Mean testing is to test your family income and see what how much you can afford to pay for your hospital bills

Does anybody know how long is the FET process ? I wonder how many days after menses ?......is that anyone who BFP with FET

soon-to-be,
are u having singleton or twins? like wat hazel said, if there's complications then if ur baby is transferred to kkh due to lack of facilities in pte hosp, u will still be charged pte rates... but if in kkh, then u can downgrade in advance to prevent a huge bill... anyway, if u look at gynae packages, it is cheaper but if u look at overall meaning consultations, hosp stay and gynae charges on delivery day, it's abt the same as kkh or even more... and pte gynae pkg dun include medicine or vitamins... and the medicine and vitamins charged are actually more ex than kkh..

anyway, i also changed gynae as i'm having singleton but i changed within kkh as all my ivf records are still there.. i switched after 1st trimester... i'm actually quite comfortable with dr loh but he's really too bz so i switched to dr benjamin tham but if i'm having multiples i'll still continue with dr loh as he's more experienced with multiple births..

gan,
i took flu medication during stage 1... i went GP as i was down with flu, told me it's alrite to take antibiotics and flu medication... it's better to clear it rather than drag it into stage 2 or even 2ww... u need a healthy body for ur embies..

eskimo, i know dr tham... he is a humorous & nice guy. other than being a gynae, he also specialise in Colposcopy. I was referred to him by Prof Tee to do the scope.. i was so worried than but Dr Tham was so cool, he said, most times, the results are okay & he was so gentle. i did not even feel any pain

soon-to-be, in pte hospitals, gynae's charges for delivery, ops, etc and medicines cost are all charged separately, i.e., doc fees come in separate bills & is 4 digits.. unlike KKH where gynae charges are negligble & included in the total hospitalisation bill...medicines cost are cheaper.

fyi, my MIL is a pte dialysis patient at Camden Medical & her doc is from Mt E. whenever possible, we wun get her medicines from Mt E or Camden or any private hospitals. We will just get the prescriptions from her doc & go restructured hospitals like SGH & AH to buy coz they are much cheaper.. we had always want to transfer her to restructured hospitals BUT cant coz she has been in private hospitals for the past 20 years!

trust me, pte hospitals are never cheap. they can give u an estimated hospitalisation cost, that may not be accurate and it EXCLUDE doc's fees which are another 4 digits

a few yrs back, i had a infection so i went to see a pte gynae, she told me need to do Colposcop and this & that checks, to rule this & that out. i really wonder why.. & if they were necessary, so i nv listen to her & i booked my own apptment to see Prof Tee at KKH and he only asked me to do just 1 check - Colposcopy

i go for day surgery, i ask for a personal headset for the tv in the day ward, KKH only charge me $1plus! i want to go collect my medicine myself after i recover from the anathesia, the nurse said no, she will fax the prescription over to the pharmacy & get them deliver to me! these are just egs..

soon-to-be, medical cost is nv cheap in Spore, be it in restrucutued or pte. the 1 thing i dun like abt restructured hospital is the wait (and queue) and their follow-up service after an examination. in pte, the docs usually see patients very on time... but no so in restructured hospital. as for follow-up svc, restructured adopt the attitude that if warrants further test & examination, they will quickly inform patients. if it is not, they dun revert i hv done pap smear at KKH a few times.. 2 times i dun receive the "all clear" report, that means i did not clear my pap smear results... BUT there were no calls from KKH... and that igitated me.. first time, i wrote to my gynae, 2nd time i asked Dr Loh when i saw him. outcome is, i hv mild infection which does not warrant medication & i will recover naturally. so the system did not generate a "all clear" report coz of the mild infection. but the nurse dun call me to inform coz i will recover naturally! that is how restructured hospital operates

but in pte, u need to see the doc for the results of every examination u do.. even if it is all clear OR not clear.. n u end up having to pay for consulation fees.

pregnant ladies do ultrasound in gynae;s room, is free. just need to pay consultant fees. but in pte, this is charged separately hor! n their first time consultant fees >$100... it is not so in KKH wor... So, are they really cheaper???!? u need to look at everything.. not just a package

Hazel,
yes, dr Tham is a very nice guy n he's always able to answer my qns n give me solutions. For eg, I had soft stool for a week plus n I told him there's no diarrhea or food poisoning symptoms. He told me I may be lactose intolerant. True enuff I stopped my milk products for 2 days n I end up with constipation. Actually he said he prefer me with soft stool cos not good for preg women to squeeze too hard. Might end up with piles. I will resume my milk products but will not take as much as before as he's also given me calcium pills.

Judebabe,

I just did FET last month. How long? It depends when you are ovulating. As my cycle was quite short, I only did 3 scans before my ET. I am 7.5 weeks pregnant now.

