Andante : Ron is right. Mine only 50%. I took out 16 n only fertilized 5 so my rate is only 30% if considering take out eggs. That gal I say was one of the v v rare case.

Fatefully : u might be my cycle buddy u know... Yeah... Maybe this can help .....pm u shortly.

Andante, I am with KKH, dr sf loh's patient. This is my 2nd fresh cycle. First cycle's fertilization rate in 2009 also similar %. but 2nd fresh cycle embrologist did assisted hatching also coz egg shells too thick I think. I knew only after I received the consolidated invoices. Well, my hubby is diabetic so u know how gd his sperms are. Anyway, male factors are eliminated with ICSI.

If embbies stop continuing to grow in the uterus, means can be a few reasons; one of which maybethe sperm quality is not good, so male factor is still around right? Lining is good, progesterone is good... so what din go right? I tot the eggs stop growing so can't implant?

BabyJourney

I have done that Sono thingy. Why is thick lining so common now? I thought usually ppl more worried with thin lining.

If you want to know more about the procedure, I can provide you with the info.

Zion, please share the info with me.

Ladies, u know wat type of food to take to curb nausea after ER n for ohss symptoms?

My friend said can't take suan mei type cos will induce vomit cos sucking in air like that. Then i dunno wat to take Liao to help curb my nausea.

Vommited last night also.

piglet, did u still go for the BT even though u know it's AF?
My BT is tmr but I think signs of my AF is also coming liao. Then u went down to get the nurse to give u an appt?

How long will we take to know the screening blood test results? Will the nurses call us? coz next appt is to collect the puregon liao when AF comes... Anyone knows?

Hi Hazel, i suppose Dr Loh must be good. I just did my ICSI at KK too, except under a gynae whom i just discovered is not even listed on KKIVF website. I'm so so upset. He called after my IVF to say my prolactin is high. My history has always been in his file. If KK embryologist can do such a wonderful job with u, then my story must be that of pure neglect.

Hi Pierced

I went to do the BT yesterday even AF came earlier. Cos just want to ensure the is both embryo failed not one.

I chop chop get the nurse to arrange for me to see Dr Tan today. After failed 2 fresh cycles, Dr Tan order to do SIS and AMH for me. so strange why waited till now. Should it be done earlier even before we embark our 1st IVF cycle?

Dr Tan commented that my dosage is higher this time but outcome is worst than the 1st cycle. He also didn't know what happen. I told him that I want to take a break first and try out ourselves before going for the 3rd cycle.

We like doing experiment on ourselves. Both DH and me are under going TCM to tiao ourselves and try out first. Hopefully this will be work for us.

FYI: If want to see Dr Tan HH under IVF is every tues only. Otherwise will be clinic D as private pt.

Babyjourney, yr 1st appt on 30 Sept and you are ready to start ivf in Nov? that's fast... I tot need wait 2-3 mths after 1st appt.

Babyjourney, what makes you want to try KKH after trying SGH and NUH? I am the opposite now. I have always been with KKH, now i want to try either SGH or NUH so your feedback will be very helpful to me.

Hi Andante, i dont think your fertilisation rate is bad enough to say neglect on the embryologist part cos average success rate is 60% to 70% so for your case already can even say in fact your embryologist did great! I dont think you should compare yourself to Hazel cos very very few people are above 80% for fertilisation rate. Fertilisation depends alot on egg quality since the best sperms are already selected for ICSI so it could be Hazel has very good eggs and better than all of us.

Tanny, i also thinking whether ICSI really eliminated all sperm problems. Yes the best sperms are chosen but like eggs, they are chosen at best base on how they looked, they can also have chromosomes issues not detectable by sight. So sometimes embryos stop developing inside us may also be chromosomes issues from the sperm? Of course vice versa from the egg. So i guess its very hard to say when embryos dont implant whether its egg problem. Maybe egg problem more apparent but cant deny still can be sperm problem.

