Hi Westbb,

Congrats on youre little bundle of joy. He is really lovely. If you remember me, I also went through ivf/icsi ard same time as you. I am in wk 38 now and still waiting patiently for my bundle of joy to arrive. Don't be stress and you must be strong. Remember we went through so much to come this far....

The rest of the ladies who are still trying, do not give up too. I am sure your turn will come....

Take care!!

Hi westbb,

Congrats! U bb looked very handsome and boyish. U take care and dun be too stressed up. Do come in here whenever u are free and share with us more of your bb's photos!

your boy is so lovely, he is really worth all the heartache, injections and pain that you have gone thru...congrats

hi westbb,

congrats, thanks for sharing the photos .... so sweet!

Hi Westbb

Congrats! Thanks for the bb dust. Your boy so handsome. Do come to this thread when u need moral support from us
. Be strong, be a happy mother

Hi Tomatoes

My fren failed one fresh IVF cycle n 1 FET cycle two years ago. She do not have anymore frozen embryo left. It takes sometime for them to process the application and now my friend was quite hesitant to try again liao

tomatoes -28, preggie now, going to give birth rite EDD 26/7/2005

chemistry - 30, in procurement,same as tomatoes, going to give birth soon EDD 9/8/2005 (succeeded on first attempt)

me - 34, fet, waiting for news (IVF miscarriage in april, 2004 (tmc) and FET in April 2005 (kkh)

von von - 27, HR,went for et and waiting for results and must be good gal, dun anyhow eat (kkh)

potato chip -35 ,accountant, waiting to do fet in a few mths time, now eating pineapple furiously, ha ha

poohy, in IT and got one baby????

Chilli Pepper,31, in first stage of IVF

Marine, 29, civil servant, just went for first ivf (gleneagles)

Westbb, Just had a baby boy born on May 17,2005

Hope i got the latest update right?

Westbb, how is your baby jaundice? dun worry, my kid had this as well, i recommended tis to a few frens and it worked, go to those medicinal shop and buy something called "wong gee gee" (its some yellow balls), just put it in a little cloth bag and put near the baby, it wld help in jaundice

no harm trying as its not to be consumed and i did it for my son and also told a few frens about it...of cse, you must also consult doctor at the same time lah

Hi Westbb,

Your boy is so adorable & handsome. Can't wait for my case to be successful & experience the same joy as any mother would.

Hi Tomatoes,

Just went for my blood test today. Nurse said that this is to check if the medicine is working well for me & if I need any add'l dosage.

Beta (HCG) test will be next Friday, 3 June. Just requested doc to cover me with MC for the rest of this week.

The jabs has been giving me muscle aches. Yesterday's dosage went down to the back of my knees & it hurt a lot coz' it's at the joint. Can't even bend/straighten my leg without feeling the pain. But, it's all going to be worth it, right?

harlo, potato chip, am supposed to see dr loh tomorrow, i have alrady accepted fate, tomorrow wld be the big D day

luckily my hsb is back for work from sunday to thurs, hopefully he can accompany me to see the doc tomorrow

vonvon, its gonna be worth it...although i havent experienced it thru ivf but your sacrifices are worth it......

Hi Vonvon

It is definitely going to worth it
. I also facing the same problem as you, thats why the nurse suggest I changed to jab on my back. It is much much better but hor another problem arise
. My handbag keep rubbing on the position where the jab was and end up alot of blue black. Anyway, at least no more muscle aches when jab ont my back

Hi Potato Chip,

Huh...jab on ur back? Isn't that painful? I'm very terrified of jabs but found that injecting on my thighs wasn't that painful. So, I'll still stick to my thigh.

tnsw,

All the best to you!

Tomatoes/Chemistry,

Was there any sign that could have told you that you might be pregnant, even before your beta test? I've been trying to watch out for signs but kinda afraid coz' there's none. Maybe it's too early to experience any signs?? Whenever I think this way, I'll have to tell myself to relax & not think too much.

