Mrs Ching,

Mine is FET. All the best to you...
BFP

Egg Factory,

Good luck to your natural FET. I did V insert on the day of my FET, 2xs per day onwards. On that day you will be given antibiotics 4 tablets too. BFP to you...

Shainie,

Take really good care, bed rest with minimum movement is very impt. Your two bbs will be ok, will pray for you. Be strong.

Hi everyone, guess I missed out a lot these few days, hope all bbs and embies are well ^^

Btw ladies, does anyone experienced mid cycle bleed before? I am quite worried. Thought I just finished my period last wed then this Monday, it is back and my urine is with red. In normal menses cycle, the urine won't be like that. There's small blood clots too. Very scare......

Hi Shainie, just read about you.... positive mindset can win any battle, please rest more and fight for your bbs k? Lady luck will be with you!

Hi Shainie

Great to hear that you have been seen by Dr Tan HH. U better total bedrest for this whole week. Don't carry any thing. Walk super super slow.

Hi shainie, u r welome n am super glad that dr tan came by n c u. 感恩. Hope all will go well for u. U continue to Bedrest as much as u can ok. Rest well dear

Yo givemehope, yr situation sounds odd to me leh. Mmmm, I think u shd make apt c yr Gynae and ask properly better

Shainie, glad to hear tt u r receiving support. Continue to talk to ur bbs, tell them to be strong. Talk to your body too, tell them to function efficiently n be stabilized. This may sound crazy but it does work.....mind over body....tell your bbs that u love them n want them to stay strong n grow.....

Shainie, i will be in kkh later for my appt. if you need someone to accompany, i can visit you for a short while else i hope you rest well and if possible, take nap and don't think of anything else...rest and rest...

Givemehope, dnt worry unnecessary first. Faster go c dr Loh so that u can have a peaceful mind. Hugs

=( Just tested and got a negative result... tmr gg back to see Dr again.. the tot of gg for my 2nd fresh IVF cycle really makes me tired and demoralise..

Sisters,

I would like to share something so that those who have failed repeatedly and has NO underlying womb issues hv a better chance of getting pregnant. It may save you further disappointments.

My gf failed 3x fresh cycles and a few FETs under a few famous drs here, incl dr SF Loh. She has no underlying issues but was nv able to get pregnant naturally or with Ivf. She got to know of Alpha medical clinic, Dato dr colin lee in KL, Malaysia. He is a v reputable Ivf doc in kl, super fast in tests done as he has his own lab. He offered a chromosome test which is not allowed in SG. Ie, the fertilized embyros r tested for chromosome abdnormalities before transfer. My gf has 6 embyros. All tested, 4 abdnormal, one normal and one unknown. Only the last 2 embyros were transferred n the rest discarded. She is now pregnant! So, all the guesses fr drs here that embyros hv chromosome defects, n thus no implantation despite a healthy womb is correct. This test is prohibited here coz it allows the couple to choose the gender of the embyros to be transferred too. Coz the test can tell the gender of the embyro.

Now, the cost factor. The ivf cost RM39k, which incl lots of support n the ex chromosome test. The latter cost RM$15k. RM39k after conversion is not ex at all compared to the Ivf cost in pte clinics in SG. The latter may even cost more if there r so much support.

My gf went back n forth abt 4 times before ER. She stayed 1 weeks before egg retrivel and another 2 wks in KL after ET to tested bfp. Living expenses in kl for that 3 wks cost Abt RM110 per night. Rm80 daily for food in a Hotel just opp clinic.

She told me that she knows other couPles too who succeeded with this chromosome test to choose a normal embyro with no defects to transfer.

Of course if all embyros r defective, then hv to abort the ET. Coz no pt, implantation is v low n even if it does, miscarriages r v high top. Save the trouble of the need to do Oscar checks too when pregnant.

Those who wan to give it a try, can google the clinic n Colin lee online.

Good Luck!

Hi ladies, i am new here. Pancake introduced me to this support group. I will be receiving IVF treatment when AF comes in May. Any success stories for ladies over 38 cos I am going 39 lah. My doc told me my age group has success rate of 20%. Is it really true. sighz...

Should we go ahead with blast or do ICSI first?

Hi Hazel, thanks for your information! I also read about the chromosome defects online but never know how to go about checking them. Already spent so much le, if need to go msia, guess will need to save a lot more... somehow I also suspect myself to be in the same "category" as your gf. And this time, the ivf seemed to have hurt my womb badly. Very 茫然 kind of feeling now. Dunno what to do next.

Hazel

I knew of this chromosome test. I read online that US clinics conduct this sort of test, and its a option for couples. 2 yrs ago, dr loh always tell me those who failed by embryos are due to chromosome defects. That's why I research and I always believe him. All along it's true.

