<font color="aa00aa">Hi all,</font>
I'm new here, wish to join in to learn more abt IVF/ICSI.

Anyone here is seeking/has seeked IVF treatment at KKH? Which gynae at KKH specialised in IVF?

Thanks for sharing

Hi vonvon,

Yah loh, the machines at TPS are newer and better. If u cont to see Dr Loh at Clinic D, he may send u to AMC to do the scan. U can check with him on this tomorrow.

The scan pictures are actually chargeable upon request. But Dr Loh sometimes will print and give us a copy to keep. So far the best pictures are the one taken at ADC during 20w detailed scan cos can see full body of bb and it really look like a bb! After that, the ones that I got are mostly abdomen, heart or thigh of bb only cos bb too big to fit in the screen!

Hi tnsw,

Yah, u can continue to take after O for the cycle that u are not trying for bb or going for IVF.

Hi blue rabbit,

My IVF was done at KKH. There are only 2-3 doc there who can performed IVF at KKH. My doc is SF Loh.

Hi chemistry,
Other than Dr Loh, which other docs r specialised in IVF? I wish to hv a fixed gynae so that he/she can follow my case throughout from Day 1.

Hi Chemistry,

Thought the scan machine in his room is good enough. He asked me if I would like to switch to TPS but I told him no need during my last visit. He didn't mention to me that the facilities/equipments are better over there. Ok...will ask Dr Loh on Wed.

As for the scan pics, think will just ask him candidly &amp; see if he'll just print it out for our keeps.

Hi blue rabbit,

Welcome to this thread. Like Chemistry, my IVF was also done at KKH &amp; my doc is SF Loh.

hi vonvon78,
thanks for the link.

vonvon78/chemistry,
Can share your experience with me abt IVF/ICSI at KKH? E.g. the charges/fees involved, what r the procedures like, how long the whole process takes, how many cycles do we hv to go thr b4 we get pregnant, etc?

Sorry to ask so many questions. It really came as a surprise to me when the doc told my hb &amp; I this morning that IVF is the only option we hv.

blue rabbit, welcome to the thread...if you want (no obligations), u can private message me and give me your hp, email address and real name so that we can keep in touch...

tis list with all our sisters' names and contacts are for our own internal circulation and not to be posted here..

you can read some of our history in the archive, maybe you can gain some understanding from reading it...

til then, take care and welcome again..

Hi blue rabbit,

If I recall correctly, only Dr Sheila Loh, Dr SF Loh and Dr Sadhana are performing IVF in KKH. The earlier 2 are Snr Consultants while the last one is a consultant. So far, most of us are seeing the Dr Lohs.

Me and my hubby went thru some tests and found that my hubby SA no good and IVF is the only solution for us. However, we were not immediately referred for IVF as doc would like to reconfirm the SA results again in 2 months time. The 2nd SA turn out worst than the 1st and we were referred for IVF immediately.

We started consultation in early Jun, started IVF in Oct and complete IVF in Nov. Cost for IVF alone is about $6K- $9K dep on individual. We were lucky to conceived on 1st cycle.

Which doc are u seeing now? Was the prob due to your hubby's SA too?

Hi blue rabbit,

For me, was found that my hb's SA result wasn't good. Thus my gynae recommended us to go straight for IVF/ICSI if we want a bb soon. Else, based on my age, can try naturally but chances will be difficult &amp; slim. So, we went for IVF/ICSI.

You have to be prepared for lots of injections throughout the entire proess. For the first stage, you will be given oral contraception pills &amp; then later will be asked to start Lucrin jab (on tummy daily). Thereafter, depending on your scan result, you'll start on Puregon jab to stimulate your eggs development. Egg retrieval will only be done (day surgery) after your eggs are grown to the right size. Egg transfer is carried out 2 days after egg retrieval, after which you will need to go thru' another series of injections to enhance womb lining. Beta test (blood test) will be done 2 weeks after egg transfer to see if you'd successfully conceive.

This whole process will be very dependant on how well you respond to the jabs.

Hope I didn't confuse you. You should visit a gynae at KKIVF first &amp; see what he/she says &amp; then as you start the process, you will have a better picture. Don't worry. If need be, we'll all be around to support you during this process.

