Thank you TCH and Peacy for your well wishes

Renee/Mimi, think ur symptoms show good sign..I had food craving initially too, pain sometime on left sometime on right. And I think cramp towards the end is also a good sign..Almost there dear

Sorry Renee, KK din check my progesterone leh..

and WW, u did the acu yourself? I'm very very shocked. U know abt "aiye" also

Humble, address of sinseh as follows :
Gian Min medical centre
Blk 152 mei ling street #01-16
Tel 64759621 opens from 9-1pm, 2-5pm and 7-9pm

Jolene,

If you trust acu, it might help too as my sinseh told me she helped to strengthen one of her patient's embryos which was quite weak..

Renee, ho...ho now is your turn to get 'kan cheong' your test tommorrow ? please let us know asap, ok ?

Winter, how much is 1 acupunture ?

didi...it's $22 per session for 2 plus hours..

sisters, not sure if you will get used to her acu method, but my hubby told me I must trust...so it's up to u okie

Jolene,
Please dont stress yourself, the doc would hav thot no problem thats why he had not seen you. I'll pray hard for you, u rest well.
393903.gif

winter,
thanks for the address
F.Y.I - I hav already started the thread. So how are you feeling now? over the moon? ha ha

didi,
i remember reading somewhere that you are carrying triplets (cho cute), how many months already? where did you do your ivf & who was your RE?

Congrats to Winter1, blue rabbit, ww and didi. So happy, this thread is flooded with baby dust this year.

Renee, all the best to u. Will pray for you.

winter1,
thanks so much for the info and your experience. really helps alot. i was so so worry about the cramp. even my hubby almost went 'PUN CHET" for awhile. ha ha...!!he got so worried when I told him I got cramp more often today. now feel better after reading your post. Thank you thank you!! Give you big big kiss!!

Jolene,
please rest as much as you can ok. be strong ya.I'm sure you can pull through. Thanks for your BB dust. Take care and REST REST REST!!!

Helo potato chip!!!
How are you doing?? BB ok? very much appreciate your prayers. Hope our prayers would be answered soon.

hi ladies, is me! i am not into my 3rd day of my 2ww. anyone heard of psyllium husk? DH bought a bottle, but written outside 'gentle laxation'. i have serious constipation problem these few days. wonder if it is okie to drink that?? pls advise...

hi seow,
Do u say u r in 2ww? if yes there is a IVF/ICSI-2ww thread where you can find a lot of info on 2ww and food. Good luck to you.

can someone share with me how u break news that u are going for 2 weeks mc for ivf to your boss ? How do you handle your colleagues when they ask u where u have been after your mc?

Also, I have some questions. Why some of u use frozen embroyos whilst others used fresh ones ? Is the quality of embroyos dependent on the quality of eggs and / or sperms ? What does it mean that frozen embroyos are not thawed successfully ? Is the egg extraction painful during the procedure ? Pardon me for being ignorant. Really do not know much although will start cycle soon.

TTBS,
for me if i go on 2w mc i will just tell them I m going on a short break or holiday (they wont ask much but i'll tell the truth to my boss. May be the other girls will give you better answers for this question

Usually fresh embies are transfered after a new cycle, because the eggs are retrieved, fertilized and transfered in 2 or 3 days, in some clinics 5 days. any excess embies are frozen for future use. If the fresh cycle fails we can go for the frozen ones, however, the embryos have to survive the thaw to be fit to transfer. Hope i answered your question. I have 3 frozen embies left after my failed cycle 4 years ago but i did not transfer them for some reasons.

During the egg retrieval (ER) you will be given mild anesthesia and you may feel mild cramps after that for a day or so, however it depends for each individual. I did not feel any pain after ER if i remember correctly. I would suggest you to read up for more info as it will prepare you on what to expect.

