Zaza i second this statement of yours "mayb the baby is not meant for us as it is not complete and rather that giving us an imcomplete baby, God has taken it away to prepare us for a better baby ..."

Thats what i tell myself when i lost my precious at week 9 and this is what i am holding on now that i am preparing for next cycle. How true!

We may hurt alot when ivf fail or lose our precious but sometimes its a blessing in disguise. Sometimes becos the baby is not complete, not normal, not good thats why God has to take it away so that we wont be faced with greater pains and torment when we know later. Then God will return us the baby, a perfectly beautiful baby in His time.

Thinking of which, it really helps to make the loss and pain more bearable and more courage to go ahead with ivf, knowing that ivf is also not a sure win tool.

Seed

hi zaza
tis weekend..hehe

December…
Must give you a tight hug…
glad that you are facing it with courage…like Lina said, pay attention if got sudden bleeding or pain on one side...hope things faster get resolved for you soon...

Shameful hubby,
Nothing to feel shamefu about since u made a great start by asking yourself these good questions..And the sisters have definitely given you good insights of how the hubbies can help.
1. Very often, the consenus to do IVF might take a few more meetings with different gynaes to reach. Its not a "snap, here we go kind of decision". There are usually some flip flopping involved.
2. We hope the hubby can go with us to most of the briefings and important appts such as first appt to learn how to jab ourselves and explanation appt with drs. Although I did not want or expect my hubby to jab for me as I scared he feels stressed by it.., I was touched when he assumes that he will jab for me. Will be very good if you try to make an effort to make her feel she is not walking this alone. The suggestions given by seed and Suyana are very good…bottomline is try to participate in whatever ways you can and after her jab, if you don't do it for her, at least ask her if its painful…

In a nutshell, don't be afraid to show your emotional side to her as the most complaints/disappointments we can give at this vulnerable phase is that "the hubby does not care" and "fighting this alone". Be there for her even if all you can do is to hold her. And be prepared she can be very unpredictable as all the hormones go haywire with those jabs.

As to how we manage to inject ourselves…its like after all the emotional anguish of long term fertility issue and for some, losses of babies, the pain threshold increases and physical pain seems quite insignificant…somehow by default, women are built to withstand a larger threshold of pain…heeeee..sorry, not trying to sound feminist here but its scientifically proven…the fact is that we are born like that to prepare us for childbirth later on…

All the best to you and your wife and visit us if you want to learn more...Lina is right, can invite your wife here and tell her you already made some friends here liao..heeee..

SH (aka Shameful Hubby)

Call you SH ok?

Maybe when you jab or after your wife jab herself, blow a butterfly kiss on her tummy ok? It will work wonders! Try to arrange the jabbing a time when you are both around, especially the first jab.

During this period, rem to smile smile smile ... your cheerfulness can rub off on your wifey and make her feel so much better.

The process will only strengthen your relationship. At least for me, i appreciate my hb alot more. Poor thing was serving me like a maid and i was like the dowager but i appreciate it alot!

Seed

Dec, just read about your updates. Sorry to hear that. Hope can get a confirmed diagnosis soon and can start a new journey soon. I m also under Zou yishi. She's really nice. We are in good hands.

Seed

Hi Bubbybear, Linda,

Yeah... Hope to get this episode over and move on!

Linda,

Jia You Jia you! ;)

Hi Zaza,

Hope you can start your cycle in Nov as wished!

Hi Babygalore,

Thanks for the hugz!

Yeah, I will monitor myself. Now very sensitive to every pull and tug. haha.... my DH also panaroid abt me...

Hi Seed,

Np. I quite 'mountain tortiose' don't know how to on PM la...my e-mail is [email protected].

Hi Shameful buddy,

You have already taken the first step by joining this forum. My hubby probably also don't quite understand the whole IVF process but he provide great support by being there for every injection (as long as he is not at work)and every scanning etc. He also took leave during the first week of my 2WW to take care of me...I am blessed indeed to have him with me throughout this TTC journey. This will be our third IVF tries and we are still going strong!!! so as long as you provide support to your wife...you are already doing a good job.

