ronniemini,
Nope, Angela is the chief embryologist..bt she will design and plan the ivf programme and do the scans. during ivf, she will be the one who will look after the eggs, sperm and embryos.
ooohhhh.. at CARE, no need pay consultation fees after the first consultation one. unlike going to pte gynae, every visit to see doc and collect med, hv to pay consultation fees. cannot estimate by per visit, coz it depends on wht med we buy during tht visit.
You should go down for consultation, during which they wil giv u a list of pricing of the process.
KKIVF is definitely cheaper, coz can get govt subsidy of $3k on top of using medisave.

Thanks pandawife..

oh ok..tat's gd w/o have to pay for the consultation after the 1st visit..but is the medicine v ex?sorry for asking so many qns..

kkivf..mayb I shld go chk it out..hmm..any ladies here are wif kkivf?can help by sharing wif me?thanks so much!

HI Ladies,
Dun noe if im in the right thread.. We are contemplating on ivf. Unsure of which hospital to go to.. KKH or NUH? Any advise? And what is the procedure like to get an apt? Call them up? Currently wif a private gynae. Have gone thru 6 rounds of IUIs for the past 1.5yr. Unsuccessfully. My 1st pair of twins were conceived via Clomid +Iui. First try. Anybody can help?

ronniemini,
you r welcome.
medication cost for ivf depends on how well u response to the drugs and also your age. i notice tht those who are younger seems to use less med typically.

pandawife
Yr af not here yet maybe u aldy preggy!!

Then no need to go ivf liao...
Btw u mentioned u went to see tong ji dr chen qiumei... Did she say wats the problem? I read mark lee wife did two failed rounds of ivf then went see her for a year plus and she conceived naturally... I did ponder whether to see her not... Now u mention she anti ivf.. Hmm...

Im seeing my dr tml for review.. See can start puregon or not...

Ronniemini, i am with kkivf. kk is definitely cheaper compared to private or CARE paragon. I spent around $8.5k and after govt subsidy and cpf deduction, i think we paid less than $1k cash.
But compared to CARE paragon and pte as i observed from this forum, kkivf does not carry out as much scans or checks before ivf except the BT (in fact if your bt from other hospital less than 1 year, you no need to carry out anoher BT) SA or HSG where necessary. You will only see your gynea 3 times during the ivf process. 1st consultation with gynea to see if there is a need for ivf, ET and ER. the rest of the scan, BT results are through nurses or doc on duty.
So you got to ask yourself if you are ok with a less personalise service by your gynea during the ivf cycle. Some girls wld prefer to see their gynea more often during the process. The waiting time for scans is around 1 hr or more.

jeinthiangel,
I'll be doing my pregnancy BT on Thurs.. ya.. can understand how u feel, the waiting and suspense kills..

july,
I also dun have much symptoms already. That time I had some bloatedness, nausea feeling and cramps.. Now I only get them occasionally too. I try not to read too much into the symptoms. I dun want it to affect me..

Anyway, the nurse at CARE told me, not all will have symptoms when they BFP.. Have faith k..

Ya pandawife. Dr chen qiu Mei seems quite turned off when I mentioned ivf. So not gng back to her again. Good luck to u since ur af not here.

Thanks again pandawife

Hmm..sorry..younger meaning 20+ or?

Thanks Gan

I think I'll try CARE 1st for more details..actually I've tried iui for more than 5 times...all unsuccessful.

sometimes reali feel tat y so diff to have a child when I see ppl ard me conceive so easily.. Haiz..

ladies..who in the forum has alr conceive wif ivf? 1st try? Or... Can share? Mayb can boost up my confidence... Thanks in advance..

Hi ronniemini, where did u do ur iui prev?

Hi sparkle, i m diagnosed as having mild hyperthyroid from annual blood test few years ago. I m on continous med for abt a year but did blood test every 6mths. Now i m still on med but on and off but i still check my blood every 6mths.I saw prof wong in nuh after i have poor response to puregon(fsh injection) during my prev cycle in kk. But my blood test for thyroid was normal. As far as i know if ur thyroid hormomes didnt cause u not to ovulate then ur chances of getting pregnant is still high and of course if we face difficult getting pregnancy there may be other factors playing a part too. I have frds with thyroid problem have no problem in conceiving. Did u read last thrusday mind ur body? There is article on thyroid. Juz to share my little knowledge with u abt hypothyroidism.. some studies says treatment includes alteration in ur diet eg up the intake of iodine(seafood and seaweed) but of course not too much if not becomes too much of thyroid sitmulation hormone produced..

