mummy wannabe, did you do a blood test although u are having AF? I read the old archives in forum that someone had AF like flow but did bloodtest was found to be pregnant.
In kkivf, during briefing on ivf, the nurse said we must do BT even if we have AF

Tickles, Mummy Wannabe

Sorry.... hehhe got confused..

Re: Egg whites

Dun eat raw after ET, may get diarrhea which is worse let.. you will dehydrate. not only that you'll squeeze your womb when going toilet, which is bad lor.

When I was 9 weeks, ate too much papaya until diarrhea 2 days in a roll. Had severe bleeding (blood dripping on the floor and flowing down my leg type) rush to 24 hour clinic.... Dr Loh order immediate warding and CRIB. Den must CRIB at home for one month. Lucky go to KK in time, or else will miscarriage...

Mummy Wannebe

Re: OHSS

They din drain out fluid, just gave me painkillers and told me to monitor, and make sure got urine lor. yeah! that time preggie with those 2 imps.

Tickles

Can't blame the nurse lor. Cos when I got my cord blood kit that time, there label the box wrongly.. And they also put the mother's blood collection kit in the 2nd box. Cos they only need to take once will do mah!

Bcos I had emergency c-section, they did not have time to prepare. I specifically warn them about the box labeling they forgot to inform Dr Loh. By the time, Dr Loh came in, commented that I looked tired and asked me if I felt anything on my tummy, he already took my first gal out and proceeded with extracting the cord blood. That time already too drowsy to remind again. I was too tired after having contraction for 48 hours leh. On top of it, got severe gastric pain lor.. no choice but to go for emergency c section liao.

My gals stayed in SCN for 3 weeks, while I stayed for one week. Total expenditure for that 3 weeks plus my package was about $50k before government grant and insurance claim. And this is after downgrading from A1 to B2 class for them. All in all, out of pocket is about 20k. Excluding IVF expenses.

papaya is a very cooling fruit. So pls avoid for sisters who r trying for bb or who r pregnant. Similarly for dragon fruits. Cooling. AVOID.

Gan

Call them up they say dun need to do BT. I use HPT negative so should be safe hor.

Mrs Teng

At least u suffer and got your 2 precious one worth it. How much is the government grant any idea?

for fruits, apples are safe and very good for pregnant ladies also.. avoid peanuts if get pregnant. Coz peanuts cause allergies in bbs, esp more so if taken in the final trimester. At times, we Nv notice the biscuits or snacks we eat.. May contain peanuts, cook in peanut oil, etc. Some bbs have prone to ecezmia, allergies, etc because of the certain food the mothers took during pregnancy.

So, must really watch the diet.

mummy, gan n tickles, take durians occasionally b4 and when u start the cycle again. My friend n a few of her friends all strike in ivf attempts. I followed her advice n took also n strike too. Durians are very nutritious, 'pu' though high in sugar content. I can eat everyday a few seeds n my body can take it... but not every one can.. So take moderately

tickles, dun take chicken essence everyday, those bottle kind got lots of artificial stuff inside. Some contain stabliser n carmael. I did not take a single bottle coz my friend who strike in all 3 of her ivf cycles told me to avoid chicken. She said chicken these days are injected with hormones n that Cld interfere with our hormones jabs. I did not take a single pc of chicken once I commenced Lucrin. Only now then I take again.

I asked my beautican who r into health products. She told me also that chicken r full of hormones. She said children, esp girls who take lots of chicken tend to mature faster n reach puberty faster.

I also stopped soy food also based on this friend's advice. But I still take soya sauce. Just no soya milk which I used to take quite often.

mummy, I eat abt 3 to 4 seeds each time, one wk twice. depending on individual. Some will get heatimess or constipation if too much. I remember 1 sister commented that Durians make every thing grow! Another sis said she believe coz her colleague also buy durians for the wife b4 n during pregnancy.

