Maggie Mee,
If no problem sleeping then ok to take at night ba.

Meow,
Chicken essence got tablet form? I didnt noe.

Irene, heard from Dr Zou that we cannot touch bai fen wan or dan gui stuff during ivf. cos the whole purpose of those chemicals is to control the chemical balance in our body. the chinese herbs can influence a lot. if you are using it to tiao prior the treatment, maybe different loh...

hi bunny, welcome to the thread. the chinese doctor is Dr. Zou Yu Min. her tel is 64560833.
blk 505 #01-2670 amk ave 8 (opposite nanyang poly); just short walk away from amk mrt station.
heard from other ladies here. there is a Dr Tan in clementi, another one in raffles and also paragon but not sure of the contacts.
he just did once a week for close to 2 months. think total of 6-8 sessions. per session $25. we did not eat any herbs. but he was on vitamin c, fish oil (omega), vitamin e and folic 5 mg.

oso his "storm troopers" collected on ER date was based on 5 days stock (instead of 2-3 days) cos his previous records indicate poor count, mortility and morphology. hope this helps

Upon special request, KKIVF gave me a report that is fairly brief. the SA parameters only showed volume, density, motility. as for morphology, the info was not avail. told doc that hubby needed to know if the accupuncture i put him through is worth it.

ladies, btw, i find out if you feel like seeing dr loh anytime during your treatment, be proactive in making an appointment to discuss your situation with him. but he sounded really pro day 2 embies. oso dunno why ...too cheam. but if you got really lotsa eggs and dun mind pay extra for blastocyst process, you can still request for it.

Hi meow,
Wish u all the best in ur 2nd stage. I m doin ER on Tue, 04 Aug.

Die,
Really not painful huh? Thank God... I will share my experience tomorrow. Cos i felt that the jab given by nurse on the puregon stings and hurts like mad lor. do u feel painful for that?

hi fatbabe

so fast for u!! i rembr the last time we were chatting, u just started lurcrin.

dun be scared... die said not painful ler.. trust her.. dun think abt the jab.. then not painful ler.

all the best!

hi die

those essence of chicken in tablet form are a combination of others vitamins eg:
•BRAND’S® Calcium 600 + Isoflavone with Essence of Chicken
•BRAND’S® Evening Primrose Oil with Essence of Chicken
•BRAND’S® Ginkgo Biloba with Essence of Chicken
•BRAND’S® Glucosamine with Essence of Chicken
•BRAND’S® Essence of Chicken with Vit B Complex
•BRAND’S® Omega 3 with Essence of Chicken

dunno if i can take any of those added vitmains or not hor.

ladies.. any idea?

Hi fatbabe,

Dun worry, is not painful at all. I experienced it last Sat, the feeling is juz like everytime we go for BT; tat needle poke feel.

All the best....

Hi Meow,
Fast huh? i also think so leh... fast fast get it over and done with. This is my first and maybe last IVF as my hubby dun want to go thru this again. And i also in a dilemma

hi fatbabe

u are 32 right?
hubby dun wanna go thru this again ar.. he heart pain to see u take all the injections?

Hi fat babe,
Yes, am in 2ww. today is dpt4. so far only feel bloated, backache and slight cramp, guess i hv been laying on the bed too muz for the past few days.

Lyn,
I felt Bai Foong Pills works on individuals only. I used to take it to regulate my menses but it doesn't seems to work on me though. My menses was delayed instead. Like what the ladies mention, it is a hormones herbs so I think if you are going to try IVF soon, try not to take. I wanted to take Vitex, also a natural herb supplement before I start IVF but Nurse at KKIVF says better not, in case the hormones get messed up.

My mum gave me "bu xue gao" - Nourish blood syrup which works on me instead. My AF reports on time. It's made up of Dang gui and other herbs.

Hi orangey, i took BFW before. My menses became very zun. But stopped for awhile coz i find it abit heaty. Dr zou discouraged ppl to take that but i dun know why. But many ppl tells me BFW sort of replenish blood and also elevate estrogen in the body for better chance of conception but i m not sure abt it.

Hi juju, i was told by eys ppl that it should be consumed 3 days after menses finish and once weekly for the following 2 weeks....

Hi Meow,
I am 33 liao lor. My hubby feels tat it is against nature to do those jabs, which i mayself also feels so just days before i begin. so we kind of say this is the first n last time. But depends lah, if i really want then will discuss with him lor.

Fatbabe,
ya, u are right, she is my friend. Do u have any side effects after the jab by nurse? For me, the whole headache and migraine came back yesterday until now. It's like my D2 of Puregon again. GUess that jab like somehow wake up the whole system up again.

Before i forget, wish u all the best for your ER on Tue

Die,
All the best for your ER tomorrow

Fatbabe,

I didnt let the nurse jab Puregon for me. I insist on doing it myself cos its less painful. Funny, I feel Puregon jab stings more than the Pregnyl.

Green Muffin,

Maybe I will see u tmr cuz u goin for scan rite? My ER 9am. All the best for ur scan too. I think by tmr ur follicles will be big big arldy. Today u drink milk n chicken essence ok?