I have been getting blood tinged discharge since midnight!!! Now at home dunno what to do! Called up KKH at 8am and they say they will call me back, but till now nothing! I dunno whether to go to the 24h clinic, cos I got no contractions leh! Wait kena send back to wait! The waiting is really killing me!

chemistry,
maybe you call kkh and ask them to page for dr loh, or you want to go down to kkh 24 hr clinic....

Hi tnsw,

They say will check with Dr Loh and call me back but till now, still no calls from them. Think I will just go to the 24h clinic if I still don't hear from them by 10am.

Read up the web and it says that real labour may only start 1-2 days after the 'show'. Dunno how true...

chemistry,maybe wat you said is true but better to be on the safe side...if not, call them again and ask them to page for dr loh again...and say its urgent...maybe dr loh also wants to induce you leh, hard to say..take care..maybe go and take a shower first and wash your hair and let ur hb know..

Hi tnsw,

I have taken my bath and wash hair liao. Dunno why I can still be so calm sitting here also! Urghhh......ok, I going to "dress-up" and go KK now!!! Dun want to wait anymore!

Chemistry, u take care of yourself, anything to update, just message me or any of the gals so tt they can let the rest of the sisters noe..
take care and have a safe delivery...

tnsw,
I've been crying since morning....i feel so hopeless!!! The 2nd stick of the preg. kit showed -ve again...
I told my hb &amp; my gynae that I dun want to go for the urine test tom...anyway the result would be the same....dun want to break down in the clinic....

adria,please dun cry, i noe its very disappointing for you but you hv already tried your best...you have rested well, eaten well and taken every best precaution..u r not hopeless, okay..take a good rest and see wat to do next...

Adria,
Pls don't be sad. Is your hubby with you now?

Feeling kanchiong for you but dunno what else I can do here except to give you support. Must tell yourself to be strong, and take care okie...

I've called TFC. Told nurse about it &amp; told her i dun want to go tomorrow liao. She asked me to go back in 4 days time, &amp; meanwhile drop all the progesterone, oral as well as the insert...

Hi Chemistry

I think your bb wants to come out liao!!!
Keep us updated

Hi Adria

Yes, you have tried your best liao, try not to feel too sad cos it will affect your body. Take care ok? Talk to us if you want someone to talk to...

Hi tnsw

Me juz seen bb doc. He said there is jaundice but still not warrant a phototherapy. He suggest us to sun the bb for another 3 days to see if the yellowness goes down. He did not poke my bb to test her level (heng-ah!) today. But Fri, if he see bb yellowness still same, he wants to do a liver blood test to make sure things are ok. If the liver is ok, my bb is actually breastfeeding jaundice which will go away in 1-2 months time and will not cause any harm to bb body.

Btw, I have been thinking if I should quit from my job and be housewife full time to take care of my bb at least till she is 1 year old.

I have been observing how my MIL and my mum handled my bb and can see that they are totally inexperience and I dun agree with how they take care of my bb. Just 2 days again, I just saw how my MIL "shake" my bb. I quickly run over to tell her not to do that cause her brain is not fully development yet. Alamak, how can I have a peace of mind when I go to work. Somemore my both of them doesn't even know how to change bb diapers.

I have discussed this with my hb and he said he will respect my decision and work harder if he is the sole bread winner. I am still deciding...

chemistry,

relax
Show does not means u r in labour... gotta time your contractions
congrats.. think your bb finally going to be born soon

adria,

dun be sad... wait a few more days... sometimes for certain people, the hpt is not able to pick up the hcg even though they are really pregnant.

tomatoes, whether to be a housewife or not is really a very difficult question to answer as each person's financial/attachment to baby etc requirements are different...

maybe you can observe for these three mths that you are on maternity leave how they handle giselle and whether you are the type who can stay at home....

Discuss again with your hb and see how he feels...

As for the jaundice, can u still bf when the baby has jaundice as a result of breastfeeding? wat did the doctor say?

Hi poohy,
I'll wait...but i have this feeling that it was the progesterone intake that keeps my menses away, &amp; once i stop taking, my menses will come liao....
Dr yeong ask me to continue taking the tablets &amp; the insert, the nurse told me to stop....i dun know which one to listen to...though i really dun feel like taking liao....

adria, maybe you can call dr yeong and ask him on wat to do since the nurse gv u advice conflicting with wat he said...is it the nurses at tfc told you to stop or the nurses at dr yeong's clinic?

adria,i see, why dun chk with dr yeong and see wat he says if u just wanna be sure?in the meantime, just rest since u are on leave...