But bear in mind, durians make u put on weight very fast n very high in sugar. So dun overdose also....

mummy, I did not take any cold drink either. when eating out, I always ask for warm water. the same friend told me to avoid. Not even cold fruits from fridge or milk. I just listen to her since she 3x all strike.

Hazel i also never take cold drinks
sian never strike plus all the suffering until now. I think must take durian the next round.

oh Ya,, not even tea. English or chinese tea. when I go to chinese or jap restaurant, the cup of tea is always untouched. I will ask for warm water. No barley or lime juice for me either.

I thought after 1st trimester can take warm barley leow when outside. But my beautican told me to avoid till delivery. She said some bbs cannot take it... LAter, bb's health weak..

Keep ur body strong n dun fall sick. If menses go hayweird after failed ivf cycle. Fix that first. Coz it Cld mean hormones still haywire. if So, u definitely dun wan more hormones medicine or jabs which r needed during ivf...

Hazel, thanks for the info on durains, will take more often now since durain is one of my favourite.

Mummy wanna be, i also never take any cold drinks, milk or fruits from fridge but didn't strike too. Don't let this bring you down. *hugz* you have done your best. Next one will be a success.

mummy, go Novena church n pray. Only on sat, each session is 35mins n there r many sessions on every sat... U need to pray consecutively for 9x. ie 9 sats. Write a petition on your wish to get pregnant n hv a bb, dropped it in the petition box, all petitions will be prayed by the church folks for 9 wks...

Just in case u r wondering, I am not a catholic. But I hv been faithfully going to Novena every sat. I wrote a petition too b4 I started on The cycle. every one who goes for Novena 35mins session is there to pray for something.. when I was desperate, eg when I missed my Lucrin jabs for a few days n saw blood, I went there to ask for help, for miracle at night.. I can see a handful of pp there just sitting there praying for something also.... some were crying, some have red eyes.

Novena sessions are always crowded coz pp like me go pray for god's intervention n help.

tickles, if ur menses is not had to normal, go see a doc. Take medicine to tune it back. Is very common. Some pregnant ladies, after delivery n stop breastfeading, menses also go haywire, but after a 1 or 2 mths of medicine, back to normal, again.

Hazel i believe that god can hear your prayers. Last time i am from a catholic school. But i can't go there mainly i am a buddist. Dh sure to kill me haha. This step cannot follow.

Gan, sorry and no offence... Abt the herbs during 2ww that i brought up in another thread is only for discussion and not suggestion.. so u must check with dr zou but deciding whether or not to take coz i know almost all ivf drs is against this. Perhaps sisters who went thru 2ww with dr zou herbs can advise us on this...

Hi happyhippo, wat did he comment on ur case during ur last visit with dr foong? 40 years old doing ivf in spore is common nowadays so i dun think his not interested attitude is related to ur age la or perhaps nowadays he is real busy so kind of restless.. I know hw u feel... If u r not uncomfortable with him anymore then perhaps u shld change dr liao. Btw is this ur first ivf?

lyn, my dh went with me.. He is a catholic. No, u r supposed to go for 9 consecutive sats not many sessions on 1 sats. do a google n u can find Novena sessions on the website. on sat, it starts as early at 7 or 8am in the am... each session 35mins. Lunch is at 12 to 1am, n the sessions resume again till 7pm which is the last. Sure got 1 slot can fit u...

Mummy, I am brought up in a taoist cum buddhist family. Dh Nv force me to go Novena sessions, coz he is not a religious catholic. He is batispised at birth. But I wan to go. Coz as long as I conceive n deliver a healthy bb, that's the most impt. B4 marriage, we agreed that we will leave to our children to choose their own religion when they grow up.. But now, this is not impt anymore. As long as god really bless my bb n me, I am willing to agree to anything. Nothing is more impt than my bb... Even my parents relented n agreed with me.. when we r desperate, god helps us, we must be grateful.

