JJ, hope everything will be fine and u can venture ur IVF journey soon

Soon-to-be, wow, my good friend also said the same thing as u! She said if boy ok, if girl takes after me then no good.

Singapoh, my udon is here. Ya,, am going to stuff myself again.. Haha

I guess for the old timer like us we are used to Hazel's way of being direct and blunt when stating her fact. Just remember that there are new comer and also everyone are more sensitive in going through this IVF journey. So we are here to support and share what we know and hope will help eachother.

This is a season to be jolly and full of miracle. So I hope everyone who are in 2wks will have the blessing.

JJ, if hubby really has no sperm, then i think yes, he will need to do the surgery to extract sperm. Sorry to hear your experience at KKH when finding out the bad news. For me, even choosing govt hosp but still go in as private patient because i don't want any tom dick and harry doctor to see me for every visit. Im happy with NUH service. I decided on NUH because I don't want to wait for so many months with KKH.

Like some of us say here, choose the doctor and hospital that you are comfortable with. This is a stressful journey, if every visit to hospital and gynae add more stress to you, then what's the point, right?
Touchwood, but say if 1st try to decide to do at TMC, if really fail, then 2nd try do in govt hospital loh.

I think if they need to extract your hubby sperm with surgery, they surely will extract more and freeze them. So the next time, just transfer that to do at govt hospital, can right?

nctgrace, if you really feel miserable with the bloating, i think you better call KKH and ask for advise now, since now it is still operation hours loh.
Take care and we all here waiting for the good news from you.

soon-to-be,
i did hpt on test strip and got a faint line.. thot my eyes were playing tricks on me... cos never see a double link on hpt before... ask hubby to buy a clearblue test for me and ended up the test was faulty.. couldn't see the result so decided to wait for BT...

hazel,
i'm due next feb... having a bb gal...

Vi4n, Hehehe.. u r right. Now is Xmas seasons, santa claus will grant all of us BFP! Thanks for ur generous well wishes

Eskimobaby, you stil got the patience to wait for your hubby to buy another test kit for you.
For me, i tested morning see faint line, i straight away went to GP to do BT.
Aft time GP confirmed positive already. Next morning tested on digital clear blue.
in total i tested 4 times with hpt for the period of 2 weeks since the first faint line. hahahaha.. Because like you, i never see positive on hpt before. So it was really something i enjoyed to see more and more, until hubby said i crazy.

eskimo, am also born in feb! Congrats. If I were u, I will be very excited. So u doing confinement during cny.. Everything also ex... Nvmimd, earn a daughter. Worth it

Vi4n,

Aiyo why you did so many HPT? Waste money lei. I bought Guardian HPT. Buy 2 get 1 free. I tested on D12, was really surprised that the + line appeared so fast and dark. Really didn't expect that. My dh didn't believe me. Asked me to do another 1 in the evening. I did and same thing happened. Next day I went down do BT. Nurse told me not to do coz only D13. Maybe can't detect. But I was there already so might as well lah. My reading was very high 618 +. That's why I suspected I am having twins

vi4n,
i was staring at the strip for the longest time... my hubby didn't want me to test but i secretly test keke

hazel,
yeah... but my mum is doing for me... and getting a maid as well...

Singapoh & Eskimobaby, me too. i stared and stared, then called hubby and burst to tears..

Thats the only time i cried after that i calmed down already.

Oh i bought the first response test kit from OZ. it is 3 in one and it is cheap only $12AUD. And I wanna see the word 'Pregnant' in digital Clear blue, so bought that here. but only used 1. So in total i had 4 tests loh.

Hazel, I don't know leh, i also very scared to do HPT but during 2wks rest, i did have a strong feeling that finally miracle did happen on us.

Vi4n,

So emotional ah.. 1st ivf cycle, I took pix of the test and mms my hubby. I wrote "guess what? 2 lines!". He's so blured. Asked his female colleague what does that mean. Faint~

2nd time, I just called him lah.

Hazel,

I disagree with you that having own mum as confinement nanny is the best. They can become very naggy and you can lose your cool! My gf told me so. Nanny works for you and do things your way..:D

Singapoh, hahaha your hubby is blur.

Yes, very emotional that first time. I have used hpt for like 10yrs never see a positive line. So what do you think?
we even thought we will cry when first saw baby on the screen, but surprisingly both of us are fine.

Hazel, i think most of us here all have the fear to do HPT but just be hopeful that this time will have different result.