Hi Haze l, today is my D27 but i am still on microgynon, started late on D8, so will only have my AF after completing microgynon.
Maybe u are stressed with work recently, that's why AF late?

eskimo, my menses has yet to come, today 30.. My cycle can +/- a few days one so last time a few times I thought I pregnant..

dun tell me this time so heng ? pregnant???? I know the next qn u will ask is, no safe sex? Well, just once the entire mth on D8 of the cycle n withdrawal. Cannot be so lucky right? Am already having tender boobs n slight lower abdomen discomfort which I get every cycle.

Hi Hazel, AF shld be coming soon, since you are starting to have tender boobs and slight lower abdomen discomfort which u get every cycle.
Did u do a HPT just to confirm?

eskimo, am not on microgynon. i go straight to D21 lucrin.

Gan, no never do HPT coz it is not overdue as in overdue. last period was on Oct 10. i counted based on 28days cycle. my cycle days depend mth to mth, can range from 25-30+ days. last few mths have abt 26-29 days. u think got chance to get pregnant meh?? shxt!

gan & eskimo, AF should report tomorrow. coz I just saw strains if blood in my discharge. Yes, that's my symptoms to menses coming? So this cycle is 30days. Hahaha

My friends always say I think too much n worry for nothing. Think I shld try not to let my brain wonders.. Thanks sisters for listening.

Singapoh.....
U are my idol... take care of yourself... rest rest eat well and rest....

I am starting my FET o nov.... after BFN in Aug.. do tcm with dr ZOU... My Oct cycle is 37 days and my embryo only grade 3.... hope they can make it... how was your embryo then ? ...u expecting twins or singleton ?

Hazel, oh i learnt something new. Never heard of this b4. Counsellor did not share anything abt this. U frd did ivf too? She had twins and went to premature labour?

Judebabe,

Why am I your idol??? ~Puzzle~...

Can hardly eat due to morning sickness. Eating more frequently but in small portions.

I was not informed of my embroy grade and I didn't ask either. I conceived my 1st baby through my fresh IVF cycle in 2006. My son is 2 years plus. Now expecting twins.

lynn I hv a few friends who did ivf n successful. One with twins girls. her embryos quality were not Good. But proceed with ET coz dr loh said she had came this far just go ahead. N she strike. N she was always bleeding through out her pregnancy, on n off. She delivered 3 mths in advance. She was very positive throughout. Twins r now 2 yrs old

Hazel, thks for sharing. Ur frd must have spent quite alot and in and out of hosp often coz of the bleeding rite? Thats mother love is the greatest....

Hi Singapoh....

U are the only person that i know BFP from frozen embryo... my chinese doctor says there are many who did FET and tested positive but i didnt see that many from KK....u are from NUH right... It is not the hospital that matters.. frozen cycle success only 20% but i will still try....

I think i probaby will " walk your path" taking up assisted conception ( ivf) for more than 1 time.. cos I am 34 this year and try out fresh cycle 1.. i hope to have 2- 3 kids before i turn 38... time is tight for me...

Congrats ! on your twins... when you deliver and see them smiling at you.... any suffering will be worth enduring..

jia you !!!

lyn, the most costly part is the medical cost of the twins. After wavier of Kkh on half the bill, n claims from insurance, it also wiped out the entire medisave accounts of both her hubby n her. Dun forget the twins r born 3 mths premature, so they will be tagged to a pedatrians from birth till dunno when.. Coz the docs need to track the growth development of the babies to other babies of the same age grp.. That will continue till trodlers stage n child hood. So, things r not always as simple as it is.. If u think further u will realise..

I hv another Gf who conceived naturally for 3 babies. She lost her first one n ended with a huge medical bill from pte hospital n Kkh, that's the one I said bb was transferred to Kkh at birth. The bb stayed in ICU n went through a series of ops but still cannot save the life. Since she was transferred from pte, Kkh charges the pte rates n wun give her any subsidy. She went on to hv 2nd one when she was still trying to clear the debt of 6 digits of the 1st one she lost by installment. 2nd one was okay. Then she had a 3rd one which she bled the entire pregnancy n has to quit her job. Even when she was not working, she bled.. Bb was born 1 mth premature in pte hospital n stayed in ICU n the bill was 5 digits! At that time she has yet to clear the bill of 6 digits yet... She is a very courageous woman.. How many wld dare to proceed to 2nd n 3rd if the first bill is not cleared? But her love to have children n be a mother surpass any other thing..

So nothing beats having a healthy baby.

Thanks Judebabe,

I am with Dr SF Loh @ KKH. My gf also under his care. She too conceived her first baby through fresh IVF cycle and her 2nd one through FET. She's 39 this year.

Hope everything goes well for you. Jia you!

ann, whose ur dr? If dr loh, u can ask Him to cover u with HL all the day to test for pregnancy. He is very accommodating.

hi hazel ,my doc is dr kelly loi...heard will be given 2 weeks after ER..if its true then no need to take any leave

Yes, but in stage 1 only
How many days of lucrin did you have before u start puregon?
So you are going for the HCG injection tomorrow evening?
All the best! =)

yup going for the HCG injection tomorrow..quite nervous..i had 15 days of lucrin before started puregon..but when puregon start , still have to continue on the lucrin..