Hi vonvon

Yes, it definitely worth it
If you experience pain on that area after the jab, soothe it with a warm towel... it will help to a certain extend.

For me, I have no symptoms at all before I got my +. Just a bit of nauseous and giddiness due to the estrogen supplement that I took (side effect). So dun think so much and concentrate on your rest

If you feel bored, come in here and we all can chit chat with you

After knowing westbb has given birth, I can't help but keep imagine the day when I deliver. I suppose the fear is setting in liao...

Hi Westbb

Congrats! You have a beautiful baby.

Do come to this thread and share with us more of his photos

Just give ur best shot on the full breastmilk!

"JIA YOU" ...Don't be too stress up

Hi tomatoes,

Thanks. Will rest well & come in here to chit chat with you gals.

Don't worry. I'm sure your delivery will be smooth & easy. In no time, you will have your own bundle of joy in your arms.

I am NEW here...anyone know do we actually need interval to do IVF/ICSI? If yes how long???

And any interval period for FET after a failed IVF?

SOTONG HERE...pls advise?

HI Vonvon,
I am sure all the jabs you suffered are worthed it. I am now into 9 days of Lucrin jabs and feeling okay. Next week going back to have my scan + blood test. Do u need think they ask me to start on the puregon jab already ? So after Lucrin jabs, the puregon and the jabs after ET are expected to be more painful??

tomatoes, dun worry, lah, you wld be okay when the big day comes, infact labour and delivery compared to the looking after the child is a breeze...

looking after a child and to be responsible for her/his wellbeing and growth is even more stressful than the birth itself

maxxx, welcome online..hope that you get to know more from here....

after failed ivf, guess you must wait at least two or three cycles, i am not too sure, for me i had a miscarriage and my menstrual cycle din return for some time..so i had to wait a few months, if u are free, u can take alook at some of our old achives...

Hi tnsw,

Your appt in the morning tomorrow? All the best and hope to hear good news from u.

Hi vonvon,

I also changed the jab to the buttock after 1 week. In this way, there will be 3 days interval before jabbing on the same area again (jab in sequence like left bum, right bum, left thigh, right thigh) and your jab area will be recovered b4 the next jab.

Same as tomatoes, I dun have any pregnancy symptoms prior to beta test. I got spotting after 1 week, but then it lasted for a week and nurse say unlikely to be implantation spotting. I also dunno what caused the spotting cos the nurse say shouldn't have spotting when I'm on progesterone support. My pregnancy symptoms on starts surfacing on my 6-7th week.

Hi tomatoes,

Dun worry too much. If u can't take the labour pain, at most ask for epidural lor. I already make up my mind to ask for epidural upfront cos I want to receive my baby happily and also since this is my 1st delivery, I dun want the pain to deter me from having more babies. My colleague say it's a breeeze to deliver with epidural.

Hi chillipepper,

The puregon jab is about the same as the Lucrin jab, fine needle, so not much pain. But the trigger shot and post ET jab are more painful, cos the medication are oil-based and they use a thicker and longer needle to inject into the muscles. I really got a shock when I went for the trigger shot, but just tell yourself, if other ladies here went thru it, so can u.

Hi maxxx,

Most gynae say can try again the next cycle, but I think better to rest and build up your body for at least 3 months before trying again.

chemistry,

my appt is in the afternoon at 325 pm with dr loh...but must go earlier for the scan

till now, i dun feel anything at all..not nausea nor anthing

as for needles, numb to it alrady, just take a deep breath

chemistry,yup, ask for epidural soon, if you pain until cannot tahan then ask for it, then no use already

but then again, r u the slim type, some people can actually have totally natural birth without any epidural..dunnoe how they can take it, one

Hi Chemistry

Yah, I sure chop chop will request for epidural. I even wrote it in my birth plan that I want epidural upfront ;p

Hopefully the epidural will not give me any side effect like puking cos I heard some will have... If not, I will be puking and pushing at the same time... what a sight.

