hi rostrum

poor quality sperm will affect chances. Coz it matters if embryo can grow to a good grade. Its true only need 1 good sperm for the procedure hence for your case likey Dr Loh will do ICSI for you instead of IVF.

They will select the good sperm and inject in.

I hv a fren's sister whom got plm conceiving as well....She is a Catholic and heard of this Novena church....She went down for 9 days in a row and write down her wishes on a paper and pray sincerely...She manage to get pregnant after 2 mths...Not sure whether its a coincidence, bt there is no harm trying....

I m not able to go cos my dh do not like me to go to a church....haiz...sometimes I really wan to go down secretly...bt I duno wat excuse to give for 9 days...so till now I hv not tried yet...

Fond,

Yes, Dr Loh told me he will try 50% on ICSI and 50% on IVF...Bt since I m now switching to Prof Wong...I not sure wat method he will use...I was told my chances of success is 35 to 40%...and he will put in 2 embroys for me...

Do u noe does ICSI or IVF stand a better chance?

hi oxidise
pls take care and seek treatment if necesary...

hi monica
gd numbers so far...wat is ur lining them?

hi v4n
gd luck to u as ur ER is approaching

rostrum,
maybe u & ur hubby can attend the ART talk at wdlds library next sat. let him noe more.
cos i failed 1 round of O monitoring (ended in m/c) and 1 round iui, i prepped hubby for ivf failure last yr. but then, we succeeded.
nothing is for sure. not even wif ICSI or blastocyst.

juju78,

Congrats on yr success! Is it a baby gal or boy?
Thanks for yr advice. We will mit up wif Prof Wong next Sat and will c hw he advice first? There will be a an IVF briefing and consuelling upon registration for the procedure...from them, perhaps I will prepare him for failure instead of success....Of cos I wld hope tt it is a success...bt nothing is for sure....

Rostrum, I am not too sure if ICSI or IVF stand a better chance. From what i understand through talk from Prof Wong, if male sperm on that day is of not good quality, they will go for ICSI so that to increase the chances. My ivf cycle was done with ICSI.

True with some ladies here that IVF success does not necessarily depend on the dr and medication. I think our body, health do play a part. And of course, LUCK
. What we can do is to make sure we eat healthily and pray alot during those times.

Su_yana, Oic...guess I hv to ask dh to keep eating his chinese medi to improve the quality of the sperm...his tinking is since we are going for IVF, he can stop eating those yucky medi..sometimes I really feel like crying!!! As woman, it is not easy...everyone blames u for infertility though the plm does not lie in u! And worst still, men's plm becomes our plm...we hv to do all the jabs, and medi and side effects irregardless the plm is on us or on the men! I m not complaining...bt y must we go thru all these? Why us?

Sorry for venting my frustrations here!

Sorry for the many questions...
I realise tt I hv lesser menses flow as compared to last time...is this due to the lining cld be thining?

I only use :
3 pads for day 1,
4 pads for day 2,
2 pads for day 3...the flow on the 3rd day is normally v little...and will hv spotting till day 5...
Is this normal?
I hope to thicken the lining before starting on IVF...is there anyway besides eating red bean soup?

rostrum,
we hv a gal
thx
ask ur hubby to continue all his meds. when doing ivf, think @ puregon or sometime before ER, hubby will hv meds to take as well. but think is jus vitamins.

Hi juju78,

Wah...a gal!!! I like girls...bt given my current situation, I tink I can oni hope for a healthy baby!
Yes, i will ask him to cont taking...else its no use if I go ahead for IVF and he stop taking medi....!

Fancy,

I always think that whatever doesnt kill us only makes us stronger..u never know u r so strong until something like that happens site, and u just grit ur teeth n fight on like a warrior girl..I had many such traumatic experiences alrdy..now I have given up on having a biological child. Started a new job this month and exploring the idea of adoption end of next year.

Rostrum, I agree with you. Man problem becomes our problem. And the older ppl dont think that way. When you cant get pregnant, it seems that its the wife is the cause of it. When we go around to increase our chances of getting pregnant, don't you think it is always the ladies that going through it but not the husband. Like going for massage, taking herbs and pills....Dont worry i can feel for you.
Just look at IVF...we ladies are the one goign for injections after injections. Their job is only one time....

Yes, get him to continue to take his medications. Hopefully he can be in better health when the procedure starts.
When are you starting? Where?

i guess 1 way of getting men involved in ivf is to get them to go wif u for all appts, blood tests, scans, injections, etc. dat's wat i did to my hubby, unless he's not in sg.
then i got the nurse to train hubby to do injections. he did my lucrin & puregon jabs for me too.
making sure he was involved all the time, kinda made him understand how much i had to go thru.
maybe u gals can try

Die,
U r definitely v strong and hv brave thru all the storms...I understand hw u feel....though I hv not went thru before...bt its really tough for a woman to undergo such experiences which we do not wan! Hving a child is not everything...if hv is a bonus, if dun hv, its not the end of the world...
I hv a fren whom went to adopt a baby gal...now the gal is so cute.....resembles the hb so much!

