December,

Nurse say I can alternate the jabs. I asked some other ladies, they did that too.
What you can do is to remove Puregon from the fridge for about 10mins before you jab. I read that the cold Puregon will cause more burning sensation when injected. Nurse also told me the quickest way is to rub the puregon on your palm to warm up abit .. But once your Puregon is inside your pen, its not possible to always remove it. So you can leave it at room temperature for 10mins before you jab. Hope it helps u..

hi meow... whenever i am about to go for surgery, first for the emergency c-section of my daughter and most recently for ER... i told myself "soon i'll wake up from this dream and it's all over". you are in good hands with NUH. the staff in the ops room are very nice. once they inject you on left hand, you'll soon be asleep. once you wake up, you'll be slightly drowsy and experience some pain. nothing you cannot manage.

even though i had extreme pain and was given morphine, deep inside me, i was happy. i psychoed myself thinking of my 'little ones' on the way to the lab meeting his 'little ones'. i prayed in my heart, 'they' liked each other and start forming 'our little ones'.... :)

if you still nervous, call me 81806209 tonight... or drop me sms if i dun answer immediately. i'll be happy to hear from you...we can talk about anything that can help to calm u down.

hi spidey...you'll have many support here from the ladies. here's some answers to your questions...

Terminologies:
ER - Eggs or Ooctye Recovery
ET - Embryos Transfer
FET - Frozen Embryo Transfer
2ww - 2-weeks-wait following ET before blood test to confirm pregnancy
BFP - Big Fat Positive
BFN - Big Fat Negative

Once you are ready to start, you will be given medication to suppress your hormones. You will have to inject yourself once daily. Next stage, you will given another medication to stimulate growth of more eggs. At the same time, you will continue with the hormones suppressing injections, so that your body don't ovulate on its own. The reason for this, is so that the eggs can be recovered by the doctor to be cultured with your husband's sperms. In KKH, if not mistaken, you can have fertilized eggs transferred into your womb 2 days after recovery.

That's briefly how it goes.

hi miracle_baby
i only have 4 and 5 follicles detected during the scan, but during ER, retrieved 11, out of which 6 got fertilized, then ET 2 embies, frozen 4, and now preggy with singleton.
Don't worry about the number of follicles u have, some girls strike with jux 1!

hi spider, welcome to the thread. we are all sama sama here.
for abbreviations - http://www.ivfconnections.com/acronyms.htm

1) refer to your blood report, there are some indicators like fsh, LH, E2. The kkivf team will evaluate your dosage for the lucrin and puregon based on these.
2) then they will give you a chit to go pharmacy (at kk) to buy the drug. (by 8.30 am reach pharmacy, the queue is the shortest).
3) go early for your Blood test, scans, no need to queue so long.
4) for the preparation of body, eat well, rest well and exercise moderately. Happy and relax is key.
NO cold water (sorry for the caps), alcohol or smoking.

5) for time off work - every company is different. office near kk? if you reach kkivf by 7.45 am, take BT by 8.15 am, then you can go off. maybe need to tell office you need to see doctor and will come in late. check with your supervisor or hr, k?
Other than that, it is just injection injection, scan, injection, scan. rest.
kkivf will give you hospitalisation leave once you ER (embies retrieval) till blood test. about 17 - 19 days depending.

it is actually very simple one, dun kanchiong.

hi spidey,
2ww- 2 week wait
FET-frozen embryo transfer
ER- egg retrieval
ET- embryo transfer

Some ladies here go for accp during prior and during ivf. I believe to tiao the body well before proceeding to IVF. can go for tcm or regular exercising.I am not too sure about taking time off work, maybe other ladies can help you on that.

it natural cycle.. Think it all depend on rite timing cos very weird i wanted 2 do it in march but end up i got very bad flu n have 2 postphone. Then i manage 2 take a month off from work n thgt it will b a good time 2 do it. It turn out everything goes very smoothly as scan show i ovulate on day 10 from my lmp so they arrange 4 et 3 days later. My june lining was very thin 7.8mm unlike this time was 12mm. So mayb it fated 2 do at this time..

hi all!! I went to buy some vitamins for dh jus now, and wanted to sneak a peak at my dh's SA result..

turn out nurse sarah taught me how to inject lucrin and I purchased it!! she told me to inject at a 90 degree angle and be quick, so as not to bruise the area..

well still waiting for the 27th, i need i will need a refresher then!! anyway, really excited.. hahaa

btw dh's SA result is better after seeing dr tan in clementi.. seeing him tmrw.. see what he say and analyse...

moving forward, I think I would stop all glancing of this forum come 27th!! haha, abit stressful for me, so wish me luck and if u dun hear from me till BT result.. I hope it's great news the next time I post!!

