Yvonne, so it's only one jab to last for 3 months... But that 3 months can get preggie?
I'm very worried abt the jabs.. in the past only jab once very 3 days now need to jab everyday... Wonder if i can take it mentally..

Renee, you like baking also? I have been into baking for the past few weeks. It's fun! but got alot of failure also... I always thought cheese cake don't have to bake. Me nv try doing cheese cake before...

wanbb,

you need to check with blurblur and renee, their condition is abit different, that's why need to have that jab.

dun worry, the jabs are not that frightening, after the first few times, it is chicken feet liao :) dun give yourself unneccessary stress b4 you start the jabs, really okay, trust us on the jab part, it is the 2ww that w/o any jabs that keep you in panic. But still, you need to take it easy, when you are doing IVF, you must have faith but prepare for the worst. And the worst is: you are not pregnant! so the worst is not really bad isn't it consider that we are also not pregnant now, I now tell myself to go into IVF with faith and relax, any thing else, i.e. pregnant becomes "the bonus", then you will not feel so miserable. Maybe the first time when you fail, you will take it very very hard but then again, what have you lost so far, the hope? the $$? actually not alot to lose right? consider the fact that if we dun do anything now we might not get pregnant too so take a chance lor, fail does not means you will never get preggy, fail means you are just not so lucky this time, always got next time one:)

Prepare yourself mentally and physically, that will ups the chance :)(just my thought)

REMEMBER STRESS IS BAD FOR EVERYTHING, STRESS KILLS

Yvonne,
Salute you! Very encouraging speech....will try to remember that the next time i gather up my courage to try again...

renee,

good that you are keeping yourself busy and prepare :)

I still waiting for menses to come this weekend so that I can call NUH next week :) No signs of menses coming leh, breast not sore or anything so also no chance of preggy this mth too.

Ad,

please lah Ad, you are the expert liao in this area. continue with your belly dancing and I am sure you will have better luck the next time.

When will I get to meet you? you must show me your belly dancing okay, I always very envious of girls that can shake their butt and belly :) so sexy and look so soft, when I shake, my hb laughs until his tears come out and keeps saying skeleton dancing! so stiff!

Yvonne,
Pls la, dun make me flip....i go belly dance doesn't mean i'm soft & sexy and can shake my butt & belly hor...when i attend the class, i always dance & laugh too...cos i really join for fun...enjoying the dance...can dance well or not is another matter altogether...

Ad,

remember the last time, I told you that my hb finally agreed to go for social dancing with me, in the end we went to the school, and we went to the class to have a look, guess what! his face changed and got cold feet at the last min and told me that he is not comfortable with it. I kept quiet and came home, refused to talked to him, the next day I smsed him and tell him that next time I am going to do things alone w/o him instead, else I never get to do things that I want. He came home and tell me to give him one more chance to try again, dunno why he got cold feet last min too, I dun no to laugh or to be angry, in the end, i did not mention abt the social dancing anymore.

Just dun understand why it is so difficult for some men to learn dancing, sigh....

renee,

my SIL, the witch went to university to take up course on something like our home econ, how to cut, how to wash, how to cook etc.....

I asked my hb why she needs that since she got her mum and granny and plus my MIL, waste $$! my hb told me that in japan, they teach women how to cut pumpkin and after peel the skin, you must trim the edges so that when you cook the pumpkin, the bloody pumpkin does not change shape, still in one pc. I told my hb, cook already eat into the stomach, who cares what shape it becomes!

The fact is I cannot stand my SIL so whatever she do, I have problem with it, maybe other women go and take the course, I will praise but she.....:p

my MIL broke her wrist and my SIL comes home to drive my mil to supermart almost everyday and offer to wash for her, but instead my MIL asked her to cut some food only, and when she cut, my MIL walked away to left her alone cutting, I asked my hb why she does that, he told me that is becos, my SIL always said she is very slow in cutting, cooking, very amateurish so instead of making her awkward, she avoid looking at her. I told my hb, everytime, I cook, my MIL will stand at my side and watch me cook! my hb told me that is becos she want to know how I cook. See, even my MIL is sensitive towards her, this SIL hor, really one kind, make the whole family treats her like princess, can't stand her!

Yvonne,
on 2nd thot...think you shld come join me in belly dance...cos 2 women partnering in social dance will be weird manz......you learrn belly dance liao hor, wait you hb see liao will drool...no longer laugh....