Su_yana,
Yes, I fully agree...I hv went thru medi, massages and herbs for conceiving and I tink I m the kan cheong type instead of my hb....I noe he is anxious...bt somehow or rather I dun tink he put in enuff effort for everything lo...although he keep saying he wans a child soon! Argh! mabbe the guys dun wan us to be too stressed out...bt I feel we are the ones doing everything lo....

I m miting Prof Wong next Sat at NUH....and the nurse told me the next cycle date is Nov...

juju78,
My dh is rather bz in work...I dun tink he can accompany me everytime I go for all the jabs and tests though he tell me he will try his very best...So I cannot blame him for work commitments right?

rostrum,
then bo bian lor. but maybe he can go wif u for 1st appts? a scan or 2? go when learning to jab, so dat he can jab for u?
my hubby was always the one who sim tia when he jab me, keep saying will be pain, then make me lagi stress... haha!
his work also important la... ivf need money also

juju78,
I will definitely get him involved so tt he noes what we went thru...of cos work is impt as we also need money for IVF ma...bt he got to strike a balance also...
Its even more difficult for me since I m working also...are u gals in the work force while embarking on this journey? Does yr boss understand when u need to apply HL?
I still duno hw to break the news to my boss though...wonder whether he will be happi on my "planning"?

rostrum,
i was lucky. i hv a very supportive boss who is pro-family & we r like frens, so very encouraging for me to go for ivf. i would take time-off to go for scan/blood tests/jabs in the early morning, then work a bit later to compensate for the time. also it helped to pre-empt them when we r expected to go for HL (abt 19 days from ER to BT), so dat arrangements can be made to cover ur duties.
i was lucky my hubby was doing his own biz @ the time of ivf, so he had a lot of free time to go for all appts wif me at the later stages. so after the scans/blood tests, he wld drive me to work. then nite time when he come back, he will jab for me.

juju78,
OMG, I tort HL is oni for 2 weeks? Hw come is 19 days? Tt is abt 3 weeks leh...Wah...I wonder my boss will like it or not? Hmm....tis is a point tt I hv to factored in also...i hope my boss is as understanding as yrs!

rostrum,
ER to ET alrdy 2 days. then kk will do bt on D17 after ET. u try to pre-empt ur boss & see how.
else, some ladies here jus tell office they going for woman surgery & will be on HL, dun nid to say ivf

juju78,
Oic...so its not at 1 shot la..its separated...I try not to affect my work tt much la...Hmm...I will be frank to my boss..I dun wan to bluff him...n if he dun understand, it shows tt its time for me to move on!

juju78,
Oic...okok..will let my boss noe first..I am going ahead whether he is ok or not? Cos time is running out for me...thanks for the information!

rostrum,

I thought the novena is the same prayer throughtout the day, it changes every week. I did not know they have novena everyday. Last I herd ia every week
Jasmine, can you advise all of us? Yeah I heard about the placing your request on the paper and put in the Novena box so devotes of the Church will pray for you and it is very effective..

Will be starting with my hubby to go down for 9 weeks and also drop our request in.
Hope God will hear our prayers

Die,

You got my private message to you???

humbug,
Wat I noe is 9 days in a row...bt tt was many years back...and it is to pray to a stone rite? Perhaps I m wrong...bt I tink she mentioned something lidat to me...

Lina,
Yes....I will tel him...and I hope he understands...I do not noe hw to break the news to him....I m still tinking...

humbug, u starting ivf or trying natural? Novena is for catholics n ivf is not allowable in the religion. but can still pray for success under ivf?

I went before to pray for a kid but not 9 wks in a row. Hubby is catholics.

rostrum

prof is a man of few words. maybe i dun have 'yuan' with him. my post review with him wasnt informative. he didnt say what could be the cause of the failed cycle.maybe just unlucky. i did ask him what can be done differently if i do next cycle. he said he will do what he had done for this cycle of mine loh.
yep.. PRof will do all the scannings for u if he is in SG. actually, i dun mind not having him do the scanning also.. so now i am considering SGH or KKH. but cos KKH seems to have a long queue.. i will see how lah.. 1 fresh cycle is abt 2 mths.

