Tokkie, I am sorry to hear about your BFN. Hugzzz

Dear sisters, thank you for all your well wishes. I would like to share my IVF journey/history to all sisters still undergoing the treatment as a form of support.

I had my first lap (due to endo) back in Sept 08 after TTCing for 3 yrs after marriage in 2005. After the lap op, have been actively TTCing but also without success. Decide to do something about it and consulted LC Cheng and was advised to try for IUI. Did twice, but also without success.

By then, its already end of 2009 and chanced upon this thread and saw that Dr Loh was highly recommended at KKH IVF. Thought of giving ourselves a last chance, and after discussing with hubby, we decided to proceed to IVF. I remembered clearly that I first consulted Dr Loh this Jan (which happened to be my birthday) and was told by Dr Loh that my endo is back again. I couldnt take it and was desperately holding back my tears. I thought I just had lap done 1 1/2 yrs ago and its back again???? I wanted to give IVF a try despite my endo condition, but Dr Loh was not keen and wanted me to have another lap to clear my endo first. I did my 2nd lap in Apr this yr.

After the 2nd lap, I took a 2 mths rest and officially proceeded to my IVF journey in June. Started Lucrin on 9 June for 20 days and Gona-F from 1 July. For a start, I was already given a high dosafe of 375 and my eggs still didnt grow well. Dosage was increased to 450 and the progress became better. Proceed with ER on 15 July, ET on 17 July and finally the 2WW.

During the 2WW, I wasnt guai, didnt rest in bed, still went walking around. No Accup also. I spend the 2WW as per normal, go shopping, have dinner with family. The only things I've done was to take Brazil nuts and drink chicken essence daily after ET. There was also no symptoms, except for some bloating. I even felt pre-mense cramp and was worried about it. I was lucky to have BFP.

Sorry for the long post but I hope this can help to motivate all sisters who are still trying. Also, I would like to thank you all the sisters who have been encouraging and the support rendered

kitty - I take my hat off u... after ER still can go shopping! if my hubby know I go shopping after ER, he'll go over to the roof then proceed to complain to my parents and sis. anyway another big congrats to u! I hope to join u soon!!

<font color="aa00aa">welcome Claire - I think the tests are not as bad, just have to get them done as and when the nurses tell you to. If you've got recent health reports, can also use. That's what my husband did in order to escape an additional blood test. He's got needle phobia.

JJ - woo hoo! ER/ET soon!!! Almost there!

Nadia - you're probably resting, just want to let you know we're thinking of you too and hope all is well!

Sheryln, welcome to the 2ww. great to hear 3 made it
Rest well!

I spent the whole day running in and out of hospitals and clincs, very tired and ended up with some tummy cramps which are much better now that I get to rest. Mom's been giving me very disapproving looks (naturally) but not much choice la, in-law matters that needs to be dealt with and since they aren't aware of our project, I've to act normal.

Walked past a rack of HPTs this afternoon and so surprised that I resisted. Normally would have bought a few to stash and pee. Maybe I'm just trying to push the news to the very last moment! Hope can be so strong as Hopefulmummy and Tokkie and TAHAN!!!!</font>

kitty chan, thanks for sharing and this will really spurs us on! U hv come a long way and finally you gotten a BFP!!! But one thing I m curious is we really can proceed as normal during 2ww? Don't need to bedrest? Anyway, don't think my hubby will allow me to do that. Haha.

Once again, congrats to you and I hope to share my good news one day here also.

<font color="aa00aa">thanks for sharing Kitty chan, every success story helps boost our morale that little bit more and gives us hope that it IS possible to succeed with this process!! really appreciate your frank testimony. =)

May you have a lovely 8 months ahead and show us pictures of your baby(ies)!!</font>

Kitty, I remember you were quite worried when u hv no symptoms during your 2ww. But like faith_c you BFP, have a smooth 9 mths ahead, congratulations!

<font color="aa00aa">normally 36 weeks consider full term i think. anyway, whatever it is, hope its a good one ;) </font>

<font color="aa00aa">anyone surfs other forums besides this ivf thread? care to share which u've found to be informative?</font>

wow!!! 2 BFP today!!! Congrats to Hope n Kitty!!! Wheeeeee!!!

Tokkie, read the news... Please take care of urself! Prepare for another battle ahead!

Thanks iloveshoes,
sounds silly but Im concerned that I may hv exerted too much trying to clear my bladder coz I couldn't urinate after et. Think I worry excessively at times.

U rest well too ya!

<font color="aa00aa">Sheryln, think we all have that same "fear". I kept reminding myself that so many docs and nurses have said its impossible and just pee against my instinct. Wierd feeling right?

Wearing a babydoll today cos my injection site all swollen. Poor me. LOL</font>

Sesame oil,
It's better to rest and refrain from strenuous stuff during 2ww.
I went to do laundry cos bored at home, and i had bleeding after that. Not sure it was related but somehow I think i may have lost a twin cos my HCG reading was high enough to be twins but eventually the scan only shows singleton.
So, pls take care cos you have come a long way to reach 2ww.

Iloveshoes,
yes can't help having the fear especially I think I'm the abnormal one hvg difficulty urinating hehe.
What jabs are u having now? I just started on my weekly proluton jabs. Indeed painful.

sesame oil,
yes, actually proceeding as normal during 2ww is perfectly fine. drs will tell u there is no scientific evidence that bedrest will increase the chances of BFP.
of cos dun go and strain yrself like run marathon etc lah. but doing normal everyday things is fine.

during my 2ww my hubby was not around and i hv to take care of my daughter and drive myself for all my jabs etc.

