Hi vonvon,

Dont worry lah, ur beta should be good. just dont think so much, as for the pain and cramp, I always have this kind of cramp during my mid month and I remember during my IVF I also had it and it is quite bad till I cant sleep at night. just drink more water. I think is mild OHSS.

Hi tnsw,

I m left with one ovary coz I was diagnoise with ovarian cancer (stage 1) when I was 17 yrs old. so I went thr a major ops to remove one of my ovary which was badly damaged and left the other ovary intact.

ET(winky), i am sorry to hear that and i hope that your other ovary is okay and working well, wat else did the doctor say?

Hi tnsw,

The other ovary also tend to have cyst problem, I had another surgery 5 yrs later to remove cycts. That's why I was closly monitored by my oncologist (also from KK). He always advise me to complete my family planning as early as possible. I was referred to Dr Yeong by him.

Et(winky), i see, hopefully its okay now and you can conceive, my friend got alot of pblems and failed twice with nuh also managed the first time with dr loh..

believe in doc yeong, he shld noe wats best

Hi ET
My condition very similar to yours though mine not cancer. Me too...only have 1 good ovary. My left (bad one) still intact. Now there's some infection on my ovaries and I am facing the possibility that even IVF also cannot do!!! By 13 June I will know. I am so sad and worried.

I am so worried that i have to go for another operation. I had just done one in April this year. I cannot afford to go for another operation...I am sure my boss will sack me this time

Hi tnsw

Thanks for posting the Question for me

Just pray for the best, et and hopeformiracle, many things in life are unpredictable, so take heart and let us noe any further news/updates..

potato chip, dun mention..if the doctor answers, i will post the answer here for all of us to learn, how is your job, you said you wld be busy from june onwards..

hopeformiracle, dun worry, if you *touchwood* need another operation, just go for it as health is more important

wat talk about govt asking women to give birth when our companies are not even pro life and family friendly

hi hopeformiracle,

Dun think about your work or boss. Your health is more important. If u are not in good health, how to perform well in your work. Try to talk to your boss. No one will want to go and get themselve "cut" unless necessary. I hope your boss will understand your situation.

hopeformiracle,

ya. wht tnsw said is true, health is more important. when i went for my surgery to remove cycts, i wanted to delay the surgery to 6 months later coz at that time, i just started my new job barely for one month and Co policy is no MC entitlement during probation period. When I told my Dr, he scolded me that work or health is more important. so in the end, I spoke to my boss and she approved my one month unpaid leave.

so if need to go just go for it, dont think about work.

Last year, I went for a minor surgery to remove polyps, I also never consider so much. just fix a date and go even thot my colleague is on maternity leave when I m suppose to back her up.

Hi Chemistry,

I m planning to start my FET in Aug so ET should be in Sep but Dr Balaji is on leave. So I might be starting in Jul. I'm also considering to switch RE to Dr SF Loh. Not that Dr S Loh is no good but she just have too many patients to handle and her q is super long. (Dr Yeong was joking saying maybe I have better luck with Dr SF Loh
) I'm currently seeing Dr Yeong to see if he can help me conceive these 2 months thr other methods.

I'm soooo happy!!! Beta test result is positive & at 590.

Thank you to everyone who has been so supportive during this period.

Vonvon78,

Congratulations!!!I think our gals here r getting lucky nowadays. Hope that those still trying don't give up.

Hi ET,

Today is 16th day after ET. Is my result considered good? How do you tell? Not sure if it's twins. Nurse Nora just said that it's a stable reading, nothing else leh.

vonvon, congrats, ur beta reading is good,very encouraging if i must say.Compared to mine, mine was like 77 less than 100 on the 16th day, thats why i thot all hope is gone..

so happy for you, and hope that i am okay too becuz of the baby's slow heartbeat...

et(winky), maybe you see if u can switch to doc sf loh, am sure he is equally as good but also be prepared to wait

Congrats Vonvon. So happy for u. Actually today very moody, seeing yr result made me so happy now. ***hagz****

Hi ET

I think hor, yr initial intended FET date is my intended FET date too. I will stake to the date lor cos I was never served by Dr Balaji before lei.

Btw, I choose this date cos don 1 2 do it during the chinese 7th month
. How about u? This time I must seriously choose an appropriate time to do it. My last two attempts were both done at wrong timing
. Especially the fresh cycle, is the worst time in my life.

tnsw,
Don't worry, our gals here r very lucky lately and I believe u'll be one of them. Slow doesn't mean no. R u getting any injections? Or only on duphaston?

