tnsw.. and anyone interested..

here is the detail of the talk:

Public Forum on "Fertility: Helping Dreams Come True"

Date : 18 June 2005, Saturday
Venue: Auditorium, College of Medicine Building
Ministry of Health HQ, 16 College Rd, S(169854)

Fom: 2-5pm

Programme:

- Welcome Speech (A/P Ho Tew Hong)
- Opening Speech (Mrs Yu-Foo Yee Shoon)
- Understanding Fertility (Dr LC Cheng)
- Have u been trying to get pregnant (Dr Yu Su Ling)
- Laboratory Tests for Sperm Quality & Functions (Dr Yip Wan Yue)
- Improving Your Chances of Conception (Dr Seng Shay Way)
- Assisted Conception Techniques (Dr CT Yeong)
- Fertility Journey - Sharing of personal experiences

Registration Fee : $5 per person includes refreshment

Hi Tomatoes,

Think it's good that ur hbby is careful with his health...as he got his promotion ( soon to be father )Therefore has great responsiblilites towards bb & U now...glad that it's clear

poohy, thanks for sharing....could be good to go to get more information....for those of us who are free

miko, some of the old postings has the protocol for ivf/icsi , you may want to refer to it before tomatoes post it here..

Hi miko2006

I am so happy for you and your hubby. Improved by double is really v.v.good. My hubby only improve by 30+% only. So your chance is gonna be good mann...

I guess Prof is gonna start your with Suprefact jabs (down-regulation jab) first for about 2 weeks. This is the first stage of jab where you will do it every morning at home on your tummy area. Dun worry, not painful one. The whole IVF/ICSI process will take about 6 weeks. During this 6 weeks, you will be ask to avoid alot of food... The nurses will pass you a list. Once your scan and blood test results are ok, you will start with Gonal F or Puregon, depending on what Prof suggest. (Gonal F is the cheaper one). Then every now and then, you have to see him for scanning and do bloodtests also to see how you are reacting to the hormones jab. For your hubby, ask him to continue with all the vitamins to keep his soldiers in optimal stage
Let me know if you need more info.

Btw, the doc also said the same thing to my hubby and me. Now he is going to be a father, it is better to be extra careful and check things out....

Hi tnsw

Poor thing! You must be suffering now. If really unbearable, you might wish to call your gynae and ask if you can take a painkiller... Actually good that you have all these symptoms also, b'cos all these are likely to be caused your rising HCG levels ;)

tomatoes, thanks, mayb u can put the list of food to avoid for the rest of the sisters here

really dun noe wat to do with the headache, dr loh says panadol is okay but trying hard not to take...my hcg levels were vy low when i took the beta test on the 17th day after et, but now dr loh never ask me to take so hopefully the levels are all right, hopefully, i can tahan today....
by closing my eyes and try to sleep

Hi tnsw,

It's a good sign to feel like vomitting and yet can't vomit. I got that that kind of symtoms during early pregnancy too.

Hi tomatoes,

My hubby actually wanted to go to the PC show yest too cos last day usually got better offer. Later, he decides to get his stuff at Funan so never go. But my friend say the nuk bottles are quite cheap there. I think for us, we already got all our stuff ready, so maybe really nothing much to buy. Have u pack your hospital bag. Me haven't leh. :p

Hi tnsw

I have posted it a few times in this thread b4 but now due to bad memory, cannot really remember what are they. I think it is like soya products, birdnest, chinese herbs etc.

Hi tnsw

Use ice pack on your head. Maybe you will feel better. Try to take a nap.

Hi chemistry

I have packed my hospital bag half way. Seems like a lot of things I need to bring and trying to cut down now ;p

tomatoes, thanks...

maybe at home, office got no ice pack, really pain until cannot tahan...

remember to bring some maternity pads..dun noe if the hospital provides but buy some also good as you need some for home when you get discharged

if you hv natural delivery, remember to clean your wound with the spirit they give you

remember socks as delivery room can be quite cold and maybe long sleeved sweater for your husband..

Hi Tomatoes,

THANKS for sharing the protocol, really got no courage to do it all over again w/o the Supports and Postings with all our brave ladies here

Hi Tsnw,

Hope you can relax and rest well for the day.

Hi All Sisters

The following is the list tomatoes posted before based on her memory (things to avoid provided by her RE):

1) Chicken
2) Multivitamins
3) Alcohol
4) All Chinese herbs
5) Ginger
6) Soya Bean products
7) Bean Curd
8) Bird Nest
9) Noni Juice
10) No Hair Chemical treatment ( Like rebonding, colouring etc)
11) No Heavy make up
12) No excercise

I think that's about all. Will add more later if I missed out anything Actually I dun really understand why some of the healthy food like soya bean products also cannot take. I think I haven't heard of other REs asking his ICSI patients to refrain for this and that leh. " - TOMATOES.

