I got married at a rather young age, 24. Reason being I would like to enjoy married life with my hubby (just the 2 of us) for abt 1 yr & then start a family at 25/26 so that I can be a young mother.

Both my hubby & I love children & have thus yearn for one of our own. Tried for 1 year but nothing happened. Thinking that it's my prob as I have irregular menses, was clomid for half a year. Still nothing happened. That's when doc told my husband to do a check. Never expected, the prob laid with him. So, we went to KKH to see Dr Loh & he suggested for us to go straight to IVF if we really want to have a child now.

Hesitated for a while as I'm terrified of needles but decided to go ahead coz' my love for children surpassed my fear of needles. We know what we wanted & thus decided together to proceed with IVF. Since chances are higher when I'm young, might as well do it now than later.

So far...no regrets. Even if this time it doesn't work out (which I'll definitely be devastated), we'll keep on trying till we have one of our own.

Oops...sorry for the lengthy story.

Oh i see, thanks for your story, hope that u achieve your dream soon, vonvon..

yes, better to try now, even if you fail with ivf, you may strike naturally, as some people have told me that after ivf, some couples also managed on their own..without any help

are u wking in a high stressed job?

for me, bleeding stopped but the beta numbers dun look great, so i am also very worried, till my next appt with doc loh, then i wld know wat is the next step...

its hard for people with infertility but pple with secondary infertility like myself find it very very difficult to cope also...

Yes. Rather stressful at work. This is why I decided to take a break from work during these 2-3 weeks to have a good rest after ET. If it doesn't work out, at least I've already tried my best to rest well & will not regret.

Don't worry. I'm sure you'll be ok too.

So you just took leave lah, for me, can say stressful can also say not stressful as i am in stock broking , basically my salary is based on the market but it can get very ken cheong at times

thanks, but am resigned to my fate till next wk when i see doc loh........

last year, i just took two days to rest after et, tis year, i rested two years but basically tried to sit down more...and dun go shopping which is my favourite activity

By the way, for the jab after ET, did you gals feel anything? Nurse told me that I'll feel soreness around my thigh after the daily jab. I felt a little for yesterday's jab but not today's.

Hi Chillipepper,

Thanks for your encouragement. I certainly hope so. But at the same time, trying not to expect too much so that I won't be too disappointed.

Chillipepper,

I'm sure things will work out just fine for us, and also for the rest who are trying.

Let's look forward to sharing our pregnancy with each other in time to come.

Hi Potato chip
I will be going for scanning next tues. After which, they will decide when to do IUI. I am just preparing for the worst case if I failed my IUI again. I really hope this time will succeed but don't dare to pin high hope.

Hi Vonvon

You hv make the right decision to start young. Your chances will be high
. When u mentioned the no. of eggs you harvest, I oready suspected your age.

As for the jab, for quite uncomfortable especially when climbing up and down the stairs. So I decided to jab on my back from the 5th day onwards after seeking the nurse advise. Maybe your GP jab's skill is good, thats y u don't feel anything, which is very good for you too.

Are you bored at home? This period is the most stressful part of the whole IVF procedure. Anyway, we r all here waiting to chat wif u.

Hi Peacy

IC. By the way, did they prescribe anything for you after IUI? Cos I did not receive any prescription at all but others who are doing it at other hospital did receive progesterone prescription. Anyway, I did it two years ago at SGH, maybe they have improved now
. By the way, who is your RE? My was Dr Christine Yap. I think she has left.

Hi potato chip,

Sure hope that it's becoz' my GP's jab skill is good & not becoz' she didn't do the right way. Coz' if you did feel the discomfort, why I didn't for today?

Do feel a little bored but am very glad I have you gals to 'talk' to.

How old are you?

Hi Vonvon

Where did yr GP jab u? Also on yr thigh? How much did you pay her? So she knows u r an IVF patient.

You can watch TV programme or VCD.

Me, already 35. Regret did not try IVF early. In fact, 3 yrs ago, SGH already asked me to try IVF. But hb was quite reluctant cos he felt that it will be very painful for me with all the jabs and bloatedness. So we tried IUI n TCM for the past 3 years without result and I decide to proceed with IVF. At least, I have done my best, so will not regret in future.

potato chip, dun be disheartened, i am also almost same age as you...and got more health pblems, alot of things are fated already, at least you got your hb to love u to see tha tyou are not suffering...you have alrady tried your best, no regrets..

alot of thgs are fated, i married early also, then had my first in 2000 and now the pblem lies with me and i even blamed my hsb for going overseas to wk, causing me my "fate" and now the fault actually lies with me....so wat to do

after my trf in tmc, also din take jab only took the inserts and after that only had one jab on the thigh, not that painful

Hi potato chip,

My GP jab me on my left thigh (yesterday was on my right). Paid her $12 per visit. Not cheap but at least it can minimize my travelling time.

