Hazel, thanks for the clear explanations

For setting appt after work, so u mean they are still opened at 6pm?

Pink, there r gd docs both on pte n restructured hospitals. Is just a matter of preference. If my choice is the latter, then I will choose KKH coz it has the best facilities n they do huge no of ivf a year. My total ivf cost is abt 7k plus excluding the govt grant.

I did 2 day surgeries prior to that n I am happy with the service I received other than the wait for my doc to attend to me. In 1 of the day surgery, my mum accompanied me n she did not know where to collect the medicine for me. The nurses dun wan me to walk n ordered the medicine to be delivered from the pharmacy to my day bed.

I was lying on the operation bed feeling cold while waiting for my doc. The nurse saw n gave me some stuff to keep me warm... There were also once when a nurse failed to take my blood after poking me. She appologised again n again n asked her superior to draw the 2nd time. She dare not do for me Leow..

We r all pte patients so the services we get r not as bad as u thought...

Pink, yes at pte suite.. Dr loh is there from wed pm till fri night every wk... Oh ya, sat morning too.. At your next visit, go to pte suite n take a look, is on the same floor as clinic d, but nearer to the children section at the other end.. Ask the pp there if can't find. The environment is nicer with it's own toilets n blood n urine test sections. Got milo, tea n coffee dispenser also

now u hv a better picture why dr loh can't spend so much time talking to his patients.. Coz his schedlue is really packed every day

Oh ya, pc wong dun do delivery. He is purely an ivf doc. Once pregnant u hv to change doc.

Dr loh will see all his patients till delivery unless patients op out.. N he continues to see those normal gynae cases after patients deliver

hazel u r lucky that the nurse ordered the ,,ed for u to ur day bed,
After my ER, i was waiting for my parents to pick me up, was feeling very giddy, i asked 2 nurses if they can help me get the med from pharmacy while waiting for my mum, both said NO lor.

Pink, i can only give u comments based on my own experience as i have saw both dr loh and Prof p c wong before... this is a forum where each and everyone of us exchanged personal experience. As for me i will rate a dr based on his level of professionalism, atitiude and how comfortable i m with them. As for successful rates its really lies on indivdual health condition. There r lots of ppl BFP at first attempt under dr loh and there r also many ppl BFP under Prof p c wong too. Once again dun think that i have flavourism towards Prof wong coz i m not doing any ivf cycle with any of these 2 drs...

Pink, i shld be starting ivf soon with a dr in glen e....

We've decided to do IVF after some thoughts. We were actually on TCM and SIL suggest me to see Prof Wong. I may be fixing an appt w him first to understand the procedure so I can know how to juggle my time at work before I speak to my superior abt it, and also the costs. Am not sure if I wld feel comfortable w him cuz comfort level to me, is pretty impt.

Gan, for my case I did not even ask the nurse for help. I told her my mum does not know English n she wun know where the pharmacy is. I offered to go myself to collect but the nurse said no n she will fax the prescription over to the pharmacy n the latter will deliver the medicine over to me at the day bed. Maybe like wat u said, am lucky, but so far the nurses there r very nice to me.. They Also allow me to wear my glasses right to the operation theatre room.. Just b4 the doc comes, they will keep for me. The moment I opened my eyes I asked for it... :p

Can anyone advise me for NUH and KKH, other than medisave, will we be given grant for IVF? And how much are we really expect to pay in cash? I am trying to compared with the pte gynae. THKS

The thing abt NUH is that its super far away .. whereas KKH is more centralized. This could be one of the reason for its popularity...

Level of service in kkh really depands on yr luck & the situation. Like on a busy day the nurse won't hv time entertain everyone.. whereas if not so busy they will show u more attention.

For me KKH still ok (minus off the waiting time) but all govt hosp def will hv long waiting times. Must know how to utilise the waiting time ... That time i go take Q ticket then went out to eat lunch or walk around. then juz perodically check the Q no. see if my turn soon.

Bbaidan, u will get the $3k govt grant for the first 3 ivf attempt at kkh, Nuh, n sgh. So say for first time u can use $6k medisave + $3k then if your ivf total is more than $9k then the remaining is by cash. Everybody total is different depending on the dosage needed by you. Like for me I spent slightly less than $12k at Nuh.

Yes, choose hosp that u comfortable with. Consider distance n waiting time. For me I called both kkh n Nuh n kkh queue time is too long for my consideration so I chose Nuh. The waiting time for prof is short. Most of the time I was done within an hr or less.

Hazel, I think u're very lucky =)

JJ, I agree with the location. The far location probably deters ppl from choosing NUH, no wonder I've heard that there are not many patients there.

Yup .. I was considering NUH too ... but when i see the location ... I giddy liao ... imagine got to keep going so far cos either IVF/ IUI got to hv quite frequent scans ...

Then I stay like SengKang .. so far .... so that alone turn me off ...

Can ask u guys how much brazil nuts must i consume to get the correct intake huh ?? or juz eat as and when feel like it ...

Jj, from what I know not more than 5 per day.
Yes we need to travel to hosp like couple of times a months then once a week. I stayed in woodlands taking cab there in the morning with 35% more is taxing too. So now when can change to normal gynae I switched back to my normal gynae at TMC. But if u succeeded with multiple then u will need to stay in the govt hospital better as higher chance for complication n early birth. So the govt hosp will have better equipment n def affordable fees. So consider beyond the ivf process itself.