The embies quality depends mainly on the quality of the sperm and egg, however, it is also believed that the quality of lab and Doc's skills also play an important role. But recent studies show that the success rate does not depend on the embies quality (read this in a latest medical journal but cant remember which website, really a very good journal written by medical experts)

Hihi... I've just started on my medication now... will be starting on my injection on 13... so looking forward to it... not because of the result ... but becoz of the procedure... "sound so interesting" :p... anyway, can I just ask.. what 2ww? it sound like the waiting week... and will doc give mc for it? run out of leaves now... because of all the tests and everything... btw I'm doing it at KKH with Dr Loh... anyone with him also?

hi constantia18,
I'm with Doc SF Loh at KKH and I'm 7 weeks pregnant now. Doc will only give 5 days HL after ER, so if your ER is on Mon, u will hv a longer rest lor. My ER on wed and ET on fri so I rested for 2 days only and back to work straight away.
2ww = 2 week's wait

seow,
U better consult your RE first before u take anything. I also suffered constipation and hv a relapse of piles, Doc told me not to take any medication, can only use apply one. Try taking more fluid like water and fruit juice and take more fibre... it'll help.

any sisters here who are teachers, can you advise how you went through the treatment and the scans in the morning? I'm worried about needing to take a lot of time off and disrupt lessons. any advice? also, do u go back to teach during 2WW? the last time i did my first IVF, i felt so bloated during puregon phase but luckily it was during school vacation... wondering how to do it during school term....... i'd most likely be doing with kkivf this time

thanks alot in advance!

hi MSH,
I took Medical leave when I go for my treatment and my scan. As far as possible, I tried to arrange my scan in the afternoon. Before I start the programme, I talked to my P and luckily she is very understanding and it will be easier for me if I need to take medical leave to do scan and so on. I did my IVF in SGH. My doc gave me 2 weeks MC after my ET. I rested for 2 weeks as this is a very crucial period. Fortunately, I rested coz I was very bloated at that time even afer 2 weeks. So it really depends on how supportive is your school.

hi peacy, blue rabbit and missmoon,
can you share with me on which day you do the transfer and at what size?

hi curious,
really glad for you!

hi biscuit,
I did my ET 1 month after I started the injections, on 24/2. Doc did not tell me the size but I gather should be ard 16-18mm.

seow
i heard that psyllium husk is good for relieving constipiation but becareful cos it strips the body of some vitamins (cannot remember wat they are now). try prune juice, it worked for me when i had very bad constipation during my 1st tri.

hi again seow
it was prof who asked me to drink prune juice to relief the constipation when i rang him up one night (and ended up in A&E) to treat the constipation prob.

Thanks Peacy. I checked with kk, the blood tests and scans are done in morning only.... so good sgh allowed u to do the blood tests and scans in afternoon. Well my VP and HOD is supportive but then still feel bad to disrupt the lessons...... anyway willt ake one step at a time. Thanks again and rest well.

Any other ivfers who are teachers and with kk? can share with me how you handle this issue of going for scans and blood test during term time please? also, is it advisable to go back to school during 2ww? thanks

hi girls,
Just for your info:

There's ivf/icsi-cycle buddies thread where you will meet those who are currently cycling or are going to cycle. May be must start a list like 2ww so that we will know who's at what stage at one glance.

Glad this thread is back for all purpose.

moonfairy, what stage are u in now? How's everything goin on?

Hi Moonfairysgp,

What a coincident!! No more co-sharing liao. I will stick to Prof Ng for the time being. I am very puzzled lor, my E2 so good but no follicles. Even Prof Ng never say anything except suspecting I may be over suppressed.

I think we are one of the few odds one to be terminated before ER/ET hehehe or O&G not good??

Thanks blue rabbit... is it safe to go back to work? normally it's after how long then will it be stable? then perhaps I should keep some leaves for that period... anyway, congrats to u!!! By the way, is it the first time u doing it? And is it true that the younger u are the more % it is? :p

Moonfairysgp,

Ya, maybe it is us. Btw, how much does the puregon cost and for how many IU at O&G? I got my puregon from my another gynae which I find it very expensive.

