Hi Wendy, I read about your water bag leaking prematurely...so was just wondering if this is linked to the symptom Incompetent Cervix. If so, not sure if a test was done on this...

Hi wendy
Hugz... Dun give up k.. Take some time to tiao urself well before try on short protocol again.. If $$ is an issue for u now, why not choose kkh with 3k subsidy? U r still young so dun give up too fast.. Jiayou k.

Hi baby
Is ur hpt line turn dark very fast? Maybe is late implantation so cant detect on day 12.. See.. No sympton oso can bfp..;) do u hv sore breast? Rest well n sleep early since u r pregnant now.. Envy neh.. Btw, pls give me bb dust on monday..;)

Hi faithfully
How r u? Hope ur spotting had stop.. Did u take leave this wk to rest? When will be ur first bb hb scan? Enjoy the moment..;)

Hi Tromso..Yup..my waterbag leak during week 17..did an aminotic test to see what happen but couldnt detect except for some bacteria infection..in the end,the conclusion is due to my weak/incompetent cervix..Meanwhile,my dr aso feel that it could also be due to the factor that when i was hyperstimulated during ww2,i had water tapping from my stomach 3times..so in a way,it could have introduce infection during this process and thus affect my pregnancy too..

incompetent cervix can only be concluded if 1 have mid term miscarriage for more than 3 times..so they can only suspect but cant conclude on that..But nevertheless,if i am pregnant,they will still want me to stitch up my cervix after week12.this process also involve certain risk coz it might also introduce foreign particles during this process as well..

You read up on all my post??or are you also one of the mummies to be previously in dec forum??

Hi joanne..Not embarking for the moment..got to rest financially,physically n mentally..Joanne u sound really familiar..you are in the dec forum as well rite?are you the one who already had 2kids??

The reason why i didnt go KKH is because of the super long q as well as i dont know if there is still gd n reliable dr left there since dr loh is also leaving..that is my concern..it is really cheap in kkh but seems very rush..since i like to ask alot of questions i dont think they will want to entertain me on that..haha

Wendy, a warm hug to you. Build your body first and don't give up hope. If you intend to try again like what Joanne has mentioned, you can visit any public hospital that has $3K government co-fund. You can refer to the online spreadsheet for price comparison between some hospital.

Sashamama, you are added to the online spreadsheet that sisters here share their status. Please help yourself to update your data in. You might want to lie right sideway to prevent your lower back pain and put a cushion behind your back for support.

JoynFaith..thanks for your hug..
i am fine after knowing my result today since i am already mentally prepared..i had cried enough since my last miscarriage till now.Think i had cried too much these 3 mths though..heart also bleeding..
seems exaggerated but i pinned on the hope that after losing my boy 3mths back,i hope this round i can make it but..i still failed..honestly i aso dun knw where to pick myself up..just kinda regretted to start IVF previously..

I really admired many friends here who are so determined to try again despite a few rounds of failure which is something i wan to do n hope to embark too.

You are with KKH??

Hi Wendy, I read about your situation from your posts here, 2 or 3 days ago...really sad to hear about what you have gone through. But really thank you so much for sharing and educating us.

I didn't know incompetent cervix is only conclusive after 3 mid term miscarriages. I've read about it, in that one can get tested if one have the condition at certain stage of pregnancy (can't remember now) and I was thinking I may get myself tested if I ever get to this lucky stage.

Your OHSS sounds very severe indeed, hope a change in procedure for your upcoming IVF can eliminate all these problems.

Hi tromso..Parkway east previously was just like my second home..u can just imagine i am in n out of the hospital for at least 5 times for just 17weeks pregnancy..Even my dr suggest putting me up in his clinic..haha...

So if 1 have frequent MC,it could highly be incompetent cervix..So for my case still not very conclusive yet..MY ohss is really bad..the water flow to my right lung till i cant breathe well and if water dont go down,my dr will even need to tap water from my lung..but i am lucky enough it subsided..Therefore,we cant take OHSS lightly..my dr say i am lucky enough if not i could have suffer from stroke too coz the water retention could have block the blood stream from flowing well..Just imagine i am only on 225iu n subsequently 250iu of puregon could result so badly..haiz..this is life..no choice..