But I understand that we need not have to jab at the same time everyday, right?

Don't be discouraged. I'm sure you'll be blessed with a healthy & normal child in no time.

tnsw,

You are right. A lot of things are fated. But I just don't understand why can't we (those who are prepared & financially sound) be blessed with a child of our own, whereas those who doesn't have the capability to have one or those who doesn't even want one, conceive so easily.

Hi Vonvon

Thanks for your encouragement. I have the same feeling as u too. I am very sad whenever those irresponsible parents killing their bb. We tried so hard, and yet they just don't want it. Anyway, we are not the worst after all. Look at those people suffering in 3rd world countries, handicap people, we should be happy with what we are now. Infertility is really nothing compared to them.

You are right, you do not have to jab at the same time everyday. Sometime I went in the morning, sometime in the evening.

Hi potato chip
The last 2 time of IUI, my gynae did prescribe some medication for me. As for SGH, I am not sure yet coz the procedure is next week. It is the first time for me in SGH. My doc is Tan Hak Koon. Heard that he is quite good. I hope that he can do the IUI for me.

Hi tnsw,

Dun think too much. Talk to your baby as what tomatoes suggested. That time, i also talked a lot to my baby while warded in the hospital. Eversince then, I've talking daily to my little one inside.

Hi chillipepper,

I jab to different areas every day...left, right centre...wherever I can find a spot without a needle mark.

Hi vonvon,

Hope u are feeling better today. As for the PIO jabs, i usually get cramps on the jab area 1 day after the jab. BTW, teh jab area will harden up and it takes a few days to soften back. It reach a time where the nurse can't find a soft spot to jab and suggested me to do it on my buttocks.

Hi tomatoes,

I went JL sales today too. Got a lot of great offers. Utilised 4 pcs of the $5 voucher, got diapers, nappy liners, milk bottles, baby toiletaries etc. So happy with what I have got!

BTW, check with u, how often do u see your gynae in the 3rd trimester? Was wondering when will we start having checkup in 2-week interval and 1-week interval.

vonvon, its really true, during my parents time, they dun have much money but they can conceive easily like my mum got two gals (me and my sis) easily

but for us, we have good husbands, high income and yet we have our fate like that

everytime, i see pple throwing their babies down, i get damn angry

last time, at one stage, i even thot of adopting my neigbour's kids

just think of it tis way, we have great husbands compared to those people who dun have

its always like that, thgs come easily to people who dun want it like those teenage pregnant mothers but for people like us, things are so hard..now financially prepared but in time to come, i dun noe if i am physically prepared for it or not?

chemistry, thanks for your encouragement, its towards the third trimester that you hv to see gynae weekly or more often

dun worry, the nurse will arrange for you accordinly

then please prepare your "hospital" bag becuz on the day i went to see gynae, he told me to get warded immediately as my water level was very low and very dangerous...i still like sotong said "doctor, can i go back to work, i havent completed my job"

he said "you always talk about your job, but now you have to stay in hospital"

so better be prepared, on the day you see doctor, he may induce you or smthg, so be prepared and wash your hair everyday b4 u go hospital incase after you gv birth, cannot wash hair

hope tis information helps....

Hi Chemistry

Great that you enjoyed your shopping. I only gathered 2 pcs of $5 vouchers... dun know where to get more.... btw, Taka should be starting their sales real soon also

I have just started to c my gynae fornightly and currently in my 30th week.

Yesterday, watch First mum (potato chips - I din forget
) Nearly want to cry b'cos of the indian couple. And for kym, very anxious for her about her leaking of the fluid... her hubby is so uncaring!!! Hate him...

Hi tnsw

I totally agree wif you. There are couples like us who are really trying real hard to have a bb and there are people who juz dump their bb like a rubbish... really terrible and angry. Everytime, I see this type of news on TV, I will scold and scold.

