Ladies, I saw this article in Today Paper

UK doctors scratch womb lining to double IVF success
04:45 AM Oct 02, 2012

LONDON - Gently scratching the lining of the womb a month before in vitro fertilisation (IVF) treatment improved the chances of pregnancy, British researchers have found.

A review of research on the technique found that twice as many women became pregnant after the procedure than without, boosting pregnancy rates to almost one in two.

Doctors at Guy's and St Thomas' hospital, in central London, are carrying out a larger trial to establish the overall efficacy of the technique with the hope of offering it routinely within three to five years.

It is thought scratching the womb lining stimulates growth factors and repair mechanisms that allow the fertilised egg to embed more easily.

The procedure takes only 15 minutes in clinic, can be carried out by trained nurses and uses simple equipment already in use. It may add less than £100 (S$200) to the average £4,500 of a cycle of IVF treatment.

Dr Tarek El Toukhy, who led the review study, said: "Endometrial scratching uses simple, inexpensive equipment that most hospitals already have and which clinicians are already trained to use, so complications are rare."

The findings from the review of eight studies involving 911 patients are published in the Reproductive Biomedicine Online journal.

In the review, 128 out of 499 women who did not have the womb procedure became pregnant - almost 26 per cent. Of the 412 women who had the procedure, 198 became pregnant, or 48 per cent.

There were no serious side effects reported and early signs are that the doubling in rates will be translated into birth rates.

The women had all suffered repeated unexplained implantation failure, meaning other aspects of their fertility seemed normal but the egg did not implant properly in the womb.

Dr Maha Ragunath, Clinical Director of Care Nottingham, the biggest private provider of fertility treatment in England, said the technique should be offered widely to all IVF patients in the near future. The Daily Telegraph

hi girls, if tea is no-no to take during TTC / IVF, then how about ginseng tea. very difficult when u go hawker centre and cannot order tea or coffee.. western websites say milk also no good..then aside from LRD tea, what else to drink??

Marble warm plain water is the best.hawker centre, restaurant do sell hot water. Order when u start eating, m once u finish eating then can drink it warm. Difficult initially but will get use to it.

sade> i also hv ponston allergy, and some painkillers also has side effects.. sometimes panadol also.. i find it quite inconvenient esp if need opt.. that time lap, i took the painkiller they gave, altho not ponston, its too strong til i felt naseous and giddy, but the nurse keep arguing its not the painkiller
. anyway, do u eat all the supplements after food in the morning, at the same timing?

asiafrighter> thks, my ex gynae said selenium is good for sperms too.. but think my dh wont eat as the tablet hard to swallow..i think if the multi vit we eat has, we no need to eat a separate one?

lil> hope u are better now.

leor> how many kids u have now?

min> wow ensure milk is so powerful! do u drink one cup daily? chocolate flavour will it be heaty? anyway, i think the vanilla flavour taste terrible, cannot finish the whole packet!

Leor: the study looks good.. Afterall nothing is done for implantation now. it didnt mention if it might irritate the lining though or the idea is to irritate it so that in the healing process, it allows embryo to implant.

Lin, I took royal jelly n multi vit n coq10 n fish oil aft breakfast, then afternoon grapeseed. Dhea 3 times per day.
Me too have some drug allergy also on panadol n other pain killer. N I won't know what drug allergy until I took it.
Guess u have to find your own way to take your supplements. Space it out.

Hi marble,

I do the same as sade, ask for warm water at restaurants.. At hawker centre drink stalls also can buy, or i bring a small water bottle with me.. You will get used after a while

Lin,

At first i drank 1 cup daily, but very exp, so i alternate with anlene.. 1 day ensure, next day anlene.. I don't think choc flavour is more heaty, it's just the flavouring..