Hi Chemistry,

Nurse told me that I can go down either this afternoon or tomorrow to get my prescription. Waiting to see if my hubby can be off early to go down with me.

tnsw,

Don't worry. I'm sure things will work out well for you.
We are all here to support you.

Chillipepper,

Not sure if it's going to be twins. Yes. I'm on MC until tomorrow. Going back to work on Mon.

Hi regtmc

Ya, I was not told that we can choose our embryologist. So far, the embryologist for my both attempts was the same person, Cheryl. Very sweet n sporty young lady.

Hi vonvon,

it's just a guess but I do hope u can ve twins coz so far, all of our sisters here who conceived thr IVF only got singleton. no twins yet hor...sisters!

Yes I agree we can't choose our embryologist, but Dr Balagi do handle some of our embroyos at the Lab lor. He is the chief mah, maybe the junior do the work, he will check and approved whether the embroys need hatching, or can do blastocyst etc. Just like our work, we do the work, certain docs or decision still need boss approval. Get what I meant. I remember one of the RE did mentioned that to me but I cant remember who liao. Next time when I see Dr Yeong, I will ask him on this.

Vonvon, thanks for your encouragement. and to the other sisters as well

My embryos were trasnfered fm tmc but the one who spoke to me was melinda at kkh

regtmc, am only on duphaston not more other medicatios as dr loh din prescribe it

i think too much knowledge is a dangerous thing, am worried for my current situation because of the late implantation, thats why progress is slower, dr loh cld see the heartbeat ticking away but nevertheless still scared

but he said as long as no bleeding and no severe cramping, just pray for the best

potato chip, you are rite, dun do during seven month as traditionally chinese dun want to do anything major during that period

hope that you will optimise your chances towards your fet by taking care of your health during these few crucial months...

Thanks tnsw. Now trying to bu as much as possible

Same for u, don worry too much, take care of your health. Is time for your afternoon nap

Ya, agree with ET. Hope vonvon will hv twin.

By the way, all sisters here, remember to watch 1st mum tonite.

potato chip, thanks, i tried to sleep just now, woken up by my mum's phone call

are you still making dong chong cao...read from another board that dong cc, with pow shen, go qi zi (red wolfberries) and lean pork double boiled is good..did you make it?

P_chip, is the way you cooked it the way the chinese doc at marine parade prescribed for you?

where do you usually buy it from? guess those old fashioned type of medicinal shops shld be reliable..

Hi tnsw, de sinseh did not teach me how to cook. He jus mentioned that actually even he oso cooked dcc once a week cos is a general health remedy.

de recipe u mentioned jus now is exactly de same as what tomatoes had advised me before
. so the sisters here very knowledgeable
. Actually hor, i used to buy fr my friend, but I find that the texture different from EYS lei. But hor, EYS very ex. So really, don know 1 2 buy from where liao

hee hee must be the recipe from the other board ha ha

actually we are knowledgable by virtue of the difficulties that we have gone thru...like two of my frens who have gone thru infertility but have since had children, can say their knowledge is fantastic..

better than some of my frens who got pregnant easily and stupid enough to think that if they have constipation and squeezed hard enough when they push their bowels, their baby wld come out together with it,really xiao.....

vonvon, am no expert but avoid those that we were telling you about, the banana thingy...chin chow, how are you feeling?

they said dun eat mutton if not the kid wld "fa yang tian" (throw fits) dun noe real or not, indians and malays also eat wat

just be safe, dun eat cooling foods, are you feeling any morning sickness?

Hi Vonvon

Tomatoes asked me to congrats u on her behalf. She is on leave today and now rushing for her 3D scan
. She will be able to advise u on the diet when she is back tomorrow. Chemistry, annie, regtmc, poohy, westbb will b able to advise too

Have a smooth nine months.

hi vonvon,

i guess for me, I continue to eat as per normal ... nothing excessively... everything in moderation. Its advised to cut down caffeine intake like tea or coffee. I think I do have cravings for ice-cream and coke... and I took quite alot of those throughout...

My mum disallowed me to take crabs and banana... I din cos dun wanna upset her though I feel its ok as long as taken in moderation.

I din take any tonic (bird nest etc) or soup whatsoever cos I hated those things...