All the sisters help go through the same cycle as me.. But we know success rate is not 100%.. some r lucky to strike at 1st attempt n carries on to deliver healthy bbs. Some r not as lucky, hv to try more than once to strike. Some strike but later lost it. Why leh? I believe is not the doc or our faults. Is just luck n pure divine help. Look around us, some pp are lucky in every thing they do... Buddhists believe that coz of good karma in past life. Possible. But, does others with not as good karma must resign to fate?

So, for me, I am willing to give all avenues a try. Nothing beat having a healthy bb... So when I found out that praying seriously at Novena will grant my wish. I just try. Fyi, is not my dh who told me abt Novena. Whichever god it is, they all meant good.

lyn, u dun need kakis to go Novena. If u seriously seek help do u need kakis? at Novena sessions, everyone goes there to pray for something. At times, if u notice, some are teary. I experienced that also when am desperate.

after we successfully get pregnant, the 9 mths ahead is not going to be easy. Anything can happen during this period n is not within our control. Divine help is still needed. So, I still go down to Novena every sat to pray. At home, daily I pray also.... not my dh asked me to.. I did it on my own. Coz I Want to get pregnant, I wan a healthy bb n a smooth 9 mths ahead. I alone can't make that happen.

Hi Sister
Wish Everyone A Happy New Year and May This New Year Bring Joy and Hope For Us.

Hi Lyn
How r U? I faithfully goes to Novena every Sat morning since June last yr w Fresh and Libby...Hope my prayer will be heard and answered...: )

Hi Mummy
I'm not a catholic and hubby is a buddhist, he did not forbids me to go to Novena for praying every sat, if he's free on sat, he also send me to Novena for praying....We also goes to Zu Sheng Niang Niang at Joo Chiat Temple to pray also...

Hi hazel, yes u r right nonthing is as imp as having a bb now.... As this is gtg to be the first time i be doing novena, so after praying we r able to write a peititon for the priest to pray for us?

Hi noi, i m fine. How abt u?

lyn, there are boxes mark 'petitions & thanksgiving' there for u to post ur petition letter. write your petition n put in a envelop, mark it pte & confidential if you dun wan the priest to pick at random to read out during Novena service. all these letters will be retrieved later by the church folks n pray for 9 wks...

u can go abt 20mins earlier b4 the service starts. Go to the bookshop near the canteen there. There will be a short queue of people outside the bookshop where the they queue to tell the priest their wish n priest will say some prayers. maybe it was god's will, I stumbled upon this queue just b4 ER.. Coz the priest will go back to church to start the next Novena service once he has blessed the people. So u must catch that moment. He usually go there in between services.

If u tell the priest that u pray for a bb, in addition to blessing u, he may ask u to pray to ST gerard who pray to god for children. The st gerard book can be bought from the bookshop, $2. flick it, there are 1 short paragraph for conceiving, 1 paragraph for pregnant ladies, etc. Read the appropriate paragraph a few times a day depending which stage u r at.
that time when I stumbled on that queue, the priest told me to get the book to pray. nobody ever told me abt this, not even catholic dh..

U can google to find out more of st gerard.

At the front of the church, near the alters, there r 2 mother mary's shrines . One of the extreme left while another one at the side of the alter. U can't miss them coz after every service, pp will queue there for their turn to touch the shrine n to pray directly to mother mary. There is a donation box there also if u wan to donate a small token as appreciation. I stumbled on this one day also n when I asked dh what these people were doing, he then told me.. I hv been going Novena service since 2008 but not on consecutive weeks though. But I make it a pt to go every wk when I start the ivf cycle n b4 ER, I stumbled on these 2 items, the priest who blessed n the shrine. Is fate loh... Coz dh Nv talk to me abt catholic stuff so I wun know at all if not by chance.

I will go to her shrine n pray to her every sat... I pray to St gerard for intercession a few times a day also.... I hope god has mercy on me n grant me a health bb n smooth 9 mths since am helpless.

Hazel, thks for being so detailed... I never know abt all these if u didnt mention abt it 2day..
The peititon need to write name? Sorry stupid question..

