Thanks Spiffy! A lot of gals here are my role models....

Ladies who are trying, don't give up hope...and stay positive.

I got married only at the age of 30 and have been ttc since then, n only recently preggy coz of IVF. Cousins who were all married either 1 mth earlier than us or later were preggy long before me. Even frens who didn't plan for it too. Was v upset when i heard abt their goods news.

I counted myself to be quite lucky coz of my condition. I am a endo patient and had 1 ovary removed in a op 4 years ago. And I still have fibroids (Dr loh told me it will continue to grow during my pregnancy and hopefully there won't be any complications)....so getting preggy by the 1st attempt really came as a v happy news for me n hubby. What kept me going and positive throughout my process was knowing that many of people around who hv tried IVF are successful and have delivered beautiful kids. And I was also prepared not to BFP as the chances of success was only 40% and we were prepared to go for 2nd round......

So ladies, hang on there...and don't give up..coz u will never know till u try....

Hi soon-to-be

Your message to us very encouraging. Going for my scan on this wed. Hopfully my lining is good. Just started my first acq with Dr Zou last Sat. Really late to see Dr Zou at this time. Worried.

Tangtang.....best wishes to u.....8)

Don't worry. Enjoy the process......I made my hubby pamper me when I was going thru all the stages.....

tangtang
jia you

for info:
i had just received my kkh bill, total 8.5k...my hubby and i was kinda happi and surprised cos i spent 11k on my 1st cycle at nuh...very big difference

soon-to-be, your message was very touching. i see many similarities..endometriosis..i've had partial removal of ovary.. this is my first IVF cycle.. though unlike you, i dont know anyone among my friends who have done IVF. I don't know what prompted me to turn to IVF.

linda, 8.5k bill exclude all the blood tests at b4 stage 1 right? HIV, rubella, D2-3, D21, etc and lucrin cost??

hazel
yes..excluded all the bld test before stage 1. btw, mine is short protocol, so the cost started from day 1 puregon till ER, ET and frozen fees included.

Hi Linda, how does the govt's subsidy fit into the bill? i.e. KKH deduct $3000 (govt subsidy) from the 8.5k and the remaining use CPF to cover?

Hi ladies..

I always thought mine was an obsolute case/situation..similarly was the first few to get married 6 yrs ago among my friends...most of them are already with 2 kids or are pregnant with either 1st or 2nd child...used to be envious, avoiding contact with their children..but starting this yr, i started to be sincere in my feelings...being sincerely happy for them and share their joy...since then, feels like a load has been lifted off my shoulders...i now enjoy their childrens' company... ;).. guess we are the challenged ones n this area hehe...

Dew, i am so sorry to hear bt what happened...its ok to fall now as long as we pick ourselves up again. remain positive k..*hugs

As for me, today was my BHCG test..received a call and was informed pregnancy is unstable, ie, hormone level was too low at 33..have to return to KKH on wed for another BHCG...i think i have read abt a similar situation here but i didnt catch the update...anyone know abt someone experiencing this situation and still manage to get BFP during 2nd BHCG?? i guess i am trying to comfort myself that i still have a chance....was down initially upon receiving the news..but looking back now, i ought to be grateful that my hopes were not instantly dashed with BFN...am hoping for the best..

hi emma
praying hard for ur hcg will go up in next few days...so long no red alarm reported, there is still hope.. my 1st cycle was quite similar to urs, hcg 1st started very low, then slowly goes up, yet drop again later....but one positive thing i m telling myself is at least i know i still can be preggy and maybe my 1st cycle embryo just not too healthy ...

I think all of us share the same journey. To be the first to get married yet maybe the last to get pregnant
. Aniwae, i guess this will make us stronger and when we do really have our own kids, we will really treasure them well right. Let us go through this journey together and be happy and positive...yeah....

gan, i checked the stack of invoices the hospital sent and yes, the hospital very neatly deducts for you small sums here and there which add up to $3k (the govt co-payment amt). For me the Medisavable amt was about $4.1k. Add to that some cash here and there, i would say i paid close to $8k.

i just did my scan tis morning and the dc say i oni have 4 eggs compared to the normal range of 8-10 eggs..so sad..hopefully the eggs are of good quality.

Dr Loh told me that the down syndromne test for my twins are an option coz my embroys are young (when I was 33). The risk is the same as my son. I have decided to do the blood test and scan.