Hi tnsw

He said I can and should still breastfeed cos the benefit are tremendous. Just that my bb will have prolong jaundince but it is ok one. He has mothers will still do full breastfeeding even though bb got breastfeeding jaundice. It lasted for about 1-2months which is harmless.

Initially I thought I am the type who cannot stay at home. But having spent 3 weeks at home liao, I think I can as I will be busy with housework and bb. Another alternative is I find a proper nanny to take care of my bb during the day.

tomatoes,if the doctor says so, shld be able to continue then..hope her level goes down...will yr mum mind if you dun let her take care of giselle?

302741.gif

Can i join this thread?

yesterday i went for a new gynae consultation
302742.gif
and he told me and hb that our chances of conceiving naturally is very slim and even though we wanted to try IUI, the chances are also very slim too...the reason being my hb has dunno what in born varicoles (hee, dunno how to spell

juz wanna check if i wanted to do ivf at kkh can i juz call kkh and tell them i want to do ivf? heard that we must also attend counselling sessions and im curious what the counsellor will tell us?

welcome, jcml to tis board, maybe you wld like to go thru kkh's website to find out more...or you can read thru the archives here to read more about the sisters here....

we do welcome u with open arms and hope you learn from us here as much as we wld like to learn from you...

Hi tnsw

I think she will mind abit but i tink she will understand. If I can find another bb sitter near my hse, I will tell her that it is more convenient 4 me.

The best is that i can get my neighbour as bb sitter cos I c her v.experience with bbs but I doubt she want lor. But I will try and ask.

Hi jcml

Welcome! You can also scan thru our previous postings to find out more.

Hi tnsw,

thanks for ur warm welcome
302751.gif

actuali i have check out kkh website but the website doesn't seem to say much abt the ivf thing. at the same time i also have check thomson med website but the information there are even lesser... me scared dunno what the counsellor will question us, sekali after counselling then said we are not suitabe even for ivf then i guess i have to die liao, hee hee

ok, i reali hope to learn from u gals and i try my best to tell u gals whatever i know

for a start, im diagnosed with having PCOS and mild endo.... as im reali not young anymore hence i reali hope to start the ivf program asap

oh ya, my gynae also prescribed some male hormones for my hb to take in the hope that it will improve the sperm count and hence for ivf program hopefully can get more better sperms

Oh....just took a nap in the morning &amp; seems like so much things had happened. Just sms Chemistry &amp; guess what she's doing now? Her appt with Dr Loh is at 1pm &amp; she's now shopping at Bugis for bb's clothings coz' got good bargains.

If I were here, I will be freaking out in the hospital liao. She's so steady!

Adria,

Pls don't be sad. Hope your hb is with you now, giving you moral support. I agree with tomatoes that you should listen to Dr Yeong instead of the nurse.

Perhaps like poohy mentioned, some may have lower hcg levels early in pregnancy, resulting in hpt test being -ve. In any case, we are all here to support you. You are not alone, ok?

tomatoes, its a difficult decision to make, do you think maybe after two months or so, your mum wld b able to handle.

for me, my mum used to be working as a secretary and she din really look after me when i was young..so she doesnt noe how to handle and she doesnt even noe how to bathe a baby..she also cant bend down as her legs were not in good condition..but other than that, actually she is not old, one...
So i bo pian, got a maid and my mum supervise her at home...

every kind of care giver will hv pros and cons, really hv to weigh every alternative..

Hi Tomatoes,

I personally feel that if you are financially sound with just income from your hubby, it's worthwhile considering staying home to take care of your girl by yourself.

Baby's development in the 1st 5 years are very crucial &amp; if you have the luxury to stay home &amp; concentrate on this home-based job, by all means quit. This is my personal opinion as I've seen how well brought up my friends' children were brought up by them. If I have the chance to do so (which I doubt), I will not hesitate.

jcml, the counsellor at kkh is a lovely lady who does not follow a fixed format to talk to you but just hv a nice chat in general..u need not worry...she has undergone ivf herself and also noes the process that we r going thru...

maybe u wld like to call the kkh main office line and ask them to put u thru ivf centre and ask the nurses there who are very helpful....

Hi vonvon

Actually I have nothing in mind for a homebased business. This is just my thought. I also agree that that initial stage of a child is very crucial.

