Mc 007

Bbt is different for everyone , cannot use 36.7 for a baseline to hit the minimum for the phase after ovulation. If one is abit More 'han' the temp naturally is lower even before or after O. For one who is more 'warmth', temp is higher. U need to track a full cycle for 2-3 months to know your bbt range. if ur temp before O is usually 36.0 to 36.4, then after O is 36.5 - 36.9 , then u Shld take this as your guideline (just an example only). Only when u tracked 2-3 cycles , then u be able to see a pattern in your own temp. There is no fix rule that after O, everyday's temp must stay above 36.7. From a tcm point of view, the higher the better bcos it shows u r not 'han' , but everyone is diff.

Thanks for clarifying Sugary
In addition to this, I also asked dr zou how to interpret the BBT chart, like how to tell mth 3 is good, whilst mth 4 is not good. She advises fr pre ovulation temp (flat-ish) to the next day's sudden rise, increase should be at least 0.2/ 0.3.....hence if the sudden rise is gradual, ie takes 3-5 days to get to ovulation temp, it's not ideal. I immediately went home to check my BBT and interestingly my first 2 months on TCM BBT chart looks best. But I feel that it's sorta a backwards looking thing, not forward, so no stress, it's just an FYI info.

Btw I've asked the same question to Dr Tan SB couple of times and she refuses to review....urghhh.....cos her eyes will light up at my BBT chart on certain months and mumbles to herself 'very good' but on other months, she'll just take note and keep quiet...lol... Finally decoded the da Vinci code!! Or there could be more hmm....hee...

Hi Tromso, i ever heard old folk say if u on aircon and fan at the same time not good for tummy as wind get in easily. Try 100plus for bloatness if might help. And remember to up water intake.

Was reading the forum 'Stop Christopher Chen' (TMC gynae) under this Matters of The Heart topic too....quite interesting discussions... Learn something new everyday

Thanks Looking Forward
I cover myself with a silk quilt at night (really can't kick this habit cos so used to being covered by heavy-ish blanket), then plus the hot flush fr the jabs, air con is really not enough. Thanks I'll try to sleep without the fan tonight, trial
really need 100 plus? Egg whites not enough?

Looking forward, I started with Tan originally cos wanted to Bu body after laproscopy. Then I see that many sisters here sees dr Zou for acupuncture, so decided to try it
hee...very kiasu. But did come across my mind to take dr Zou's powder herbs instead (cos too troublesome going to 2 dr) but FIL against powder herbs and Tan SB more renewed for administering herbs, so decided to stick to both. In any case, I'm not taking herbs now cos on jabs, so only running to Dr Zou twice weekly. If stage 2 scan isn't promising, I'll start Tan SB herbs again then

Hi Tromso, 100plus help in my stage 2 bloatness. Did send her another message this morning still no reply, did call chinatown but told that they are really over fully booked today, i think i might go back to eu yang sang if cant get her at NTU tomorrow because 'qi' dont seem to be enough plus tunmmy pain the whole last night, worr...

Hi Tromso, according to some articles, banana has lots of nutrients, it gives folic acid, strengthen fetus and tone up uterus. But according to old folks, banana is "liang" and must be avoided during pregnancy. I also read some of sisters here from previous threads (now are already bfp) avoided banana during 2ww.

Since you are seeing Dr Zou, you might want to check with her too

Hi Chrisl, yes you are right, Sg is kinda warm, towel plus blanket should be enough for aircon room. You should keep yourself warm too as 7-10deg is quite cooling. Drink more warm water

Hi Tahope, it's good that you are seeing Dr Zou for Acu, I personally feel that it's improved my body and my lining a lot compared to previous cycle which I didn't do Acu. But I didn't take her medicine at all.

Hi Whitetiger, it looks good (better than my towel hehe). Should go and buy one. Thks for the info.

Thanks Baby and Hazel for the banana tip. Same goes for watermelon and turnip (white carrot) right? Anything else to specifically avoid?

Hi Looking Forward, I know some sisters take brazil nuts cos said to support/ increase lining, if hv aceess, can try too. But for your pain, maybe can try get an tai yao fr any reputable TCM?

Tromso, watermelon itself is cooling, is worse if chilled in fridge. I dun take at all. White carrot, once a blue moon if I eat carrot cake. Those cooked in soup, including white cabbage I dun take coz the soup will contain all the essences. End of the day, if u just take a little bit once a blue moon to satisfy craving is ok. I have to take papaya n banana coz of constipation. I took orange too on first tri coz it helps in nasusea feeling. Once that stage is passed, I seldom eat anymore coz no desire to eat. Just make yourself happy. The only thing must really avoid is tonic soup that contains dangui as that may cause bleeding in pregnancy, ESP those soup that outside sells. Be careful. Ask the hawker if unsure.

After first tri, our body Is hot. As long as take in moderation is okay. Dun make yourself miserable coz If feel hot n can't cool down by taking abit of cold stuff.

