sofia,is it possible to email Emerald Clinic for appt slots? Or should I contact CHR directly if I want to make an appt? Do you have their email addy? I would prefer to send email if possible.

hi bunny

it's better to call Emerald Clinic directly. they seemed busy .. so dunno will read email or not. u will be referred to CHR by prof after he sees u. cannot go direct to CHR der.

hi bunny,
i tried calling CHR before without a consulation with PC wong yet. The nurse wont tell u too much. They will ask you to make a appt for consultation with PC Wong first then after theat they will refer u to counselling at CHR. They also wont tell u the slot that are stil available for IVF.
That's my expereince

Meow,
The bloat that you described is same as mine. It will go away after a few days. So when is ur ET? how many follicles was retrived huh?

Meow,
Then maybe you pyscho yourself to think that the eggs are very "bu" and very very good for you and your up and coming babies' wellbeing, so they will taste nicer liao..
So you like Kelvin Cheng..I like Raymond Lam type..heeee.

hi bunny, it wd be better to call the appt line for emerald first. have you seen prof? in my case, i first saw prof to tell him of my intention to proceed with IVF/ICSI, then his nurse arranged for us to visit CHR... timing for appt with CHR is pretty flexible.

Sofia, aris, Eskimobaby , Fresh , anyone who is BFP
Can anyone tell me whether abdominal discomforts are common after BFP. Sometimes i getpain in lower abdomen. And iam getting all negative thoughts. Iam so sscared.. Iam also feeling very tired.i didn't check the site at all for the whole day. Was finding it very difficult even to get up and to post in the portal. iam dead tired and severe pain in breasts. iam really scared now . My appoitnment is 2 weeks away.
Is there any Do's and don'ts after BFP.

Ladies in 2ww,
Take good rest and All the best.. Baby Dust to all.

Magee mee , Good luck for your ET.

sofia, no I have not seen Prof wong , but after reading the comments here, I would like to see him about my issues. I think someone mentioning that he only sees new patients on Sat, was wondering if weekdays are ok. I would prefer weekdays since I am not working.

bunny,
Yes he does see new patient on weekdays..but new patients slot area also limited.
Advise u to call up asap to bk a appt with pc wong telling them is new conuslation..Even on wkday, i tink for new cases you prob can only get a slot in sep.

Bunny,
You can see him on weekdays no problem. Its just that for existing patients, we cannot see him on sat. So new patients have more flexibility in that sense.

hello fancy... i also have the ocassional pains on the lower abdomen. so long as it is not persistent, then it should be fine. more critical is when it comes along with bleeding. feeling tired is also 'good'...hehehehehe.... soon you may be experiencing morning sickness (MS) that is normal as you approach week 5. some have it later, some don't at all. the boobs pain is normal too as your breasts are generating more fat cells. you'll need them to produce milk later.

Overall, i would suggest don't exert too much on yourself. NO CARRYING OF HEAVY STUFF. NO SQUATTING AND EXERTING YOURSELF. the embryo is just planting itself, so avoid anything that may put pressure on your womb. I countinued with brazil nuts for 2 weeks, and drink either Anmum or Ensure milk everyday.

If you are not working, take the time to rest. Fatigue and lost of appetite seemed to be common during first trimester. I don't have morning sickness but I also feel tired and breatheless after moving around. So lie down and take a nap if you must.

thanks hope_4_bb, been a great help!

hi fatbabe,

thanks for the reassurance that the bloat is normal. dunno when ET yet. embryologist hvnt called me yet. i got 18 follicles retrieved, 16 got eggs. other than that.. i dunno other info liao. wait for them to call me tdy bah.

hi bunny
the reason why CHR wun reveal much is cos.. they are all nurses in the clinic. so they wun be able to advise u unless prof indicates certain info in ur file. to me.. Emerald Clinic are for those w a variety of issues, so prof needs to see the patients. once he says u can go for ivf, u are kinda under CHR's nurses care already. u dun see him at CHR clinic der.but the nurses at CHR are really specialised in IVF cases.. so CHR clinic is more or less run/managed by the nurses w/o much intervention from prof (only via case notes)

i dun rembr what is the time slot for new patients. but when u call emerald clinic, say u are a new patient n they will allocate the timing for u. no stress since u are not working. more stress for us who are working cos his consultation hrs are a bit not here nor there. and i dun get afternn appts so far.

but his schedule is ..
only mornings in NUH EMerald Clinic, except Wed when he is whole day at NUH.
afternns he is in his private practice.
so his hours can be as early as 7.30am for ivf scannings.

once u are confirmed for ivf.
scanning will be done in the morning before 8.30am. cos after 8.30 are his usual patients, not undergoing ivf.