The only thing I am allowing myself is to blog what I personally feel and experience, this way i wont fret about what OTHER ladies experience and stress myself out. if you are embarking on IVF at KKH maybe u wanna check this site out

http://www.crazymommywannabe.blogspot.com

GOOD LUCK ALL!!

Hi pau le
Thanks for being there quickly encouraging me by your own results.It helps in increaing my confidence. Thanks so much.

Hi babygalore
sorry if I affect you in any way that you ended up thinking twice whether to take MC leave. Be easy on yourself and don't stress a lot. Take care.

Hi bunny, yup, we had stored some before he left SG, so now using the frozen ones. The embryologist only briefed me after the ET but inside the ET room while I was resting. She didn't tell me what happened to the 2 and I didn't ask too, cos I am just happy to know that there's fertilisation.....

which hospital are u with? i am with kk, even though they told me that they are aware that we will be using the frozen ones, but there are many times that they assumed i am using fresh ones, so, what i did was to give them a call the day before ER to let them know that we will be using the frozen ones instead of fresh ones.

Just fyi, if you intend to use frozen ones, after thawing, 20% of it might be lost.

thanks babyj, feels very encouraged
if scan goes on right next month, i will start fet. dunno too early or not... got flu cannot fet izit?

hi miracle baby, sorry leh, i dunno cos i am so forgetful, forgot to get the HL from them after ER & ET, so getting it on D8 when i am going to do the progesterone test. I also forgot to give them the insurance form too!! maybe too excited liao, just want to quikly go home to rest....

Cute of you,May.
Ya you must be very happy all is prefectly well with you. Do continue like that and your days ahead will be brighter

Insurance form says must submit within 7days from the day of embyros transfer. Is it too late for your case?
Let me know later.

BabyJ,

Congras and a good nine mths ahead.

Die,

Don't worry just relax ok.. the pain is extreme when if AF comes. During my second cycle, the pain was so extreme that I cannot even straighten my legs. This cycle, there is no warning of any pain at all or any cramps and my AF came. So what you should do is don't think about it and leave all to fate ok.. Just keep thinking "I can make it" and stay happy and relax. I am sure you can make it one
For me even with a 9mm lining plus 99.55 progestrone level I also cannot make it.. so I guess it is not "the time" yet.. my "time" will come
. Although I have this feeling I cannot make it but I kept telling myself "I can dao it one" till the day I bleed. My logic to myself is "No pain, no gain" Have faith, you have all of us praying for you ok.

Vivi,

Yes, you should try Centrum Silver as it is good for low egg count females as the anti-oxidant level plus other levels are much higher and beneficial to the body. Well, I am one big dinosaur in this forum.. maybe you can guess my age then...

miracle baby
tom, i am going for my scan only, so ER expected to be Tues :> same day?

This thread is great, at least we can read about everyone's experiences and share our thoughts. But it is moving really fast :> I need time to figure out who's who and when in the cycle.

Hi may, I did my 1st ivf cycle in KKH too..unfortunately it was unsuccessful! You have excellent results even though you have used frozen semen...all the best for you 2ww!

re: HL after ER
kk will give 2 wks HL, but can request to extend up till BT day
HL chit will not indicate reason of absence

re: ER pain
some ppl r ok, some get pain. i had such bad cramps dat i was keeling over for the rest of the day. had to lie down or sit very reclined for the next few days to avoid pain
my ER (aug 08) was done under GA - i felt a bit of tugging inside & fell asleep liao

re: rest after ER/ET @ kkh
after ER, u will be wheeled to post-surgery rest area to rest for abt 3-4 hrs. nurse will give u milo or something, painkillers & make sure u r ok first. then, u need to have someone to bring u home
after ET, tilted wif pelvic pointing up for abt 15 mins after ET, & that's it. can go liao

hi sofia,
it's difficult to get u around here now.. hee hee..
can u set your account to receive private message??
coz i can't leave u any.. ;p
thought of ask u abt the costing for ivf @ NUH.
tks!

babygalore,
u will be given hospitalisation leave, not medical leave. if u dun wan to say ivf, can use fibroid/cyst/lapro surgery to cover up