Hi tnsw,

U going to AMC to do the scan first, is it? Actually, Dr Loh can do the scan in his room leh. Why dun u email him and ask if he can do the scan for u instead of having to get it done at AMC. I also went to AMC to do my scan as per instructions from KKIVF, but for my subq visits, Dr Loh did all the scan personally even though it is at Clinic D.

I'm the slim type, but my threshold of pain is damn low.

Hi tomoatoes,

If u puke, heard it's only the initial stage and should go off when you are fully dilated. My colleague say when her bb is out, her doc commented " ok, baby's out, mummy is still smiling". So funny.

dun think epidural gave me any side effects leh, but then you may not hv the energy to push, just like me and had to have a forceps delivery

yah loh, dun noe where on earth is tis amc, leh...so never mind just go there and see how it goes...if the worse comes, at least i am mentally prepared for it

for me, also, threshold damn low thats why, i ask for epidural from the start....

Hi chemistry

Really hope that I won't puke. I have a friend who has a c-setion using epidural. She puked throughout her operation. When the bb is out, she is so groggy that she can't see clearly when her gynae showed her bb to her.

Hi Tomatoes

Don be so worried. We hv already come so far
. Besides, u hv Prof Chen with u.

Maxxx

I am not too sure how long should the interval be. When I meet my RE after my failed IVF, she just told me I could proceed with my natural FET anytime. At that time, I felt that I need sometime to recover physically and mentally, so I decided to try my FET on my 3rd cycle after my failed IVF. Recently, when I visited her on my failed FET, she told be to take a short break (did not mention how long) cos I told her I will be trying the next FET 4-5 months later.

potato chip, if u are free, maybe you can consider going to see chinese doctor again, i noe i very luo suo but instead of doing nothing during these few months, do smthg else lah. maybe can consider the chinese sinseh in marine parade or if u want i can give you the contact of my chinese sinseh (a lady)...

natural fet does not require drugs, so after fet, can try ivf straightaway, likewise after ivf, can try fet (i could be wrong)

but if after ivf, think better letthe body rest after the drugs in the body since our body may be affected by all the puregon/lucrin etc in the system

hi tnsw

Thanks for yr advise. Aiyo, talk about de marine parade sinseh. So
. I went on last Sunday, the show was closed and they put a little cardboard outside the shop saying they will be opened on Monday. I called the whole morning but was engaged. So we went down again on Monday, the shop is closed again. Seems like fated lei. Btw, u tried this sinseh before? Cos it was my hb's customer recommendation few years ago and also saw somebody mentioned in another thread? Not too sure is it crowded? I think I can only go again in Jun cos the shop does not open in the night and next Saturday I have to attend a full day seminar

Hi Chillipepper,

Not sure when you'll be asked to start the puregon jab. For me, they told me that my blood test is fine but only asked me to start on Puregon 8 days later.

Like what Chemistry said, the Lucrin & Puregon jab is almost the same. The HCG night jab & post ET jabs are of bigger & thicker needles, thus more painful. However, I felt that the pain is bearable...probably becoz' my thighs are fleshy.

Don't worry. If I can take the pain, you can coz' my threshold of pain is super low.

Well...it seems like a lot of ppl in this thread are all of low threshold for pain. All of us are super brave mums-to-be & mums (for some) to have to go thru' this whole procedure & face our fears.

Chemistry,

Heard from the nurse that if you want them to inject on your bum, you have to sign a consent form where it states that there's some risk involved, right? This was the reason why I didn't do on my bum.

On the note of epidural, I think if you have decided to take that, you should tell the doc right from the start. I've a friend who wanted to give birth without epidural but could tahan the pain & requested for it rather late. Before the medicine took effect fully, she has already delivered. So, in the end, it was a waste of money coz' not much help she got from it.