Frankly speakly, I am not well to do. If I quit my job, the income that my hb get is just enuff. Which means we need to give up luxury things like reducing the chances of eating at restaurant.

For me, I guess the oni thing I have to give up is shopping. Hee!

Hi Tomatoes,

What I mean by home-based job is this full-time mother job.

Sacrificing chances of eating at restaurants or shopping aren't big sacrifices. You will find that really worthwhile for the sake of your girl.

I'm not sure how much you are earning lah. For me, if I've to fork out money to look for a nanny, it would be even better to do it myself as I'm not that kind who earns $4K-$5K a month. But if you belong to the high-earner category, then, it's a lot more (in terms of money) to give up. Only you &amp; your hb can work this out.

Hi Vonvon

No lah, I am not a high income earner... hee! To be frank, I earn slightly more than $2k oni... but my company does provide some good medical benefits...

I guess I really have to consider properly lor... cos next time when bb grows older, she may need to attend some interactive classes and also we still have to worry about her education expenses, will be quite hard on my hb.

How about you? Do you intend to work again after bb born?

tomatoes, vonvon,

me too wish i can stop work and look after my boy myself. Especially after spending 3 months at home looking after him... i really wish i can just continue ... but its not a possibility currently cos i hope we will have more finances to make sure bb is comfortable and able to spend on his enrichment. my pay is above 6k... its not that high but good to have to let bb have a more comfortable life. I came from a very poor family where at times, even gotta go hungry... hmm i really dun wish that this sort of things will ever happen to my bb. Besides these days, the economy is so filmsy.. its dangerous to depend on a single income .... i mean wat if kena retrenched then no one else to backup the income liao... so bo bian lor...

Hi vonvon,
thanks for the encourgement. I just woke up from a nap &amp; ate some porridge...feel better now...since i've made up my mind to wait &amp; see....My hb is at work, but he's been calling me very often....just to make sure i'm alright...he also spoke with Dr Yeong. Dr yeong told him that i should wait till D16-17 then either go to the clinic to check or do a slef check again...guess i'll just continue my tablets (no more inserts liao) &amp; then see how la...

i have read thru some of the previous postings and i reali admire u gals for the courage and confidence for going thru ivf. Cheers!

tnsw, my gynae told my hb to take the med for 2 months first before attempting ivf...so i guess the earliest i can start on the ivf program is probably towards end of the year liao. actuali sometimes i get so frustrated that i tell my hb dun want bb liao, makes our life miserable somemore but hb insisted he want and i oso bo bian

tnsw,
Means buy the preg. kit &amp; do at home lor...ya, think i'll just listen to him. He's very kind, he actually called me after receiving my sms about not going tom &amp; spoke to me...asking me not to give up....could hear he's worried...i feel so bad...making everyone worrying about me...

Hi Tomatoes,

I also earn $2K+ only. So, for me, giving up this income is still feasible but of course need some sacrifices lah.

I would definitely hope that I can stay home to look after my bb. Actually I'm very confident that my PIL will take very good care of my bb. So, I'm not worried at all if I have to go back to work.

Hi Poohy,

You pay is above $6K?? That's a whole lot of money. You are definitely considered as a high earner liao. For you to stop work, it's quite a large sacrifice in terms of money. Will have to really, seriously consider.

Hi Adria,

Glad you are feeling better now. You are a strong gal. Hope your next check up will show positive result.

Hi jcml,

You have to be really sure that you want a bb before you start on the IVF/ICSI program. Otherwise, you'll give up very easily.

vonvon, dun thk i can give up my job at the moment unless my hb insists i join him overseas which he had been asking me...but i noe i cant adapt to the life there...

jcml, just listen to wat the gynae said and also have a good discussion with your hb...

adria, take heart, we are here to support you...dun feel bad, as long as you hv tried your best...

vonvon,

ya lor i also scare later i start the ivf program then halfway i gave up liao.... but for the sake of my hb i will endure and hopefully can produce at least 1 bb for him to play with, if not i sort of feel like "letting him down"

everybody keep asking me when i want to have bb but the problem is not that i dun wan, its just that i can't have naturally

tnsw, i actuali had a good discussion with my gynae yesterday and i know im left with only 1 option but my gynae said since im ovulating now he asked me to go to him tomolo for follicle scanning and jab as well. i agreed initially but this morning i called up the clinic and cancel the appt. If my hb spermies is so bad then i guess no point i go back to the clinic tomolo rite?