hi renee,
thanks for the explanation. since my last failure, i have all these while continue to see dr.. so i didn't monitor it myself.. heee

hi hopformiracle,

Dun worry, i normally took med to induce AF, then clomid but NEver ever ovulated.
If you switch to puregon, most of the time people ovulate.

hi mrs Z
Hey, why only 2 embies? Ya, one of my 2 embies managed to surve.
Me rested for few months when i visited my gyn on the tenth day of my AF (ninth day of puregon). Remember to take egg whites. Hope to hear good news!

hi potato
Thanks!!!!

Hi ladies, any idea kkivf ctr open over the wkend as tot of calling them to check on some queries...tks.

Hello, I'm new to this forum and i hope you won't be confused as I also see another summner here.

I'm so happy i hv so many ppl here to share my experiences with. I have been through 2 rounds of IVF at KK last yr - 1 cycle + 1 frozen cycle, but to no avail. Had treatments prior to laparascopy so I'm hoping i'll have better this time.

I think puregon jabs are much better than the jabs to stop ovluation before puregon. i often bruise myself while injecting. Once, I was quite badly bruised on the tummy and the nurse was lost for words.

Does anyone of you have PCOS problems? I suffered from mild ovarian hyperstimulation when I did IVF and 32 eggs were picked up from the process - doc said a normal person shd produce no more than 15 eggs... It hurts and I had to drink lots of water to flush out the hormones in my system. It was a nightmare as I was literally walking around the hse with a water bottle.

I'm seeing Dr Fong Yang this Sat and i'm not sure if he'll suggest to start from the basic, IUI, or move on to IVF. We shall see.

Btw, my colleague who had her IVF with Dr Christopher Chen was given a list of food to avoid, based on his personal research. She no longer has the list but food to avoid are bean products or any made from it, and chicken. If you absolutely must hv chicken, then stick to kampung chicken as they are not injected with estrogeon to expedite the grwoth process.

Also, provide any form of chinese herbs as it might interfere with western prescription.

I checked it against my doc at KK, Dr Sheila Loh, and she jokingly told it's ok to eat chicken but don't overindulge or the son may become effeminate
. Different docs hv diff school of thots i guess.

hi moonfairy

doc told me i have abt 3 to 4 follicle on both sides. i've already bot the med as i ran out of it on the day i went to the clinic.
Thanks for yr offer.

hi mrs z, how r u? getting better now?

blue_rabbit, how r u feeling now??

hi curious,

Heard that it can cut down the expenses? If you cannot ovulate with clomid, they will move on the injectibles like puregon, gonal F, etc which are more costly. My chinese physician always told me i need injectibles to wake up my sleeping ovaries

hi summer01
You can refer to the previous threads and a list of food to avoid by P. Chen could be found. Docs said it is pretty common to have pcos nowadays, it's just how serious the condition is.

Hi Renee, thanks. Will call on this sat to enquire. My hushand is still hestitating.

Hi pebbles,
Thanks for the info. But hor...my programme is to start on clomid from day 3-7, then puregon from day 5-10, or until the follicles are of the right size. So I'll be using both. Aiyoh....

for the ladies who are interested in the list that has been much talked about. here it is:

1. Ginger
2. Alcohol
3. Evening Primrose Oil
4. Multivitamins
5. Soy products (soya milk drink, soy sauce)
6. Bean curd
7. Chicken (but kampong chicken ok)
8. Chinese herbs (including dang quai, pai fong yuen) do not take throughout pregnancy
9. Bird's nest (that contains chinese herbs)
10. Ginseng
11. Noni juice
12. Chemical treatment (hair rebonding, colouring,
make-up etc)
13. No exercise

it's tough at first to adhere to the list but once you get used to it, it's a breeze. i even went to the extent of using organic products on my face - all natural ingredients and no chemicals

hi curious
you're most welcome. i only used organic facial wash, moisturiser and shampoo, strictly no make-up.

if you're interested in organic cosmetics (loose powder, mascara etc), can pm me.

hi mismoon

im surprised coffee is not in the list. so guess can still drink abit huh ..haha. I still take my mrng coffee but diluted...what to do ... still a die hard!!!

by the way..when is this list effective..when we start puregon or even at lucrin stage??

Missmoon,

Thanks for the list, it's very helpful.

Pebbles,

Congrats! Read from the thread you are expecting a girl. Hope my turn will come soon.

Mrs Z,

My 2WW was ok as I try not to think too much, albeit not easy. It was more difficult when I did my FET as the test date happended to fall on my b'day! Anyway, your symptoms sound positive to me. My colleague kept having goose bumps for no apparent reasons few days before the blood test, so doc decided to push it forward and confirmed her pregnancy the very same day. She did the pregnancy test at home while waiting for the result and it was already showing positive... Good luck!

juz wanna share some gd news here...