Lyn ...i have chinese herb during the 2ww...it works well for me....

Now i'm very nervous for the first scan tom...hope everything is ok

lyn, I wrote dh n my name. Mother Mary must know who u r right? Just write the petition like writing a sincere letter to a friend. what you have been through n wat r your plans n wishes. Our prayer alone may be insufficient to move God. But the petition will be prayed by a grp of church folks. So through the prayers of some many pp, GOD will be moved.

In addition, Ask ur close friends and family members, those who u know really mean well to help pray for you after ET for a successful pregnancy. They can be catholic, christians or buddhists. it does not matter.

During one of the Novena sessions, the priest shared a real life story of a girl who had a bad accident when she was studying in australia. The doc told her parents that even if she regains consciousness, she will Nv be the same as b4 as her brain was injured badly. Her parents refused to give up.. They called up friends all over the world to pray for her daughter sincerely. miracle happened. She not only regained conscious, but she recovered fully. So if there is a grp of pp who sincerely pray together with us and for us, good things will happen.

Good luck

oh, u need get the small Novena prayer book from the bookshop there. just a few bucks. Ask the lady there if u dunno, bring tt book to Novena service. Everyone there has one

hi cat, u had dr zou herbs during 2ww? Its great to hear abt it... gdluck for 2molo scan...

Hazel, thks for ur sincere advice...

hey gals

Happy New Year! May 2010 be productive, sustainable and full of harvest.

A little abt myself, been thru 3 clomid cycles, 2 IUI - 1 resulting in miscarraige and another in a life threatening ectopic pregnancy. 1 failed fresh cycle, 3 failed FET. 1 successful fresh cycle in late 2008 with severe OHSS and a CRIB pregnancy, gave birth prematurely by 5 weeks thru emergency c section.

Left some embryos, so planning to go for FET late this month, though i been through FET before, but I can't remember exactly the procedure at KKH, can anyone enlighten or share their experience?

hi lyn
i can't pinpoint exactly wat dr foong said, it is just the whole conversation that gave me that feeling, plus looking back at the past few months.
abt my ivf, i started injections but stopped the process coz response not gd,etc. it was very disappointing coz we waited so long to start, had to plan for a more 'free period' at work, etc, etc. now got to delay further for body to rest, its just all so frustrating.
btw, hv u done ivf with any otr doc before? if yes, can share your experience?
thks !

Hi babymaking

I did my FET 3 years ago with KKH thus can't really recall the procedure. I'm gg through another FET now. can share the information I got from the nurse, need to see a KKH Dr as they need to schedule for some scans and tests. All ok, can schedule for FET. We can choose either natural or assisted. I opt for natural, so hv to go for scan and urine test from D10. If test positive or scan shows lining is 8, they will thaw the embryo for transfer.

This month, maybe due to anxiety my ovulation is delayed. Alrdy D14 but still test not positive.

Suggest you call KKH to double check on the procedure. Heard from the nurse last Thu that they will be closed for a few days during LNY.

I went thru a failed fresh cycle and 1 successful FET in early 2006.

Good Luck and all the best to you.

Hi ladies, is there anything that I shd take or do after the embryo transfer to increase chances of success?

Hi happyhippo, u started the jabs under dr foong clinic? If yes, then wats his suggestion to u?

Beside dr foong, i have seen prof wong in NUH. He is a straight and honest dr.. he will not beat around the blush.. Perhaps u want to see him? Dr LC cheng i heard is good but TMC lab not so reputable. So maybe u shld make 2 appts to see these 2 drs to discuss further then make decision where to try again.

the novena booklet can be bought at the bookshop there. It cost $1 with the plastic cover inclusive. The booklet is plam size and can be found on the top shelf directly opposite the casher of the bookshop.

Novena is every sat for an hour per session. The sessions are:
9am, 10am,11am, 1pm, 2pm, 3pm (chinese), 4pm, 5pm, 6pm and 7pm.