Fatbabe,
The appointment is on 28th Aug.. with Dr Loh.
How r u feeling ?? try to control ur anxiety as u r nearing the BT date. All the best .. Baby dust to u.

Fancy,
I m feeling normal. Dunno if the embies still there. But i trying not to get so concern lah. Been goin out over the wkend cos i tell myself if it is going to be implanted it wud have. if not, i should just be normal. Haha....

Meow,
ok, 18 is a good number. U also play game in FB huh? same as me leh, i play restaurant city and it has been moving quite a lot these 2 weeks in my 2ww.

babygalore, meow....sometime ago i did a search on prof. came across an article on wife of the crown price of pahang. she is the princess of johor before marrying the prince from pahang. ok, she was also having fertility issues. miscarriages and all. in the article it mentioned that she saw this gynae PC Wong (Datuk PC Wong somemore!) who helped her conceived 6 children!!!!!! she is now a patron of an organisation that helps malaysian couples with IVF.

was just wondering if it could be the same PC Wong we know.. :)...

Meow,
heheeheee..you inspire me that maybe I should go and rent some TVB tapes during 2ww time, watch pretty girls and boys in future our babies will be like them..! sorry, getting carried away..

Sofia,
Really!...high chance its him leh..because Prof Wong is a Malaysian from Penang.

Hi Ladies ,

Hope all of u r fine n having a smooth process so far...

Hi Fancy ,

I fuly agree with Sofia too =)

Oh congrats !!!

Btw, try not to have sex in the first trimester...this is advise given by other ladies...

thanks meow for the comprehensive explanation on emerald clinic..

sofia, it could be the same Prof Wong since he graduated in uni of malaya..

for ladies who have seen prof wong, how is he during consultation? does he spend some time with you to understand your issues or will he "rush" you? do you bring all ur medical reports to show him?

A quick summery. I just finished my 2nd ivf cycle. My BT is scheduled tomorrow. Last night i spotted browninsh thing in my urine. See how strong i was, just thinking it might be implantation bleeding. What a foolish girl i was to think like that on D14, as i got my mensus this morning. It was devastating as i failed this time around too.
I am with Dr Loh. I was going through antagonist cycle this time and responded quite well. Retreived 10 eggs and only two fertilised. I was so optimistic this time as i will pass through this stage with flying colours with God's grace.
Any way, it didn't work for me. What should i do now? I really do not know. My mind is just blank and simply went out for no reason and came back home. I can't share this news to anyone other than dear all of you as you can all understand me than anybody. May God bless you all. I wish each one of you all the very best whatever stage you are in.

hi bunny

he is the no-fuss kinda doctor. not saying he will rush.. but he is rather quick. in short, he is quick and accurate. although i dun get the kind of feel-good feeling when i see him, i am assured that he knows what he is doing.

babygalore,
no probs

meow,
same here. when i did ivf last yr, my whole dept knew abt it. they were helpful la. but the downside is when i went back to office, all of them were swarming ard me, asking how it was. if it was bfn, dunno how i would have reacted. anyway, my dept all aunties, sure kpo one. jus glad they din spread the news to others

hi meow, so did he suggest ivf for you or you requested it yourself? also if u dont mind, can you share your medical experience with me? I have irregular menses and docs diagnosed me as PCOS.

hi bunny

cos we have been trying for nearly 2 yrs, did 1 IUI still no results.. there was possible blocked tube on 1 side. so we asked him if we could do ivf.. so he saw my file and said ok.
cos age also 1 factor for success rate .so maybe he also think dun wait any longer.

meow, did u try HSG? cos this procedure can "help" with blocked tube? also when you consulted with prof wong, did u ask him about the success rate for ivf in NUH? I saw the statistics on the website but only mentioned clinical pregnancies not live birth? just wondering if you know?