Hi tomatoes

Don hv to crack yr brain

Hi Potato Chip

You are always to nice. Thanks for posting the listing again. Actually I also dun understand why some of the things cannot eat. For soya products, I think there is some chemical inside that we should avoid.

Hi miko2006

You can do it! Jia You!!!

Hi Tomatoes

Don't mention. Ju2 shou3 zhi1 lao2. Yap, my RE mentioned there is a kind of hormone in soya products that might be harmful. But hor abit doubtful lei. Cos my vegetarian friend, eating alot of veg n soya products, still giving birth as per normal. Anyway, is better to be safe than never.

potatoes, thanks for all the work you done here for all the sisters...you are right, never heard of all those items to refrain but better to be safe than sorry..

miko, thanks for concern, will try to rest, now not so bad already, on and off the headache will come...

tomatoes, i think if i am not wrong, potatoes mentioned before that soy products can interfere with the production of some estrogen or smthg ike that..thats why cant take

Hi tnsw

Don say tat lah, make me so paiseh. U r rite, that was wat I gathered from my RE before, good memory.

By the way, u did not go to yr co's booth at the pc show to get customers?

potato chip, its true you have done alot for us.

u mean my company was at the booth to get clients to open share trading accounts?

i guess the dealers have to go there, for us remisiers, we are self employed, the company wld not let us go there to get clients..also market is bad, no one wants to trade nowadays

tnsw

oic. only 2 cos there, POEMS and yr co. !st time saw yr co at PC show. POEMs is oways at PC show to encourage people to sign up internet trading acc. I signed up during one of the pc shows many yrs ago.

Yah, I agree. Potato Chip is always very caring and helpful. This thread would not have been so lively without her around

ai so neh, last time stock exchange got show then i went down, that time still a dealer....

getting lazier and lazier, have not been getting new clients, very bad attitude..cant trust new clients nowadays, commission so low, the risk so high

how is your body reacting to the chinese dongchong cao and did you manage to get your new source of dongcc?

Huh, u all make me so paiseh lei.

But hor, sometime this thread move very slow, then I hv to visit other thread to gather some info.

Actually all of us are very helpful and there are some hidden hero also who prefer to pm then sharing here
. By the way, I find that the friends I meet here is much better than my close friends cos unable to share this issue with them. I have a very close gf, I shared with her my failed IVF. Who knows, she spread the news to other friend and they called me to prop further. So sad
. Thereafter, I stopped sharing with this gf liao.

tnsw

No special feeling after taking dcc. Hv not found a reliable source lei. My friend asked me to buy from those big TCM, such as EYS or Yu Hua.

Hi Potato Chip

How can your close gf do such thing to you. So terrible of her!

You not having lunch yet? Me going at 1pm, thinking of just eating a super nice fruit yogurt from a sandwich shop nearby. Maybe will go buy later. Hee!

Hi tnsw,

How come still active on the forum huh? Talk to us on the forum can cure your headache izzit? Kekeke....

Hi tomatoes,

What did u bring to the hospital? I can only think of a set of clothing for me and baby, jacket for hubby, breast pump. That's all. Toiletaries will be provided by hospital, right? What else must we bring?

Hi tomatoes

Yalor, so upset that time. My hb oso very sad about it. We are still gd friend now, but will not tell her anything about my IVF lor

Taken MacDonald $2 breakfast this morning. Most like eating an apple will do. Aiyo so envy that u hv nice fruit yogurt around. U also hv many choices around u. My place not that convenient.

By the way, you can tahan so late lunch? I thought preggie very hungry. Me prefer to go late lunch cos I don want to join the lunch crowd.

Hi potatochip,

My MIL just got the dcc from Fu Hwa last week. She is a pro in selecting dcc and she said the one from Fu Hwa is good. It is packed in a box, loose form, 25gm, cost $260. She say the bigger the dcc, the better it is. Must have the black root attached to it. Some dishonest seller put a metal wire/toothpick inside the dcc to increase the weight, so that's a point to look out. But she say, no need to worry if getting from Fu Hwa or EYS.

Hi Chemistry

Is it advisable to bring breast pump? I should be bring 2 set of button front pyjamas, a set of clothing for bb discharge, my own toiletries, a towel, a jacket for hubby, sanitary pads (overnite type), a nursing bra. Dun forget your admission letter.

Hi Potato Chip

Where is your office located? Sometimes, I also run out of ideas of what to eat. Though I have alot of choices here but most of things I can't eat cos of my gestational diabetes. So ma-fun!

I also prefer late lunch cos dun want to see so many people around. Somemore, time will pass faster in the afternoon if I take late lunch. Hee!

Hi chemistry

Thanks for de info. Precisely, that was what we spotted in the dcc recently, toothpick in between. Terrible. Wonder who put it? The manufacturer or the shop

Hi Tomatoes

Great mind thinks alike. Me too, late lunch will make de afternoon shorter too
. Me is near to JE MRT. There r a few coffee shops but oso running out of idea what to eat. So sometime, will only take an apple.