Ad,

cannot lah, you just dun have any idea, how horrible is my dances,if i join your class, then no one will be able to concentrate on the lesson, they all on the floor liao (rolling and laughing)

Yvonne,
You'll be surprised how most of us dance ok...except for the few who goes regularly (at least twice weekly), the rest, like me....all is move legs forget the hands, remember the hands, the legs will not move...finally both hands & legs move, look into the mirror...we look like puppets dancing.....hahahah

Ha ha..Yvonne, She is going for that home econ thingy, jus like if one day my SIL stop playing her mahjong and start to take care of her family, be it cook or cleanig up the house.... All these years she never cook(or rather she can't cook) and my BIL is the one who has been doing all the House chores. She claim taht she has backache wor.

But I still hope the one thing that she would change is stop being kepoh.ha ha.... Same lah, whatever she does I will not agree one lah.

Today went for MDA. My Dr mentioned abt getting off the scars and marks for me using the MDA. she was pls to see my face after 6 rounds of MDA. My next appt will be one month later. Cos we both expected to see breakout again during puregon.

Today's acup very uncomfi. I think I took the break from it too long so now not use to it any more. Nowe got to be vry on to go back again. Hope will see miracle this time.

wanbb,
I have been baking since I was in seconary school. Still love doing it. It's some kind of therapy to me too. It does help me to forget things and enjoy the process of cos the best is to see the result turn out right.

There r 3 types of cheese cakes. American baked cheese cake, japanese baked cheese cake and unbaked cheese cake. If you are pregnant you don eat unbaked cheese cake hor.

wanbb, yvonne is rite...it's 1 jab that last for 3 months so i don't have to take lucrin during my last attempt. seriously don't have to worry too much abt the jabs since you did it the last time so should be ok. don't worry unnecessarily, stress is really no good...the most stressful part is the 2ww and the moment of truth (test date). i am sure the rest of the sisters who have been thru will share the same sentiment.

yvonne, you and ur hubby so cute...actually plan to go social dancing together.

actually, i am oso super stiff...my mum said tat i am like a block of wood *keke* but i think i am more flexible since started yoga.

Yvonne, my dr also say it's the 2ww that is really scary. Cos have been doing sometime everyday for a month then suddenly you can do nothing but wait. Will feel a sense of emptiness.

Renee, I only started baking so alot of things to learn. I know preggie cannot eat blue cheese but normal cheese can right? I'm not so sure.

Blurblur, then izzit better to have only 1 jab for 3 months? why my dr wan me to jab everyday... Sobz.

wanbb,
if one is pregnant. any soft cheese have to avoid.not just blue cheese.
But hard cheese like chedder,gorda...all the hard ones are ok.

pls don get over worried abt 2ww can't move can't walk... is better to take a walk in fact. cos we need to have blood flow to the womb so taht the embryos have oxygen. therefor they can implant. only thing is don't lift heavy things. Nothing to scare abt. My second time I went to look for house on my 4th day of 2ww was tested positive but embryo stop growing. so I no longer worry too much abt walking during 2ww. And nurse at KK actually advised me to talk some walking.

Renee, so pizza cannot eat? how abt yogurt? I hope can faster finish my IVF then can carry on with my plans. Or else I cannot arrange for holidays cos it will be troublesome to bring jabs and medication over. Even my hubby wanna go for business trip also must see my IVF schedule.. SIanz

wanbb,
pizza is cooked food. so the cooked mozzerela is alright. just like you use chedder cheese to toast on your bread,it will turn soft and runny too.
Not too sure abt yogurt though but I think better not. anyway, you still can eat till you are tested positive. relax ok!

It's ok to go holiday if your trip is less than 3 days. cos during puregon you need to go back for scan to check on the growth of your folicles. or else you better go now before the treatment starts.

Renee,

Do you have the recipe for Japanese Baked Cheeze Cake? What ingredients do you use?

I will like to try out this recipe.....

I also like baking.....we can share recipes?

What kinds of baking class did you attend? I only know of Phoon Huat as they have hands-on baking lessons....

Mk,
i attended baking lessons in HK. IT's a one to one lesson. I don really like phoon Huat baking class...

80g cream cheese
2 egg yolks
2 white
50g sugar
1tbs flour
60ml milk
1 tsp corn flour
1/4 tsp cream of tartar

1.milk and cheese in a bowl over boiling water.beat till blend.
2.add in yolks beat till pale.
3.add in both flour continue to beat till all well mixed.
4.Beat egg white till stiff.
5. Mix both egg white and cheese batter together. pour in to tin and use steam bake for 35 mins at 170'c.

Renee,

Wow........you have one to one session baking lessons....how exciting......

What is steam bake? Normal Oven can bake or not?

Renee, you know alot abt baking! I didn't know there is this thing call steam bake! Then the water will boil inside the oven?

I normally bake bread and cookies. so far only bake cake once. I find it harder than the rest.