Regarding selenium, my hubby is now taking Kordel's ACES Antioxidant which has a higher content of selenium at 100mcg.. Maybe ur hubby wants to give it a try?

min> thks, the ace sounds nice, but is it in soft gel or capsules? my dh cannot swallow tablets, even if its smaller than panadol! like kid..

jelly> yup, but dunno why the unity i'm buying only got resberry, no blackcurrent. also when i buy from je unity, its selling at $3.40. exp.. dunno y nt all unity selling same px

marble> same as min and sade, i drink warm water at restaurants. or bring water bottle out... even my husband also..

i1BB, i did colposcopy. Got to wait for the results. Will only knw on my next review whether further treatment needed

lin, FYI, I do strike natural a few times but unfortunately, all are ectopics (They are healthy but they implant at the wrong place wor). I had 3x within 18mths. So I also go ops for 3x. Therefore, both my tubes were remove. So IVF is only my way for B project. However, going thru so many ops, my body really getting worst. Now trying hard to bu my body and get ready for my FET. However, due to unforseen adnormal cells, can only go after whatever needs to be done.

Thanks, Ravene. That's what the doctor said too tat OHSS could be a good sign. Fingers crossed!

Dear Babyjourney, thanks for sharing your experience. Your symptoms sounds terrible and I thought mine is bad. I also go to Dr Zou at Raffles. May I know how long your symptoms lasts and how soon the bloating go away?

Dear Jelly, thanks, I still feel bloated and rather nauseous today. But overall seem to be slightly better. I really hope that the worst is over.

Lil Ponyo, i think my OHSS got better towards my blood test date. My bloating did go down but did not really go away coz I continue to be abit bloated after BFP.

Babyjourney, congratulations on your BFP. Part of me is scared to get BFP because I'm worried that my condition will get worse! That sounds crazy especially when I've been ttc for so long. I really hope I'll feel better in the next couple of days. My BT is this Thur but doctor told me to go in tomorrow.

Hi, for those who had thyroid problem before and failed IVF cycles...

I am sharing my personal experience here and hopefully sisters who had the similar problem no need to go through the long journey as me.

I have requested special blood test to be done after failed a number of IVF cycles at implantation stage. The special blood test shows that my anti thyroglobulin and anti-tpo ab are higher than normal. This means that my body may generate some "anti-biotic" to attack the embyros.

I had hyperthyroidism before and had fully recovered. Went for a few rounds of IVFs after blood test shows that my thyroid and hormone levels are ok. However, the anti thyroglobulin and anti-tpo ab level test will normally be done only for ppl who has numerous miscarriage. Therefore, my problem was not detected.

I supposed to go for another round of IVF last month but was deferred because I wanted to consider the special blood test results.

Hence, for those with similar problem like me, may consider performing additional blood test to identify possible problem and treat early before going for another round of IVF cycle.

sade, Thanks. Hehe... I also pei fu myself sometimes. Tears and heartpain definately have but in order not to let my hubby worry, I look forward and hope for the best in every try. Lucky now got this ivf wor. If not, those without tubes cannot get pregnant forever leh.

KKH is my second home lor...even during my B journey, I kena diebetic got to self jab insulin 3x a day thru out my whole journey (abt 350plus jabs) and control all foods intake strictly. After deliver, I got some issue that my neck cannot turn left or right and my whole head pain until i wanna chopped it off lor. That's really frighten me. Now facing adnormal cells. Again got to face it ah! So life is really not easy but no matter how I fear, I still got to face it myself one by one wor. So I brave up myself then.

Sorry for the long post hor

i1BB, Thanks. Will keep u update

Preciousbaby,
Congrats on ur bfp!

Bigbear,
Dun be sad. You already have the two strongest inside you. Be positive ya!

Riana,
Which doctor are you with? The comprehensive blood test very costly?
So, after the BT result, what did your doctor suggest?

Leor,
You are very strong. God will bless you

Lil ponyo,
Bloating is a very positive sign. Good luck to ur BT tomorrow. Remember to come here to spread ur bbdust ya!

Leor, its really not easy for u to face with so much challenges in your life. Life is full of ups and Downs. N hopefully soon ur life will be filled with all good stuffs.
Really Pei Fu your courage n strength. Jia you! Hope the adnormal cells are a minor pro.

Precious baby Congrats!

babysmurf join us in 2013 ivf mtb thread soon once u feel comfortable.

My gynae told me that IVF chances are 15% while IUI chances are 25%. Is that possible?? I thought IVF shld be higher chances.

Hi Riana, thanks for sharing. Can I know where u did your tests and how much does it cost?