Meow, Maggie Mee,

I think the chicken essence help the follicles to grow faster. I take the plain one w/o any herbs. As for the tablet ones I dont know which is better lei.

hi fancy, hopenfaith,

its coming ard the corner..

we can do it! we can do it!haha

must really think positive though my mind always diverting to negative thoughts..

Die,
Ya, might see u tomorrow

Will drink milk, but not sure abt the chicken essence. Cos i drank one yesterday, today slight sore throat already. Anyway, will try to drink if u can, cos i also think it will help the follicles grow

We cannot jab ourselves, because the dose is 200iu (but in two bottles) is different from our usual puregon bottle. There were more liquid, hence the syringe they used were the normal big syringe, so the nurse will have to jab for us. The pain was because of more liquid going into our body. And the nurse commented "hope that u don't have to jab again, cos its very painful." Hope my follicles will grow by tomorrow, or else i will get it again

Green Muffin,

Ya, the nurse mix the Puregon for me fr the two bottles and then put in the syringe, then I took over and jab myself lor. Touch wood, if u need to do again u can request the same and jab urself..less painfu.

Muffin,
Thank you for your wishes. Btw, do u know what is the name of the doctor who spoke to us?

Die,
I think the dosage also affect the size of follicles leh... u using 300ui right? Both myself and muffin is 200ui. sigh... ended up i hv to jab more jabs...
nurse actually jabbed twice for me. Once on first scan and last puregon which was yday. All the best to you ER tomolo. must share with us how it feels ok?

It is normal to have some white or transparent discharge? I experience it after some housework and agitation leh...

dear ladies, I was prescribed insufficient amount of puregon to last me till my D8 scan. I was prescribed 4 bottles of 300ui puregon and my dosage is 200ui/day. However, I was briefed that 1 bottle will be used every 2 days and I will have a balance of 200ui on D8. That means, the correct prescription should be 4 bottles of 400ui each but I was only prescribed 300ui/bottle!!

I had followed the instruction to use 1 bottle for every 2 days, which means, my D1 is 200ui, my D2 is only 100ui!!! I had a feeling that something is not right, thus, looked at the prescription again and found the mistake! I want to find out from them whether can I jab an extra 100ui to compensate for yesterday's shortage. Had been trying to call KKIVF and email them but no response! Does anybody have Dr Marianne Hendricks's email?

This is the 2nd time mistakes are found in my prescription! The first is during my Lucrin prescription. I was prescribed MIcrogynon again together with Lucrin! Had I not noticed the mistake and had followed the prescription, I would be on extra Microgynon unnecessarily!!

It starts me thinking whether are our files read and understood prior to our prescription!!

Fatbabe,

The Dr was Kelly Loi. She will be doing the ER and ET for me. I think the discharge is normal. I also have it..abit like ovulation time kind of discharge.

Abt the lotus root glutinous porridge that was recommended, I went to see the lotus root in the market. But its very muddy kind and looks dirty..does all lotus root look like that n we have to scrub clean? Or can buy nice looking one fr elsewhere? Sorry ..abit suaku cos I dont cook.

Hi May,
if ur presciption is 200ui and given 300ui units, it is correct. I am also given that leh. Cos 1 bottle has 400ui. Hope this helps

May,

Maybe this will help.. Ok the Puregon rite..each box says 300ui but nurse say that despite that, every vial is actually 400 ui (got 100ui extra) So 1 box lasts for 2 days for u is correct. As long as u turn the Puregon pen to 200ui is correct arldy. U r getting the rite dosage and I think there is no mistake.

My nurse explained in detail to me. My dosage was 300ui. So everyday I use 1 box and there is still 100ui left.

Do I sound confusing? Bottom line is that the Puregon box says 300ui but actually contains 400ui of Puregon. Stupid hor? Make us blur only..

Die,
U mean the ER & ET is not done by Dr Loh? Why is it like tat? I thought at least ET is done by him leh. And for your qn on lotus, yes, it is muddy & dirty.

May, must be careful and check urself coz the kk nurses r quite blur. I went there a few times and the nurses kept telling me they cant find my clinical notes so i guess sometimes they dun even look at it before prescirption..

Die,
wow. In that case, u are very brave. I don't think i can handle that. Cos the first time i jab lucrin on myself, i trembled. Only got used to it after a few times. So should i need to jab that again, i guess i will still let the nurse do the job :p

The lotus root are in original state from market. If u want clean ones, can get from supermarket whereby it's cleaned and stored in vacuum bag.

Fatbabe,
Ya, i also think maybe we are given too little dosage. Guess i will be like u have to jab another one by the nurse. Cos my follicles are smaller than yours.

So that is Dr Kelly Loi. Heard about her but never seen her before.

hi fatbabe & die, thanks for the clarification but it is really confusing for us when the box wrote 300iu and each bottle is actually 400iu?? I wonder what is the reason for this arrangement...hmmm....did u also notice the confusion that's y u checked with the nurse?

Hi ladies...

Just dropping by after a last failed IVF in May. Currently resting my body to prepare for my next fresh cycle...

