blurblur,
according to prof chen's list,multivits are to avoid.The best you can check with Dr Loh.You may want to drink more milk to get calcium instead??

Thanks Renee and all, I will sure need a lot of advice

Good thing you don't have to stress over MC, now don't know what to tell my boss if I need to go on 1 week MC. How many embies did you put?

renee
if u can tahan the anticipation, then wait till day 14 to do blood test. if too kan cheong then maybe do hpt first. watever it is, u cannot be stressed over the anticipation/results...must believe and stay positive for it to happen, ok?
believe in the power of prayer!

peacy
yes, my boss v supportive in this case
thank god for that! take it easy though, during your first trimester
luckily it's the hols now, so work is not so bad?

tch, blurblur
before i went for ER and ET, i told my boss that i was going for minor procedures and will be on hospitalisation leave for 2 wks or so. i didn't go into details other than. maybe this half-truth will work? blurblur, there was a list of food to be avoided in one of the archives. can try to trace back and look for it. most important during this programme, u have to avoid chicken, ginger, chinese herbs, exercise and all soy products like soy sauce, bean curd, soya milk etc.

missmoon,
Ok I think I will wait up to day 14th. YOu will be the 1st to informed ok!!!Yes I have faith of our prayers!

The Two-Week Wait

The Waiting Game
There will be good days and bad days over the next two weeks as, full of anxiety, hope and a desperate longing to know if youre pregnant or not, you ride yet another emotional roller coaster. Allow yourself to be optimistic. Even if this is not your first IVF cycle, you are bound to feel a sense of anticipation. Try to banish negative thoughts and repeat to yourself I am pregnant. This is working.

Days 1 to 4
After all the regular scans and tests, you may feel a bit at a loose end and cut off. You should:
Ring the clinic at any time if you are concerned.
A friend can be a great support, especially if your partner is adopting a pragmatic attitude.
Could use an IVF website or chatroom to talk to other women who are going through the same experience.
Lie on the sofa with your feet up as often as possible. Watch videos back-to-back; read books.
The Chinese believe that if you focus your mind on a particular area in your body, qi or life energy will flow to that spot. So, spend 15-20 minutes every morning and evening visualising what is going on inside your uterus: the embryos are floating safely and are ready to embed in the endometrium, which is thick and well prepared.
In TCM, the kidneys play and important role in reproduction. They may quickly become depleted of energy during an IVF cycle. The kidneys are particularly active from 5pm 7pm so make sure you rest quietly then.
Deep breathing will help you relax and enhance the supply of oxygen reaching your uterus.
Keep the lower abdomen warm.
Eat warm, nourishing food.
Certain essential oils used in burners or candles can help to lift your mood or soothe and calm you.
Make sure your diet is rich in protein, zinc and essential fatty acids. Take a good multi-vitamin and mineral supplement and DHA. Eat foods that a rich in selenium and remember to drink a minimum of 2 litres of water a day.

Days 5 to 7
You may be starting to get restless, obsessively thinking about the implantation, looking for signs that things are going according to plan and possibly misinterpreting every symptom. Sore breasts, mild shooting pains and bloating are all indications, in fact, that things are going well. Its very important to keep yourself occupied:
Go for a leisurely walk or do some gentle yoga.
Focus on the colour blue if you feel yourself starting to panic.
Practise deep breathing and meditation to help you relax.
Talk your worries with a friend or your partner but focus on the positive.
You might like to consider acupuncture 7 days following transfer when the embryo will be starting to implant.

Days 8 to 14
You may be starting to get restless, obsessively thinking about the implantation, looking for signs that things are going according to plan and possibly misinterpreting every symptom. Sore breasts, mild shooting pains and bloating are all indications, in fact, that things are going well. Its very important to keep yourself occupied:
Meditate for at least 20 minutes everyday. Do lots of positive visualisation.
Pregnancy Testing:
The only way you can be sure whether or not you are pregnant is to have a blood test and HCG or beta blood test at your fertility clinic. It really is best not to use a home testing kit, which might give you an agonisingly misleading result, but of course I know that in reality many women will just not be able to resist doing so.
Even the most sensitive blood test cannot detect HCG until about ten days after ovulation, and there is huge variation in what is regarded as the normal level. Pregnancies that eventually miscarry or which ectopic often show normal HCG levels initially, whereas low levels may still produce a healthy pregnancy.
If you were given HCG injection as part of your fertility treatment, it might distort readings for 14 days. Doing 2 tests on different days usually solve this problem: if the level increases on the second, the likelihood is that you are pregnant. So, do try not to resort to using the evil pee sticks and wait until your clinic can give you a definite and accurate result that will not be accompanied by any nagging doubts.

hi ladybird,
Thank you so so much for doing such a long typing for us sisters here.I will print it out and read through it. Hope it will be my great help!!
Really really appreciate your efforts.