I married before I turned 25, only became a mummy at 33. Late is better than never :p

singapoh n spiffy: hows ur 8th week scan? when r u all going to for ur next appt? i only seein him week 12 which is next month..so long!!

i also doing the nucal fold test BT next week (week 10) and the scan on week 12..

still doing it although dr loh says its optional for me..

hi oxidised, my wk 9 scan yesterday was ok..24mm & 27mm. Was yr Dydrogesterone and folic acid extended?

My next appt is 7 December (wk 13), together with my Nuchal scan on the same day. BT is this Friday (wk 9 + 5).

spiffy: my 8th week scan they were 18mm and 19mm , he already gave me total of 8 weeks duphaston since my week 6 appt, so right now i have another 4 weeks.

my next appt cant be on the same day as my nuchal scan leh.. couldnt match.. then my BT is next fri (week 10.2)

Soon-to-be, it came! But this mth I spot n cramp longer than usual before menses came. can't help but linked to Lucrin...

Singapoh, my friend delivered her 3rd child this yr at 38 yrs old n the test is also optional as she is not in the high risk category.

emma, there may still be chances as the implanation may be later for you....don't worry....rest well today, and go for ur blood test tomorrow.

Hazel, ya, cld be the side effects. If the cramp is really bad, you may wan to call KKH and ask their advises on how to feel the pain.

It is optional at any age, no one can force you to take the test. But the trigger age for Down's is 35 so if you're over, it's generally advised that you should go for it.

Soon-to-be, is okay now with painkillers. I can work now.

Spiffy, from my understanding, there are tests which are run by doc for pregnant ladies regardless of age to determined if they are in the high risk or low risk grp of having DS babies. A percent will be given. Those who are determined to be in the high risk grp are strongly encouraged to proceed to amniocentesis test for DS. This amniocentesis test carries a risk of marriage.

If the results of earlier test is low, like 5%, then the parents hv to consider if they wan to take the amniocentesis test n risk being miscarriaged. Those with twins or unstable pregnancy, the risk of miscarriage from amniocentesis test will be higher. So, u hv to weigh the probability n decide if u wan to do amniocentesis test.

if u search through the website, this special DS test is more than what the sisters mention abt neck test, etc. It is through all these tests that the doc will advise if amniocentesis test is required n this involves extracting a fluid from the baby to send for cell culture.

Sisters who are already pregnant, regardless of age, pls go read up n understand what are the tests u r going through, esp when u hv been through so much to conceive. Only then u can make informed decision. No matter how Gd a doc is, he or she is still human n can make mistake in judgement. N this has happened before, not to mention names.

n when I say my friend not in high risk grp n Nv go for tests, I mean amniocentesis test. Other tests to determine if a woman is high or low risk dun carry a miscarriage risk at all. So can go ahead n test.

ask ourselves, have we ever made mistakes n wrong judgement at work. If we hv, doc will also. So we need to be informed what tests are run on us.. n only then we can make informed decision. if not, if anything unfortunate happens along the way, we hv a part to play also. Coz for every test we do, we hv to sign a consent form.

Hehehehe...I'm jus done my blood test for fts this morning....now can't wait to do the nuchal scan to ensure that my baby clear the test.....*keeping my fingers crossed*....*touch wood*

Hazel, I think you might not read thru all our postings and misunderstand the discussions. We were simply discussing about the First Tri Screening as some of us are scheduled for it.

As MTB, I'm sure we are all anxious to know the well being of our baby(ies) and will ask or research to know the possibilities/risk.

hi soon to be, spiffy and ladies here:
just for update, back from my 9 wks scan today... baby measured 2.6 cm, heartbeat pumping fast..
has also taken the FTS blood test today, then nuchal scan end of tis month... praying everything smooth smooth going.. dr loh told me to finish my current duphaston then no need to take anymore liao...

hi happy
how much puregon dose u started with? so did dr increased ur puregon dosage? hopefully the 4 follicles will continue to grow and hopefully the rest will also catch up later... must stay positive and relax now, so the follicles can grow more ok...and pls follow the do and donts, it certainly will help someway...did u do accup?

hi hazel
it is just a first trimester test recommended by our drs only, nothing invasive...(include simple blood test and scan only)..cheers

spiffy
the counsellor told me the bld test result will be release on the nuchal scan the day itself... now am jus hoping everything smooth smooth, baby healthy can liao..

Spiffy, ya, I will only know the BT result during the scan...which is 3 weeks later...I really can't wait...must go pray pray...*pray*

Linda, wah 2.6cm! Healthy baby. I read from baby center (babycenter.com.sg) that the usual length at this week will be 2.3cm. So I told my hubby our precious little one growing v well despite me not eating v well.....