I will not hesitate to take epidural either coz' I know I won't be that brave to go thru' the labour pains.

tsnw, dun worry so much, I didn't have any symtoms too. 1st 3mths also no pregnancy symtoms even though I am tested positive. My sis told me after epidural, our lower body is numb so even if we push very hard, we won't be able to feel it. Is it true?
As for myself, I will try not to go for epidural. Currently I am 23wks, but only put on 2kg, do u think it's normal? I heard Wong Lilin only put on 6kg. Dunno why I got no craving, only take normal meals.
AMC in KKH is at Level 1. It's meant for detail scan, the room is very cramp.

Hi Chillipepper

For my IVF gonal F jabs, I am using those traditional type (ie. thick needles - normal injections). Not like KKH and TMC who are using those "pen" type.

If I can endure those thick needles, so can you all cos mine is really painful each jab. Can still remember the burning sensation. Yucks!

is tis chinese sinseh famous for seeing women with fertility queries..do you want the contact for mine, last time i put up the name , if you want, i can private message you the contact
she practises at thong chai also

try to call again to see if the sinseh can see u on another day, as you noe lah, all these chinese doctors' medicine take effect after long time leh

i ever went to one at serangoon central recommended by my fren, its a man, she swears by him but i went there but find it that fantastic

but if you r going to start with ivf/fet, then ask the doctor whether okay or not...dr loh the other time just smiled and told me "tnsw, if your tmc doctor told you to see chinese doctor, that means give up hope on u alrady"

so think that dr loh thinks that chinese doctor is for those last resort that type..who knows maybe miracle can work for u ?

Hi vonvon,

Ya, at KKH, u have to sign consent form for jab to be done on the bum cos there is a possibility of hitting a major nerve and I heard it very painful if it hit that nerve. But the nurse assure me that the risk is very low and they have been doing it everyday.

Hi tnsw,

AMC is right above Clinic D at level 1. It the place where preggy ladies did their scan. Waiting time pretty short for my case (less than 10 mins) and hubby will not allowed to be in the room. I think it's good enough to be there 1/2 hr earlier instead of 1 hr as instructed by the nurse.

Hi regtmc,

I also got no cravings till now. Dun worry too much about your weight cos at later stage, u will gain a lot more, like for last 1 month, I just gained 2.5kg even though I felt that my appetite had reduced.

regtmc, u mean wong lilin only put on 6kg..thats fantastic,man, i put on only about maybe 15 kg or less

it comes off after you give birth but the stomach area there sure very flabby

if u can tahan pain then can try without epidural but until the last moment, then ask for it, no use already....my fren thin thin that type, she is those like 50 kg or less before getting pregnant type, she can tahan the pain, she said okay..her gynae when doing the VE (vaginal examination) said she is very brave when she just tahan the pain and din scream

for me, when my gynae did the VE, i so scared until scream so loud like murder like that. when i opened the consultation door, i so paiseh so many people looked at me....ha ha

chemistry, thanks for your advice, will try to go earlier incase got alot of people but maybe not 1 hr lah, dun noe how to kill the time..

i dun noe if tis is the place that i went to for scan last time, is it ultrasound or transvaginal scan......?chemistry, do you noe?

Hi Chemistry,
I suppose u r 7th month now? how much weight did u gain up to date?

Hi tnsw,
Check cervic is very painful, ur friend is very brave. The gynae put two fingers into the vagina and stretch to check how many cm is the cervic open, tat's why it really hurts.

Looking for a foreign maid, any agency to recommend?

vonvon78, tis VE is done towards the end....actually its not so scary but i very thin skinned..

the gynae did tis VE for me towards the end...maybe one or two wks or so before the EDD

they put the fingers inside to check something

but i understand that tis is not the practice of all gynaes, i heard of pple who go to gynaes who din do this VE

but after you go into delivery room, they wld do the VE every hour to check how much your cervix has opened..tis is why i asked for epidural rite from the start as i think after epidural, not so pain for VE...

tis is my personal opinion, maybe can ask chemistry next time whether they find this VE pain or not..i must say i am tua jia but useless when it comes to pain..

tnsw,
The scan has to be transvaginal cos the embryo is too small to use a ultrasound. Ultrasound is use around the 12th wks.
They will give u a report after ur scan, showing EDD.

