Hello All!! I am a friend of Emma. Was following most threads regarding IVF as I was contemplating to go for it. However, I am finding it hard to convince my hubby to go for the sperm test. I have done my tests with Dr Loh (KKH) and was diagnosed with mild pcos.

hi soontobe
thanks..ya urs also developing well
and my EDD kena push forward now, wait end up our EDD together..hehe

linda/soontobe, mmmm dont look at the 'new' EDD, cos the scan we did are dating scans. They give an indication, ie at this size baby, the baby should be this age and the EDD should be around this date. We should still refer to the original EDD the obstetrician provided.

Cos following the latest scans, i have 2 have different EDDs for each baby now and 2 different ages for them (9.1 weeks and 9.5 weeks) and this of course cannot be!

spiffy
thanks..but dr loh told me to follow today one leh...nvm la, as long as baby growing healthily, i m happy liao

you all are talking about teh tests. Frankly speaking, I am also not sure what test is for what purpose. I guess will only find out when I am pregnant and need to go for it.

Just to share with you what happen to my cousin. When she was pregnant, she did go for some blood test. Apparently, dr mentioned that there is a 5% of she having a DS child. Of course, being a mother she was worried. She was happy when she finally gave birth, the test was wrong. Like you mentioned here, it is just a test and DR are not Doctors. So u see a test can be not accurate at all.

Take care sisters

Linda, I saw ur EDD in the Jun 10 MTB that it's going to be 14/06/10. Mine is now 12/06/10...well, since urs growing so much faster, maybe ours will be the same afterall.

Spiffy, ya, the counsellor at AMC told me that the EDD now is simply based on the length they measured during the scan. I'm still sticking to the 10/06/10 to help me schedule my prep.

Serene, I had a hard time convincing my hubby to do the test during our 1st year TTC. I guess it's the man's ego thingy. Well, I gave him a deadline that if i don't get preggy by 35, it will means no offsprings for him anymore..hehehehehe...i think after trying for 2 years+, and I was already 33 this year, he had no choice but to agree to see the gynae and do the tests. But prior to this, I had done most of my tests to prove I'm ok...which means possibly it cld be his fault..and best, if he can see the gynae w u, he shld be asked to do the test. U with Dr SF Loh right? Didn't he ask ur hubby to do the sperm test?

Su_yana, don't worry about not understanding now. Take it slowly. Go thru the process...and when u BFP, you will definitely be briefed on all the tests.....anyway, I was told that the test is only 90% accurate, meaning we need to give a leeway that it may be 10% wrong...but at least it gives parents-to-be a hint that what may gone wrong and prep us for the best or worst.

Gan, I'm sorry what I'm not sure of the terms u use. But i only have 1 AF after i started the Lucrin, which is as scheduled according to my menses cycle.

Emma,
Will pray for u....

Happy,
No matter wat is the no. of the eggs or the qualities, our ultimate goal is to get BFP rite?
Dun tink too much..be +ve!

Welcome Serene,
Is yr dh v eager to hv a kid? If he is, he will go for the test automatically...

Hi Soon-to-be microgynon is the contraceptive pills the doc gave me.

Hazel i finish my last pill yesterday, just want to be prepared, don't want go to work and get shock. =p

dew, sorry to read your update. Take care and try again ok :). Emma, dont worry and pray more. Hope your next bt will be very good. Today i went for scan because earlier got bit of brown discharged. Finally saw flickering heartbeats. Baby size is 1.31cm. Im 7wk plus. Friday will see prof again because today was not him. Im so relieved.

hi soontobe
after i finished seeing dr loh already 12noon liao...then make payment, go to AMC counselling, by the time take blood coming 2pm liao..haha reali can spend one whole day at kkh... btw, when is ur nuchal scan? mine will be end of nov.

hi vi4n
congrates on seeing heartbeat...hehe
so when is ur next scan? did prof/nuh recommend down syndrome test?

linda, my next scan will be friday lo since still need to go for prof appt. But happy also because today hubby didnt go with me. Friday he will.

Vi4n, congrats. actually, when u told us last week, the chance that everything will be fine is quite high. senior gynae are very experienced. when they scan, they know is okay or not okay. ur gynae told u dun worry the other time means he is confident that everything is fine.

even dr loh at kkh, if the scan is no good (like my friend's 3rd bb on FET), he told her it was not good. true enough, when she went for another scan the following wk, there was no heartbeat & she miscarriaged.

gan, is ur menses long usually? if it is, it means next tues when u do ur scan, you could still be staining...

anyhow, i will see u there.. most likely we will buy or puregon on the same day also.

Hi Hazel will only bring the medisave forms to the nurse next tuesday when i go for the scan.
I hope my mens would be over by then, else so messy!
Nurse did mention we would buy puregon on Tuesday

gan, ur boss know right? i told my boss a few times already that i will be on 3 wks HL.. when i know the date will inform her. but then, she dunno if purposely or not, like always forget... now we are planning for next yr projects, she still asks me to participate for some overseas jobs to gain exposure..

currently, i still hv 1 project on hand for this year. i try to finish as much as i can, once i am on HL, too bad leow...

hi gan and hazel,
Heard from the nurse that there's likely to be spotting after your actual menses during stage 1 (not sure if will cont to stage 2?). So just be prepared.
Bought puregon yesterday and gonna start only on Thurs. Dosage is 200. Wonder if that's considered a lot?

muski, thanks for the advice. This mth I see big blood cot! thursday is how many days after Lucrin?

dosage of puregon is age dependent. The older u r the higher the dosage. Mine, dr loh said 300. After a few days of puregon, go for scan n the duty doc will adjust up n down according to how stimulated the eggs are. When is ur 1st scan after puregon scheduled?