Piglet before IVF, you got do HSG? Cos normally docs do HSG good enough for prior to IVF checks. SIS is more advanced than HSG so typically only ordered when need to do deeper checks. AMH is very new so maybe thats why you didnt get to do before your first IVF?

Heartbeat, I dun hv grade 5 embyro (best grade in KKH). In fact this round out of 5 embyros I only hv one grade 4, 1 discarded coz after fertilization, it looked abdormanl, n the remaining 2 of grade 3. I believe the skills of embyrolist is v impt. So, my embyro are v average in quality.

Piglet, dr tan has clinic now at tps on wed morning. I will be seeing him there when dr loh is away. That is how I know coz dr loh told me when I said I dun wan to go clinic D.

No Hazel, i m not referring to your embryos. I refer to eggs. I was trying to say it may be you have good eggs and more than us thats why your fertilisation rate higher while most of us have about 50 to 70%.

I also think embryologist and in fact lab culture are very important. But fertilisation rate also depends on our egg/sperm quality. We can have the best embryologist and best lab but if chromosomally, our eggs/sperm got problem, the resulting fertilisation rate can still be low or resulting embryos can still be non viable or slow dividing.

Piglet, HSG is the one inject dye and then xray see whether tubes got block. That one very easy do and very fast one.

SIS is more intensive, at KKH it can only be done with certain days of AF cycle and has to be done at day surgery and takes longer. SIS, they will pump saline inside and blow up the womb to scan for any abnormalies, even fine and small ones likke polyps.

Another perspective to fertilisation rate is also eggs maturity at pick up. Eg. 2 patients each with 10 eggs picked up, patient A's eggs grow very evenly and close in sizes (maybe all 10 same size), patient B's eggs dont grow as evenly (maybe 5 same size and another 5 way smaller). Naturally patient A will have more mature eggs than patient B hence higher fertilisation rate than patient B.

I hv done SIS 3-4 times. Is done at DI department. No need day surgery. First time is coz I had polyps. Subsequently, After each d/c dr loh will send me off to do coz I scar easily. Dr loh will make sure my womb didn't scar before I can start Ivf fresh cycle or FET. Procedure is similar to HSG, the tube blockage test. Only didd is SIS drs are usually female!

To compute Fertilization rate have to use matured eggs. Coz only matured eggs can be fertilized.

joynfaith : thanks for the yoga link. i just took up beginners yoga and started to like it and i hv just attended a few lessons so far. im not familiar with the poses and find them v challenging.

may i know how much does progynova costs at kkh?
i hv left over progynova 2mg (1 box at 28 tabs) -thinking of using them instead of buying new from kkh. im preescibed with taking it for 10 days - 5 days at 2 tabs and 5 days at 3 tabs. whose same as me? heartbeat? sunbelle? fatefully?

my fet/ET likely in beginning of Nov..anyone cycling in nov?

just changed my username...

one sister was saying high prolactin? me too has v sky high prolactin - i did the hormones test at raffles, but 4 mths later when i do the test again at kkh, my prolactin is normal range. i asked dr loh and he says no worries because prolactin fluctuates - just like SA reesults, sometimes v bad, sometimes okay... so 1 mth v high, next mth ok. so we need not be too concerned. my tcm says high prolactin means u hv milk discharge at yr nipples which shouldnt be the case...but i nvr experience this leh.

btw, i still cant understand why embbies below grade 3 arre discharged, while one sister says her grade 2 was used during ET.and she got preggy.. stramge.... anyone can understand why?

Mc, i m also surprised when Dr Loh told me i will be scheduled for Nov cycle. It could be he saw my grand old age, so decided to help me??? ( i m just making an assumption here :p)

Heartbeats, i failed all my IUIs+SO-IUI at NUH n SGH, so decided to give KKH a try since i hv heard so many good reviews abt Dr Loh.

I hv also done hsg 2 times. So SIS is to check the lining? How come sgh n nuh did not pick up this when i did all the tests there... Hmmmmm....