Hi Sunflower Seed,

Yeah, sometimes feel more reassured after hearing what she tells me.

How are you lately?

Ok Jude, will email you.

Dec, i am fine, have been recuperating since my MC in May. How time flies, its 5 months now. But it still felt just like yesterday that i lost my precious. Keep having an instinct it was a boy. Heehee, anyway, preparing for my next fresh cycle this month now, will start lucrin soon. Having jitters already.

Seed

seed - I agree with what you say .. I was covering for close sister of mine whom was away on course to take pics/video of her son who was performing and when I could see that he was constantly looking out for her, my heart goes out to him and he only manage to smile when i called out to him ... the bondage btw mother and child is indeed very strong ... as I went thru the childcare centre, I told myself one day I would be the one taking my own children photo/video ... so let's jia you

dec - thanks for the blessing and hopefully u can move on soon

tnt - BFP to you

Zaza, did you receive my email?

KK, will update you when i will start my next cycle...

Seed, did you do D&C for your MC?
I did mine in mid Aug. Somewhere around mid Sept I had spotting for a week. I just asssume that was my first AF. Did you experience the same thing?

For those who had went D&C, did you spot for your first AF?

I just hope my body is ajdusting back so that i can start my cycle as planned.

zara, it takes at least 8 days for implantation to occur after ET. Actually, on day 8 u can test using a pregnancy test kit already to check if BFP. At times, implantation can be late on day 10 or even day 12. Dun hv to wait until day 17 for BT to know

Linda..
Hope you BFP with all the baby dust from our very pregnant Linda..heheeheeee..

Sisters,
Anyone of you experience delayed menses following stage 1 suppression? My menses are due and according to BBT, my bodytemp have been staying at 36.75 for so many day. Very sure I not pregnant because we did not bd during o plus safe sex.

Would appreciate any sister sharing similar experience...thanks...

update from me ,yesterday was my ET. i need to go down KK for Progesterone jab every day till BT.the injection so pain... now both my leg walk like Ah mah.. anyone can advice how to reduce the pain? many thanks

Lyn..
Hi hi Lyn...how are you!..you got cheer up or not? ..heeee
...I waiting for Liz to see if that day she can...

ok ok..thanks a lot for telling me..means it can happen and I just have to wait patiently...

I called nuh liao and my officer not around and another nurse told me just go down for D14 BT next week and see how.

hi hope4bb,
was told by nurse bcos of age issue, ie >40 need to jab proesterone everyday to built up the lining, i request for insert type but they not allow. 'sigh'

hi linda,
we pray hard for your BFP...all the best
if i not wrong u also need to jab everday after ET rite? can share how to minimize the pain..
cant imagine there are 14 jab to go...arrrg

Someone sent me a PM and I deleted by accident.. can re-send me? Paiseh.. :p

Fond,

I have not receive your package. Thanks

Sunnybaby,
Yes...its is quite a challenge to jab those oil based jabs..

May I suggest you take a very very deep long breath in to distract yourself when the progesterone is going in...that is what our nuh nurses always ask us to do..I not sure it can still work after so many jabs..but do try..

Hope Linda can got better ways to cope. Meanwhile, you can also check with Sofia who is also doing twice weekly jabs as she is in her first trimester. U can probably PM her..maybe she got solutions too.

hi shameful hubby, what a name... forgive yourself and get kicking on finding out info is good start.

you know about the co-fund? this will help alleviate the expenses. accompanying your wife to all the medical visits and taking care of the expenses helps too.

what you can do to make her feel sheltered, it is through your quiet observation of her and doing something about it. Also note if she is getting very emotional during the ivf, it is the hormones talking, not her.

Love takes a couple further than they know.
All the best!

Dec thanks, lets all pass with flying colours!