Lyn,

Even if you write your name in the petitions, normally it is not being read out. They would normally say your loving daughter or loving son.

I already went for 9 consecutive week with my DH and now as many sats I can make it
Hope God hears my prayers
Guess he heard some of my prayers for some sister here.. have to take turn to get blessed by him
I am waiting patiently.

hazel,

I was also in the session about the australian gal. It is such a miracle. Still praying hard to have a baby too
Prayed for many sisters here who is going thru the process and so far they made it.. so happy for them
Hope God will hear my prayers for myself too

Humbug, I am sure God will grant your wishes. Like what my friend sms me "He is not a father who gives stone to his children when they asked for fish."

Hi all sisters, Happy 2010 to all and best wishes to our TTC dream. Let hope that we can all promote to the MTB thread within 2010.
Just managed to read through these few days message since unable to logon this few days.

Hi Hope & Faith, never done Antral Follicle Count. Only remember one of the pre-ivf test was to test overy reserve. Not the same test right?

Hi Mummy Wannabe, must go for BT to confirm cos I read somewhere that some lady have menses in the first few months of their pregnancy. NUH nurse also mentioned some early pregnant not detectable by the best HPT. BT still the most accurate test.

Hi Tickles, you eat 10 egg white a day!!! Really salute you. Dr Zou normally recommend avoiding acupuncture on the first few days of menses.

Hi Mrs Teng, you twins realy very cute looking. Why blastocyst more difficult to implant? I also thought it will be high chance.

Hi Hazel, Is it too late to start taking durian now since iI already started Gonal F for 9 days? Just done my scan yesterday and was told that there are 9 follicle now and Prof Wong only measure 2 of them (size 11 and 9). Any idea how to improve quantity and quality now?
I also went to Novena church but not consecutively for 9 weeks due to travelling etc... Looks like I got to be more discipline and write petition letter so that more people can help me to pray.

minimouse, nothing is too late. Can eat anytime. 9 follicles are good. I only hv 8 at my first scan n a no were small below 10mm n scan doc said unlikely the small ones can catch up to 16MM within a few days.

2nd scan I hv 11 follicles. only 1 is below 10mm. So doc was wrong. ur mind must be strong, tell your follicles to grow everyday.

U dun need to hv lots of follicles n be at risk to ohss which is terrible. U just need enough follicles with good eggs. Fyi, out of 11, I retrieved 8 eggs n 5 become embryos. I used 2 still got 3 spare frozen away.

Some sisters just hv 2 embryos n that 2 strike twins. So dun worry abt the numbers. pray for good embryos n a successful pregnancy instead.

Mimimouse,
I take 10 egg whites before my ER till b4 my ET when I was injecting Puregon. My doc told me to do so.. Later then I know its to ease the bloatedness. Then after ET, I didnt take as much already. I only cook it in soup to drink. But the egg whites that I took before ER, I was told to take it as raw as possible else got no effects le.. So I always do soft boil eggs. CARE told me if I get sick of the eggs, I must find diff and creative ways of eating them like mixing in orange juice etc to drink.. The tot of eating so many eggs a day make me want to puke!!

I went to visit Dr Zou yday. She didnt start acu for me cos I'm having heavy flow now. Told me to go back on Thurs.

Hazel,
My menses finally came full force le.. Then alot leh.. I got 2 days of spotting then 3 days of heavy flow.. So I guess no need to see doc abt my menses le. Now waiting for menses to end then I can start on acu..

So tempted to go Novena church to write the petition after reading your post. I also hope that more people can help me pray.. But I'm not catholic. Anyone can just go right?

Hazel,
Saw your post on the durians.. OKok.. I'll try that in my next IVF attempt.. Thanks!
Regarding the chix essence, erm.. cant take daily huh? I tot I read and saw from archive someone say she took it daily.. alamak..

Mrs Teng,
Wa.. 50k is alot of $$. Lucky got insurance.. Still got govt grant? You were with KKH huh?