Wow ladybird,

Thanks for the tips regarding the 2WW. I wish it was given to me earlier while I was trying my 1st IVF. Anyway, I will use it for my next round in Jan. Once again, thanks for sharing.

Hi blurblur, I am with DR SF Loh at KKH. You really don't have to worry about the needle prick. It's just that, a needle prick. Much less painful than blood extraction. Hope that helps.

I have this problem don't whether others are facing. I seem to have constipation ever since I start the IVF cycle. Drinking prune juice doesn't even quite help....

One other problem we are facing now is that DH has been sick for weeks and just started on antibiotics. And I have a sore throat leading to infection, also on antibiotics. Anyone knows whether that will affect the ICSI which is suppose to be next week?! aarrrrgh..........

Hi gals, no problem. I'm a full time housewife too. Super free! So since I'm reading on it might as well share it with everyone else. Really really hope that everyone here can fulfil their dreams to have a healthy baby or babies soon!

Renee,
Jia you ok!! Repeat after this: I AM PREGNANT, THIS IS WORKING!! (A bit psycho but if it works who cares haha)

Hi shasha,
I'm also gg for my 2nd try in Jan. Same here, I didnt research much during my first round. Took a lot of cold fizzy drinks, coffee, soyabean, chicken etc. At that time, I was working too and the job was very stressful. Make it worse, I am a very pessimistic person. Looks like I have to psycho myself to think positively this round!

Ladybird,

Wow, found myself a kaki, hope that everything will go smoothly this time and may our dream come true.....
kao_babydust2.gif

Hi ladybird,
OK I will keep telling myself that-I AM PREGNANT, THIS IS WORKING.I AM PREGNANT,THIS IS WORKING.......HA HA!

regarding the list of food to avoid, is it the one posted by tomatoe on 16 Nov? So many postings

Hi tch,

Thanks for the encouragement and support...I am going to KKIVF early in the morning for the nurse to guide for the first time, then it will be on my own.

Good thing, my DH is very nice...he even volunteer to jab me when he knows I am afraid. I will try to be as brave as possible...maybe i should try the method that ladybird mentioned: I AM NOT AFRAID OF NEEDLE

So u shld be scheduled for the scan on this friday and then proceed to egg pick up (abt 6 days earlier than me) Jia you
kao_babydust2.gif

Hi blurblur,

My DH also does the injection for me during my 1st fresh IVF transfer. Tomorrow we're gng back to KK for a refresher course. I think it's better if someone do it for us. I just dun hv the courage to inject myself! *fainted*

Maybe might see you there ;)

Ladybird,

According to my Doc, I can eat anything and follow a normal life during IVF. I think different clinic havd different protocol. But I am always open for suggestion. So what are you doing while waiting for the time being???

Hi Shasha,

Yeah, most of the time doctors will advise that you can eat anything and follow a normal life. Especially western doctors. Even some chinese sinsehs, which I thought would be those who will dish out all kinds of dos and donts, merely advise that I should avoid cold food & drinks.

So far the only exception I've come across is Prof. Chen. His clinic advises patients on a list of food to avoid. After my failed IVF last round, I've become v.kiasu these days. No harm trying it out. I'll take all chances. Hehe..

Ladybird,

I am with NUH. And currently during TCM with YYS, @ PS. She gives chinese herb like 3 in one coffee mix, just pour warm water and drink after meal, to be taken 3X a day and acpunture 2X a week. The doc don't mind if I go for alternative medication while waiting for 2nd IVF. But I should stop it once I starts on Superfact

I am back from KKH and I did it myself, not as bad as I imagined it to be

The initial was tough, I was kinda breathless but am very glad it was over. Now have to make sure that I can do just as good for tomorrow

Hihi ladybird,

u also going to KKH today too? Which doc?

Hi renee
How many days now after ET?
You must really stay super positive coz all of us are giving your 100% support.

Blurblur,

..... Ok... baby steps all the way. Gald that you pass the first stage with anything hold back...Congrats..

Hi peacy,
this is my 7th day.Thank all of the sisters here who given me all the support.Hope I won't let you down. besides I hope my result in a week's time would be a positive one and shall let all my sisters here have more courage to move forward and look forward to. Thank you peacy. Can i ask for more baby dust please?? He he....i not shy, early morning ask for it.

Hi good morning ladies,

Have not been in here for quite a while and wow there are so many newbies... :p Good to see so many around.