Tanny, there are more yoga links in the internet. Feel free to google them. Glad you like yoga. It will benefit you for long term. After you have finished your class, do continue to do whether it's in class or at home. Don't stress or force yourself to do pose that you can't handle, just do it to your limit; otherwise you might hurt yourself or tear your muscle. I miss it and enjoy doing it. When you practice along the way, try to notice which part of your body is doing the stretch and this will help you understand which part is doing the work for that pose. I pick up my yoga again once I finish my AF after my failed fresh cycle and continue until one day before my FET.

Progynova cost $12.04 for 28 tabs. My taking differs from yours. I guess it differs due to the lining reaching optimal before FET. I also have left over, so I brought along on FET day and passed to the pharmacist to give me the balance prescription. So you can use this method to save some cost and won't go to waste on the extra if your medicine has yet to expire when you are doing your Nov FET.

Hazel, how much is Dr Tan HH's consultation fee at TPS?

Heartbeats,
For sgh, my previous gynea is a v nice guy. But he has left sgh. Think he is at East Shore now. Too far for me. Why i m not with sgh? It is bcoz of an bad experience that i had there during my miscarriage. I hv lost faith w them.

For Nuh, my gynea is a straight forward doc. His nurses r frdly and my gynea is a v punctual person. Normally i only hv
to wait 30mins to see him. But i find that his approach abit conservative. Moreover, i hv fails a few cycles of IUI there, so i decided to change to kkh to try "new things".

babyjourney, I am not with Dr Loh as he will be leaving KKH to TMC.. so I have made appt with Dr Marianne Hendrick instead on 28 Oct..

Hazel, oh I see and definitely on the charges. Where exactly is TPS?

Sugary, how're you? Any spotting that you are waiting for this round?

Jaded, is the good feel with you? Still have soreness at your boobs?

Pierced, yes my FET should be in Nov is all goes well. I am meeting Dr Tan, i have some qns to clear with him before i proceed FET with dr Loh.

Angels&Dec (you prefer we call you this?), me should be Nov also. My dosage should be 5 days x 4 tabs plus 5 days x 5 tabs as i dont respond well to progynova. I always have to start off higher dose else lining will be too slow growing.

Babyjourney, thanks for your sharing!
Which doc at NUH is good for ivf, do you know, is it Prof? For SGH, i am seeing dr Yu Su Ling. She say she will culture my embryos at least till day 3 then transfer as she thinks at day 2, its not possible to find the strongest few to increase success.

Hi JoynFaith, i dont need KKH to give the records, i kept all my test results since i started and did up a summary for my dr at SGH already. So she has all my hormone tests results, even IVF protocols, drugs used and dosage, response, number of eggs/embryos and grading etc ...

Due to my the 1st IVF I had and the hormons jab, my AF came 1 week late (BFN), so for the Oct month, should my AF come the usual dates or also 1 week later then expect date? I am starting to feel a little cramps so I am expecting my AF to come..

It is better to stick to the same Dr since they know our condition. Or is better to try out new thing with new Dr at new clinic?

I had done 2 IVF kkh. Should consider for a change? I am quite comfortable with kkh staff.

Hi fatefully

Call kkivf on first day of your AF and the nurse will ask you to collect medication and make appt to come back for scan. If everything go well, ET will be done. Very simple protocol.

Hi fatefully

The scan will depend on the lining of your womb. If I didn't remember wrongly no blood test b4 ET. Scan is like every 3 days once.

If wan to follow the move with dr loh what to do? Must we ask for all test results etc first?

It's my first ivf so not sure what kind of results I need to ask for, I got my pre-ivf test results like those HIV, hep a b etc; but during the ivf, they did some BT i rem like before ET (and when else, I cant rem ) - it's those results which I don't have those. And they din call me to inform me the results, so I dunno.. My embroyo cells details I also dunno- just know the grade only. How many cell dunno.

Heartbeats: can share the standard format with me? All the data delete.. If no format, it's ok then nvm. I think also prob no standard format since protocols n each person is different..

So we are able to ask for all test results, embryo report they give a not?