Leor, u steady!! I salute u! Muacks

Lil ponyo, bloated is a good sign... Jia yo dear...although I know very xin ku but its all worth it de...BFP on the way liao...

Dearest Bigbear, mai sian mai sian. U alrdy have twins inside u!!

Preciousbaby, congrats!

Tahope, thanks! You are very positive! I must learn from you! You rest well!! Got room to rest so long.. KKH didn't rest on bed after ET.. after ER got rest.. but I couldn't zzz...

bb, thanks! yes agree it might be immune related issues cos my ex colleague did 3 times here n go bk her country n did ivf n bfp. Doc inject hubby's white blood cells to her n did some other tests.

lin, thanks! Yes, kept myself busy wi work. Time heals all pain I guess..

Bigbear, thanks! Yes, he's real sweet! how are you? Got rest well? Pray your 2 embbies STICK TO YOU!! Dunno wanna change to NUH or not.. Need do all e tests again? Cos NUH quite out of e way for me.. I stay at sengkang..

Asiafighter, thanks! Ya feeling better now.. snow bb is wat?

Lakigal, thanks! Yes, i'm back to chat here! Last few days busy wi wk n didn't access pc.. You got many frozen embbies! Pray they stick to you!!

bb, thanks! Yes, sometimes feel say wat words also no use.. chat here is good..

Ching, thanks! Yes, time will fade off e pain..

Usagi, thanks! Yes, only we had gone through will know how it feels.. Yes, hope next yr will be better year..

Preciousbaby, how are you? Better?

MofMM, how are you? Better?

Leor, great to hear u r ok! Happy for you!! Update us on e results!! You are too brave for words! Bravest lady here!!

sade, really tea not good ah.. I got drink chinese tea..

Lilponyo, Hope u r better..

Riana, e additional blood tests seems good to have!

Thanks you gals, just keep your spirit up and battle yayy! If u start to fear, u will lost 50% of the battle liao so learn to take things easy and dun read so much into symptons it will give u unnecessary stress. Whatever u do just go with your heart k. Not easy but do try your very best. Jia you!

preciousbaby> congrats!!

babysmurf> how's yr flu and cough?

bigbear> dont feel sad, concentrate on the twins inside u ok?

leor> yes you are really strong mentally n physically.. hope the adnormal cells are not serious..

lilponyo> good luck for yr bt tmr!

Leor : am inspired and touched by your preservance and strength. This journey isn't a easy one and we do need a lot of faith to move on. Gd luck for yr test results.

Preciousbaby: Am grabbing your baby dust!! Congrats

Lil ponyo : Gd luck for your BT tmr, am sure you will bring back lots of baby dusts

Big bear : dun b sad, u need to keep your spirits High for the 2 beautiful twins in you. How r u feeling after ET?

Ladies, is it ok to do housework during Injection stage?

lin, Thanks. Not thinking abt it at the moment haha... Relaxing sia. If treatment require will just go ahead and do. U too jia you! Start when u r ready

Leor, u r a strong woman & thank u for sharing with us ur story

Precious baby, congrats on ur bfp & grabbing ur bb dust into my big big pocket

Bigbear, remember keep talking to ur 2 precious in ur tummy ya, jia you!!

Lilpoyno, looking fwd to ur bb dust tmr

A sad thing to share with all sisters. My mum was recently diagnosed with advance stage lung cancer & need chemo soon. All my lap & ivf will be deferred till her treatment is over & i k only bpf via ivf.  Sometimes I really think things happen for a reason. Although I failed my 1st ivf recently, at least now I'm healthy enough to take care of mum. Else, with early stage of pregnant, I might not be able to take this news at all. Whatever is it, I wish all sisters here graduate soon & dun wait for me ya. I hope to join u all soon in the mummytobe forum. Dun worry as I will still try to be active in this forum

Precious baby: congrate know u can make it. Yes yes please continue ur Tcm cos now important is to make them grow stronge and stable. Waiting for my scan like so long never come one. Heehee

Healer said first scan can so see my baobei grow have to wait till wk 8 then can hear.

SunnieHope, Thanks ;) Hehe...all the sistas here all are indeem very strong too.

Preciousbaby, Congrats
Do bed rest more k.