Hi Potato Chip

No wonder you are on the slim side. Apples are my favourite nowadays. Recently those big juicy fuji apples are in season. Really very yummy and cheap (3 for $1). When I go to my usual shop, I will buy at least $3... until one of the staff knows me so well till he will bring out a carton for me to choose (cos I aso always complain b4 that no nice apples for me to choose)... hee! ;p

Hi tomatoes

I thought u prefer tomatoes
. Cherry tomatoes r one of my favourite too. Me eat any kind of fruits provided by my mum and my in law. I hardly have the chance to buy the fruits on my own. Paiseh. No lah, slim recently partly cos of IVF. Lost about 4kg.

hi, ladies, just had my lunch,

potato chip, really empathise with you, am in same boat as you, wont tell any frens that i am on tis program not the specifics though..best frens are even worse, they noe your whole family and you noe their whole family and they sure go and tell their family abt wat you go thru and the next minute it bec conversation topic..hv met some heros that you mentioned also

ivf can cause you to lose weight? is it the stress or the medication

btw, read somewhere in the sunday times on an interview with this lady who owns a spa and she said that for preggies, every time you have craving, eat an apple becuz it will help you to lose your pregnancy flab

dun noe real or not, she swears by it...

chemistry, ya, feel better participating in this forum, even my headache is gone

Hi tnsw

I think is de stress, the medication and some personal problem that caused me to lost weight.

Wow, then u better talk more here so that u will 4get about yr headache

potatochip,

stress - hopefully u take it easy tis time
medication - ask doctor on the side effects and how to tackle them
personal problems - hope u overcome them before you start the fet again..hows the quality of the embryos?

ya, really better to chat here to forget the pain..

potato chip, hope you make it as indeed fresh cycle is stressful, worse is when its cancelled like in my case...

Hi Potato Chip

Yes, I like cherry tomatoes oso. But can't take too much at 1 go. Oh no! You lost 4kg during your IVF? Lost weight nevermind, but dun lost your health. Try to eat some bu everynow and then

Hi tnsw

I think the apple technique does work. Yesterday nite, I really have craving to eat at about 9+ - 10pm. But then I fought hard and took an apple instead. I think it helps quite a bit

Just took my Muesli yogurt... almak, quite filling...

Btw, are you feeling better now with your headache?

Hi potatochip,

The toothpick is done by the manufacturer, i.e the manufacturer had put it in b4 drying it up. But the local medical shop won't be that stupid not to spot that unless it is randomly placed. Why didn't u go back to the medical shop to complain?

Hi tomatoes

Yes, mam. Hv taken alot of bu liao. Till now, u still can't eat durian? So poor thing
. Is worth while when you see yr bb in few wks time. So envy, too much yoghurt huh.

Hi Potato Chip

Yalor, durian definitely no-no! Coconut juice also dun know can or not. Maybe just take a bit at a time. This G.D problem is very funny one... If I need to take sweet things, I can only take small quantity at a time so that my body will have enuff time to produce insulin. Too much at 1 go will cause insufficient insulin and my sugar level will rocket up to outer space.

tomatoes, am feeling slightly better, still on and off but not as bad as the throbbing headache before lunch

the apple thing maybe true as my sister in law says that eating apples alone for a few days can help to lose weight, she is a paedritician and she lost wt using tis mtd...after birth...

Hi Chemistry

Cos these r some of the old stock my mum pass to me, so I did not check where she got it from. We only spotted these toothpicks when we soak the ddc.

Hi Potato Chip

The worst thing is after I deliver, I still must be careful cos once a woman had G.D, she will also have good chance of developing diabetes during middle age... so.... I also cannot anyhow eat after I deliver. No choice, maybe it is one of the things in life I have to give up in order to have a bb. But I think it is still worth it lor. Anyway, now my eating habits has changed liao eversince I had G.D. ... so I should be able to cope better with my selected food range after I deliver.

tnsw,

I remember my gynae said it's gd to have pregnancy symtoms, the more the better. So it could be due to ur bb growing, ur body homones changing...should be gd news lah. Dun worry.

thanks, all for your concern, hope its true that its the hormones which is causing me tis...but since mine is an fet, so also quite wary of things.. although there have been healthy preggies from fet

i also had gestional diabetes when i was preg 5 plus years ago..imagine they restricted my bread intake to two slices and also chee cheong fun without the sweet sauce..and eat grapes can only eat a few...where got pple eat grapes eat a few, one, sure eat one big handful, right?

but no choice lah, they got to restrict you if not may hv complications'

and i got family history of diabetes, so better take care, tomatoes after all you are in last lap already

Me having problem here... been having slight bleeding for past few days... dun know what is wrong with me? Anyone experience slight bleeding while taking the Lucrin jabs? My menses ended about two weeks ago. I think it could due to my cyst that is causing the bleed. I am going for a scan on wed.. is it possible to request to see a doctor after that. I am very scared