Chemistry gvg birth in august, so dun think she is seven months now

regtmc, you looking for maid, i am lost halfway din update your particulars, how old are you, what line and how many attempts...dun say i kaypoh trying to compile so that we dun get so blur when it comes to our different members

Maid? I not too sure, every maid agency got horror stories, leh..maybe you can try the reputed ones...or get relatives to recommend, tis type of thing very hard to say...see ur luck one

regtmc, thanks, really lost touch with so many things, remember when i had my first kid, everything went about like in a haze.....

regtmc..which hospital you going, update us on your personal particulars like when gvg birth, which attempt at ivf or iui or wat ever , how old...

tnsw,I am 33yrs old, IVF (1st attempt successful), in the finance industry. Expecting a boy, EDD 18/9/2005.
I thought of getting a maid now, so tat we can monitor her character for a few months before my baby arrives.

tnsw, Dr Thong from RH recommended me to Dr Yeong in KKH for IVF end of last yr. After IVF successful, Dr Yeong is leaving KKH, so he said it's only rite I go back to RH Dr Thong. So now I am seeing Dr Thong . Same as Annie Tan if I am not wrong.

Hi tnsw

Not too sure about the Marine Parade, hv not seen him before. As for Serangoon, r u referring to the one at Serangoon North? I hv seen him b4 too. In fact, I hv seen so many. I hv mentioned b4, I see those sinseh so long till they asked me to try IUI instead
. So mine is opposite from yrs. Mine was the sinsehs gave up on me lei.

Pls PM me the thong zai sinseh u seeing. Might be one of those I seen b4

Hi tnsw,

For me, the one doing the scan is a gynae and I told her upfront my pregnancy is IVF. So she starts off with the v.scan, found the sac and then ask me to go and empty my bladder before scanning again.

Hi regtmc,

I'm 29 weeks now. During my checkup at 28 weeks, my net weight gain is 6.3kg. Though my weight gain is normal, my gynae was surprise & commented that my tummy is small. But luckily bb is not small but average size, else i will have to start stuffing myself with durians!

tomatoes -28, preggie now, going to give birth rite EDD 26/7/2005 expecting a girl

chemistry - 30, in procurement,same as tomatoes, going to give birth soon EDD 9/8/2005 to a baby girl(succeeded on first attempt)

me - 34, fet, waiting for news (IVF miscarriage in april, 2004 (tmc) and FET in April 2005 (kkh)

von von - 27, HR,went for et and waiting for results and must be good gal, dun anyhow eat (kkh)

potato chip -35 ,accountant, waiting to do fet in a few mths time, now eating pineapple furiously, ha ha

poohy, in IT and got one baby????

Chilli Pepper,31, in first stage of IVF

Marine, 29, civil servant, just went for first ivf (gleneagles)

Westbb, Just had a baby boy born on May 17,2005

regtmc, 33, finance industry, edd 18/9/2005 expecting a boy, ivf (kkh), first time successful

annietan, 32, expecting first child..SO IUI at raffles hospital

Hope i got the details right...
yes, you are right, shld get a maid before you deliver so that she can get used to you and vice versa..also good so that she will be open to the idea that she has seen you thru pregnancy and given birth..

for me, i had my maid about one mth before delivering and my maid loves my kid alot, she went to lebanon to work already...

regtmc, good for you that you are successful with your first attempt...

chemistry, wonder how come the gynae told you to empty your bladder leh and scan again at that time can hear baby heartbeat or not?

all are transvaginal scan is it?

my stomach also very small when pregnant, maybe i am quite medium sized tua jia so pregnant also cannot really find a difference...

Am I right to say that all of you who have conceived thru' IVF are all expecting a boy or have given birth to a boy? Seems that way to me though...

Now I stuffing myself wif lots of durians hoping to gain some weight. The 2kg I gain is more on my breast than on my stomach. I didn't gain weight on other areas. I've already done my 21wks foetus abnormality test, everything is fine. Baby is of average size too.