<font color="aa00aa">76. What is the difference between a natural­cycle frozen embryo transfer (FET) and a medicated FET?

There are two possible options for performing a frozen embryo transfer (FET): natural-cycle FET and medicated FET. Natural-cycle FET is available to women with regular ovulation and monthly menstrual cycles. In patients with predictable menstrual cycles, we can carefully monitor the cycle to determine the precise timing of ovulation. Alternatively, ovulation can be induced with the administration of an HCG injection. Once the precise date of ovulation is set, then the uterine lining should be receptive to embryo transfer 5 days later (for embryos frozen on day 3 in a previous IVF cycle). In this way, the embryos can be replaced at approximately the time when they would normally be arriving in the uterus.

One problem with natural-cycle FET is that the optimal time for implantation may fall at an unpredictable time during the laboratory work schedule. In addition, natural-cycle FET demands frequent patient monitoring around the time of ovulation. If a cycle is suboptimal in terms of the estrogen level and endometrial development, then the embryos should not be thawed and the cycle should be canceled.

A medicated FET allows the couple to avoid some of the pitfalls associated with a natural-cycle FET. In this type of FET, estrogen pills, shots, or patches are used to prepare the endometrium for embryo implantation. Three days prior to embryo transfer, the woman begins taking progesterone to modify the endometrial lining so that it will be receptive when the embryos are placed. Some clinics prescribe GnRH agonists (such as Lupron) to their female patients the month prior to a medicated FET cycle so as to reduce the chances of spontaneous ovulation. The use of Lupron reduces the chances of cycle cancellation owing to unexpected ovulation to near zero.

http://100infertilityquestions.blogspot.com/2007/08/how-to-do-fet.html</font>

Piggy: i tink if urs gg for FET..then might as well go tru Raffles..unless u wan to start fresh..to wat I heard KK restrict embryo trf in...not so sure is it only for TFC patient or all...

Mine is medicated..04/02/11 start E2V pills...14/02/11 1st scan...Just call up KK just now..;-)

<font color="aa00aa">Piggy, according to web research, seems like you are on the suppression cycle to allow more timing control and to prevent ovulation</font>

Wah thread move very fast.

Hokkaido, u should check back next week for my news

Bluenose, my bt is on 09 feb, after that must go back work ma....

Piggy
Im on medicated with care. Im on ocp then on d21 they start me on suppression to continue till my feb af onwards.
Kkivf dun give suppression jabs for medicated fet. Nadia is doing medicated.

Nadia: if doing Medicated FET i will stick to Raffles but if start fresh i will switch to KKH because too expensive to carry on with Raffles although i wish i can

Shoes: Thank you so much for the information

Miracle: Guess ours the same
at least now i know my medicated FET consider as normal protocol ...

Piggy: yup do medicated in Raffles...carry on with their protocol mah n c how...it will werk afterall...;-)

So many Feb buddies...yippeee..yippeee...can't wait for the 2ww....yeah yeah..

<font color="aa00aa">Nadia, 2ww we all can have our tea-and-kopi chat session here everyday, since so many of us hahahahahaa</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Snuggly - aiya, wun one la, if company treasure u will work around your needs anyway, u got MC what!!!</font>

Nadia: yup but hoh my ET is in march leh .. guess your ET is in mid Feb

Shoes: hahaha no money
guess i better stick to switching over to KKH .. I already spent like $15K for my last fail cycle cannot afford to go for another $20K

Piggy: nvm..no rush...rush...take it easy..as long ET successful and next in row..preg can liao...;-) I waited 6 mths before doing FET..heheh..cos wan to take my own time..dun wan the rush...;-)

Piggy i started ocp at jan af. Yesterday last day le. Nw waiting for feb af to report.

Nadia
Intensive accu do 5 days b4 ET. Mine will start ard 18th feb

ineedmiracle: ic 5 days...shld be in time..Dr Zou back by 10..I will check with her on teh 10 when I go accu...my 1st scan is on 14th..

Blue : sure sure buddy

Nadia &amp; Miracle: oh yes please shower me and blue with lots of your baby dust hee hee

Will try calling to see when is the next available appointment
thanks !

Nadia: haiz..hope my dh can understand..i am injecting twice a wk for nw..and dr actually prescribed me with pregnyl..i guess that's why i hv to inject in my stomach..i brought back the needles..wait a min..this pregnyl is the one tt they inject in the thighs before er rite? Hw cum they r giving it to me? Is it the same as prog? Anyone use this before fr kkh? Any side effects?

Rashal: the pregnyl during the 2ww is it? Yes that's for the prog. I go kk do cos there are 2 'needles', one to draw fluid and one to inject, I see so complicated I gave up!!

Rashal your protocol very different from mine. Your are with dr sf loh too right? Everyone different I guess. I only have utrogestan inserts which I must do 3x a day from et all the way to day18. No injections or pregnyl for me.

Rashal: he will sure understand.. Sayang sayang him littlebit n here n there... We women go tru so much in IVF... so must understand...;-)

y le snuuggly,
where u go...
*high five again*
this evening, i opened my main door... neighbour cig smell came into my house...
i was there cursing and swearing... open door also cannot, wth

^5!
I go classes lor. Then I sneak off early and was waiting for hubby. Then two classmates came out to smoke and started talking to me. I cannot tell them dun smoke ma...wanted to die man. Your neighbor is directly next door or he smoke outside at corridor?

My gf hor, her whole floor lotsa of kids. Then only one uncle smokes. So the whole floor got understanding with uncle that he must go staircase corner to smoke....lol

Hokkiado: just saw your earlier message. Hubby has to clear sperm at least 3 days before the er day. So for my case, my er was on Saturday, dh cleared on Tuesday. Just nice 3 days after, his body would produce fresh sperm for sat liao.

my neighbour smoke inside his house, every hour le... omg... sometime living room window also have... recently wind abit strong, blew it away... terrible man...

thinking of doing FET in Feb. Anyone know when is Dr SF loh back from his CNY leave? and how many days after O is ET if I'm doing natural thaw FET?