lyn
i've not done a fsh re-test since i failed my first fresh cycle, so can't offer any insights. but if i rem correctly, serene got BFP even tho her fsh level was high so dun give up...

fond

NUH has choice of a shared room with 5-6 pple or single bedder.but the price difference betw single and shared bedrm is minimal. but i forgot how much was the difference.. u can ask the nurse when nearing ur ER/ET.

lyn

har?!! FSH will increase after failed cycle?
i didnt do re-test after my failed cycle also.. dunno will it increase like u said

Pooh, serene is one the very lucky case. Fsh so high i think cant even start lor... I actually wanted to do ivf with dr f but would like to take sometime to decide first and dr f charges v ex leh

Lyn

From my research its more lifestyle and exercise related. However i guess stress might play a part. Whats ov ivf thing? YOu may like to consider doing the FSH again next month. I saw ladies who have very different FSH in consecutive months.

By the way not good to sleep late lor..i myself is bad example..your body cannot rest enough for next day...stress again.

Meow, i m not sure thats y asking whether any1 encountered b4. U dun worry maybe i m juz one of the unlucky ones dun think ur fsh will increase like mine

Lyn

Coz...21.3 is really high so dun think its a real figure. You planning next cycle soon? Try to relax and dun think so much lor. I understand its difficult but too stress is really not good. I am always like that my past few cycles...now feeling totally different
Hence hope got better results

meow

You taking bai feng wan...its quite effective...try it.

However bai feng wan...not suitable for gals with endo...read from forum sometime ago.

Fond, ya i also cant believe thats the figure coz with this figure i think i m already in menopausal stage but very discouraging to see the reading.. I dun plan to do it till early next yr

Lyn

Oh yes...if that month FSH value high..and you have better FSH earlier... personally feel that you should wait a while before proceeding unless doctor say its ok lor

Lyn

Since you are a nurse..maybe easier to do it again monthly 2 months before your cycle. Good monitoring also...understand your health better

Lyn
i saw yr postings in another thread. i think it's important to go wif a doc whom u trust and are comfortable wif, so i can understand...

Jude babe,
So you r planning for a fresh cycle . do u have Frozen embryos??
Hope ur AF report on time so that u can start. All the very best.
Just few mths to go , we will be in MTB thread.. lets keep praying.

Fatbabe,
Hey How r u?? yes I have 4 Frozen embroyos.. I don’t know there grade. I need to decide.
When r u planning to start again ?? fresh or FET??

Vi4n,Monica,
All the best for ur ER. Keep ur mind calm.

Shiny,
Thanks for the info. How r u feeling ? when is ur BT ?? All the best.

Spiffy ,
Do take lot of rest. Take care.

Pooh2,
Sorry to hear.. Just stay positive , have optimistic approach. I know it will take some time.

As su_yana , rightly pointed out . Atleast I had some good time believing iam pregnant. Though it pained a lot later. I was happy that like every person I am also entering motherhood experiencing the phase of motherhood. Though it was for a shortwhile I can never forget in my life. After lot of clomid cycles, IUI cycles and now IVF. I was tired of seeing BFN but this time atleast there was some happiness in my life which I longed for ofcourse for a shorter period. I felt good and will be always treasured.

Su_yana,
Don’t worry . don’t think too much start concentrating on your next phase , first is regaining the health , understand the things to do before entering the new cycle again and following it. We will be MTB thread one day. God is listening to us.

Fond,
Ya just 2 -3 dates should be fine.
When r u planning for FET?? Do u know the procedure for FET?? Any lucruin injection or straight away scan & ET ??
Ya I understand what you r going through . Its very necessary to be optimistic and start the journey.
All the Very best. Keep praying. Iam sure we will have little ones in our arms.

may I ask wat is fsh? why the price of ivf fresh cycle so ex? Dr loh told me cash outlay is only 1k plus coz of gvt grant. The rest deduct from medisave. He told me so-iui no grant, n cost abt 1k also n success rate lower than ivf. That was why he said proceed straight to ivf.

Dear ladies

any advise?

Today is my first day taking DHEA as prescribed. First capsule of 25mg at 3pm after meal and the 2nd capsule of 25mg at 9pm after meal. (as instructed)

I experienced a frequent urge to pass urine from 10.30pm onwards (every half an hour once) with difficulty in urinating (burning sensation) similar to Urine tract infection which i have history in.

I took a sachet of citravescent at 12midnight to ease the discomfort with lots of water but now at 4.30am, the symptoms seems to get worse and slight sight of reddish urine spotted.

Do you think i need to go hospital now? quite unbearable.

Fond, you are not crazy to think that way - to get pg even for a while. I think it gives us ladies an assuarance that we are indeed ok and can get pregnant

Fancy, I think we went through similar stages like you, clomid, injections etc. So a BFP for a short moment can somehow overcome all the painful injections and various mood swing.

Let's hope we have some good news to share. IN the meantime, let's build our health so that our future pg will last for the rest of the 9mths.