Morning Tomatoes

Glad that you remember to watch the show. Ya, so really pity the indian couple and Kym. Actually, we woman also in the wrong lor. We don't like to say exactly what is in our mind and expect our hb to read our mind. Whereas for men, they expect us to tell them straight to the point, they hate guessing game. I think Kym should have told him off that she needs him to stay back cos she really needs his support. But anyway, her hb is also too concern with his work lor.

Hi tnsw

Wonder did you watch the show last nite. Seems like you are having the same problem with kym. Very concern about her work, even when she is hospitalized next week.

tomatoes, potato_chip,

I watched first mums also.... really feel for the indian couple... think I would probably keep the bb in their case also. But if its the case of down syndrome or worst .... then I would probably hesitate... though not becos I dun wanna sacrifice my time and life for bb .. but more becos I am not sure whether bb will wanna lead a life that he totally cannot take care of himself etc kind and forever gotta depend on others... I feel if that's me I rather not lah... guess such situation is always such a dillema.

No, i din watch the show because my mum was watching the other channel

yah loh, i think i may be like her becuz my job is always on my mind as i always paiseh to trouble people to help me.....and smthgs i wish i can just resign but the pay's quite good and i need the $ for IVF, who doesnt, right?

but i noe even if i quit and go overseas with my hsb, the same pblems will recur as its my womb lining that is causing me tis

i ever thot of quitting my job and concentrating on ivf but i cant as my job got license requirements which i may hv to meet if i were to come back to tis job

boils down to people with high incomes are not necessarily happy

was juz arguing with my mum yterday, she kept saying last time people more cham, i told her "look at yr daughter, people give birth no pblem, i give birth affect until now my womb got pblem, dun noe whether can have kid or not and now the money i spent is a fortune...i may have the money but i face tis type of pblems, who can understand"

wah lau really buay tahan

tnsw,

totally agree with u .. people with high incomes not necessarily happy ... especially if your income is not extremely high but not extremely low too.. those in the middle kind.

do take it easy ... though like you, my mind is constantly on my work when i gotta take few weeks of hospitalization leave during my pregnancy... my line of work... easily obsolete.. I guess just no choice and gotta pray that things will work out.

poohy, wat r u wking as?

for me, cant help it, lah, i can ask colleagues to help and give them a cut of my commission but they wont accept, three mths maternity leave is totally out of the question

really, everyone thot tt i shld be very happy, but the fact is far from fantasy....i try to take it easy but not easy when i rush to kkh and calls come to my mobile if they cant get my colleague in the office

even up to the day i was warded to give birth, i was on the line calling my client to take care of his shares position as i am in hospital..really ken cheong to the last minute

each generation got our own pblems, our parents got low income but can conceive, we? we got high incomes but spend on medical bills, dun dare to calculate how much i spent on raffles hosp, tmc and in kkh....

tnsw,

wah last min at delvery suite u still calling client... phew must be real stressed!

potato_chip,

ya I am in IT ...
my hubby too! that's why I constantly worried abt being obsolete and retrenchment... so I keep upgrading myself all the time... can never really sit back and relax kind

Hi tomatoes,

Got a lot of sales going on this weekend. OG got 20% storewide too. As for JL voucher, next time u can go to level 4 customer service counter to get some more if u run out.

The nurse actually scheduled me to see my gynae on my 30th week after my last visit on 28th week. Was wondering she got it wrong or not. So it's normal that the frequency of my antenatal visit is now at 2-week interval.

potato chip is a smart cookie, everything also she knows, all lobang she also know, you are my singapore idol ha hah

poohy, not really in delivery suite but rather at the hospital preparing for check in as my client was then in swatow...and had to call him....i wanted to go back to work as i checked in also no use as the delivery suite got no space and i actually spent the day of check in in the normal ward until midnite then went to the delivery suite

but the doctor insisted,said cant go back office, u have to be warded as your water level very low ...very dangerous ......

Hi Chemistry,

My jab areas didn't harden leh. Is this normal then? Today my GP jab on my right thigh & this time do feel a little soreness after. But completely no pain whatsoever for my left thigh.

Was wondering if you'd any mucus during the 17 days after ET. I was worried when I saw some mucus last evening. Somehow, being the paranoid me, I even was thinking if it could be my embryo flowing out. But I kept on telling myself that it's ok. Nothing to worry. Am I right?