Rosypink,
You are not a foolish girl, to the contrary, you are a brave girl. Hugz..hugzz..really..and have a good cry, don't bottle it up k..let the anguish out of your system by crying, find a place to scream and do whatever to release them and only then can you think properly. Don't force yourself to rationalize anything now if you don't feel like it, just release off the agony gradually..Hugz again..we know you have done your best. I am sure you will be a mum one day Rosypink. In the meantime, we are all ears for you.

Bunny,
No, I don't find he rushes through consultation, he will explanation your questions to you properly. In general, at nuh, the nurses don't pack the consultation schedule so generally no feelings of being rushed through. Yes, please bring allow all your past test results. For some test, he might need you do redo such as hubby's SA. If the tests cost quite a bit, the nurses there will even let you know before hand..so no worries..call soon to fix an appointment yah..!

babygalore... that ginseng tablets i bought from a TCM clinic.. not available in market as they r made from real wild ginseng mix wif dong chong chao..very exp as 1 btt cost ard $400 for 1 mth supply...

Die,
The spotting is brownish or close to menstrual type? U feeling okie? You only intend do HPT on wed? I am quite tempted to HPT leh

Rosypink
I know you are very lost now, my 2 cents worth is have a good cry, its only after you are more settled down, then think when you are ready to discuss with your gynae what do to next. There is always hope. Don't give up..

Rosypink,
Do not get too upset. God has a purpose for everything. Pull yourself together so that you can prepare yourself for the next cycle. HUGZ

hi rosypink...our hearts go out to you. do take care and take the time to recover. go for nice massage and something that can help to rejuvenate your mind and body. don't give up the fight. one of Prof Wong's patient made it on her 3rd cycle. first BFN, second no heartbeart... finally after resting for 1 year, she made it.

BabyJ,
I see....hmmm..really exp leh..in that case, I will brew ginseng soup to drink, maybe not as good as but better than nothing loh..;p thanks for the info k..

hi sunflower

i am w prof wong all along.

hi bunny
HSG is to check for blocked tubes, not to help it. to open up the blocked tube is another procedure.. laproscopy or something. i did HSG then i know 1 side was blocked

the staitstics are quite confusing.. cos sometimes they measure live birth, sometimes they measure as total of how many pple undergoing ivf.
he did mention before. the statistics for 30-25 yrs old is 30-40%. under 30 is 40 over percent. after 35 yrs old.. success rate drops significantly.

Fatbabe,

Just like the other time, started like first day menses..then quickly tapered off to pink n brown spotting. I think menses trying to come, but the Pregnyl is just delaying it. I will do HPT on Wed if full flow doesnt arrive. Wanna do together Wed morning? All the best to you.

hi fancy

i am like u tired all the time with a toddler in tow..

i am now sick, flu,fever, running nose,sore throat all at one go.. plus my ms nausea!

at last todae i send my son to mum plae for a while so i can rest..

my scan is tom but todae there are brown discharge(watery) maybe its old blood not really sure but fel no cramping whatsoever.

i am having constipation to0..

sore breast and abdominal pain will go off soon i think..i dont have that already now.

u sofia? still have it?

hi develyn, nice to hear from you again... abt sex, once in a while can or not?? my husband been giving me the 'lost puppy look'... i felt so bad lah. its been more than a month since... we joked about asking prof this friday, but i dun think either of us had the guts to.. :p

got the call from embryologist. out of 16 eggs, 8 are matured, 5 were fertilised, 2-Good, 3-Satisfactory..
a bit disappointed leh.. like so little only hor.

so tmr is my ET

haha sofia my hubby too!

its been so long since the start of fet..

he just dont ask scared to be declined i think..

fasting month is coming, not sure if its advisable to fast..

hi aris... you poor girl. need to drink more water and rest well. i've been taking Redoxon Vit C Immune for more than a year, so its been a while since i last fell ill. for sore throat, gargle with listerine or Oral B every morning and evening. it helps a lot with killing the bacteria that hurts your throat.

my boobs don't sore as much anymore, but i do get occasional ab pain. nothing serious though. i just don't have much appetite. dun feel like cooking but too lazy to buy food... but still need to eat... sigh! you must avoid oily and fried food. also dairy products like eggs, milk etc for time being. i learnt from a macrobiotic seminar for flu, best to avoid dairy products for till recover.