Wendy, just cried out if you feel like doing so. Don't blame yourself since you've tried your best. There are many factors to the failure and sometimes can't be explain. Try to find out from your DR what factor cause and see if anything can be improved. Stay strong and positive, and continue your journey. Time will heal. Can try natural along the way. Just don't give up.

Yap, I'm with KKH.

JoynFaith..are you with Dr Loh??Is this your 1st ivf??

Well,i am sure my dr had tried his best..just that my embbies didnt perform well after thawing..no choice..haiz..

Hi ladies, hope everyone is fine! Dont give up! Congrats to all tested BFP too!

Hi Piglet, your menses how? Came? Mine until now still no show, 14 days late! I never been this late all my life!
No choice, got to induce lor. Seen Dr Loh today and will induce starting today, hopefully menses cooperate so i still can do FET before Dr Loh leaves KKH.

Wendy, I've booked my 2nd fresh cycle (long protocol) in Feb/ Mar'12 and will be on Puregon instead of Gonal-F that I did in my 1st fresh. Hopefully I can response well to Puregon. Lately I had my failed fresh and FET cycle that I am with Dr Loh. Since, he is leaving and I won't be following him due to costly in private and no government co-fund, he has transferred me to Dr Tan. I wish I can follow him. He is really good but I have to forgo. In the mean time, building my body and trying natural. Currently I am seeing TCM, acupuncture and taking TCM medicine. And not forgetting do some exercise to shed the extra weights and fats. Keke...

You can view the online spreadsheet on sisters' status. I've updated yours too but was partial because no further data given. You can update then if you would like to share. There are other tabs in there too, feel free to look into it.

Treat yourself something nice with the good work you've gone through. You deserve it. Or get your hubby to treat you. Let's work hard together. All of us here work hard towards our goal too.

Heartbeats, thought what has happened to you. Glad you appear again. Sure Dr Loh can do your FET before he leaves KKH. 加油!

Hi JoynFaith, i have been fretting over my menses lor. Every check panties check panties still dont come, end up i request see Dr Loh urgently. Think i really have to induce though its always better dont. But dont induce dont know wait till when lor. How are you?

JoynFaith, never mind, still got chance follow Dr Loh. Do your cycles at KKH to enjoy lower costs then once BFP see Dr Loh at TMC lor. Thats what i intend to do also.

Just now Dr Loh also very humble, apologise for not helping me to get pregnant. I say i want transfer 1 more time under him before he leaves KKH cos of his lucky hands, he say no lah his hands smelly already (to me). I feel bad also. But he did help me achieve 2 BFPs before though ill-fated. Hope this upcoming FET is a good one!

Heartbeats, I'm fine. I'm trying to shed off the extra weights and tummy too. My thighs are getting bigger too so I'm working on it too. Hope to regain back to my normal before my next fresh if I were to do so. I think I've missed a chance of conceiving this month. AF seems to be reporting soon since PMS is showing lately. Will try again next month. Dr Zou says I've weak pulse so could be due to didn't sleep well. I tend to wake up in the middle of the night since from my last FET. Only this week I can knock off faster than before and sleep through. She says it's not good I dream every day because the mind is not at rest. Wonder how to get no dream sleep. Any idea? The only days I've is after I did my yoga in the evening and I will have no dream with good sleep. But I've stopped attending the class and only did a few pose in the morning after my wash up.

Thought of seeing him after BFP too. If got complication, KKH still a better choice in terms of good facilities and lesser cost to spend than other hospitals. If for delivery, all hospital cost are about the same excluding Gleaneagers and Mt. E. Will decide later.

Wish you all the best in your upcoming FET

Hi heartbeat

My mens still not here. Late for 10days. Dr Tan prescribe my the medication to induce mens but still have not taken it. Still waiting for it to come naturally. Going for my tcm Tmr may check with her to c how.

No big issue for incompetent cervix. It can be treated during pregnancy through surgery to correct an incompetent cervix. This surgical procedure, called cerclage, closes the cervix with strong sutures until it's time for labor and delivery. Your gynae performs the operation under anesthesia.

Mild cases just need to take medicine to relax the cervix during pregnancy & closely monitored.

Hi Wendy, with your conditions and you could still get pregnant then, proves your body is very strong indeed. Should see good results in the future
Have a good rest, slowly forget about the painful experience and embark on a new and energized journey. Jia You!!