Hazel, thanks for sharing. i heard about this from my mum too. for my issue, i don't know whether it is egg quality or chromosome problem as the kkh don't have this test as far as i know, not sure for the rest of the hospitals in Singapore.

i never thought i will have pregnancy issue as i know i am quite healthy. i do my medical checkup yearly but this does not mean i am a good candidate to be a pregnant lady. Sighs, why does this happen to me? Lately, i have a funny thought could it be the food we consume daily? the veges, seafoods, chicken, meats? are they really fresh and what are they being feed of? any chemical substances? think too much ya? will get crazy one day because of this.

sorry all, bear with me cos i was disappointed with myself...no one fault...

Shainie, i hope u are feeling well now. Sending you lots of luck and good health to you and your embies. praying for you. pls continue with your bedrest till dr gives clearance.

Ladies, if I did ET on 21/4, do i count that day as dpt1?

Hazel, thanks very much for the info. In some strange way, it makes me feel better that maybe the BFNs are not due to a "bad" womb but genetic defect. My embryologist told me that they do have the technology to do this sort of testing, but just that govt does not allow for exactly the reason you said. They're trying to lobby for govt to change their position, so maybe in few years things will change.

Red velvet, I think ICSI is first step. if sperm quality is poor then probably need to do ICSI first to make sure egg fertilised, because if no fertilisation, got no embryos to develop to blastyocyst stage?

Ladies, had my progesterone blood test, and the reading came up to be only around 35nmol. I am currently on utrogestron supports.

In my previous cycle, I was not given the above and yet my reading was >200 (although it ended with a BFN)

I read that suppositories do not enter into the blood stream and thus do not get measured up in the blood test, not sure if this is true as if this were the case, why do we need a blood test then?

Are there any sisters out there who BFP with a progesterone level marginally above 30nmol only? (I understand that the acceptable range for KK is > 30nmol)

Red_velvet, I m born in 1973. My bb is 3 mths old now after 2 miscarriages. My gf was born in 1972. Her twins was born last yr.

Sisters, chromosome test on embyros is prohibited in SG as it can allow us to select The gender. Im future, dunno,

My gf wanted a closure. She has already failed so many times. Ie not even one time she is pregnant despite that her womb has no issues. Men's sperm quality is not impt anymore for ICSI/Ivf. But embyro quality is! So, now my gf knows her issue is chromosome defects! Luckily out of 6 embyro one is normal. If not, the cycle will be aborted. FYI, she has been doing Ivf since early 30 n she is only 35 this yr at most. So, does not mean younger women wun hv defective embyros. And for her, defective embyros are alot if not all.

This test allows the gal to transfer only embyro with no defects. Rather than randomly pick embyro to transfer. Is RM39k including chromosome test expensive? That's abt s$16k. Is not If u compare to Ivf at pte clinics here. My gf said she is given alot of support. Now pregnant, she is given lots r jabs n oral med to bring bk to SG.

I had tiny sharp pain on my left side when I walked today. If I sit or lie down, its ok. Anything that I should be worried about?

Yo Nurul sayang, replied u

Thanks Hazel for your valuable info. Ive heard of chromosome defects too.

Sugary, I also always believed in Dr Loh! He told me the same thing too!

Hazel
If I'm not wrong, why Singapore not allowed is also bcos it's invasive to the embryos. The cell or cells are remove to check for abnormalities. Dr loh ever told me this is not a simple procedure, lots of factors have to be considered.

Abby
I think its to check if urself is producing enough progrestrone. The suppositories is to assist if u don't produce enough. That's why u need more if the level is low. I wad there this morning for the bt too

mc, I had sharp tummy pain too which started during my 2nd week and on/off till now. So it shd be of no worries.

Are you going to do a HPT?

Sugary,
Oh yes, now that I recall, think Dr Marianne also mentioned sthg abt such testing too. She said that a few random cells are removed from the embryo and tested. So if heng heng, took the right cells, can detect abnormality. If took the cells that do not reflect the abnormality (that the rest of the embryo has perhaps), then the testing doesn't work too. Of course, it's all based on probability. And there's a chance of damaging the embryo in the process. But as with all things in this process, there's always a risk involved. It just depends on whether the benefits outweigh the risks.

throll.. more relived after hearing what you say. I bought a CB Digital today but I think I won't test till Fri.. Monday is my D19 BT.. really scare.. can't decide whether to test yet.

Sigh, come to think of it, I transferred a total of 8 grade 4 and 3 embryos.... 8 all go heaven liao... tsk tsk tsk

Abby, yes I'm on utrogestan. 121

Luvnhope, ya the risk is it may damage the embryos if it turns out to be a good one. But u r right , thats pros and cons.

iBB , Haaha u so funny !

Hazel, thanks for sharing. I feel more confident now after getting to know your experiences.

Besides chromosome defects, i also read something abt our body antibodies attacking the embryos. My friend also tell me that my pet cat's poo poo can caused problems to hinder implantation. But I cannot simply give up my beloved kitty cat right/

Regarding the chromosome test on embryo:
There are two methods of doing it.
First one is called PGD which only test on 7pairs of chromosome (total is 23pairs). Thus, not all abnormalities will be detected.
Second one is called CGH which will test all the 23 pairs of chromosome which is more accurate.
In Singapore, only couples with chromosome abnormality can do the chromosome test on their embryos.