Hi Potato Chip,
How are you doing? Must keep your body in tip-top condition. Oh btw, I went to see the MP sinseh as well and find that he is quite professional. Except for the part that he keep sneezing throughout our consultation. hahaha.. Oh my condition aren't that good cos he said that one side of my ovary is very weak and uterus is cold... so a bit sian. Medicine given but don't know how to brew...
He knows that I'm gg for ICSI as well so encourage me to take his medicine and try naturally first before gg to ICSI.

Hi Tomatoes,
Have not been seeing you logging in for awhile.. how is BBG now? Tnsw & vege_c also disappear for awhile.. wonder how are they.

Hi Ad,
How is your condition now? Hope you are doing fine..

hi renee & gals,

been quite awhile since i last popped by here.. here's loads of baby dust to you gals
good luck and keep a positive mind!!

Thanks AH, kinda proud of myself...being quite thickskinned here

Hihi Renee,
Peacy is right, we are all with you...jia you okie.

Hi Candysweet1, glad that you are back

Thanks Cookiemz.

Ai yo yo All my sisters here are so sweet.I really feel so touch and so blessed with all your support.How can I not be positive leh?? I really hope after so many good news for the pass few weeks, I will be able to keep up this happy environment, let the rest who are going through ivf a strong boaster!!Let's pray for more good news to come alright?!!

Hi AH
Thanks for your care and concern. I am just experiencing mild MS. Hopefully, it will go away soon. So far, my appettite is still ok. Having nausea but not much vomitting. Going for my first scan tomorrow. Will share the the details with you gals when I come back.

Hi candysweet

ya, long time din appear liao coz busy with work and emails

so when are you going for your IVF? you are with KKH rite?

Do keep us informed of your progress ok?

Hi candysweet

How are you too?
BBG is fine... turning 5months next week... time flies...

Hi Peacy & Cookiemz

Both of you take good care ok? Keep us updated of your progress hor

Potato_chip reporting here. I had my V-scan and is confirmed TWIN. Think tis will b very motivating for all those going for FET.

Hi Peacy

I think yrs will b twin too based on yr beta result. Waiting for yr good news tmr.

Hi PC

Wow!!! Twins! Congratulations!!! You must take extra care hor... been waiting for your updates all these while...

peacy,
if I able to conciev this time.I will tell my child next time about all the anties here who had given his/her mommy so much support.and that's how he/she can see the world.... He he.. I must be going siow liao!!
You must be very much looking forward for tom scan huh? how I wish my day would come soon.really happy for you.enjoy every moment from now ok.
sister,did you rested the full 14days before blood test was done to confirm you are pregnant?I managed to sit and lie most of the time for the fisrt 6days.today I move about a little bit more cos I got hungry very often,and walked in and out kitchen to make food.Still thinking of should I do HPT in few days time or not. very scared leh.

Hi potato chip,
hooh! don no what to say.... you are such lucky one!! thousands of congrats!Pls take good good care ok.
I also like to find out from you, did you rested the full 17 days before blood test?it's my 6th dAy today.what did you do after the 1st week rest?pls advise. thanks.

P chip

Congratulations!!! Really envy you, TWINS LEH!!

So happy for you. Must take extra care for the 9 months okie?

Hi Renee,

tons & tons of BD for u!! Be positive. okie! I'm sure you will be able to announce ur good news here soon...
kao_babydust2.gif

CEO,
wow....twins! congrats congrats!

hey ET!
how have you been? bb ok? when will be the big day?
thank you so much for your bb dust.sweep sweep sweep.....

Hi Renee

For yr info hor, i rested from Sunday to Friday. I still cook my own meals during these few days. On Sat, oready so busy helping up in a wedding ceremony. My hb was so worried about me. Relax and still positive is most important.

Hi potatoe chips, congrats! How many embryo did you transfer?

Blurblur, glad that you overcame the first step. It's not so scary afterall right...jia you too.

Hi renee,

bb okay...now approaching 3rd trimester liao...how time flies huh! already come to end of the yr liao...my big day in mar 06

pot chip,
Ai yo, you so "SAT',still cook??then later help out in wedding....did you do your HPT before due for blood test?
I'm not so positive besides my embries was lousy,also I have the condition called 'EDENOMYOSIS'which will reduce the chance for embries to embed to the uterus.somthing like not enough space for the embries to stay and not so good condition for them to live.I guess if I don't have this problem i may lead a good chance. sad to say that more and more women are getting it due to stress.

i wish all sisters here have a magical and joyfull christmas to come ok. I hope all of us here will receiv the greatest gift ever during this season-BABIES.

will try my very best to be relax and pray hard for my christmas present. hehe.....

Although I don't know you ladies that well, but I am really motivated by all your stories as I am having the lucrin injection and going for my IVF soon. renee, may I know if this is your first try ....., hope you will get pregnant too as I can really feel with you the eagerness to get preggie.