I think depending what type of mom you have and the relationship with you. Not all mommy are domestic. I for one will never have my mom as confinement lady. hahahha.. my mil has bad experienced with CL because both are controlling type. So i don't want to have that experience as my sil, i decided not to CL. will just engage a maid to help my mil around.
I just pray will find a good maid agency and a good maid.

Thanks eskimobaby, singapoh, vi4n, su_yana for being kind & civil to me when explaining abt IVF.

I don't see myself as contradicting as I haven't even firmed up on a hosptial yet. I'm sourcing for infor from pple who has experienced both govt & pte hospital & will draw my own conculsions after that. Thank you very much.

Hazel it pays to be kinder to others... so much for not "affecting" the 1st timers.

Blissful,

Your son is so sticky to you ah. Must let him spend more time with your dh.

My son is very easy going. Can follow anybody ~ my mum, dh, MIL, even strangers

Singapoh i think Vi4n has a very good relationship with her mil, she mentioned earlier they treat her like a daughter. So i guess it make sense for her mil to do her confinement.

Vi4n, but i am more comfortable with my mum. Like my 2ww, i stayed with my mum, easier to tell my mum my likes/dislikes. =p
Anyway my mil also never offers to help take care of me. =p

JJ, take your time to decide after you have all your result and consultation with the doctor.
It is most confusing time, we all understand. But once you decided and go through it, everything will be clearer. We all been there.

Singapoh, we married in 98. Though not actively try but sometimes we though maybe have then test but always no chance. After couple of years i have a feeling i'm not the type that easily get pregnant already. Then actively tried still nothing, tried clomid, nothing, then TCM for 2 years, only this year we decided can't wait any longer have to try IUI at least. So since January, we started the IUI and SO IUI. 3 times failed, so ended up with IVF.

JJ, Hazel is a straightforward person, she doesn't mean any harm

we are all here to share with one another and learn from each other's experience.

Take your time to make your decision ya. To me it is important to go to a doctor whom you are comfortable and relate to.

Singapoh, i only need my mil to cook and monitor the maid. but surely my mil will wants to be the one caring for baby. i will let her be. My pil are very protective type of parent. So i will just let them love me too.
But i'm very direct with them too. So I do tell them off when I'm not happy or i prefer my own way and they are fine with it. When first time i decided to have long r/s with hubby, i already told his family directly that i'm a very direct person, so don't get offended so easily.
anything just let me know and i will tell them straight as well. Anyway even my sils treat me more like their sister than as their brother's wife. Very weird.

Gan, just decide based on what you prefer.

I can tell you if you have CL that also only want to have her own way only, you will definitely have more headache.

Gan,

Sometimes too close can also disagree especially when the elderly is very old fashioned and you are a modern lady. During confinement, can be very stressful ~ recovering, breastfeeding, lack of sleep which can lead to post natal depression.

vi4n,

I think our story is very similar. I married in 98. 3 years later then started trying but I was always away so missed many ovulation period. Tried IUI x 3, TCM then IVF in 06.

Singapoh, i will be getting a confinement lady. =) don't want my mum to be too tired.

I already think that these 2 weeks, cooking for me everyday is very tiring for her.

Vi4n,

You will definitely need your MIL to care for your newborn. You will be too tired to do so. Don't try to be a superwoman like me last time. Wahaha...

Ok peace ...

My fren is having prob with MIL taking care of her bb too ... different methods of caring bah ... But bo pian she has to tahan cos her in laws stay near her.

Think no matter in laws / own parents sure will have conflict in brining up the child ...

We also will hv headache on who to take care of bb (in future) as we don't stay really near either sets of parents

Gan,

Yeah it's not easy to do everything and take care of a newborn. Better rest more during the day coz you will be doing graveyard shift if you breastfeed your baby.

JJ, i am actually thinking of putting my baby/babies in infant care when i go back to work.

because not used to having a maid to stay in my home. if no maid, will be tough on parents to take care.

JJ,

If you really want to move, move near your own mum. Can't depend on MIL one. If you can survive on your dh's salary, become a SAHM. Best to take care of your own baby.

gan, u wan to put bb in infant care? As a friend, I advise u not too. Bb in infant care falls sick very often. After we been through so much to conceive, we see already will heart pain one... Also, is abt 1k per bb at least... twins then 2k leow. not saying that u can't afford, but with 2k u can get lots of things for ur precious. Think abt it...