My Dhs ex-collaegue is finally pregnant. She tried IUI which didnt work out. Turned out she got pregnant 1 mth after the IUI. Muz be the IUI stimulates the reproductive system. Dh has another colleague whose wife did the IVF. Failed too but she got pregnant naturally after that. A happy mum of 2 kids now.

hi jkids,
Ya, i heard a lot of such happy cases... but unfortunately, seems like i don't have such luck.. how sad !!!

hi mimi
haha, during the prog i was drinking coffee regularly in the morning, undiluted. i stopped after ER and after tested positive. it's effective the moment you start the prog, i.e. during the suppression stage.

hopeformiricale, ya, i know...no exercise. it was a torture but nonetheless valid cos it affects the body.

Did my ER yesterday, was told that I hv 9 follicles extracted...was disappointed when I heard that. I was so hopeful that I'll have more than 10.

It was painful when I woke up from the sedative, esp when walking, so I slept for the whole day and by night time, the pain had subsided alot, I even did some housework.

Today is more sleeping and eating, tmr hv to be at KKH by 7.30 for the ET. The nurse told me that I hv to take progesterone injection every 3 days, which can be administer at home, not necessay hv to go hosp.

Mrs Z,
Did u ask for more MC after the 5 days that was given to u? Everyone ard me keep asking me to take more MC, now I also don't know whether to take or not to take leh.

Hi blue rabbit,
Hv been waiting for you leh....at last 'saw' u! Yes, rest more....listen to your body. If u think u need more MC, ask for it. Good luck tomorrow!!

Seow & Hopeformiracle....

Me too. I have been trying for the last 3 years and no luck still. But I'm sure our persistance will pay off and we'll be well rewarded by the fairy stork.

Blue rabbit,

My colleague, too, had 9 follicles and she had fraternal twins from her IVF. So, nothing is impossible.

I had to go back every day for progesterone jabs, so it's good if you can monitor it from home. I'm not sure if it's still the same because the puregon I was injected with was contained in tiny glass tubes and you have to break it & draw the solution out with a syringe. Also, it's oil-based, so you have to be very careful and slow while injecting. Will your hubby be helping you?

hi blue_rabbit

glad to hear fr U again. So U only rest for a day and go for ET huh? I thots can rest for 2 days then go for ER.

Rest more as this is a very crucial period... Hope to hear good news from U soon : )

mismoon

any idea why exercise is bad? I reckon strenous ones like jogging,tennis shd be avoided but what abt light yoga ?

btw,when did u succeed in yr ivf? Was it yr first attempt ?

Hi blue rabbit,
Pai seh lah...I've not started the programme yet. Most likely next week will start. But wait for my AF to report first

hi mimi, when i was doing iui, prof said i couldn't do any yoga unless it's the meditative type, cos all the jumping and upside down poses etc will upset the pituitary gland (hormone producing thingy at the centre of forehead, between eyes). he said the same thing when i started ivf/icsi. i also asked about brisk walking, nurses at his clinic advised against that too.

i started the prog in sep with ER/ET ard end-oct last year and that was my first attempt after many rounds of failed IUIs.

Oh yesterday I have a bad dream. Dreamt of doing all the injecting and the needles so thick. I so scare leh, really pei fu those that have done it.

Curious,
I am waiting for my AF to come too, hehe we will be starting about the same time.

hi ladies, i am with the IUI - Support Needed so can i join here as well??

Hi curious, nice to see u here.....

like to kn, does the list of "forbidden food" list applicable to IUI pple as well...... i drank soy milk 2 days aft IUI, hw??
& i took my morn cuppa too.... a must else whole day, dun feel gd... :p i oso went facial yest, will this affect anything??

hi bluerabbit,
so, when u took mc... what did u tell ur boss? r u under 2 days transfer? i think 9 follicles is enough as long as some of them are good grading.

hi hopeformiracle,
don't pressure yourself, try to relax.... easier to success.

hi missmoon,
how many eggs did u transfer last time?

Hi rachel,
Nice to 'see' u here too!!

Hi hopeformiracle,
Ya...let's jia you together.... Mine will be SO-IUI
But also need puregon jabs
I think much lower dosage bah....

hi sisters,
i started my first jab this morning liao. for me, not much problem lah, cos' i never scare of needles. the only big problme is 'no chicken, no coffee'.... siow liao again !!! than with all the bird flu thingy going on, kampong chicken lagi not safe...

seow, haha, i drank coffee still during the programme although just limit myself to less than a cup each day in the morning. still ok to drink coffee lah, but not tea lor

Rachel,
No milo too???!! Oh my god!! Then juz drink plain water for breakfast
Or maybe milk. Don't tell me milk so cannot ah!! LOL!!

rachel, ya, i am on ivf. second time liao. so got experience...heee. how about yourself

curious, milo can lah. actually, prof list never mentioned about coffee cannot. but all of us know drink too much is no good.

missmoon, i didn't cut totally also, but cut down lah

hi summer06er

i'm only starting puregon(actually i am on gonalf) next monday.It's been delayed by 1 week coz of prof's travelling schedule.

How r u getting on ? Is the higher dosage producing more follicles? How do u feel ?