During 2ww n the beta test there's a gap where we go back to work rite? Ie. HL till 10th bld test 16th, what can we do or not do? Dunno what's meant as strenuous. Advise pls?

sesame_oil - Yup ET on Sat.

My boobs feel super sore ... tummy still bloat feeling but better after taking immunocal ... now its that darn running nose that's making my head groggy

JJ,
Gd luck to u for yr ER tmr!

Ladies who gone thru' the IVF procedure b4,
How did u feel b4 yr ER, was yr heart pumping very fast? sorry to ask tis silly qn... I know mine will like gg for an exam. I oso scare of pain! Imagine the needle poke into our ovaries!

morning girls..

blissful- for me, it was the 1st time i was undergoing sedation, so even when the nurse insert the drip thing on my hand, i already feel like no strength already..hehe.. but when i got to the room, surprisingly, i was just following the motion, the anaesthesist was very nice. she explained how its gonig to be done, how i will feel etc..

with regards to feeling pain, it's really up to individual..cos most ladies here are completely knocked out, but for me, i could feel the going-ons..and could hear the doc tell anaesthesist to give me another dose of sedation cos i was moving ard..i would advise that you relax your mind and let the sedation take effect.

JJ:- Good luck to u for your ER tommorrow! What time is ur ER?? Will be there for my BT at 7:30am... heehee...

Blissful:- For me, I felt very nervous b4 the ER, I dont feel anything during the ops, but after I regained my consciousness, I felt lower abdominal very painful, tummy bloated..
When ur ER?

BLISSFUL - My heart rate already higher liao ... as commented by Dr Zou. cos of puregon i inject.

Think tomor for ER I will be so nervous ... but go with the flow should be ok ... the nurses will assure u one ...

seaview - I have to report at 7.30am ... think i will be too nervous to notice anyone near me .. haha ...

blissful - not too sure what time start ... maybe prep timing like changing into the scrubs etc &amp; briefing should be 1/2hr ?

other kkivf ladies know ?

actually the procedure time is dependant on how many ladies are there for ER on that day. for me, i was scheduled for 9.30am ER, but i only entered the op theatre at about 11am cos there were 5 girls b4 me.

Really .. ok then .. Aniwei, i ask my DH to send me there then go for AM work ... PM then he take leave pick me up ...

Cos ER he also can't accompany me in ... thereafter i got to rest ... kkh won't chase me out unless got pple pick me up right ?

so i will just wait for him in the recovery area lor

12BMami,
i think u should just treat yrself same as early pregnancy. dun walk/stand for too long like >20mins, dun squat down and carry heavy things.
so like just going to work, sitting at the desk, walking out for lunch, going home this type should be ok.

morning ladies..
so nice weather today !
I have 1 question to ask. Anybody have this problem when jab for lucrin, some of it will flow out ? This few day my lucrin will flow out when pull out the needle.

JJ, finally your turn for ER tmr, good luck !

Blissful, dun panic now, must relax..

I would like to check with those who had done IUI before in govt hospital.

This cycle will be doing IUI. I taken clomid from cd2-6. I usually ovulate at cd20-21. At cd15 which is yesterday, my left ovary have a 10mm follicle and right ovary have a 9mm follicle. This fri (cd18) going for a scan again. Hopefully my follicles can reach at least 18mm. But if my follicles r ready for IUI, I will need to inject hcg this fri. Read that IUI is done 36 hrs after the hcg shot. That means my IUI must do Sat midnite in order not to miss my ovulation. Normally for this type of situation, when the IUI can be done? Public hospital dun do on Sun and Mon is public holiday. By then my Ovulation is over already. Does tat means this mth i need to give up the IUI?

serene - maybe doc will time your hcg such that you can do IUI on Sat morning ? my cycle is similar to yours - ovulate around day 2128 i think.

i have similar ques on follicle size. my follicle is 10mm on day 15. will it ever grow to 18mm or will it stop growing before hitting 18mm ? if stop growing, means i have to wait till next cycle to do FET ?

bliss- if you v scared of pain, tell that to doc and maybe they can hit you with more sedation. i told my anaethestist that too.

kitty - were u working during 2ww or on HL ? congrats after such a difficult journey. its worth it !

MIC1980 - that time i inject also got a small drop of lucrin at the skin surface. I asked kkivf nurse they say its fine .. nothing to worry abt ...

but i tell those in puregon stage hor .. towards the end of yr injections (meaning closer to ER date) the tummy will be quite bloated hence the needle points harder to poke into the hard tummy ...

That's what happened to me n nadia ... i couldn't poke it in using my normal pressure .. had to extert more pressure ...

Faith - 28 days lucrin (10iu), 10 days Puregon (200iu)

Lucrin is to stop yr body's natural ovulation. Puregon is to stimulate the growth of follicles

Cos i was asking Dr Zou, won't my eggs come out upon reaching the correct size ?? then can't retrive in time how... she say that's why got lucrin to suppress it.

so gers pls don't forget to inject lucrin hor ...

Grumpus
Thanks.. I tot of asking for extension of HL. Dunno if can get. If tmr I discharge I'll ask. My work now got lots of running around n going up down stairs carry files.

JJ, thanks for your info. Hope you all dont mind that i join you all in the chat i hope to gain some support and advice from you gals.

Mic - think after the 5th time jabbing puregon. 1st few times I didn't have any reaction. Until the 5th jab then can feel achy at pelvis sides.

the 8th time onwards i noticed that tummy harder &amp; more pain to inject...

faith - of course we dont mind u joining ... the forum is for the sharing of this journey. As past sisters helped me .. its my turn to pass on my knowledge .. hahaa