Drink it cold or room temperature?

Sandra, only to myself that I feel egg is an important source to get preggy hor. No scientific proven k. Just go with your feel.

Cariebb, when I have mild ohss, I took hard boiled 6 egg whites. Immediately, I feel so much better. I took 100plus at room temperature. Need to drink tons of water. But make sure she pass out the same amount of water she intake too. Hope this info help.

Tmr is such an impt day for few sisters here. Jia you to all of u ya. Btw, does the tummy warmer helps? Will we sweat or not? I v scare hot de!

Sunniehope, dun give up till kkh call u for e results ok. U r v calm. If its me, I would hv whack the nurses there n write a complain letter

Jelly, who knows I might need all these support from other sisters for my next ivf lei?

Leor, I tried giving her egg whites but she could not stomach it. She usually has a very good appetite but from last night until now she has ate very little. When going to the toilet, she complains its painful. Is that normal? She has also been sweating with aircon and fan on.

Cariebb, I felt pain when peeing too as the catheter to drain urine irritated the area..not to worry, get ur cousin to drink lots of water and keep peeing..it will recover on its own.

Gals, just went to pee and noticed 2 tiny red dots on the progesterone discharge...anyone experienced this before? Today is my day 11 following ET..

Sunniehope: dun give up . As long as u dun see full red blood flow, there is still hope . Quickly go to a&e if see the red blood . JY !!

stimulation jab is to stim the existing folicles in the cycle to grow and matured only right?

but when i not doing ivf, my usual cycle only abt less than 5 folicles can be seen, so only these 5 can be stim to grow right? we can have 15 or more folicles from the same cycle?

stim is not to stim folicles from yr reserves right?

Lin, all the while I tot those injections are to stimulate us to release more eggs and at e same time to help them grow n mature better? Maybe we shd ask our gynae ur question ya?

Cariebb,
Get ur cousin to go kkh 24h clinic if she can't take it esp if she got no appetite n not drinking.

Chrisl,
That's what dr sadhana mention when I saw her after 2 failed natural fet about the lining too old for implantation. That's why I went for medicated for my 3rd fet.

Hi carrieb, you mentioned abt drinking gatorade to combat ohss. I dun think I had ohss although I had some symptoms of ohss ie diarrhea the night of egg retrieval and bloated / achy lower abdomen. I drank 100plus at room temp and mixed with water cos i realized I wasn't passing out the amt of liquid I was taking in. It helped to at least keep me hydrated cos I was in pain to constantly get up to get more water.

Sandra - thanks babe

Sujong, eskimobaby and mnadz thank you for the advise.

I went out to the nearby ntuc and shop n save to look for gatorade but couldn't find it. Finally found it at cold storage. She's feeling better after drinking gatorade. The sweet soury taste brought back some appetite and she managed to finished a medium bowl of soup.

Sandra, I went Vivo city uniqlo but they dun sell tummy warmer lei. The ones at men's section is neck warmer wor My DH said maybe buy larger size so can move down from neck to tummy.. Lol!!

dreambear,, i m sure all sistas here will support u when ur turn comes. And yr DH so humourous lei,,,i almost fall off my chair...hehe

cariebb, u r such a nice cousin...hard to comeby these days

Cariebb, yes, is painful when pee. I also have it. Think it last me a week. Just try eat bit by bit and slowly it will subside de. If she really cannot bear, better to go hospital k.

Sandra : ya I agree, the Mao Mao for the daiso fluffy one keep dropping off. My house is full of the mao mao now and my cat's fur is stuck with all the white Mao Mao. So funny. I think the uniqolo one is only available during winter season coz I ever ask them b4 so better grab and keep stock.