Su_yana

I didnt do DnC cos i chicken out and didnt want to risk scarring my womb so i just stop my supplements and then all came out. Heavy blood loss so i was admitted for 1 night. AF came exactly 1 month later, no spotting ley. Doc gave all clear to try again after checking the womb is cleaned.

Seed

Suyana,
I did D&C before and the first menses after that was very light, lighter than usual…its like some flow on the first day and after that spotting. The spotting is like use party liner suffices type.
Don't be worried, its quite normal as lining takes a on average 3 months time to build up. Monitor if your third menses is a little back to normal. Try not to worry as the more your worry, the more demanding it is on your liver according to tcm and liver is important in regulating hormones..

hi babygalore,
thanks for your advice, i was told by the KKH nurse also take a deep breath when the needle jab, pain bearable. .. but the pain become worse when i reach home ... and the paid through out the day.. left leg pain jab right leg... by the time left leg feel better tomorrow another jab again...
may i know u in stage 1 or 2 ?

Suyana, after I did my D&C, my 1st menses did not come just spotting for quite sometime. So my doc prescribe pill(think could be contraceptive pill) for 21days to regulate my menses. After completing the course, my menses came. Subsequent menses became normal.

Seed, thanx for sharing your info. Dr did not give me the option of waiting for it to come out naturally. He asked me to go for D&C. Anyway, glad that you are fine now.

Babyluck, seems that yours is the same as mine. However, I did not inform dr that i spot for my first menses. Wonder if that will be a problem. At least now your menses are regular now.
I try not to think about it. Hope everything will come out fine

Hi Muski & Gan, love to be cycle buddy but I'm with Dr Yap of Mount E. But still its should not be any problem.

Today my hubby try a new recipe for me porridge make with chicken essence and cordycep since he home on sick leave. Does not taste bad at all. Also buy serving tray for my 2ww Food in bed ehehehe. From giant less then $10

Linda,

How is your BT? You BFP already? Share with us the news when you have update ok jia you

Shameful's hubby,

Please do not feel shameful. I am married for coming 9 years, had 2 miscarriages and 3 failed IVF cycles.. what more can be worse? Some ladies here suffer even worse experiences than me but we are all strong and not about to give in to fate cause we are determined to try to the end

I guess you need not feel ashamed because before the start of our IVF cycle both my hubby and me are quite lost and clueless even after reading up on IVF cause the process is very different in feeling on the actual cycle then on book. We are all here to learn from each other so there is really nothing to feel ashame about. Each couple would behave and react differently. ;)

Questions:
1) What is the driving force for partners to take the first steps? How partners come into consenses that IVF is for you?
- when both parties really yearn for a baby and realise that after many years of tires in all ways naturally is not really possible. Also partially through Gynae recommendation.

2) Well, the IVF cycle is bias in the sense that woman had to suffer more. What do you gals expect the husband to do. What role must hubby play? Whats your mind set on this? How you convinces yourself to ject yourself.
- Actually the hubby just have to help out the wife in terms of housework and try to understand your wife more during this period as she might have mood swings due to hormonal changes and the pain she is going through. She will also feel more tired easily as the mediacation will make her feel that. Some ladies will have side effects from the medication, depending the amount of the dosage. You have to be supportative emotionally, physically (help her do housework and also learn to inject for her), and of course in monetary side (even subsidies there are some cost to be incurred in cash)

3) Any gals had failed IVF cycle/s. It must be very sad right? After all the hard work, $$, time spent. How you get over it? What you most want to do at that moment or days that follows. What you may expect your hubby to do at that point of time or the followings.
- well guess the hubby cannot blame the lady if she fails as the process is very dependent on both the sperm and the egg. Takes 2 hands to clap. Even if we failed, at least we tried though we are drain totally both emotionally and financially. What the saying no pain, no gain. There are some success cases here too so look at the process positvely and do not give up
You will be stronger as the stage move on.