Lyn
prof's 1st consultation shld be abt $100 plus. cant rembr exact figure. but subsequent visits to him for the ivf procedure will be free liao.. they wun bill u till u finish ur cycle.

humbug
my backache was so bad last night i have to take painkillers. last night so scared leh.. nearly wanna go A&E liao.. cos it's painful when i breath! cant sleep last night also. this morning went ot Dr Zou, she help me acu for my backache.. damn pain sia! but heng just now i could take a short nap.

oh.. dr zou was very nice.. she shared w me a lot on what could have been the reason for the failed cycle eg lining etc..

so ladies under prof, pls pls ask him for the exact measurement for ur lining when u do ur scan. then u can tell dr zou and she can see if she can help u improve it. cos for my case, every time i ask prof abt my lining.. he said ok ok.. so i also dunno if that was the cause of the failure..ie poor lining

su yana
i called CHR nurse to send me the BT results.. it's free.. which i have already received.. but it's just BT.. nothing on those info on the scans.. eg lining.. follicle size etc.. that one will need prof to write in a report ( u need to tell him u wanna get ur report personally). but maybe wont receive it so soon.. cos prof busy. that's what the nurses said.

Hi meow/ rostrum, i was told prof 1st consultation is 115 plus GST but i only charged me 30 plus GST when i saw him last 2 weeks so i m kind of surprise coz dr loh consultation is abt 90...

Hi rostrum, got to let ur boss know better so if u go for BT or scans he cant say much. If u hide from him or her the stress u will on urself coz u have to find alot of excuses for ur absent at work. Remember minmize ur stress level to maximize chance of conceiving....... Nowadays ivf is very common so dun be pauseh abt it as for colleage who gossip let them be la coz mouth is their and if they gossip its no good for them only...

Dear Fancy,

Thanks for your sharing. My heart goes all out to you. Of Course, i remember you..... You are one of the regulars who are active during the August period..

From 27 July to 18 Sept... may means like only about 1.5 months to others....but the tramua that you go thru is beyond description..I can sympathise with you cos i am also under dr Loh.... he will tell you the facts... straight..which i feel is better...

May I ask are you working all this while between july till sept ?

I am currently doing accupt with Dr zou to maintain my health... 2x a week... If you need a listening ear and you want to try her ( dr zou), we can arrange to meet there...

You are now a stronger person ! and your future baby will be so proud of you... remember that : )

Meow, hmmmmm maybe he knows my boss and he is doing this out of goodwill coz he knows i m a staff nurse... and i appreciate that

Lina ang ,
Well said.. Absolutely rite.

Yumyum,
Thanks . have you started FET ?? All the best

Humbug ,
Thanks . have you come back when r u starting the cycle??

Oxidized,
Please just hang on.. u have passed more than a half of well. Be strong. Constantly monitor if it gets worse don’t hesitate to go to 24hrs clinic.

Monica ,
Thanks. your scan looks good. All the best for your Day10 Scan.

Rostrum,
When I went for D&C Nurse was havinga casual talk , at at that time she mentioned daily taking DATES will improve the sperm quality. I don’t know how far its true and she also mentioned that it is good for ladies it increases our blood count. Just 2- 3 should be good.

Die,
Yes when I pass difficult times , i always try to remember that there are many other women who are facing even greater challenges than me and yet can stand up and face it with strength. they inspire me to go on and fight. often i'm also inspired by the feelings and stories shared by the ladies here.
I salute your strength.All the best for your new job. Iam pray that all your wishes come true. Take care.

Jude babe,
Thanks for the supportive words. I work from home serving Indian company.I was taking constant offs not on continuous basis. My boss was very understanding as his daughter is going through the same problem. But I have to look for new job , as iam losing my job due to take over of the company.
With Dr loh I have no complaints . He is too good. Very straight forward . I prefer such persons. We have family to support us emotionally .
Have you started the cycle again?? FET or fresh cycle??
Actually on Oct 14th I got appointment with Loh , might be they will say the reason for failure iam not sure.
I don’t even know the grades of the embryos. Hence after discussion will decide whether to go for FET or not. I need to rethink about cost , as we have no medisave or any concessions. As iam not PR.
Iam so scared of acupuncture actually I have read so many threads in this forum. Now iam also rethinking. If its going to increase the chances of my pregnancy, definitely why not .. I am keeping my step down do anything to get pregnant. My DH is so scared abt all this acupuncture , I have to first convince him that it is fine and good. Anything I will decide after Oct 14th. Thanks I will definitely PM you for contacting Dr Zou.

lyn

yup.. i just restarted w Dr zou tdy. cos i tot my AF will be regulated on its own after bfn, but no leh.. still on off spotting. so went to her to tiao body back loh.

then she said usually after failed cycle, got to go to her to tiao body.. cos the whole ivf process very damaging to the body.