Hazel, IVF is more expensive coz of the injections that we need. Furthermore, during ET, we r put to sleep and it is considered a minor operation. I guess all these add to the cost. They are also need the lab for egg/sperm fertilization. Whereas for IUI, we do not need to go to operating theatre for any of the procedure. And the lab is only needed to just get the good sperm for injection to our body. I hope that helps.

Rostrum, hope we can be cycle buddies.

suyana, thanks, I know ivf is more ex... But cash outlay is only abt 1k according to dr loh, after taking into govt grant n medisave. So am wondering where got ex per the sisters above. It is ex if we choose to go private, that wld be 15k n above. If at Kkh, So-iui no grant no medisave also 1kcash. That was why dr loh, he wun propose so-iui these days to ivf.

Fond
I feel exactly the same way as you.. if at least got positive HCG at least got chance mah..and at least got can get preg. just that the timing or the embie not right.. of course no one wants mc lah.. but the docs can do all the fertilization but nothing they can do for the implantation...

would like to share a story with u... yesterday i was at a hawker centre getting lunch.... i saw this old couple sharing a bowl of fish porridge and a cup of coffee... the old man keep scooping porridge for the old lady... the old lady looks more frail than the old man... very apparent that this old man cares alot for his wife and takes care of her.... this scene makes me think while we are all trying hard to have a baby... eventually, our children will be off to build lives of their own... if we've taught them rite, they'll be around us always but we can't deny the fact that they have their own lives to lead too... so ultimately, the one truely that will be by our side will always be our spouses.... so while focusing on ttc-ing... must remember to continue to spend quality time with ur spouses... also must remind myself.....

Juju78, thanks for checking out that for me.

I read some of u jump directly into IVF option without going through IUI or SO-IUI. What's the reasons care to share? My gynae draw a flowchart and shared with me the various options available and then ask me to discuss with my hubby. Feel like throwing back the question at me to decide...ahhaa.. wonder if that's the way or not.
But glad she willing to explain lor..afterall I am paying for consultation what.

eskimobaby - I agree with you on the quality time with spouses ... I had a failed IVF but I had gained in term of closeness with dear hubby as he is the one motivating and comforting me all the way ... so ladies, in our race of getting pregnant plse do not forget the needs of our spouses .... we may had our bad moody days but remember without our spouses by our side, we may not achieve the objection .... just sharing and not intended to hurt any feelings

What's the difference between ICSI and IVF?

Guess alot goes to the blaming game when pressure builds up, which I am gulity of at times for blaming hubby not taking care of his health by staying up late at night.... overwork and stress. I indirectly also giving him more stress. Thanks for the reminder eskimobaby, shall learnt to treasure one another.

ohohjazz,
i was with a pte gynae... the options he gave me were also try clomid... then try IUI or SO-IUI and still cannot then try IVF... but i went to kkh and according to dr loh... even with IUI my chances not high cos of hubby's sperm quality... hubby has very low morphology.... so he suggested ivf straight... i couldn't accept it at first but later thot that it's a better option cos going thru clomid and SO-IUI also a roller coaster ride... and if it's not going to help much might as well go straight for ivf...

zaza,
yep yep... we may need their full support at this time but not forgetting they also need our support at this time too... even tho sometimes we can grumble that we have to do all the work :p

jazz
ICIS is where the sperm gets injected directly into the egg. usually don't when sperm quality is no good and/or when there are not many eggs. Other cases, usually the eggs are allowed to be fertilised naturally

ohohjazz,
ICSI and IVF are basically the same... but ICSI has an added procedure where the selected sperm is injected into the ovum(egg) instead whereas in ivf, a pool of selected sperms is introduced to the eggs and let them fertilise on their own... again this is depending on sperm quality...

ohohjazz, see my posting above. total cost for ivf is much more than so-iui or iui. latter cannot use medisave n no govt grant, so cash outlay is 1k plus. Ivf much more ex, abt 10k, depending where u do.. But if u do ivf at restructured hospitals, there is govt grant n can use medisave, so ultimate cash outlay also 1k plus. Ivf has a success rate of 40% but so-iui is half of that. So dr loh told me, told me just go straight to ivf. Previously without the gvt grant, he will ask patients to do so-iui first though. Your doc shld have explained to u all these before asking u to decide.

do you know if FSH of 7.8 is high? my gyne say is normal..but tcm say is slighlty on high side..i am confused....what does high FSH means when doing IVF?

fandz
Go to the Dr now and test it. Blood in urine may signify other medical problems like kidney stones or other problems.

LYn
Don't jump to conclusion yet. Get Dr to check if u really are menopausal. Otherwise, high chances it is due to stress and that can be corrected. Another thing is diet. Are there drastic changes to your diet ? If u are already healthy, go slow on chemically processed health food, it may do more harm than good. I think you should go back to your normal healthy living habits and then monitor your progress. If yours is not due to menopause, better to wait a while until u get a better FSH reading before proceeding.

Hazel
Whether ivf or so-iui, depends on your medical condition. For some couple so-iui may work. It is better than going through the invasive ivf procedure. Although the cost is almost the same, u only need small amount of meds for the cycle and there is no op and less side effects, but it is different for ivf. Unless it is proven after some cycles of so-iui, the couple still can't conceive, it makes sense to go for ivf as for ivf, it is also not 100% gaurentee u get to take home a baby.