Hi Wendy, dont give up, you will sure be blessed with a twin, jia you, its on the way

Hi JoynFaith, have you met up with Dr Tan, how you find him?

Hi wendy
No.. Me hv one kid and i remember there are two joanne in dec forum.. So mayne the other jo got 2kids. I am in there chat for only few wks n sadly hv a mc at 7wks so left the forum..;( i remember u as know ur pregnancy is real no easy.. R u working full time? It must hv affect ur job too..but no matter wht, dun give up k.. Rest few months and hope u can bfp naturally.. As one usually strike when u r very relax.. Jiayou!!

Hi lookingforward..are you currently still with dr loh??So when is he leaving??Are you going to follow him to TMC also?? I really hope to be blessed with twin too..
..but even a single seems to be so tough for me..haiz

Hi Joanne..

Yes,i am working fulltime as a sales..It greatly affect my work but lucky my boss is nice n understanding..
even during that period of time when i didnt go back to work,for almost 4mths..i am also been paid..
but i never want to take advantage loh..so i return my pay cheque back to company..Yr 1st kid also ivf?? It seems like every one in this forum seems to be dr loh patient and very much affected since he is leaving TMC..

Looking Forward, I've never spoken to him. Ladies here mention he has good bed manners. Since he has learnt from Dr Loh, I should be in good hands under him. What's your next plan? Are you following Dr Loh to Thomson or do you plan to stay on? If to stay on, who do you plan to be with?

Hi joanne,
Thanks. My spotting stop. No symptoms during my 2ww only cramps on tummy and leg cramps. HB on 06.12. Wish me the best...

JoynFaith..so when is dr loh leaving??are you using puregon during your session??Is the medication expensive?I am trying to do a comparison on the medication between pte and government hospital...

Finally got a surge in my ovulation kit! But ET only next fri. Culturing 5 of my snow babies to blastocysts. On standby from tue onwards just in case growth not ideal.

Hi wendy
Nope.. My first boy was conceive naturally.. So i thot can conceive naturally again n ttc for 7 yrs.. Waste alot of time so now then do ivf... After i get married,lucky i didnt wait and so can strike soon..doc loh is leaving kkh end of this year.. As for puregeon, cant recall how much but i ever do soiui in doc lc foong clinic.. So i remember his puregeon is almost two times more expensive than kkh puregeon... Scary for pte rates..

Take care fatefully and all the best..;)

Hi eskimobb
U r doing natural fet? Whts ur kining thickness at ur last scan? All the best to ur coming fet too...

Hi wendy, i failed my 1st cycle with him on last tuesday also my last visit with him in KK, he will start his new clinic in Jan, i still dont know whether to follow him as i am worry about the cost? Low dosage already $9k what about high and in my 1st case, the eggs didnt grows as expected then need to inject more. If the cost went up to $25K - $5K = woh $20K cash. If BFP still ok if not, have to do again. By then no more $$$ for baby liao. I also considering Prof Wong at NUH. Have you ever consider seeing a TCM, i am seeing Tan SB now, hope it helps.

Hi JoynFaith, i dont think i will continue in KK due to distance, i chose KK because of strong recommendation from friends about SF Loh. Since he is leaving and havent decide whether to follow him. i will try to source for another one, thinking of Prof Wong in NUH.

Hi looking forward..I know yr situation..we are also in the same shoe..initially I don't mind goin to pte but didn't expect myself to lead into severe ohss..well,I tot everything is over since I am bfp..but I was in and out so often that my bills increase over a short period of time till my mc..

I had seen many tcm.from marine parade,yo chu kang,tongji...u name it I go for it..even Chinese cant find the real prob with me..

What is the dosage that you are on at Kkh with dr loh?I don't think the bill will be so much..

Dear joynfaith,

Thx for your reply. My back ache is now much better. I'd go update the spreadsheet later.

I was very active in 2008-2009 when I wanted to check on how to conceive n I conceived, but I m/c in 2008 aug at 8 weeks. was very active in ttc thread, was even addressed as principal then! Then in 2009 I just went inactive. This year decided to try IVF. Been married 6 years, 32 years old.

Hope to get some support in this close knit group

Dear sisters,
Just went to expo and bought chicken essence w red dates + wolfberry from food fair at $30 for 2 boxes and e conceive well gold from e Jl sales at $41 for 2 boxes.