Hi Lyn, u mean u proceed wif ivf wif prof wong when u hv thyroid? I saw an article tat the chances of having low iq kids are higher and also miscarriage for those who r preggy n hv thyroid.
I read the artilcle U mentioned on hypothyrodism on asiaone. Unfortunately I m allergic to seafood
can onli take supplements and vits. I cant wait for my by result so tat I can
start ivf asap. Been trying for 2+years.

baby, errm.. i cannot be pregnant leh. my menses have been away for the past 2 mths due to the medication given to treat my cyst.... after tht i continued with suprefact, so high chance menses will stay away oso this month...
when i went to see her, she tinks tht problem lies with my DH sperm count. i have beautiful bbt charts every month. bt after 9 mths of herbs, DH's count only improve very marginally. so we decided to move on to ivf. and when i went to CARE, they did more investigations and turn out I hv growth hormone deficiency as well, plus allergy problem which could lead to my body to reject foreign bodies such as sperm/embryo. These are things that was not discovered with tcm. I have also gone to the famous TCM at Jurong East, she too did not diagnose these problems.

ronniemini, it seems like if u are 30, u will use need less stimulation drugs as compared to somebody who is 35.. just an example.

Sparkle, i can't remember the stages which i paid the cash but should be the beginning of the ivf. Haven't really sit down and do a proper compilation of expenditure for the ivf.

Yes, the hospital would require to buy insurance during the day of your ET. transfer 2 embbies, the insurance is around $180

i went out for a walk finally after staying home whole week. i was a bit phobia, so scared tripping over or people will bump into me with their shopping trolley,etc. so silly...

sparklebee
i used to see tong ji, ya the lady doc is not pro-ivf. its also a lot of effort having to boil the herbs, but i do believe boiling herbs is more effective than powder ones. the charity show some wks back shown that there are people who hv succeeded under her. after tong ji, i went to see dr tan at clementi and another doc at people's park centre, both had to wait like hours and too far from my house. i've since moved on to see dr zou in ang mo kio.

Sparklebee, once u have thyroid doesnt mean u forever have thyroid. I m not sure how mild/serious yours is but mine is very mild. Yes when ur thyroid hormones is out of place the changes of miscarriages is high and as for low IQ kids i have heard of ppl saying but its not true for ppl arounds me. I have frds who had thyroid with perfectly normal kids..

Sparklebee, read up from the net that if ur thyroid condition isnt too serious ivf shldnt be a problem but there is a potential risk of "thyroid storm" if the ovaries are seriously hyperstimulated so see wat ur docs say first. Meanwhile try to relax now coz i strongly believed my thyroid condition was caused by stress at work. Now that my working environment is less stressed i m better and my thyroid condition is under controlled. Fyi, when i start my ivf i m under med and hormones levels are all in the normal range. Dun despair..

I used to see dr zou , think I will go bk to her again when I start my ivf jabs. She is definately more friendly n supportive.
Now they r selling this pot that auto time n boil the herbs to right level. So quite convenient. Will combine tcm n ivf since there is so many success cases here

Hi Lyn, I did mine at mt e hosp..

Hi pandawife..oh ok..got it.. Thanks

I tik I'll call to make appt wif CARE.. Abit scared of the ivf procedures...

BTW ladies, did any of your doctors advice what your hubbies should do to improve sperm quality and sperm count? Mine never but we read on internet by other fertility doctors who suggest hubby taking Vitamin E 400 units a day prior to the treatment at the way till ER and also to bath with coll water, swim, wear loose pants to bed. My hubby also had some oysters and clams a few days before ER. Seems to improve quality overall....still keeping fingers crossed till next wed for BT.

BTW, read about gatorade which is good for bloating, advice by many overseas doctors I read in their forums. Anyone heard about this before?

I am new to this forum. Been married 7 yrs n trying my first ivf tmr. PCS n blocked tubes. On 2nd cycle provera to induce menses and coz of the 1st effect (2 cycles in one month) KK IVF told me I hv short cycles so supposed to start some injection on D2 menses (tmr). Very nervous because seems to be quickened. My gynae is also on maternity lv and now I am wif Dr Sadhana, any info about her?

Pls advise me about how to prep my body for ivf? Can I still be involved in exercise coz I still hv to reduce my BMI.SHould i be trying out altve treatmts eg. acu etc? sorry so many qns. nervous.

12BMami,
I exercise regulary before i started the IVF, not just for IVF but to keep myself healthy. Try to eat balanced diet and stay relaxed and happy.
I didnt' do any accu but alot of ladies here do it.

12BMami,

Think can still exercise during d IVF process but when in your 2ww try not to do strenous exercise. As for accu, if you r comfy w it, juz try ba. I feel juz do things u r comfy with n most imptly don't stress yourself too much.

Mabel Tan, which hospital are you with?
Perhaps your hubby sperm is not too bad that is why no recommendation to take Vit E.
Mine did ask him to do so.

just wanna let out some steam.

Actually not sure how I shd start. We been trying TTC for 2 years... so tried a lot of ways, reommendations etc. Until I went to see Dr. Zou and DH went with me e 2nd time and also saw Dr. Zou.

