hi moonfairy,
I was telling my hubby about acupuncture before I start the next cycle.he agreed. in fact i've done it before. but it's not for IVF purpose though. I was seeing the chinese sinseh at meiling st. she did for me cos I had very bad menses cramp.and she told me, it's the same thing for IVF also.I think basicaly it's meant to strengthen our womb.

no lah, don let yourself so fearfull of needles. after so many poking you should be stronger ma.

hi renee,

actually, i just don't want to stress myself up too much or maybe is should say i'm just plain lazy. don't want to think too much. just follow Dr's instructions.....

we plan to go Turkey, but cos' of the bird flu (those evil birds), we have changed our destination to Taiwan...

hi seow
wah, so shiok, go taiwan. enjoy your trip!!

sigh... after the first failure, this is what my husband use as a consolation for me lor. after that, i will have another long journey to go.... so, for now, i bo-chap.. enjoy first...heeee

hee...i've juz registered this forum as junior member :p

Thanks Renee, will take 1 thing at a time...

Hi tch,
Thanks...now I super clear already, haha...thanks for your time in explaining. As for the claim, I think it takes mths to process. I did a surgery to remove cyst more than 4 mths ago. Had submitted my claim immediately but till now still no news.

Hi MSH,
Yours was under GA! I hope if I really go for IVF, I don't hv to undergo GA as I've got phobia.

Thanks everyone for sharing and encouragement. I'll juz wait patiently for my appt next mth. Right now juz BD naturally...hopefully my hubby & I can succeed without any 'help'...then can save $$!! But hor...I don't think so....

Hi Renee,
Best is to write all your questions down or save your questions in your hp. Then you won't forget to ask your gynae.

how is GA being done? Renee, why do you have to 'sleep' so long during yr ER?
i was told that after ER, i'll be given abt a wk MC to rest. Is it really painfully after the process?
lately i've been thinking abt this ivf thingy and i really wonder can i take it. i'm not certain am i prepare for it.
however, when i read all your posts here and see successfully stories, i'm so happy for you

hi summer,
may be the GA was too strong for me. that's y I zz for so long.it was done by pricking a needles at the back of my palm.
Yes I had very bad cramp after ER. becos our ovaries was being pricked and 'suck out' the eggs.so there will be wound and result to cramp or pain.
at KK they only give 2 days MC after ER and 5 days after ET.

But I'm not pregnant yet.But I will try.

hi summer
during the ER, for me, i get to choose whether to be deep asleep or half awake. of course, i choose to be deep asleep lah. my husband say i was away for about 2 hours from the time they push me to the operating theatre.

don't worry so much lah. is not painful and not as bad as what u thought.

as to MC, different hospital practice differently. i was not given any MC. But at the end of the whole process, the nurse will issue me with an HL right from the day of ER until when i am ready to go back to work. of course, to do this, the support from your boss and colleagues is very important lor, i was lucky in that aspect.

renee, you mean KKH actually gave you GA? We were given mild sedation, not asleep at all. As for MC (actually it's Hospital Leave), I was told the standard is 5 days from ER. That's all.

for me, i know the anaestetist came in and gave me the jab at 9.30, when i woke up, it was about 10. how come the nurse never wake u up one... for mine, the nurse actually woke me up and told me how many retrieved then wheeled me to ward. i can't remember what the next 3 days was like alreaady.... i think i had cramp on the day, until end of second day. by 3rd day, i'm ok. as for leave... me same thing as seow... HL all the way till anytime i want... but i ask for up to pregnancy test. i think that's one difference between kk and pte.

hi summer
depending on your threshold for pain, it will vary for everyone. mine was tolerable since it wasn't near that painful as cramps during menses. but it isn't that scary as it may seem. daunting maybe but definitely can go thru it.

if you ever decide to embark on this ivf prog, the only thing you can do is psych yourself up mentally and prepare yourself physically (eating & resting well). plus, you have found this thread, you will have all the emotional support you can find here

i thot is a must for the nurse to wake you up once the procedure is over. they will just ensure that u response and than after that will just leave u to rest in the waiting area.