Humbug,
Thanks for ur advice. I stock up on Panadol liao. But still hoping for the best. Like u said, will try to stay positive till full flow arrives..so far still playing hide n seek...that wicked witch AF..;(

hi sofia

thanks for giving me ur number. tmr maybe i can msg u after my ER.. to tell u how was it.. hehehe
thanks for being a big sister here giving assurance.

like to ask if anyone went to see dr zou yesterday? there was this other lady doing accupunture instead of dr zou. do you know who she is?
she did the accupunture for me, because she is new to me, it made me super nervous/anxious, plus she does it rather slowly. some needles were slightly painfully, but of coz i kind of 'jumped' at the slighest pain, but surprising some of her needles were less painfully that dr zou.

but some how i wasnt comfortable with her. already i am anxious everytime dr zou poke in, with a new person, it made me much more anxious. wonder if i can ask not to have her do me. hope she dont get offended.

btw, can I check if we must feel that every needle has that 'tapping/jumping' sensation? or only certain needles will do? coz sometimes i dont feel every single needle 'tap/jump' ... hope i wasnt wasting the session if i dont feel anything.

also, what sensation do u feel? a 'sharp/pointed' tapping or a blunt tapping?
sometimes i dont know what is correct or wrong.
tks very much

Die,

Have to take the pink panadol not the normal ones.. in case embryo has grown into baby and still there ok. I will pray for you. You just relax and try to get some sleep ok
God will hold your hands and complete this battle

Can advise? For those who have gone through puregon do we need to jab only left or right? Last night i jab at center.. haha.
Does it matter where we jab?

Happy Hippo,

Actually the helper at Dr Zou clinic is quie experience. As our body progress through the different stages of IVF, some parts of our body will get more and more sensitive to pain, so it might not be the problem of the person who put the needle in. If you are really worried, you can request for Dr Zou to do it for you. She will acceed to that.

During my last part towards, ER as my body has too high dosage of Purgeon, my entire body is really painful at any single touch so it is quite bad. Dr Zou did the whole process for me. Even with her doing so, every needle that is being pricked in is very painful. I just grid my teeth. She has to pull out a few times to replace the needle in.

As for the effects, even a slight or nearly no jump is ok. As long as you feel comfortable. If the procedure works, your body parts will feel sore after the session. This is what the Dr advise me when I last ask about the sore parts after accu.

hi greenie
the rule of thumb is 2 fingers left, right or bottom of ur naval. dun jab above ur navel cos there alot more blood vessels there.

nurse said usually ple jab left and right.. cos bottom of the naval might be a lot more sensitive (aka more painful)

i just had my last sip of water.. then no more fluids or food till after ER tmr ler.. hehheh

will update sisters here after my ER.. :p

hi humbug
thks for the fast response.
oh ok so she is the helper. actually i am still on my pill now, if everythg is ok, will start injections next wk.

erhh actually i dont think my body feel sore after the session leh..hmmm..

just curious if any one here goes for body massage? and if it helps with ivf? if yes, any recommendation on who to go to?
thks !

hey ladies..

no fluids before the ER.. but then.. me just trying to be funny.. can swallow saliva? ahhha
also fluid mah

Thanks Humbug, Meow
So it is not the matter of body responding to puregon that we need to injection at left & right? For me, the injection is no pain as i have plenty of fat

greenie..

it doesnt matter if u jab left or right.. just as long as it just under the skin layer can ler..
so the medicine can slowly disperse into ur body if u inject subcutenously.
good to know there is not pain.

but pre-empt u first.. when u starting to feel bloated due to puregon.. it might sting a little when u jab.. cos the area is already taut/tense.

hahaha.. was joking abt the saliva part

Meow
So far don't feel other thing except my knee has crampy feeling. Don't know it is due to puregon or not.

Go go to sleep now... U should rest well for ER tomorrow..

i cant sleep leh.
maybe later la.. playing games on facebook.
anyway.. tmr can sleep during ER also

most prob tonight i will keep dreaming

knee cramp shld not be side effect for purgon bah.. maybe u take more calcium.

hi meow,
all the best for your ER.

hi humbug,
i guess they are fertilised already and even with a grading as sperms are not required during the FET process.

Humbug,
Thanks for ur advice. Hugs..

Fatbabe,
No more spotting fr yesterday til now but I really feel like its going to come full flow anytime..n its exactly 28 days since my last menses usually my mense v. accurate like clockwork one so if coming shld be anytime now..