He was given medication as well, but he didn't eat it on time. Like only a few times then he stopped. And when I asked him, he was kinda 'rude', like just a word, "bu yao".

I know I sound sensitive, but I feel very pek che. And my mood went downhill over the weekend. I felt as if I'm e only one interested to TTC. Whatever I say or do, to DH, if he's not interested, no amount can make him do anything.

For instance, I asked him to reduce coke, tea, packet drinks, smoking etc. He replied that it looked as if I'm trying to control him. I said it was for his health sake and also to improve his sperm quality. I said he needed to cut down his weight.

He said whatever I said will only made him wanna do even more. Until a few weeks ago, the doc said his blood sugar was high, and he might get diabetes. Doc asked him to cut down his sugar level, and go back to him after a month's time. I feel so disappointed. It was like it took a professional to make him "see".

I wondered why I put so much time, energy and money into TTC. I wondered if he even understand why I would make myself go acupuncture when I'm scared of needles. I wondered if he understand why I feel envy when a friend's wife got pregnant. I started wondering, if we should even TTC.

To DH, just do it naturally, if have, have, if dun have, dun have lor. No big deal. I dunno if he understand the word, "biological clock". We are not exactly still in our 20s anymore. And I'm weak too, I'm worried cuz many TCMs including Dr. Zou mentioned I have a weak heart. I dunno all those effort I put in actually what am I doing?

The road to TTC is very hard, and I feel like giving up. My tots now are continue to see Dr. Zou, but to improve my body condition. TTC or not, I wanna do it for myself.

i will be going for Progestrone BT. can anybody advice how much it will cost urgently? and wat is the purpose of it!!

Thanks in advance

Skies
How are u doing? Still with Dr cheng? May i ask how long did u rest at the centre after doing the ET? My ET is next week...all excited Hee........

I guess will rest for first 4-5 days then head back to work

nancy,

I'm so excited for you!! After ET, you have to lie on d chair for like 10 mins. Then can go washroom n take jab..
Better to rest for few days b4 going back to work. Walk around to promote blood circulation n rem to continue w d medicine. I heard them say they have some cases when some missed their medication n their menses came.

Yup. Still w him but will be seeing him at his clinic at L1. But still thinking whether to change gynea coz scared of d charges even thou I prefer to stick to him. Duno how leh.

Jinnous,

Is your hb under pressure of having bb?? Or is he rejecting d idea of IUI/ IVF? Prob can go for a short break first then have a nice talk with him to find out what's wrong.

My hb is also a heavy smoker. My gynea told him to reduce smoking but think he still continue. he did know he have to reduce but think work stress makes him want to smoke.

Jinnous,
Dun be upset.. Some guys are like that. Just dun accept that it takes 2 hands to clap. Its may be the pride at work.. They feel the prob doesnt lies with them at all and feel that they dun want to do certain things. Dun let this bother u too much. Maybe, for Dr Zou's med, if 1 day need to drink 2x, u ask him drink once daily lor. At least he drinks ma, the u make for him and put in front of him? Then if you want him to lose some weight, maybe both of u go do some exercise together. At least, he wont feel that he's doing it alone.. Let him know that u both must try..

morning all,

me on my 2ww now.. a question...is it normal to hv some staining during 2ww?

Hi tickles, how hv u been?

i will be going for Progestrone BT. can anybody advice how much it will cost urgently? and wat is the purpose of it!!

Thanks in advance

tzac,
erm.. slight staining i still still ok, but still must monitor.. Not too much and not too often, if too often, better call and check with doc k..

Me arh.. also in 2ww, but apr having my test liao. Am so excited and scared.. You just started your 2ww? Rest more k...

suying,
I didnt pay for my progesterone BT cos its in a package tgt with my ET.. Purpose is to check your progesterone level and see if its sufficient..

tickles
do u still feel any symptoms this wk? i into my 2nd wk of 2ww, like no symptoms, feels totallly normal, gettg abit worried.
deciding if shd still try to lie on bed more or can sit up more. wat did u do for 2nd wk?

I offered to make the drink for him. He always see me taking e medication. And his medication is hanging just beside mine.

I dropped hints liao, like maybe we can walk our dog in the evening etc. He said he'll go swimming, or exercise but all say nia. It's really actions speak louder than words. When I talk about smoking, he always tell me he got friends who are heavy smokers but they also have children.

He told his mum bout his condition, and she told me, in front of DH, that I must tell her if he dun cut down on the drinks. I feel like telling her everything. Sometimes I say a bit, he already not happy. I feel like I know my DH is reducing his life and I'm doing nothing to stop him. That's e feeling I always get.