think for private, they got nothing to lose and nobody to answer to mah. since u think u can go on long HL, so be it lor. why should they bother...

summar,

missmoon is right. when were u be starting your program. there are a few of us starting the Feb or Mar... will be be one of us???

tch & msh,

yes I had GA. That was told by the nurses and it was GA. I had it less than 5mins before Dr Loh came in to the op room. after he said 'Hi' to me the next thing I knew, I was sleeping in the resting ward already. there's where my pain came too.To me it was quite unbearable.definitely more than a menses cramp I usualy have.I zz from 1015-1245.I was told about the number of eggs after I changed while waitnig for further instructions.
There was a nurse at the ward though,when I first woke up. but she only told me :"you have quite alot of egg retrived" But she wasn't sure how many.then out side the waiting room a nurse asked me do I need MC.(I din need cos I'm not working)I think I'm rahter 'weak' size gal that may cause me more pain.may be I'm quite skinny.yet not that bad though.But the nurse did tell me the more eggs retrived the more pain it would be.After my ET they ask again about MC.

so I think generally ,the pain depend on the strengh of the gal as well as the no. of eggs was picked.

so summer,don't bothered too much by my experience. like the rest of the sisters said everyone has different body condition. so you may not be as bad as I did.

summer, must stay positive. The physical aspect of the prog is manageable, most importantly gotta keep your spirits up and get by the emotion part.

I had the same thing as tch, sedation. And in KK, even after you wake up, they will put you in a recovery room for a few hours until you feel better. The common side effect is vomiting and giddiness but only for a short while.

hi renee,
cannot be one lah, u must have just responded a little but u didn't know. i remembered they called my name, and i just turn my head.

think is like a policy for them to ensure that we still can wake up at the end of the day...heee

sisters sisters....,
i've become very very impatient!!!! how come the normal days pass so fast. But this Jan seems to move so slow....??? I CAN'T WAIT FOR FEB TO COME!!!!!! Wa piang, as if it will sure strike like that.

Oh yes, I remeber something. before my turn, there was a gal wheeled out from the op room. she was awake already. I was wondering how come she's not on GA.

actually my pain after ER was very unbearable.. like renee, i'm small sized and my tummy area was totally sore, so sore that i can't turn to lie on my side at alll. so i lied on my back and cried when i got terrible backache and cramp at the same time. to me that is the most suffering part of the whole treatment.

hi renee,

mind if i ask u a question. why r u not working... sorrie har, i just KPO, no need to bother if it is too conf. just that, i thot if u r working, time may pass faster and you won't be sitting at home whole day thinking about it.

blurblur,
No lah, I couldn't recall anything like that. No one call my name,no memory about waking up in the op room.niether I knew I was wheeled out of the op room also. may be they though I was in dream landzzzzzzzz.I"m also those sort can sleep vwell on plane, car, train,bus. But not motorcycle or bycicle lah! so I guess with sedation I can zz even more! so if you like can call me zz beauty. Thank you. HA HA HA ............!!

Pai seh Pai seh all sisters, I'm a little crazy now a days. Just want to cheer up abit for these rainy days.

renee, u too kan cheong already lah. calm down, concentrate on making goodies for CNY if you always make previous years. time will sure pass faster. feb will be here in another 2 weeks, very fast one!

tch,
That's what axactly happened to me too. we both same same suffer.the pain after ER very siong right? BUT I DID NOT MAKE IT!!!it was so so difficult time.....