Raw food like sashimi I also take. But, only at reliable restaurant n just 1 slice to curt the cravings. Some strict ladies will say no salads too as veg is raw. Also the salad cream may contain raw eggs. I told hub who ia in food industry, he laff! He said if here ia OZ, maybe. But we r in SG, pp here dun make fresh salad cream fr scratch so salads, coleslaw all I take.

the concern is food posioning.

Tmrw is my 1st scan. I wonder when is my ET. Dr Zou tells me if it's D3 embryo, FET will be 3 days later so guess it's Friday. Anyone goes back to Dr Zou for ATY? Is Dr Loh ok to us taking Tan SIew Buoy ATY? I rem Dr Loh don't like patients to take TCM at stimulation stage.

Sugary, thanks for your advice. I have just started BBT so still not familiar how to interpret it.

Whitetiger, how is the tummy warmer? Gd? How much does it cost?

Thanks Hazel. Just wondering for white cabbage, is it the tall oval shaped - wong bak (white stem, light green leaves) or the round tightly packed kind (light green leaves)?

白菜 is those that r used in steamboat generally. Is over shaped one with long leaves. Kang kong dun take when pregnant also. It causes leg cramps. Wearing calf length socks when sleeping in aircon room also prevent leg cramps which are terrible. I rarely had that. *phew*

Hi Tanny, all the best to you!!

According to Tan SB, SF Loh generally doesn't like patients to take Chinese herbs same time as his jabs and/ or when patients are TTC naturally (I think most western dr don't advice TCM). But for those patients who has failed several times, he will selectively recommend Tan SB to them cos he feels no harm trying Chinese herbs for those cases.

Yes, Tan SB will not prescribe herbs for stage 1 and 2, she says it's her common understanding with SF Loh but if scan results not ideal, she can prescribe herbs.

I personally don't inform western dr when I take take Chinese herbs cos most will frown and some 'threathens' to stop treatment, e.g. my previous gynae at Clinic B. Play be ear

Tromso

Yes , only when ur temp give a sudden spike and maintain that spike 3 days , then u Noe u have ovulated. So , to track ovulation, have to use OPK and muscus to determine. BBT is to track when u have ovulated so u can calculate accurately when ur next AF will arrive .. So if u pass one or two days and ur temp remains high, u Noe u are preg. If really want to try naturally, need all preparations - OPK, muscus ewcm , bbt, accu . Can be very stressful.

On top of all vege listed by hazel, Shldnt be drinking melon soup. Any melon family are cooling. Mainly to cool us down, so it's liang, try to avoid

Mc007, I like the tummy warmer. It's abt $15.

It's not too tight but stays in position throughout the nite. I sleep in air con room so find that it helps to keep my tummy warm and the plus point, it doesn't make my skin inch (I got sensitive skin). Only use for 1 night so far, but I like it.

Has anyone visited or heard reviews abt this tcm? Zhanglei tcm? My inlaws came home a free magazine published by him, contains tcm recipes for various conditions ( even got 1 section on fertility , problems and foods to take). Magazine was impressive, just that I have not heard abt this clinic before.

http://www.zhangleiclinic.sg/

Thanks for the cabbage clarification Hazel, I got it now. Have just bought a huge 1 other day, will pass it on to mum

Sugary, oh yes melons too, which reminds me watercrest used in watercrest soup is liang too..

Definitely not missing the BBT days, I actually only months ago then realise spike in temp means ovulation is over. But dr says to start trying from Day 10 to Day 20+ every alternate days, so wasn't paying too much attention to BBT, just chart for TCM purpose. Then was told during ovulation, egg only survives for at most 2 days (conservatively 1 day), so in a way really have to be quite accurate with the trying timing, felt bit more stressful then lol.... My SIL says once she tested positive on ovu kit, will take half day leave together with hubby so can relax and try at home, kudos to them. But they are trying for 3rd child at age 38 so it's now or never for her in a way... things that we do...

Is headache a side effect of Lucrin? Been getting the feeling of an impending headache, but wondering if it's due to insufficient sleep or the Lucrin.

Tromso and Looking forward, what are brazil nuts good for again? Can't recall tho i think i read b4. When shld we start eating, and where did you buy them from?

Hi LuvNHope, I'm eating it to help with stage 2 now but I recall a sister says it's for 2WW...nvrmind, just eat, so I did. I got mind at amk ntuc but heard also available at carrefour, those select and weigh counters.

Lucrin side effects headache? yes yes!! I have it too!! was like a migraine 1 day for me, then these days more of 'impending headache' like you said. You started egg whites? more for stage 2 I guess but some starts it early...

Hi Tromso, yeah, the headache's starting to hit me now. Arghh...

Haven't started egg whites per se, just ate as per normal. But guess i shld stock some eggs when i start Stage 2.

Thanks, will look out again when i next go to NTUC.

Thanks Chris, drinking lotsa water now, plenty egg whites water, red dates ginseng drink and milk protein drinks...almost dunno how tap water taste like now...Hee...exaggerating

How's your egg white drink prep? got the hang of it? I discovered today that it's quite easy to scoop up the yolk using fingers, fr the entire white+yolk mixture, provided yolk is intact.