We ever discussed before, why dun we go for IVF,
and it resulted in a shouting match. To him, IVF is max 3 times, he asked me, after 3x if nothing happened how? He asked me why not try naturally? If few more years dun have, then go IVF. I asked him you know what is biological clock not? I asked him if I pregnant now and pregnant 5 years later, if he knows if my body can stand it not. No answers.

Now I feel so tired, physically and mentally. And I feel like crying every now and then. It feels like I'm walking the path alone. Like I'm e one doing research on IVF, IUI etc. Like I'm e one asking around what goes on in fertility treatments. It's just so frustrating.

Tickls,

thanks for reply. mine was nt in IVF package. As Dr. Loh suggest mi to take Clomid first.

Dat's y need to knw roughly cost hw much??

happy hippo,

I am also in my 2ww this week and wednesday is the mark of 2ww over. Strangely this week i feel nothing no cramps or anything. like normal aso.

tzac - that cld be implantation spotting .. as long as it does not turn to red blood and it did not feel one whole pad then it shld be ok

Jinnous - from the way u describe the situation, it looks like both of u are stress from TTC .. I understand that the biological clock is ticking but it is vital to have your hubby support in it as his "soldiers" is very impt for the cycle to be successful ... I wld suggest that you take a short break together with ur hubby and only approch him about TTC when the environment is relax and he will agree ... or you cld go for walks with him and if happens that you guys came across couples pushing stroller then u can say "isn't the baby cute" or how i wish we cld have one soon ... it is impt not to presurrise your partner in the journey of TTC as ur partner would feel "left out" and might not want to have a part in it no matter how badly you might want it
Gd Luck

happyhippo,
erm.. I dun have much symptoms too. Only daily cramps (but very mild only) and sometimes a little bloated after meals.. Thats all. But since sat I have been feeling my nipples a little sore.. I'm only afraid its AF symptoms..

Dun be too bothered by the symptoms. Like the nurse at CARe told me, they are patients who strike and totally have no symptoms at all.. So dun make yourself worry too much..

jeinthiangel - not everyone have symptoms throughout 2WW but still BFP ... just continue talking to ur embies to stick tightly to you

IVF is not only 3 times. I think there are couples out there trying more than 3 times. Juz that can only claim medisave 3 times.

No offence ok? I guess prob he is rejecting d idea of IVF. Maybe he feels that his friends who are heavy smokers but still have kids so he thinks that he can be d same.

If you are feeling mentally tired now, take a break from TTC first. When you are more prepared, talk to him once more.

hi tickles,

yup, me juz started 2ww, actually 2day is my 3rd day oni. read some earlier posts n realized tat need to hv bedrest har? my god! me din do tat leh. hv been walking around quite a bit over the week end. hope its ok hor? when u testing huh?

anyone any idea when will do the pregnancy BT? mine is on D19 leh, is tat normal? i m w kk.

jeinthiangel,tickles
thks. just tat whole of last wk i had sore breasts when wake up. tis wk all gone..
r u still lying in bed much? i getting backache, thinkg of sitting up more, u think its ok to cut down on bed rest? any idea how to get more blood circulation to uterus? tks

Hi Jinnous,
Understand ur frustration. Some men are just too egoistic to go thrugh assisted procedures like IVF / IUI. I've a fren's hubby who think his spermies are the best qlty in the world and was so insulted when gyne sugg them to do IUI. Guys maybe avoiding these and not be able to communicate properly thus leading to quarrels. Feel so upset when i've to nag at DH to take evening walks after dinner w/ me. But it just take a bitz of getting used to and also motivation. At the end of the walk, DH will get to eat his dessert at the end of the walk. Now he is quite On to go for a walk or rather his dessert. So find out what motivates ur DH and it may make a difference. =)

actually im bit guilty of not really resting.

After the ET i was having bad cramps so i was in bed. But after about 5 days i started being a monkey climbing cupboard and cleaning all these.

Occasionally i did get giddy so i rested awhile then later continue that kind.

No sign of AF as im inserting the Progesterone tabs but just the discharge is increased these few days.

Why gynae initially suggested go IVF cuz the shape of DH's sperm failed. So she felt doing IUI is also a waste of money.

He knows but he's not doing anything to improve the condition. Gynae gave him vitamins, he ate for 1, 2 weeks and stopped. I really feel disheartened. It's not as if we nvr speak about kids. We always bring up the topic on bbs and children. He likes children, and children likes him.

I can only think of is it's his ego and pride. I have no other words.

hi jeinthiangel,

thanks for yr reply.
i was worri it will cost mi a bomb jus like when i was having my BT on D2. i'm at ease nw. ; )

su ying

did u opt to go for blood test for progestrone? i'm just wondering i can do my ER/ET or FET with NUH, but get monitored for prgestrone by CARE during my 2ww? cos NUH doesnt provide any form of BT during 2ww.. and it seems that CARE services during 2ww quite good..

tickles

u going to take HPT? my hands getting itchy, not sure if i should test tmr? heehee..