Renee, i totally understand how u feel. when i thought of starting in Nov, i also can't wait for the first menses to come so that i can start my treatment. i also had nothing to do then and time was passing very slowly, i found so many foreign forums on ivf at that time.... and was bombarded with so muc info i read at that time... anyway none went in my head and i decidd to take one step at a time, read about that step when i come to that step. at least u hve gone thru it b4 and know what to expect liao. so relax and do some exercise now.... enjoy life where u can jump around, go swimming, cycling, jogging, shopping... that is my feeling now.... i'd advise anybody planning to start treatment soon to start execising now, b4 u not allowed to jump around anymore. cos u'd surely feel fat one during 2www....i'm almost always eating non stop and cannot exercis so buay tahan

seow, don woryy lah. just ask anything you want to know ok? I will answer anything. I was working for the pass 10 years. I stop when my contract ended. though was offer onther 5 more years but I rejected.I been wanting to have a child all a long. but came to know about our prob(me and hb)then I know I can't afford to wait. so I rather be housewife. thought of working again after 1st iVF failed. But there again if we want to do IVF, working is not so idea now. like some of the sisters here, got to think of MCs, sekali boss not happy, colleage gossip....

msh, you are not working right??

missmoon,
he he... you know me so so wel one huh? yes, you are very right. I plan to start making my pineapple tart today.correct, that will help to pass time very very fast.

msh,arr.. you are a teacher,but how come ppl school holiday you got class to teach??ai yo,you make me feel so shy in front af all our sisters . can if you want.buT how do you know whether you like my tarts? where you stay?

Hi, those of you who took 2 weeks HL without explaining to your boss the reason, what do u tell ofice when u go back from your leave?

Ya...I'm also thinking how to explain to office abt the long hospital leave. Tell them undergo a minor surgery?

I hope my MC wont be that long....my surgery to remove cyst already took up 3 wks HL. If I were to tell my boss HL for 2 wks again...he must be thinking...wah lau...why this woman always HL??!!

summer, as for me, my pain was more intense the night of ER. I was alright the next day. AS for giddiness and nausea immediately after ER, I also didn't feel that. After I was out of ER, like what Blurblur said, I was pushed to the recovery ward. Fell asleep for awhile there. Then hubby sms to say have to rush back to office urgently so I had to beg the nurse to let me leave with my hub before the compulsory 3 hours of recovery.

What MSH said is very true. I believe exercise and keeping fit is very important for whatever operations or surgery. I was a very active person who used to job and swim. Also bladed a lot last time. I believe that why I seem to have less pain and recovery faster.

hi curious,
Think u should let your boss know lor. For me, my boss is aware of what is happening and she has been very supportive. She has lobang to get discount from Gleneagles and she help me to do so.

Colleagues have also be very helpful in covering my duties, but off course i didn't tell them what happen lah.

curious, will be doing at KKH? If yes, it's just 5 days. And if your ER is on Thur or Fri, you effectively will only be away from office for 3 days.

then me how.... by the time i go back it's 2 weeks!!! what should i tell my boss and coleagues??? suggestions ??????

i told my colleagues just some minor woman's problem... they seems to believe me so far leh. but hor, i also don't know what to tell them for my next try liao....

sisters,
though I'm not working. But I'm doing my paino still. so the 1st time I just told my teacher I had minor surgery done. but the FET round I told her the truth already.

well, I know it's all different thing compare to working. that's the reason Y I din want to start work lo.

ya lor, not every can have understanding boss and helpful colleagues... like me... heee.. cannot tahan me.. so hiao liao.. joking lah hor, i am now so sleepy, the weather is so cooling for sleeping... zzzzz

if boss is the supportive type, best to tell the truth lor. otherwise, just say wat seow has mentioned. thats wat i did, until i tested +ve, then just told my boss i'm preggie.

maybe a lady boss is easier to talk lor, my boss and myself is about the same age, so, she can understand what i am going thru lor (though she has 2 kids).

ya, luckily i didn't tell my colleague, else hor, will be very pai sai now that i've failed.

i think so too, seow. my boss is male, so difficult to say it out although i know he and his wife went thru ivf also but failed. anyway, thankfully he's very supportive although he doesn't know i conceived thru ivf. but i guess it's the comfort level you have wif the boss.