<font color="purple">hi diana

Yes, if you dun choose your IVF doctor, you will revert to subsidized rates when u return to Clinic D.

IMHO, the "strategy" wd be to get a referal to KK and do all the investigative diagnostics under subsidized rates. For those, you will save significantly as doctors will order a lot of tests to identify complications or health conditions. Lab specialists conduct these tests, so there is no difference in the quality of service whether you are a subsidized or private patient. However I suspect that private patients may enjoy a shorter Q.

Thereafter, when u transfer to KKIVF, you may wish to appoint your preferred doctor and switch to private rates for good. Again, I suspect subsidized patients only get consultants, while private patients get senior consultants like SF Loh. After my unsuccessful fresh cycle in Feb, I returned to Clinic D for 3-4 times before I next returned to IVF for FET. The difference between private and subsidized for those 3-4 Clinic D visits are approx $200? In return, you will get the same doc to monitor your case closer and do things right in the next attempt.

my 2 cents worth. Perhaps the other ladies can share their thoughts &amp; strategies

Anyone on subsidized rates and got SF Loh?

I'm not sure how things work in restructed hospital but I prefer to be monitored by one doctor rather than be a guniea pig to those MO and have to repeat my story. but each family finances is different, if you can afford then go private cos its really costly

*o* > when i got clinic D as sub patient me wait for the doc for almost 2 hours minimum... appt at 2pm and the doc came in at 3 plus coming to 4pm.. the room is empty de the doc see me liao then left for the day... =_=" think pte must be good..

hi jcxuan... tks for ur explaination... din realise tat clinic d &amp; kkhivf are 2 separate entities... cos only went for 1 consultation so far... if sub patient, does it mean the doc at clinic d &amp; kkhivf will be 2 diff docs?

so while doing all lab tests, don't request doc... can i also ask, do the doc doing scans (eg. v-scan) for us? cos din see any scan machine in the consultation room...

winnie ru under private at KKH?

i never realise that there is a private &amp; subsided coz I am from polyclinic referal.

wahhh after 2 years plus then just realize it today.

<font color="0077aa">i was referred to clinic d via polyclinic.
The waiting time as sub patient is indeed much longer. More than an hour for my 1st visit.

After all the tests and diagnosis are done, I requested for dr sf loh, and my waiting time for my 1st appt with him was less than 10 minutes, but on average will be about 30 minutes? definitely less than an hour.

Also, as pte patient, we get the same dr to follow up with us and any questions, we can actually email to dr sf loh personally(for those with dr loh).

However the main reason I get him, because for his skill and experience. </font>

if i know this early i should change to pte earlier.

if we BFP are we under ivf or clinic D?

if we are BFN then we will be back to clinic D is it?

In that case of BFN after 2ww can we change to pte and choose our Dr? Is it the medication also under pte charges? how abt the govt grant? can we still get it under pte?

winnie: below $100 i guess. I need to use it on my 1st day to 3rd day hari raya(10th Sept to 12th Sept). I have check around. Every rental company want us to take their package which cost $670 for 5 days (9th to 13th sept) which i dont need that long. U got any lobang?

<font color="purple">hi happybb0001,

Yes, as a sub patient, I got to see doc-on-duty (each time different chap) whenever I went to Clinic D. Like winnie mentioned, I had to repeat story each time
but it got better over time because with more test results, the doc-on-duty gets the big picture by going through my file. At KKIVF, for my V scans, a scan specialist (Karen most of the time, petite chinese lady, quite qing-xiu, with a straight bob) attends to me and then doc-on-duty reviews my progress. Only at ER/ET, I see my assigned doc, K.Loi.

After my unsuccessful fresh cycle in Feb, I was transferred back to clinic D. Given that Im a m/c case, the nurses at Clinic D set up an appt with Sheila Loh (senior consultant) who tried to analyze why the FET failed. I was surprised as I thought sub patients dun get Sheila Loh. She was very professional and comforting and it felt good that KK does bother to have an experienced doc review ur unsuccessful attempts although Im only a sub patient.

FYR. My pre-IVF diagnostics cost approx 2k (as sub patient). I estimate savings of $500-$800 compared to pte rates. Fresh cycles are estimated at 8-10k at KKIVF, versus 14k at private (recalling prev forum posts). My actual fresh cycle was 7k, as I was on minimum dosage for lucrin &amp; puregon.

ineedmiracle Great minds think alike

Shainie Its not too late to change to pte? What stage are u at right now?
If BFP, you have graduated and free to choose any gynae anywhere. Doesnt have to stay with KK. If you stay on, it'll be with Clinic D.
If BFN, yes, return to Clinic D. Can choose doc at Clinic D and be a pte patient. Then all your scans &amp; BT will be under pte rates. My meds are all full rates without govt grant, even though Im sub patient.
The govt grant of 3k for first 3 fresh cycles will be applicable to you, regardless of pte or sub. Anyway at KKIVF, we are all pte

Ladies familiar with KKIVF, after SF Loh, who is the next most popular doc? Does Sheila Loh do ET/ER at KKIVF? I heard she is a visiting doc only.

PS. Changed my "name" as my funny face *o* must be confusing. haha.

Et2008,Lina n baby33...
I feels for you.. Hugs... Rest well andnever give up..

I gt my Bt result, though indicate I'm preggie but hcg result abit on the low side only 132.2. Need to do Bt again on Monday make sure everything is gg fine. Keeping my fingers cross.