Perhaps you can share with us what you felt during that 17 days...any symptoms or signs of your pregnancy, any things to watch out for, etc. Will I feel anything that would 'tell' me that I'm pregnant during this period?

I read that it's good to 'talk' to our tummy. I've been doing this & my hubby also 'talk' to my tummy, as though I'm already pregnant & expecting our little one. No doubt my embryos are only 4 days old, I already feel attached to it. I'll do whatever it takes to help improve my chances of success. So, would be glad if you could share what you think has helped you in succeeding the first time.

Tomatoes,

I'd missed First Mums last night. So, was wondering what leaking of fluid did Kym Ng experienced.

poohy, how old is your baby now?
u trying for another one, i read some of the old posts until very luan and may have got some things mixed up...

okay here it goes

tomatoes -preggie now, going to give birth rite
chemistry - same as tomatoes
me - 34, fet, waiting for news
von von - 27, went for et and waiting for results and must be good gal, dun anyhow eat
potato chip -35 , waiting to do fet in a few mths time, now eating pineapple furiously, ha ha

heee hee, did i get my facts right, onli dun noe chemistry and tomatoes and poohy how old?

tnsw,

Glad that you'd done a summary. This is good coz' I will tend to get confused too.

You can also add the description as Ms Paranoid Gal for me too coz' I totally am.

vonvon, no lah, you are Cute Cute girl not paranoid lah, how about me leh,i think i even more paranoid than you...

oh i think, better dun eat the cheng tng (liu wei tang), one lady in my office said got one item inside got "pang da hai" is very cooling, dun noe if the rest have heard anything like tis?

vonvon, only i dunnoe which line u are in, poohy is in IT, me in financial...the rest, not sure or maybe i din catch your line...

tnsw

U got all the data rite.

Hi Chemistry/tomatoes

Sales! Sales! Sales! Must be very excited now. This wkend will b very crowded at Albert OG cos of Vesak Day. May not be convenient for the preggies to shop there. Try another branch. kekeke...

vonvon in HR, so i guess smtimes must be quite stressed also

potato chip, dun know u work where leh ?you never say

dun buy too many new born clothes as many people wld give you as gifts, if not u end up with one load of new born clothes....spread your buying i think

saw alot of sales around, take care, preggies...

Hi Vonvon

U r not paranoid lah. Everybody going thru IVF/IUI will be in the same state as u. This is a normal response

Btw, just a friendly reminder, in case u did not read those early thread post by tomatoes during her IVF, eat more protein (such as egg white, fish), but avoid soya, chicken and ginger. Hope I am right. Maybe tomatoes and chemistry can verify it

Hi chemistry

Will try your method during the next preview sales

Hi vonvon

Kym has leakage of the amniotic fluid (dun know how to spell ;p) last nite. So scary. Very kan-cheong for her oso.

Hi potato chips

Thanks for the info on OG sales. Maybe not going. Nothing to buy there at the moment.

Hi tnsw

I am 28 years old this year.

potato chip, i think you accountant loh in Calbee Potato chip company, ha ha ha, dun noe leh, my eq low, dunnoe how to guess

tnsw,

Yes. My job can be rather stressed at times. That's why I decided to rest at home.

Potato Chip,

Have been taking lotsa fish for the past few days. Thanks for your kind reminder.

Tomatoes,

You are also quite young. Also succeeded the first time like Chemistry? Any success factor to share?

Hi vonvon,

I dun have much symptoms during post et period. But about a week after et, I got spotting (red blood) and tot gone case. But the spotting stopped just 2-3 days before my beta test.

Try to rent some comedies and watch and kill time. It good to keep yourself positive & happy during this period.

Hi tnsw,

I can't resist buying clothes for my bb gal. Yest at JL sales, I also ended up buying a cute romper and a pair of mittens. But then the matching bootie is sold out, so me cheonging to OG sales today to see if it is available there.

I just hit 30 yrs old this year & in procurement line.

tomatoes -28, preggie now, going to give birth rite
chemistry - 30, in procurement,same as tomatoes, going to give birth soon
me - 34, fet, waiting for news
von von - 27, HR,went for et and waiting for results and must be good gal, dun anyhow eat
potato chip -35 ,accountant, waiting to do fet in a few mths time, now eating pineapple furiously, ha ha
poohy, in IT and got one baby????
Chilli Pepper, any update?

okay, tis is my latest update....any more imput must let me noe, tomatoe, thanks for your update on your age..