Pink, the pharmacy gave me puregon instead of gonal-f one time n I went back to change.. The queue was long n I told the pharmacist dun expect me to queue again though the mistake lies on the doc who wrote wrongly.. She Bo bian n let me cut queue... Hahaha

Vi4n congrts! I too hope I strike with my so-iui 1st round but must keep expactation at an average. Best to keep mind occupied if not very taxing to worry over the little things.

Pink, my gf 1st to 3rd attempt ivf under dr loh all strike n all singleton. Singapoh, 1st attempt singleton, 2ng attempt, now with twins!

There r other girls who failed ivf a few times which were done outside kkhivf, became successfully pregnant under dr loh. He is popular n packed with patients for a reason though some one commented that he is not as knowledgable.. Well, the facts n statistics speak for itself..

Pink, oh ya, nuh usually does D5 embyro transfer hor.. regardless of the no of embyros retreieved,, If embryo does not make it to d5 in man made environment, then gone case.

Kkhivf does d2 transfer as it believes that the chance of embyro survival is higher in the womb. A sister here, suffered from ohss n can't do d2 transfer. Dr Loh asked her to abort n freeze all her embyros but she refused as she had came so far.. So dr loh proposed d5 transfer n hopefully her ohss has subsided.. She has lots of eggs to take this risk.. So x no of embyros were freezes n x no was to grow in man made environment till d5. On d4, dr loh called n informed her to quickly go down for transfer as her embyros dun seen to make it to d5, n some were not growing n were dying.

Dr loh quickly picked the 2 most probable ones n did an immediate transfer for her on d4.. She is now 13 wks pregnant with twins, her 1st attempt also

so wat does this tell us? If she waited till d5, then most likely, she will end up disappinted... But now, she is happily pregnant

Pink, yes it was our first attempt. It was really blessed as I didn't experience any discomfort, pretty smooth process. Anyway as I said choose based on your comfort level n conveniences. Forum only here for those who came in to share. There are still a lot couple outside this forum who are under different hospital n doctor who succeed or failed. Be it dr loh or prof both are definitely experience n both are head of the dept in each hospital.

One thing abt dr loh is he is extremely straight fwd n direct. Which in turn will make some pple uncomfortable depanding the interaction. If e person can't take his bluntness she will feel uncomfortable hence it all boils down to each person.

Ultimately it's up to u which dr u choose to go with, none of us here can force u to go with a certain dr.

Just to add my few words since the topic is on dr loh. I do admit that dr loh is good with his hands, there are people who failed at private clinics but were successful when switched to him. However there are both sides to how you see this, i feel its not so good to paint such a nice 'picture' to those who are first attempt on IVF. There are of course really lots of successful cases under Dr Loh eg Hazel and Singapoh, however there are also fair share of unsuccessful cases that may not be known to all. So we should take everything with a pinch of salt only those who have been through all will understand.

Hence i do agree with Lyn that successful or not really depend on individual eg your body condition, age and many other factors so choose the doctor that you are most comfortable with regardless whether he is popular or not.

In case you guys think i am against Dr Loh, i have been with him for few years still sticking with him till now though i have not been successful yet...hence the decision is yours to make. However do not think that IVF is miracle and only take one time to strike. I still feel those that are able to strike at first time...consistute lots of hard work, doctors skill,body condition and of course luck.

All the best to all ladies

Pink, I was from NUH previously and failed my cycle...

As my D3 falls on a Sun, they did a D4 transfer for me instead on the following Monday....though I v much wans a D3 transfer...

I was told tt its pretty normal not to hv any frozen embbies in NUH....some ladies here did a D3 freezing while some like me did a D5 freezing and unfortunately it din reach blastocyst stage...Its v risky esp when u hv not much embroys...like me...up to D6, I got none to freeze...All freezing will depends on embroylogist...

Its most impt to find a gynae u r comfortable wif...and u must also be comfortable wif their protocol too...My advice to u is to check out the protcols...do a thorough check before u make a decision...

We will nv know how many embyros we can retrieve.. I hv only 5.. So if I were to do d5 transfer, I think I may not be successful Leow. The risk is much higher for women with few embyros...

NUH normally will do embyro transfer from D3 to D5...most of the times will be D3....as for freezing, they normally will oni do a D5 freezing..according to them, they will oni freeze good embroys...
bt RMB....its v risky if u hv few embroys...for me I hv 7....bt NON to freeze on D6....

Yes dr loh is very direct n always makes 'dry' jokes. for me, I m okay. End of the day, if my objective is achieved, I dun need a doc with good PR skills. N cost is impt to me too.. Nuh is more ex than KKH

Pink, am in my late 30s. Just in case u think am young

Missymoms,
for the same gynae we both seeing, rough estimte have to cough out 5-7k cash.
this is at dosage of puregon on about 300iu/day.

you can check with him, based on your dosage needed...

My 1st IVF doc was Dr Sheila Loh. She did the ET for me and I conceived my 1st baby. I was transfered to Dr SF Loh after she left KKH for Raffles Hospital. Dr SF Loh delivered my baby.

I did Natural FET under him but it's Dr Marianne who did ET for me. Now preggy with twins

nancy,

yes, i'm in my 2ww. I rested for a week coz it's near CNY so I took HL. And I went back to work on 4th day of CNY. I couldnt tahan to stay at home coz I dont have any symptoms at all and Im fraid that I will go crazy at home.