Wendy, did u take a high protein diet? I hv a friend who has incompetent cervix and lost two babies at 20-28 weeks. Then she gave birth to her girl and is now pregnant with another. She had her cervix sewn up and bed rested for quite a few months. So jia you... It can be done.

Joanne, *wave! Do u remember me fr the mc thread? U trying Ivf too? I finally plucked up enough courage to do Ivf now. Going for first jab on Monday... Jitters...

Sisters, any tips for the jabs?? Would appreciate!

Hi tub..does high protein diet helps??what is the main purpose of this?? Yup..got to stitch up cervix and bed rest for a period of time...

Where you doing your ivf..?

Hi tromso...is the medication from kkh subsidized??I think my lucrin is around 170-180...got to check my bills.will let u knw when I am back home..

Are you affected by dr loh leaving..?

Hi Tub, I did my jabs lying down on the bed (hubby did it actually) but nurse suggests jabbing standing up so more fats pinched, hence less painful. Can also numb the area using ice pack, helps a lot, especially when I started stage 2 jabs.

Hi Wendy, yes, protein is said to reduce bloatedness. I started with 4 egg whites during Stage 1 and 6 then 8 during stage 2. I also took immunocal 1 pack a day and portein powder. Last year when I was on hormone pills, I had very bad bloatedness, nausea and breathlessness, back then I didn't increase my protein because I wasn't aware. For this IVF, the bloatedness was surprisingly little compared to last year and minimal other side effects. I'm crediting this to protein I guess

Joanne,
Yeah I'm doing natural fet. Last scan was this morning. Lining was 9mm. Tested for ovulation too n was positive. Thot my ET would be on mon or tue, but it'll be on fri for my blastocyst transfer.

Sashamama,
No wonder I find ur nick so familiar
been reading the ttc thread during that period of time too.

Hi Wendy, don't worry too much about your jabs costs, i was just curious
The estimated costs in the IVF spreadsheet do give us a gd idea of private versus KKH/ govt costs.

Re subsidized costs, I supposed govt hospital is cheaper than private because of this. But I think SGH is slightly more costly than KKH. For me, KKH is really convenient, only 15 mins fr my place. Are you considering KKH too?

Hmm...I guess I'm not too affected by SF Loh's departure at this point, as he should be able to me through my IVF cycle. Beyond that, I'm really not thinking much now....

Lookingforward,
That's really expensive... considering for my first cycle, I only paid abt 1k in cash. Even fet is so ex in private.

Hi tromso..I don't know too..definitely kkh is much more economical..really cost effective..I can't think of other gd dr if I am going to kkh since dr loh is leaving..I think I am too late to catch up with kkh...

Hi tub
No wonder i find ur name familar too..;) Me already gone thru first ivf half yr ago, now is fet.. For injection,is best to sit down and do it. Pinch ur fats and take a piece of ice to numb ur skin for awhile before inject.. Jiayou!!

Hi sashamama
Wave.. U find me familar? As me fr ttc thread 08-09 yrs too.. So i know u too.. All the best to ur coming ivf..;)

Hi eskimo
All the best to ur coming et ya..;)

Hi Tromso, u mean 300iu of Gonal-f cost $1200? My nx cycle will b on 600iu Gonal-f / day? If Im jabbing for 6days will b $14.4k. So expensive.

Hi Wendy, understand your concerns. No doubt SF Loh is very reputable in the IVF field but I also feel that the other KKIVF dr are quite popular and skillful too, e.g. HH Tan and Sadhana. PC Wong at NUH seems to be many's choice too.

I feel that getting our health in tip top condition is priority. Maybe the other govt IVF dr are not as skillful as SF Loh (but there is also no statistics to prove this, is there?) but ultimately if our health allows, with a supposedly less skillful IVF dr, we can also be mothers too, right?

Don't worry too much ok, I'm sure you'll sort it out all well. You mentioned you visited Thong Chai hospital previously, are you still seeing Tan Siew Boey?

Hi Tahope, I was on Gonal F for 8 days. If your dosage is twice of mine, supposedly should be about $1,200 by 2 = $2,400 right? It's all paid by medisave and govt grant, I didn't pay cash for this.