Just to answer to some of your worries. Pls do not worry about the dosage of Puregon. In my meet up with Dr Sadhana after my failed cycle, I requested whether she can increase my dosage in the next cycle. According to her, increasing the dosage will not increase the number of eggs produced. It will just cause the eggs to grow at a faster rate. Growing the eggs to fast is not gd as the follicles might be immature...

So all the best to all of you who are going through ER/ET soon.

May,
The nurse did inform me that although it is stated as 300ui, there is 400ui in it. like wat die said, as long as u turn to 200ui, u r safe.

hi fatbabe, lucky for you, the nurse didn't explain to me leh, that's y i am confused...

i am glad there is this forum to help clarify our doubts.

I noticed your discussin about insufficient puregon.....

During my last fresh and frozen cycle (last yr and early this yr resp), the nurses who briefed me highlighted that each bottle contains 400 iu even though the box indicates only 300iu.

If there is going to be insufficient dose left in any bottles, nurses would normally ask you to bring it back for them to do the injection for you. They know how to get the required dose from 2 bottles to combine it into one injection.

Die, AS for lotus root, get those that are whole and cut off at the joint, not cut in the middle of the root. you still need to wash and peel the outer layer, so the mud should not matter. Only those that are cut in the middle (not at joint) risk having mud flowing into the tiny holes which you would have problems scrubbing of-- don't get such types.

Hope the above help.

all the best.

Hi die,
Yr HB can go in during ET, there's a seat for him next to e bed. E process is very fast, e nurse n dr will get u ready and e embroylogist will talk to u over a speaker phone on e right side of e rm. U'll be asked to check yr name n ic via e LCD screen on e left. once u confirmed she will prepare yr embroys then will enlarge them for u to see. Once u r ok n dr gave e go ahead signal, she will capture e embroys via e catheter, within min she'll appear infront of u n pass e catheter to dr. all eyes will then focus on e small screen next to u n also within min, e embroys r inside yr womb. U'll be asked to rest on e bed for e embroylogist to give u e report n photo while yr hb will be asked to collect medication for u.

Hope tis helps. Good luck to yr ER/ET.

btw I hv e same nbr of eggs as u but e size ranged fm 11.5 to 18.5mm. On ER, I hv 17 eggs, on ET I hv 10 embroys...very surprised.
Both ER/ET were done by Dr Loh. He was in gd mood on ET cos he juz delivered his 4th pair of twin b4 coming to me.

Hi May,
I was also prescribed with 4 btl of 300ui puregon and my dosage is 200ui/day. tat small btl actually contained 400ui. There is a small print on e box tat state 400ui. E prescription depends on each individual body. During my 1st scan, i hv 8 eggs; biggest was 12.5mm,e rest r below 10mm, was told to inject for another 2 days. was very worried as both my ovary r not e same size due to an ops done so i went to increase egg white n lukewarm soya bean intake. I'm scare of chicken essence so i hv nv drink... E rest of e result u can see fm my posting to die...

Dun worry okie...stay positive..;)

i just have something to comment here

it just flicker in my thought on how brave we all are in undergoing this procedure..its not an easy one, mentally,physically and of all emotionally..

i feel that IVF is not wrong in any religion even as a Muslim we are allowed to do it though its not a normal procedure of having babies..

So if outsiders comment on y u want do ivf, its not natural and all that, i think its not that right..

the difference from normal pregnancy is just that the embryologist put ur DH sperm with ur egg instead of them meeting by themself but that also doesnt confirm there will be implantation etc..its ur body work and gods will..

no one can put us down in any way just because we do IVF..

and i know most of us here do this because we really want a baby not only for ourself but our parents, our in laws, our family etc..

i congratulate each and everyone of you for the determination no matter BFP, BFN, cycle cut halfway..whatever it is, we must remember god will grant our wish if we are determined..

think of fresh as example..

we will..we will and we can MAKE it to have lovely babies..

we are too strong for anyone to bring us down cos we do IVF..

Be strong everyone..we can do it. ;)

(just my thought n feelings)

Aris,Sisters,
Very true.. I truly agree Aris..
Some of us are destined to walk a harder, longer, more painful journey to motherhood than others and that we all fall into this category.
We should be proud of ourselves.
It is just a matter of time. we will all be mommies. :)

Fatbabe,

My Dr is Kelly Loi fr the beginning.. If ur dr is Loh, Then Dr Loh will do the ER and ET for u. At least I think so la.

Haze, Thanks for the tips on lotus root. It really helps.

Hebemummy,
Tks for the clear ET scenario. Now I am totally prepared. R u in ur 2WW now? I hope I have as many gd embryos as u. Am abit worried abt that cuz hubby sperm is very poor morphology, 0-3% only.

Aris, Fancy,
U r right. We are destined to be mothers one day, we just need to take a longer route that's all and we ar all the more stronger pple for it. ;)
Gd luck for ur BT. Counting down the hrs, rite..

Die,
Yes, in 2ww. Am a wk earlier than u.

Dun worry, my hb one was only 1% (all these yrs nv exceed 3% at all)....but dr loh prescribed him with vit E and tribestan.