4) "Well, if failed, lifes still continue right?" Easy say then done. Do you all continue a following IVF? Anyone stopped trying? Anyone go for adoption? What gives you the power to continue/stop/adopt? What i mean is how you adjust your mindset?
- Yes easier said than done. I have been through 3 failed cycles and it was not easy for the mindset. I have stop the cycles completely as number 1, there is no more grants and I am not willing or cannot afford to fork out cash for the process that does not guarantee success. secondly, the medication has done my body harm in some way or another during my 3 cycles within a year span. Lastly, adoption is of course in our plans but now we are both recuperation emotionally and financially
Hope this helps. But different people react differently.

I hereby wish your wife success and do standby her no matter what happens
It takes a lot of courage and determination for a lady to take up this process. Jia you.

Thank you all for the spontaneous respond. The forum is kind of Active and heart warming. :)

To babygalore and all ladies,
Thanks for treating me as friend already although its only my 1st post :)

To Sunflower seed,
Ya your all can call me SH. Short and Sweet. Without the Shameful anymore, i can continue and take all your advise

To ZaZa,
I like your quote too....

To humbug,
You a strong lady :)

Sorry if i miss out anyone

I think that other than psycological, there is one more important point i learned from here. That is spirituality. I think that your strong believe in GOD had make you all come so far. Regardless of religion, we must belive strongly that GOD will bring us thru. Although i had a religion, sadly, i am not very faithful to it. I did not do what is preach. Maybe its time to take a look at it seriously with my wife :)

I always think that my wife feel that i am not caring enough of her. Although i can say i am very obedient to her. But been obedient doesnt really mean Caring right? How do you gals define CARING? Maybe should ask my wife expectation also :)

SH

just an update, i suppose to have HCG test today with tnt, however yesterday i bleeding and rush to kk..find a sad answer that BFN.

i have good response on puregon, progesteron level is 458, embro grade 4 at KK, all good but i still fail. hope all 2ww ladies here BFP..

hi Mag,
thanks for sharing the miracle success story. I only heard tries of 10 times, and this lady top by 13 tries, wow!

Hi shiny,
hugs, so sorry about it. Please take time to let this pass and let body rest before next try.

Zaza,

I will start mine in January next year. I nearly start with ur cycle but i requested to delay cos we are trying naturally. However, the doctor assist us by giving extra jab to hubby.hehehe so its his turn to get a jab.

I felt so touch that he is willing to go thru it. If we dont have success this few months then we will proceed again in early January 2010. Update us on your journey k. Gd luck.

Shiny, hugsss. Sometimes even everything perfect also can fail cos pregnancy is really a very delicate process, alittle bit wrong also cannot. Take time to heal, get stronger and try again ok? Think of it this way, maybe the baby not good so God took it back and will give you a beautiful one soon.

SH, i also didnt really stand strong on my religion only after losing my precious then strangely when i should hate God for the loss, i learn to accept that some things really must be in his time, cannot force or rush. So anyhow, i will still do my best and let God do the rest. At least if still nothing, i know i tried and God tried, maybe its just not meant to be for my life. One day when i get to heaven, i guess i will then know why.

Hmm caring ... i also dont know how to describe. Maybe just being sensitive and mindful of our needs?

Su_yana, ya actually gynae also didnt give me the option to natural MC, he say clean out better but i scared lor. Hope all is really ok. I still thinking whether i should scan my womb before next cycle.

Seed

Sunnybaby,
Don’t mention, sad to say me not of much help..Understand understand sister…it must be very painful, no wonder you describe yourself as have to walk like ah mah..Got people cook for you…if don't have, you can still do 1 week of tingkat. I intend to use housing of catering recommended by Eskimobaby…you can consider too..at least give yourself room to rest more and walk less k...

I still in stage 1

Shiny,
Take a break and try again later when you are well rested ok…please jia you Shiny..

SH,
Its our pleasure..How about you change your name to a very auspicious one and put SH within bracket…...just a suggestion lah..heeee..

Caring to some means doing it without having to be asked to do…for example, asking your wife when is the next appt without her having to tell you. Because pure obedience has the word "obligation" implied but making the first move has the word "care" implied a lot of times..Am sure you will do it well one.