<font color="purple">Diana : Sure u can. If you lucky and strike multiples, consider this: I read that the KK mummies with twins and triplets typically prefer to stick with their KK docs for their experience in handling multiple births. For singletons, the other gynaes can handle equally well. I also heard from friends that most baby complications cases are referred to KK upon birth as KK has the best equipment and expertise. Ladies, true?</font>

jcx thanks a lot for the explaination. whatever it is need to discuss with DH. Only during my clomid time one of the Dr at clinic D make my DH very angry and he even do not want to c d Dr anymore but I m lucky to get a good &amp; nice Dr for my IVF case.. :D

JCX,
Sheila Loh is the ex head of kkivf, she is now at Raffles Hospital.
I think she goes to kk to consult only, no procedures as far as i'm aware.

jcx - its true. restructed hospital will have all the equipment for preemies, if u're on sub u can choose to stay in ward c then baby charges will be tag to ward c

Susan,
hang in there and rest more. dun worry, hcg levels will rise and some rise faster than others or yr embbies might be late implanters.

officially u're preggie already, dr just set the hcg limit at 200 to be considered a stable pregnancy.

<font color="0077aa">Diana
you should also choose your doctor. If there's a good doctor in kkh, I would stick to kkh. So far considering Dr loh, but he is too busy to be attentive. So hubby feels that we will go back to our own gynae whom both of us like =)</font>

<font color="purple">diana, no worries.
I mentioned those only for ur consideration. If u strike multiples, just mk sure your next doc has experience with multiples. For singletons, I think its not an issue. Cheers</font>

helloooo....

i fell sick
yesterday nose watery and then sore throat. this morning wake up, full blow sore throat, nose blocked and cough.

i am just wondering ah - for you ladies who have been through ivf,

should you fall sick during suppression stage, stim stage or during 2ww, would it affect the "outcome"? i know some of you advice me yesterday never to self medicate and if go see GP need to tell GP on ivf and which stage. But I am also wondering will physical ailments like flu, sore throat etc impact/affect ivf success?

thanks for advice!

kopi - I have the same concern as u, during my iui 2ww, I have full blown flu and as expected both failed. so I'm very worried history will repeat itself again

winnie - history wont repeat itself lah!! like what they say for financial products, "past performance is not indicative of future performance" keke.

you will bfp! have faith and believe!

Susan: I'm happy for u!! But dun worry ok.. Pray hard and rest more.. Dun think abt it so much.. I m also keeping fingers crossed..

Susan,
totally understand. motherhood is a never ending worry one.
i tell u first u worry abt bfp, then bfp already u worry abt getting the heartbeat, then u worry abt bb development, then u worry abt delivery, then u worry born already drinking enough or not, then u worry meeting all the physical/mental milestones or not, then u worry abt them going to school.....etc etc...
u get the picture

was dr loh concerned? or she just said to repeat the BT as precaution. did she tell u what u can do or prescribe additional support?

thanks ladies. im gg to take a few months or maybe a year off. all the planing and counting dates is a bit too intense for me. espcially since my work is so busy. i may wait and try for a dragon baby instead. i have no more frozen eggs. if want, need to do fresh cycle, sigh... need to go on a holiday first.

kopibaby - for me it stated with cough from start of puregon stage didn't go away on its own then i drink dr zou's cough herbs &amp; within 3days cleared ...

then I started to have flu like symptoms towards end of puregon stage. Read from online that 1 of the side effects of puregon was having flu like symptoms..

As all these still before ET, I did self medicate &amp; ate decogen (to prevent it from becoming a fever) cos i ask the 24hr nurse at kkh &amp; they said as long as no ER .. we not considered preg yet so can eat those normal meds...

After ER, I still had bad coughing 5 days as I had some left over herbs frm dr zou she gave me the ok to drink those herbs ...

Susan... hugz hugz... dont worry sure ok on Mon de. I standby bag to collect baby dust from u k.

Winnie...I never see codfish finger before leh. Where u get it from? I only see those one pc one pc white frozen codfish. I ever watch news saying that they fake oil fish (cannot be eaten)to be frozen codfish before. Tat's y I a bit scare to buy.

Ok Susan .. I hope so too.. These few days I m terribly scared.. I saw your blog last night &amp; is so happy for u.. I shared the joy when I was reading it on the hpt one.. Trying not to worry so much..

<font color="0077aa">winnie
that one need to fry right?

pinkaddict
By right all cod fish are frozen, and thawed when sold in market. but those frozen one big pack in the supermarket, somehow they taste different. Don't even smell fresh. So usually i will buy those thawed daily in the supermarket/ wet market. Not those frozen big bag =)

JJ
so you actually went back to Dr zou when you're coughing at puregon stage ah...hmm...now i know who to look for if sick during the cycle...cos other than my inhalers, I dun think I wanna take the western medicine...somehow or rather, they are too strong for our body...=)</font>

Pinkaddict,
u can either pan fry or bake in the oven. the box will hv instructions.
u can also buy those frozen cod pcs and pan fry yrself. just season with some salt and pepper.

ineedmiracle,
i totally agree!! the ones from the market hv a much stronger cod taste than the big bag ones u get at the supermarket.
think the difference is in the amt of time they hv been frozen.

the market type comes in 'fresh' everyday whereas the big bag ones hv been frozen for months i think. like those frozen chicken thighs.

grumpus... need to add abit of oil before putting into the oven to bake? Where you get the frozen cod pcs? Sorry ya... I ask around to see where can I get the cod pcs more conveniently. Carrefour? NUTC? or Coldstorage? hehehe