Gosh, ski resort just an hour from home, that's a real lifestyle
Are you living in/ around Oslo city or diff city altogether? Yes, heard it's best to visit when prediction of solar flares is strongest, always a trade off betw the Lights and warmth I guess
I read that Tromso is the most southern town north of Artic Circle to enjoy a gd Lights display, is this true? Wondering how much daylight you get say in late Feb? Local markets and fjord cruises are open then?

wah ladies thanks so much for the various info..thumbs up!

baby~
yes i've been trying to drink more warm drinks now and totally cut off cold drinks..very temping to drink the orange drink here--they're only available during christmas season (like the one from FnN)but then didn't at all

whitetiger~
thanks for the link
can share the recipe on the magazine pls? Is it herbal soup or dish in general?
Oh? is the tummy warmer just a wear on type? is it very tight and restricts movement?

sorry whitetiger,
just read your post on the tummy warmer..where did you get it? online? what's the name/link?

Just wondering, the tummy warming items, are they to increase blood circulation in uterus and/ or reduce bloatedness, uncomfy tummy?

Hi LuvNhope, i hear good for implantation, i brought from Jurong Point lvl 3, you can also get it at Plaza Sing Carrefout, vivocity lvl 2, hear parkway also have it. Must drink more water, brazil nut is quite heaty.

Hi Tromso, you started brazil nuts, must remember to drink more water prevent heaty

heheh tromso~
think better to get bottled water from the stores

i separated the egg white from yolks using the shells..but ask you..the boiling water to add to the whites..must be alot or just a tiny bit? wat's the ratio of egg white to boiling water?

..hehe PMed you more info on your Qs

Just went for my session with my teacher and was talking abt the wheat pack u all were saying and realized she sells too but limited stocks. She says must use microwave oven (hot) or fridge (cool) but I don't have microwave oven!
guess I will continue to use my watsons heat pad.. Quite sian cos must boil hot water and pour over it daily... Sometimes I use my Osim slimming belt that has a heating function - like not hot, just warm only. I on whole night, wonder like that will spoil a not.

White tiger : Tell me more on yr tummy warmer..

Hazel, I was just re-reading your earlier post, didn't know orange juice curbs nausea, I'm starting to get a bit now fr the jabs, will try it, thanks.

I also recently found out that cold cuts like ham, salami, prosciutto, etc are ok to consume as long as they have been heated enough (concern is listeria which can cause pregn complications).

When I was TTC naturally then, what's annoying is that the foodcourt auntie refuses to cook the yolk in the Ban Mien, saying the raw yolk will be cooked if left in the hot soup long enough...yah sure, haizz...

For constipation, I've tried bran and it works for me. I'm eating the organic brand Origins, raw unprocessed bran, 1 large tablespoon added to my oatmeal breakfast. But not sure if those highly processed ones like kellogs and uncle Toby's work.

Chrisl, I just add about 1 and a half cup of boiling water to 4 whites. I'm taking 8 now, morning and evening. Thanks for PM-ing me, how do you do it??

tanny~
you have normal conventional oven? Cos think should be able to heat in one too..hv you asked you teacher abt that? if using normal ovens can? Not toaster ovens hor..

tromso~
thanks! you can PM another fellow member here PROVIDED he/she has his/her PM function enabled.

How one knows where to see if she/he enable PM?

You'll need to click on the nick of the person you want to PM to view the profile then on the page of the profile there is a button at the bottom which says 'CLICK HERE TO SEND A PRIVATE MESSAGE TO...' just click on that button..will directly enable you to do that. But if the person don't have PM function, then there'll be a note saying otherwise..hope you understand what im trying to say hehe

Hi Looking Forward, didn't know brazil nuts are heaty. Thanks, I'll def take more water....like everything very heaty now, red dates, Bu stuffs, no liang stuffs...

Hi LuvNHope, for 'treating' headaches, I've learnt this during a massage accupoint session, that is to:
- hold your right hand up, thumb with nail facing you, thumb pointing away from you
- using the thumb from your left hand, look for the 'hole' in the fresh where the bones of right thumb and index finger meets, located about 2cm left below your right index finger knuckles
- using your left thumb, pointing out from you, press onto that 'hole' firm and hold
- release and repeat until headache eases

It works for me especially at the onset of headaches but once headache is in full swing, harder to get the pain away I realize. See if this helps for you too.

Looking forward~
I think i experienced pain but attributed it to my eating of chillies & had to poo(yeah i didn't know then)..is it sharp pain you're experiencing now? constantly? or just cramps off and on?

Hi Tromso,
Thanks for the tip on "treating" the headache! Will definitely try that out when necessary (tho hopefully not in the near future again!). I had popped two Panadols down earlier on, so feeling better now. I know, not good to take too much Panadol, but my headaches usually take ages to go away on their own, so gotta have some relief. Hopefully with your tip, i can stop depending on Panadol!

No probs LuvNhope, I only started to have migraines when I started with hormone pills last year. I read that migraines can be caused by hormonal changes, amongst other things. Ever since I started this accupoint 'treatment' been lucky enough to nip the migraine at the bud before it worsens. That day I didn't pay enough attention and let the headache developed into a monster, I told panadols too. Hope we can be rid of these hormonal fluc soon-ish...hang in there...