Morning ladies, the diff of 7 bed with single bed at nuh only $100. So i also choose single bed. Nurse said i should need to top up because i used 3 pens of 900gonalf. How much to top up i still dont know.

Hope_4_bb
FSH 7.8 is not high. It is normal. Anything <10 is very good already. High FSH means, u will not get good response/quality/no.of eggs from the cycle.

Thanks eskimobaby...

just got back from kk 24hr clinic. Pain is really unbearable..reddish urine and blood stain..whole night never sleep...hubby travelling..so pathetic..

wake up feel pain, get dressed go hospital, queue up see doctor, went home rest, ate medicine &amp; rest. HUbby not by my side...when he knew about it. He said wanted to book ticket flew back...so touched when i hear it..

Eskimobaby you are right, thou we have a duty to bear offsprings for next generation, our spouse will still be the one with us till our death bed.

for those who use up 3 times government grant for ivf? do we have to fork up hard cash for 4th or 5th ivf?even kk is near to 10k per cycle...

hope 4 bb
fsh depends on age...lower the better, preferably around 6 is ideal if you are early thirties. but so long below 10 is still acceptable in some hospitals.it changes every few months.

bubbybear

that's the problem with 'some' kk hospital doctors. I was so in pain since 4.30am yet i still waited 1 hour at the clinic. I told the nurse my urine is reddish already. at home it was reddish yellow...so pain...yet she say its normal...

i was the first patient at 7am. after waited 1 hr, the doctor saw my reddish urine, said it is normal for UTI. He said his mum has it every month..OMG!!!!gave me anti biotics..and said nothing to do with DHEA. at least Dr Loh nurse still call and ask about my condition and i did a urine culture test.

just to share my story with you. i had done my 1st fresh cycle in mar'08 and the result was positive. day by day as the baby grow, doctor said the water inside the head should be reducing and brain should grow bigger as well as other body parts. unfortunate during the pregnancy routine scan, doctor found out that the water in the head was not reduce, chances for the baby to become retarded or can not survive long is 50% 50%. thus doctor asked me to make a decision whether to terminate or carry on the pregnancy. after seeking 2nd opinion, i did the early pregnancy termination at weeks 20.

after resting for 6 months, i did the FET. too bad that 3rd day after BFP, AF. i rush down to kkh, doctor warded me for 3 days, after all the test, scan was done, doctor announce that i had a miscarried.

now, I am doing the 2nd fresh cycle again. my 1st puregon scan result was not very good as I only have 3 follicles and the size is small. doctor increase the dosage from 400iu to 600iu for 2 days and did the 2nd scan again. the result is slight improve, follicles did grow 10.5, 12 &amp; 13. dosage increase to 700iu for 2 days and need to do the scan again on tomorrow. i really hope that the result will be good and can do the ER, ET then can join the MTB group.

fandz
I understand your frustration, that's the problem with training hospital. Treat everyone with the same meds with the same symptoms. How can they say its normal even before they test it ? Blood in urine is not normal. Good thing that Dr Loh's clinic test for u.

Did u read the side effects of taking DHEA ? If its not stated, most likely nothing to do with it.

hi eskimobaby,
fully agree with you, only spouse will stay by your side. By old age, our own siblings or parents might not be around either.

hi sc,
you are really brave but keep the past behind. Baby dust and wish you success for this try.

bubbybear

i did read the side effects of DHEA in USA forum and they did mention dark urine with some blood stains is normal..but never mention Urine tract infection...the 24hr clinic test for me but will pass to DR Loh..this is quite sudden as mu UTI has never sound so serious before. i could still feel slight pain now after taking anti biotics. but nurse said Dr loh is very busy today so i just have to wait.IT is really scary to pass urine and see blood everytime you know..

buudybear, u r right that ivf is more demanding. for me n hubby, there aren't anything wrong. But still, dr loh told me to go straight to ivf coz cash wise, is affordable now n has double the chance of so-iui. Since he said So, I trusted him. Prior to Him, I saw gynae, a/p tee also at Kkh ps. He also keeps asking us to try on our own coz he said both of us are fine. Only when I dun conceive after 1 yr of seeing him, he referred me to dr loh. So end of the day, the doc has to give his professional views. tough or not tough, end of the day, I agree with him to go for the one which gives higher chance.

hazel,
i know that there are some couples who are under dr loh and were asked to try IUI or SO-IUI while waiting for their turn to try ivf.... so not necessary dr loh will recommend ivf straight away... it's more of case by case.... depending on both wife and husband's conditions..

sc,
sorry to hear abt wat happened... my heart goes out to u.... i'm into my 19 wks of pregnancy and there's not a day where i dun pray that my baby grow healthily... all the best for ur coming fresh cycle

fandz,
hope the antibiotics will help u ease the pain... and really hope that it's UTI and not caused by other condition.... maybe stop DHEA for now until dr loh get back to u?