I'm going to thailand this week to relax before my treatment start. Actually plan to go shanghai but can only go on end month. That's when my jabs start. Too bad...

wanbb,
The water is to keep the cheese cake moist and preven the top to crack. I love to bake bread too. but only simple white bread and soft rolls. still need to improve. Cos my oven is not very ideal for bread baking. I hardly bake cookies in fact. To me, cake is the easiest so far.

hi, thanks for your replies

i have 2 questions that i am wondering about.

1. I hear from my gynea (Doc FongYang) that if i feel bloated or like water rentention, take raw egg white. it will help absorb the water. is this true? i thot egg white is suppose to make you retain more water?

2. i am now on lucrin jab supposedly to stablise my hormones, for a week beofre i start on my gonal F jabs for ivf. i have been on the lucrin since last saturday till this saturday. i read a few threads here and understand from some of you that Accupuncuture is good to do, togehter with ivf? any advice on that? and if do, where?

i saw a chnese sinseh before and was on their herbs for 6 months, then i gave up cos she said i had PCOS and wat have you's and seem that they tell everyone that.. so i lost faith in it. and since young i dun take chinese herbs, so i feel wierd when i took them, like more tired, nauseious blah blah.. so i gave up on it. can the accupuncture be done with out the herbs?

mooch,
not sure egg white will cause water retention, But wen I was very bloated my dr also told me to take egg white. may be you can take soft boiled instead of raw.
I also did acup during my 2nd ivf attempt. and there were sisters here who did acup and tested positive.Again, it's all depends on individual. And how long and how often you do it before ivf.

Yur chinese Dr must the one at Jurong east.

Yvonne,
The swiss roll recipe turn out very good!! It's very soft and eggy smell. Will not use rasberry filling. Cos I never like rasberries. May be i"ll try peach and cream for the filling instead.

hi renee, i have never done accup. before.. i actually scared, but me will do anything to get a positive reading lah
been ttc-ing for 3 years, this is my 2nd ivf already.

my chinese doc is Tan Siew Lan from Thong Chai. i pretty much gave up on chinese meds lah.. dun feel like it worked on me.

i was told by my doc (Doc Fong Yang) that egg white can help with Water retention, so i thot i'd ask you ladies on it. he also told me not to take chinese herbs which i agree. jus this accup. i thot i check with those of you who done it.

i will do anything to get a baby at this point in time.

mooch,
ya acup can be very uncomfi. but we jus hav to bite the bullets.... may I ask what's your reaso doing ivf?

mooch,

Accup and chinese medicine needs to take for a while, at least 3 mths before you see the results, some needs to take for 6 mths or even longer depending on individual.

I am taking both chinese herbs and accup., my chinese physician advised both cos we cannot be doing accup everyday, therefore needs to take the herbs everyday. It is better to do TCM before the treatment and since you are uncomfortable and scare of doing accup. my advise is to skip it this time round since you are already into the IVF and no point stressing yourself up with accup if you are scare, better to keep relax mood.

renee,

so in the end, what did you put for the feeling? no raspberry? so just the creme patisseie? difficult and tedious to make? my hb likes swiss roll too but the receipe looks tedious, if not, next time you teach me this receipe ok?

Yvonne,
I put golden kiwi wt fresh cream. cos I don have peach at home. qt nice. if have double cream from japan would be perfect. I never like custard cream(creme pattissie) all these while. and only like very plain and simple swiss roll. So after all the main thing is the sponge roll that matters the most.

not too tedious actually. but not say very easy either. I'm happy wt the result.cos so far I have yet to find one swiss sponge that's soft and spongy. Those I tried in the pass were quite heavy and most of the time sank after take out from the oven.

YVONNE,
I thought you suppose to guve me the jeans info? hb already in US. but after this trip he has another trip to US again.

renee,

ok, you teach me this receipe when you free? i have yet to go and find the jean model yet, nevermind lah, if I miss his US trip, then next time lor.

Yvonne,
ya loh. he goes to US all the time. so take your time...

Sure will teach you the swiss roll.... but dono when will I be free. i willbe starting treatment in less tha 2 week's time.

Yvonne,
if you are ok Ican teach you thru phone? so long you have the right tools and the right size of swiss roll tin that stated in the recipe can already. and also thermometre.

renee,

no lah, next time when you free, i not in the hurry. over the phone, how to teach, plus i dun have all the tools, some of them, dun even recognise their looks :)

Yvonne,
Not in oct. i wanted to. but Dr loh afraid the 3month supression may not be effective anymore if I delay to do in oct. And the 3months jab will go to waste. 3 moths ago was so eager to start, but now not looking forward to it any more. don dare to face the reality. sigh....

to be presiz, I will sart jab on 13 sept.scared scared!!