Sunflower: I think u r mistaken about immunnocal. It reduces bloating from stimulation stage till after et . This is to prevent ohss. Unless u wanna increase yr general well being , there is no need to start immunocal so fast.

hi hi sunny! *waves*! R u doing ur fresh at kk?

Adeline, i find ET most touching coz that's the first time u meet your embbies and once they r in, u r preggy. =)

what a day. it's 4 days after ET today, went back to CARE for bt in the morning then came back home. When I wanted to take my pm nap, called back CARE for results and was told E2 ok at 3000+ but hor because i go and tell Angela i don't feel anything she wanted me to go right back to take hcg jab to at least get some bloating. so i had to rush back to CARE, get the jab and back home again. initially hcg was not planned for after ET cos i've grown alot of follies so for fear of OHSS hcg jabs were not needed. think ate too many egg whites and immonucal liao haha..

pinkdestiny, i believe u also don't have any hcg jabs planned after ET cos alot of follies right? and hor, Angela on long leave after tomorrow, only Dr Paul will do ET for you and Ning will monitor you after that?

Just Faith,
off course i welcome u into my FB. [email protected]
which stage are u at now?

Balrogal,
u mentioned u are still taking aspirin from ET til now. which stage are u at now? do u still continue aspirin after BHCG? which dr are u with? and are u still on support?
can u add me in your FB?

Gan,
ET at KKIVF is different from CHR in NUH. that's probably the only nice experience in KKIVF, in terms of service. and i agree with you, really touching moment!

pink M: feeling bloated during 2ww (esp initial stage) is an indication of our ovaries helping us to produce some hormones to ensure our embbies' survival ( in a way)

so if you touch yr lower ab (uterus area but below navel) and feel tight/bloated its a good sign....
if nt will need HCG to support for awhile. Like for me I had 3 HCG jabs scheduled for me from ET onwards during the first week of 2ww.

hmm, i was not given the diet dos and don'ts after ET, and so... i cont my spicy diet :p. I'm really not a guai patient and the initial low HCG gave Care a scare. Looks my bb is a late developer, HCG increasing as per Angela's wish now, so she's finally happy with me :p

pink destiny, all the best for ur ET!

poppy: thanks dear!

Pink-m: I dunno..so many follies means no need for Hcg...my E2 on Mon (ER) was 29000 leh...wahaha... i have bloatedness lor...dunno if i over ate or its caused by the ER... I hope ET comes fast!! I hope time flies...
Gg to "enjoy a cuppa now" (its immunocal ...yikes) :x

lychee, does your hb 'extract' his sperms in the room at Dr Cheng's clinic? My hb needs to do a SA and was told that he need to submit his by 10am on Friday. Do you have any idea if the room is often crowded?? I wonder if the quality of the sperms will become lousy if he do it at home and submit within one hr to the clinic....

nm and Pink martini, what is ET? and what is ER?

Yesterday, I overheard at Dr cheng's clinic that there is a patient has 80 follicles... That's a lot isn't she?? Given my age, I wonder how many can I have....

Hi Daylesford,

Not too sure. The first time i saw her there was when Dr Cheng had to go for business trip, so she sat in with him for the consultations. But she was there again when i was there yesterday. Maybe an additional doctor to help out when Dr Cheng is not around?

Hi sun,

he has done it at home before and also used the room before. I have heard the nurses asking people to use that room before. I think it will be more demand if it is on a saturday. Cos i was there one sat and there were 3 guys waiting to use the room.

Do you stay far away? Cos if reach within one hour, should be no problem. But can be quite stressful too if there is traffic jam.

ET is Embryo Transfer and ER is Embryo Retrieval.

80 follicles! Wow scary! I had 30+ and it was already considered quite a lot.

Lychee & Daylesford, was Dr Michelle already there in the consultation room when you see Dr Cheng? No? Is this not the usual consultation with 2 doctors at the same time? She is pregnant...

80 follicles do not equate the no of matured eggs to be harvest for fertilisation. Patients with so many eggs usually coz they hv pcos problem. Thus, eggs havested mostly will be small n unmatured. Only matured eggs can be fertilized to be embyros. So, the actual no of embyros eventually will be significantly lesser.

Pandawife,
thanks. think i will need to go Daiso to get instant heat pad for my shoulders.

Hazel,
is medicated oil and inhaler ok? i've been having running nose and i've been relying on medicated oil and inhaler. ok or not?

lychee,sun & Daylesford,
Dr Michelle is always around (except for 1-2 of our consultations) to help take down some notes and listened on..if she's around, normally she will be the one to do the scanning and Dr Cheng will look on..no worry, she's good & assuring as well.. mayb she's Dr Cheng's disciple..
Perhaps should ask the nurse..anyway I don't see there's any need so I didn't ask (thou, I'm curious too, heh) Oh yeah..both my hubby & I oso noticed she's preggy!! is she?

Gloria, not excessively coz they contain eucalyptus oil and camphor. U goggle the website for these 2 oils they will tell u avoid during pregnancy as is not safe under high dosage. That is why no essential oil also.