As always fish is always a good and nutritional food to take
Avoid scaleless fish like shark, sting ray though cos they are higher in mercury level...

I feel most important in 1st trimester is to take folic acid as it can avoid alot of congenital deformities. In the 2nd trimester onwards, at least 1200-1500mg of calcium daily (my gynae gave me calcium pills to ensure that), multivitamin, and probably fish oil (eg. neurogain) for bb's brain and eye development.

btw, if morning sickness sets in, takes small frequent meals ... this helps to curb bloatedness. Though for me, I din have any morning sickness...

Try not to exercise in trim 1... my gynae din allowed me to do exercises in my 1st trimester. Prob becos I have excessive bleeding/clots (subchorionic bleeding) in wk 5...

When things are stablised in the 2nd trimester, u can do light exercises with blessings from your gynae if you do not have conditions that prevent that. I did lots of physical work from 2nd trimester onwards like housework, wash toilets, wash floor etc right till the day before I give birth. Final trimester, I did exercises to help bb turn and engage .... all these I think shd help in my quick delivery. And it was just 2-3 hours of active labour pain for me and no need of epidural.

Enjoy your nine months ahead... being pregnant (esp with the first child) is just such a joy that I still reminisce ... and if God willings, hopefully in a few months time, I will once again have that privilege.

tnsw,

I tested positive in wk4 and wk5 I went for my beta blood test. Was on prometrium insert and duphaston during my luteal phase. then one fine day at work, I was just sitting there ... no cramps no nothing.... I suddenly feel something pass out .... so I went to the toilet to take a look... I still remember I saw a huge blood clot and I was bleeding like a very heavy period. I was sitting in the toilet seat crying and calling my hubby and my mum .. was crying in my office also (now i feel so malu when I think of it)... I thought I must have miscarried liao like I did in march 2004.

My hubby rushed me to the kkh24hours and by the time I reached there, my pants were all wet with blood...
And there was so many people there on the queue... and my hubby got problem registering me cos I was from the private suite clinic ... thank God, dr yeong (my gynae) just happened to pass by that way and he quickly offer to scan for me. I was wheeled to TPS for my scan. Can only see a sac and there was such a huge blood clot inside... I was put on bedrest for 2.5 weeks... during that time, I saw my gynae every few days to review... we were quite relieved to see the heartbeat finally anyway the blood clot still there... cos gynae said its subchorionic bleeding so can only take jabs and keep fingers crossed...

really thankful to God that dr yeong was ard and just happened to pass by tt day...cant imagine me bleeding and standing there waiting to be scanned at ER... he paid close monitoring to my pregnancy throughout...and encouraged us alot...

Hi vonvon,

Generally, no cooling and cold food in the 1st trimester. Cooling food include big bananas, watermelon, glass jelly etc. Just try to take normal meals and dun take any herbal stuff.

2nd trimester can take a big of cold food like ice-cream, soft-drinks lah, but not too much. Also can start taking tonic such as birdnest and herbal stuff like DCC, blck chicken etc.

Last trimester, can continue with tonic till 8th month and then take coconut drink during the last month (2-3X a week).

For me, I took lots of tonic since 2nd tri cos both mum and in-laws prepared them for me. I have been taking birdnest at least once a week (never had such a luxury life b4, kekeke) and black chicken/DCC ever alt week. My in law only ask me to avoid seafood, beef and mutton cos they are "poison" and baby may not have a goood complexion if I take too much. But then , I still eat them lah, but maybe not so often like once a week or 2 weeks. Oh yah, took quite a bit of durain too cos it is "pu" for the baby, but dun take too much cos may result in diabetes!

Hi tnsw, poohy, chemistry,

Thank you all for your very valuable advises. Will definitely take note & avoid cooling food.

Poohy,

You must be terrified at that point in time. But luckily you'd the blessing of God, thus no harm was done to your bb.

potato_chip ..

ya lor.. I keep telling my hubby that God must have sent dr yeong on his way to pass by the ER that day just at the time we reached for 5min. I remember when I was on my way to hospital, I called my frens to pray for me...

vonvon,

ya terrified.. when I saw the blood clot I thought it was my bb!! my colleagues were so surprised to see me crying ...

Hi Vonvon

Congratulations!! so happy for you. TOday went back to work liao and cannot access the forum til now.

i went back to do the blood progesterone test today..still more than a week to go...cant wait! Keeping my fingers crossed i'll have gd news like you!