Hi Ann don't be nervous, everything will be fine.
What is your dosage for your puregon and how many days did u have?
I am under Dr Loh in KKH

Ann, 17 days MC from ER for fresh cycle. BUT, i will be asking Dr Loh to give me HL from ER to BT for pregnancy.

So, how many days of puregon were U on? any bloatedness?

gan, my gut feel is that we may not be able to start puregon immediately even if scan & E2 result show that our hormones are suppressed. b'czo Dr Loh has too many patients, so the nurses have to schedule the ER date.. well, we will wait & see how accurate my gut feel is..

But would we be oversurpressed if we kept having lucrin?
I hope my blood test will be ok since I am not going through the usual way like the rest, i.e. i have my microgynon on D8 only and lucrin on D23, 16 days after taking microgynon.

gan, no la wun. Microgynon is hormones medicine to control menses but Lucrin is for suppression. so different purpose. Your's stage 1 is very common among ladies who have irregular medicine so is a normal approach also.

a Gf of mine was on prolonged Lucrin for 2 mths at least coz of an unexpected event. But still, she strike n deliver a healthy bb boy.

Have your AF reported? Mine.. Dunno today will come or not.. Wait n see

Hazel, I think the scheduling has been planned for earlier. I waited for 4 mths before I started stage 1. And then, the stages will be according to individual's progress.

Ann, if u r with KKH, they might cover u from ER to BT. I'm with Dr Loh and was given that....

Soon-to-be, I dun agree with that. This sister's 1st scan after Lucrin was scheduled on D25. why is It so late? Coz Kkh is packed so the nurse has to pace out the scan. She called n asked to push forward to D14, nurse said is okay to scan on D25 n refused to change. Only when she wrote to dr loh n he asked the nurse to schedule earlier than it was changed to D14 after Lucrin, that is 10days earlier!

there is no such thing as oversupression. Lucrin just put the hormones to a stand still, so we can be on Lucrin for x time n still okay.

Also, we all know that dr loh has many patients compared to the rest. n he has only 1 pair of hands n he see consultation n engages in research, talks, other gynae surgeries, deliveries, etc. u think if can do so many ER a day? Other so x no a day, he easily has double. N there is only 24hrs a day. Think abt it...

Soon-to-be, my friend was supposed to do FET so was on Lucrin. But all her frozen embryos dun make it n she wanted to start fresh cycle immediately, so dr accommodate n she carried on with Lucrin n her earlier Lucrin for FET is not counted. So extended Lucrin in the end.

We will wait n see if my guess is correct. Gan & I, n some other cycle buddies under de loh, see who can start stage 2 the moment is suppressed. Stage 1 can drag. But not stage 2 so only leeway to play ard with pacing out the ER of patients is stage 1.

Err Hazel, I'm not here to debate with you who's right or wrong. I'm jus advising based on my and a fren's experiences as ours were purely based on our progress.

If you think you are correct, we'll jus accept that.

Gan, mine was 7-10 days. Can't remember very clearly but I vividly remembered that it's less than 2 weeks. My fren only had it for 1 week coz Dr Loh suspect that she might get OHSS which she did after her ER.

Stay positive and happy thoughout your stages. 8)

Gan, I followed my fren's advise to stay happy and positive, and not to be stressed over the stages. And most importantly is to get your hubby's support....then the timeframe won't be a concern anymore.

At the end of my stages, my hubby and I were thinking that everything went by so fast...it's as if we jus started our Stage 1, then in no time, it's the ER and ET stage liao...then my long HL break...hehehehe.....though a long wait to BT, it is fruitful one for both of us. 8)

I wish u all the best....8)

Hazel,

Dr Loh will do whatever is most important like delivery, surgery, ER, ET, etc. He's running up and down on a busy day. Sometimes those who happen to be there to see him for consultation will have to wait longer than usual.

We are all here to support each other, not to see who knows more, wrong or right. I am sure the hospital staffs know what they are doing.

Soon-to-be, dun mean to argue la... No offence okay. I Cld be wrong. yes, time moves very fast. My needles from the original box are now just left with a few... Even dh commented so this am.

Gan. U not working today? AF came?

Singapoh, my last visit with him on Sat, I waited for close to 2 hrs coz he had to do 2 ETs. He's very funny when I complained to him about my situation.

Saw my precious little one..2.5cm liao! It has really grown in 2 weeks...I was busy searching for the heartbeat while my hubby searching for the limbs...hahahah, then we compared our findings after we left the clinic

Singapoh, we need to know n pose questions to the nurse. If not they ask us do this we also blur blur follow... That goes the same for other things in life, buy house, take loans. Etc. We need to be aware n has the knowledge.

Like the sister who was has her scan move from D25 to D14. If she has trusted the nurse n Nv write to dr loh, she may be in injecting herself longer than required. This is a Gd eg.