Running nose go see the doc for flu tablets. The yellow small Drowsy flu tablet, chlorophen/ privition is safe to consume. Tell the GP that u pregnant. Most non drowsy flu medicine can't take. Or take ONE normal panadol n sleep.

lychee, OHSS is scary... Have you heard of successful stories for those pcos cases? are you on IVF or SO-IUI with Dr Cheng?

I m a suspected case of pcos... Dr Michelle said that when she looks at the scan. She said we will look at the blood test result which will shows the follicles. I am quite scared...

TTCing BB,

oh we've only seen her twice. I have no problem with having her around too. Ya my hubby and I also think that she's under-studying Dr Cheng. Ya i think she's preggy

sun: 80 follies??? or you heard wrongly? 18 maybe?? 80 is a mighty lot of follies leh...
and if sperm can reach clinic in an hour, don't think the quality will be compromised, don't worry.

All: plan from Prudential (PruFirst Gift) has got only 2 exceptions ie. kids conceived via IVF and triplets.

Hi sun,

I am on IVF with Dr Cheng. I had risk of OHSS and that is why they froze the embryos after my ER instead of proceeding with ET. Will start my FET cycle soon.

Don't worry, they will advise you not to continue if you have risk of OHSS. As Dr Cheng said, can read up more about OHSS but need not be overly worried about it. But must still "treat it with respect" (his exact words!)

Gloria, even stepsils which we take for sore throat. One or two is okay but not excessive also as stepsils contain a medicine that is no good for pregnant woman.

Pimple creams n some face creams contain vitamin E. Dr loh said dun use also coz we nv know the so called vitamin E is naturally or the by product, retinoids which cause deformity in bbs. Go buy the book by Heidi Murkoff - what to expect when u are expecting. It is useful for first time mum. If u r using iPhone, u can Also down load the iPhone version that tracks bb development by month n daily

Hazel,
thanks for highlighting... i'm still happily using the inhaler and thought my problem is in control, trying my best to avoid medications!

Not to scare u sisters, ohss can be a serious n not to be taken lightly. A private gynae told me if kana ohss, can only pray coz there is no cure n we can die from ohss. The blood will thicken, such that drawing 1 drop of blood is difficult. In addition, For serious ohss, the abdomen will be So bloated with fluid that can go all the way to our lungs. U Cant eat n tummy is like a few mths pregnant. Nothing the dr Can do other than poke a hole in the tummy to drain the fluid n prescribe pain killers. That is how the private gynae at Camden shared with me. He said ivf doc nv go into details of how serious ohss can be.

Hazel,
i dun have iPhone, DH has. will ask him to track bb development. any website to go to? they will need the EDD first, right. i shall track after my 1st scan, ie after i know my EDD ;-)

Gloria, I hv bad sinus during pregnancy. So bad until my nose was perpetually blocked for a few wks. The GP told me to bear with it if possible. I asked for nasal spray which I used to use. But was told contain steroids. Though The absorption of steroids fr nasal sprays into our blood is minimum, it is still no gd. GP has this book on waf medicine is completely safe n wat is not. He showed me. unless my blocked nose is so bad until I hv asthma then GP will give. Drs will always weigh benefits against the harms.

Gloria, website on bb stuff? Babycentre.com

go buy the book I just told u. It is a thick book that tells u wat to expect n wat u need to know at each stage if pregnancy. It is not ex n most major bookstore like borders n mph have it. Info such as Pimple creams r inside also

Hazel,
my nose was peeling after the use of medicated oil, then recovered and now is back again. this is no good. will continue with water and rest.
when does MS set in? worrying cos how come still no MS...like u said, it's all the worryings thruout every stage of the pregnancy.

Ladies...was browsing through earlier post from today and saw the discussion on food earlier.

I read somewhere previously that shouldn't eat food that is more than 8 hrs. Not good for health. Therefore do try and avoid keeping food overnight and heating them.

Hazel,
ha ha ha... not so fast on baby stuff lar. i meant the tracking of bb development by days/mths using iPhone.

ok, i'll go buy the book after i cleared my 1st scan... coz my general knowledge super poor...sadzz siah le. i know there's a Times/MPH at novena square, will try there... does popular/harris carry this book?

Gloria, not everyone has MS. I dun have much MS at all. just some discomfort now & then n I already feel lousy. So, Count your blessings if u dun have. Is a teriible experience. Sisters here who experience bad M. Can attest to this.

Some women experienced bad MS until they r hospitalized. Coz they r losing lots of fluids. So bad until they r dehydrated. Wat they eat, they throw out. Including water. My hubby's cousin lost 7 kgs in 1st trimester n was hospitalized. She only gain back the 7kg at full term. Is very bad for the mummy's health. Coz foetus will draw on the mummy even if mummy dun eat enough.

Gloria, just search the book name I gave u using the app store icon on the iPhone. No need any website

Not sure of other bookstores. Check it out

Hazel,
i'm just beginning to worry since there are sayings that MS implies your baby is growing well... i feel nothing at all wor. hoping 1st scan come fast. another weekend to go... waiting game again!