Linda, my nuchal scan is scheduled on 2nd Dec late afternoon. How come u doing so early har? You will be in Xth week then?

Any one who's doing FTS ard the same timing that day?

Hi Hazel,

It's after 16 days of Lucrin. First scan is scheduled on 19 Nov after 1 week of puregon. I wonder if it's only me but I find the vaginal scan a lot more painful at the scan room in kkivf (it's my first v scan done there). Wonder if it's because of the dryness or they way the person (females) conducted the scan.

When my prev gynae who is a male, did the scan, there was only slight discomfort but this time round I really can't wait for the scan to be over. It took so long just to check the thickness of my lining?! Sheesh...

Singapoh, am 36yrs old. Dr loh initially put 400, but subsequently changed to 300. My girl was 33 when she had her 1st ivf, she was given 200.

Muski, it can be both the person n the dryness. Didn't the person lubricated the scan device well? If not tell her to do so.. Also u must relax urself also. if not, it will also be very uncomfortable.

Hi Muski, I never ever like v-scan. Just that my first experience many years ago at KK made me have this phobia up till now. When saw other gynae for fertility problem and wondering why i am so scared of that scan i told them what happened. They understand me so they were quite gentle.
My ivf is with NUH...but never told prof about this..hehehe....

Ladies gynae can be quite gentle too. Experienced that before

Vi4n, great that finally you can see the heartbeat flickering. Take care.

went to Emerald clinic at NUH today,
whoa I am super impressed, they shifted to 3rd floor, the counter is just like some hotel lobby when I entered..even nicer than the pte hosp ....NUH seems to be upgrading its std. Is CHR still at the old level 4? sigh..wonder when I have the chance to give birth there..heard the delivery suite there is awesome as well.

hi soontobe
my nuchal scan is scheduled when i will be 11 wks plus then.. cos the counsellor said the scan can be done between 11wks to 13 wks... reali pray hard all goes well... and wil be seeing dr loh on 1/12...btw my duphaston will be finish at the end of wk 11...dr loh said finish liao then no need to eat liao..how abt u?

I'm 35...yeah...I will be there too this Sat...hope to meet you :)

I just went to Emerald yesterday and had confirmed the cycle date at least. I heard that the CHR is going to close in Feb but not too sure for what reason.

Hope4bb is right...is very impresive and the service is excellent.

thanks ladies, yes very relieved and happy and jus cant believe finally it really happened. So the rest of u dont give up ok.

Linda, my scan shld be in the 12/13th week lar. sometimes a bit confused coz of the ever changing EDD.....hehehehe...

I have enuff duphaston to last me till my week 13/14 leh coz I was given after my 1st BT (i had spotting during day 8-10 after ET)....He didn't ask me to stop but only ensure that I still have enuff till my next appointment with him.

I have jus changed my appointment to see him immediately after the nuchal scan.

Thanks Rostrum and Soon To Be, is the wait at NUH as long as KKH? I went for the tests at KKH and Dr Loh recommended ICSI which I felt is not as successful as IVF. I am still in the contemplation stage although my queue is in Jan'10. Anyone can share the procedure and cost?

Hi serene, why do you feel ICSI is not as successful as IVF? i think it greatly increases your chances as ICSI is where they will pick the best looking sperm to fertilize the egg, rather than leaving it to chance.

Serene, i waited for close to 4 mths to start on the process. In the meanwhile, I continued to try on my own then...

Didn't you go for the initial counselling with the nurse where they will explain the procedure and rough cost?

Spiffy, sometimes the egg doesn't survive in ICSI so it's wasted. Unless you have a lot of eggs then can play around lor. ICSI successful rate is indeed higher than IVF.

soon to be, are you the one who own a female jack russell? I am very forgetful lah. Can try to toilet train her so that you don't have to walk her

Hi Hazel,
I guess it could be both the person and the dryness. Maybe next time i've gotta request that they apply more lubricant or it'll really hurt.

Roughly how many scans to determine follicle size? Since my 1st scan for stage 2 is on the 19th, any idea how to calculate when is the likely ER day?

Hi Su yana,
I think you must have had a terrible experience back then? Somehow I just feel that female gynae (at least the few I've encountered so far for pap smears) are less gentle. Or maybe i'm just unlucky

hi serene
ICSI is better and higher chance for embryo fertilisation compared to jus let the sperms to swim and penetrate the eggs, cos sometimes egg shells can get harden...thats y ICSI cost more

hi soontobe
good..so no need to travel down twice...as my appt w him is 3 wks ater, so i jus guai guai wait la

Singapoh, yeah, that's me...the JR owner....she's toilet trained liao. I used to walk her once a week at my old place but started to walk her everyday after hearing that it's healthier to walk the dog everyday. She's so used to her daily outing that she will be looking forward to it whenever I reach home. Sometimes, she cannot even wait for me to have dinner and will whine non stop till i have to scold her and ask her to wait for me to finish dinner. The cue for her is when I take my key pouch and a plastic bag. Once she sees me with key pouch, she will run to the place when we keep our plastic bags coz she knows it's going to be her favorite time of the day.

Don't worry about being forgetful. I heard that it will get worse for pregnant woman. Esp when you have already given birth once....