I am very tempted to go KKH too but when I think of the long queue, abit sian liao.

constantia18,
It's safe to work during 2WW, I checked many websites and all says that it's not proven that complete bed rest after ET will help in implantation. It's also better to work as it'll help to take ur mind off the anxiety of whether pregnant or not. The 1st 2 days after ET r very critical, must hv as much bed rest as possible.

Yes, it's my 1st try on ICSI and I'm 31 this yr. So I guess age do plays a part.

hi gals, another question from me..... very silly one.... but during stim, we start to get bloated right and after ET even more bloating... so those of u who continue go to work with tummy bigger than usual, what do you wear? maternity clothes? my problem the last time was i couldn't wwear any of my pants or skirts at all,... but since i was at home most of the time that time, i just wear comfy tshirt and shorts at home. but the next time i start treatment, i may not have the luxury of mc, cos i took alot of mc this year already..... so i'm abuit worried, last minutes cannot find clothes to wear..... do u gals have this problem too?

gals, when u say age plays a part, what is considered a less productive age..... 35 and above? is it really such a big difference between 34 and 35? :-(

Just wanted to know -

Does you all set a Target for the Number of IVF try?

Meaning to say will go for at least 2/ 3 /4 /5 try before giving up if no success!!!

- Let count Fresh Try

Just wondering what will the no. of IVF try each of you will go for..................

Pls share your view.

MSH,
U can buy few of those skirts with rubberised waistband one. Then it's more stretchable lor.

For IVF/ICSI, 35 and above hv lower success rate lor.

hi peacy,
thanks. i am having long protocol at 2 days transfer too....

i felt very scare after scanned as dr. said i have 30 eggs... still got few days to go before ER. worry have hyperstimulation...stomach also like 4mths liao....

blue rabbit, where to get skirts with rubberised waistband? only at shops selling maternity clothings? I feel pai seh leh.... walking into shops selling maternity clothes now.... hehe.....

hi moonfairy

jus out of curiousity,how much does 1 unit(ie 75 iu) of puregon cost in KK?I was on gonalF in NUH and i was paying ard $68(with gst) per 75 iu .

Dear Mimi,
I checked my old bill. 400iu of puregon in kk costs $216.45. The only thing is 400IU is the content in a 300IU cartridge. The cost savings is only realised by IVF patients like ourselves. The nurses in KKIVF told me that for SO-IUI, the 300 iu cartridge is only good for 4 doses of 75IU, but the same cartridge is good for 2 doses of 200iu or 1 dose of 400IU.

They also told me that puregon and gonal-F is the same drug from 2 different companies.

MSH,
No need to go maternity shops. The normal boutiques hv quite alot of those long skirts with elastic waistband. It's in the fashion leh, so can easily find lor.

hi maxxx,
For me, I m going to do my second cycle next month, me and hubby already decided this will be our last try of fresh cycle. If this fails we will go for the fet if any embies left, if that also fails we will just stay childless.

I think how many cycle one wants to do depends on their financial status and how well are they able to cope after the failure.

christine
thks 4 that.looks like kk is much cheaper

moonfairy
i was tested negative last wed.i was on 150iu n produced 9 eggs.my RE was happy with it but he said if i really want to stretch it..next round can increase to 225. Will see how it goes.When r u starting?

Winter n Renee

Can i check with u how many times a week do u go for yr acupuncture? Does yr hubby do it as well? How long is each session ? Thks.

Summer,

I normally rush to acupuncture after work..so got no time to eat...normall eat after that (abt 10 plus) or eat while lying down (if hubby buys food for me), but dun follow me, it's not good for gastric..I guess food or after acu should be fine..

Mimi, the acupunturist says I'm weak, so I tried to go 3 times a week from 1 week before lucrin till puregon stage..I reduced the no. of times during puregon stage (afraid affect growth of follicles since KK does not allow..hee hehe, but it's all up to you)

hubby din do since we are not doing natural. She does help guy if couples are trying naturally.

Each session abt 2 hrs. but be prepared the smell of the burning aiye may not be bearable after u finish the session...