hi boon boon,

i was givne 300iu but then in the end out of the 14 follicles retrieved, only 6 have mature eggs. thought it was a disappointing number... i was told that typically it should be 60% to 70% of the follicle numbers, so if 14 follicles, should at least see 8 to 9 mature eggs...

June-Ya, I tell you because IVF is a try and error thing so Dr also don't want to take resposibity. In fact for my case, the initially they asked to do long protocol and then when I discovered my FSH went up and made an appt to see him then I asked him. Then he suddenly decided to change my protocol....

LittleMik-Not true le, some sisters retreived many embryos at the end only few fertilized. At least you got 6 fertilized eggs and you managed to transferred 2 right. It is a good start so pls continue to think positively.

Jude-400iu also the initially dosage to be given to me..I guess with older age and high FSH level certainly we have to suffer more compared to those younger.. Anyway, don't loss your faith and like Develyn said as long as we try we will get the chance to succeed from this forum..:>

Hi Juliana,
Congrats on your twin! Ya... so long the babies is healthy, think mom-to-be will not care about the gender.

Don't have to worry, you are still in early 2nd tri, your babies sure will grow bigger aft that. My SIL total weight gain for singleton is less than 8kgs. So long the babies are healthy, is ok.

Hi Juliana ,

Why will it vanish ?? Why ?? Omg... ok, what happen in my first IVF was i have HCG 573 and confirm pregnant ! Probably with twins.. then 2 days before 6 wks scan .. i have slight cramp (no bleeding).. so i go A & E and found both sacs vanished.. so, this time i thought that after seeing the sacs and heartbeats, everything will be alright.. how can it vanish at 8 weeks with no bleeding.. ?

Hi Vinwee ,

I still try to eat a spoonful but will start to puke everything out.. a few more weeks to go.. hope it gets better at 2nd trimester too..

Develyn,
Maybe is prepared a small cup of ribena while eating, sip a bit aft eat. Maybe helper.

Anybody cook for you, maybe can try ABC soup and put more tomatoes so it's a it sour.

wow, the thread is really moving fast

littlmilk - welcome

jude - welcome n sory about the BFN .... Hugz

juliana - congrats on the twins

Vinwee,
I think only people going through our "difficulty" will cherish the kids more. Can't imagine going holidays w/o my daughter. this is the only time we have and it would be quite "cruel" to leave her at home. I don't think I could enjoy my holidays w/o her!

develyn,
twin vanishing syndrome dun happen to everyone. only when one of the twin is very very weak, compared to the other. but seldom got such cases. think 1 of the ivf mummies before u had this too, but her weaker twin managed to grow healthy & both twins born premature but healthy

The thread is moving real fast! I am trying best to catch up!! I had posted some enquiries a few days back and have not even have time to see the replies.

littlemik, wish you all the best!!!

jude, don't despair, the next one will be the one!! good luck to your next cycle!!

Develyn, congrats on the twins! take care and continue to be positive! We need your optimism!!

Juliana, congrats to you too on the twins!!

I will be in KK tomorrow for my consultation with doc and my doc is Dr Marianne Hendricks. Does anybody here have the same doc as me? Have heard a lot of the magical hands of Dr Loh but not on this doc, not sure how good the doc is.

Thanks for all the hugs and encouragement.

I am glad that I found this support group. I will be fine after some time...and move on to the next cycle.

How is the short protocol different from the long one? U skip the supression stage totally? also, what is the different between puregon and Gonal?

For those that are at the various stages....best of luck and take care.

Develyn,
Your HCG on 573 is on which day aft ET for your previous IVF? HOw about this time round? How's your HCG level during your PBT?

I remember the singer kelly chan also preggie with twins but one vanish as well. I got a friends also having the same thing.

But you have strong pregnancy symptoms, it's ok. Dun stress yourself. And try to eat a little.

Dream,
Yeah, you are good mother.

Maybe diff parents got diff way of handling their kids. I also surprised when I heard it.

Jude-yup the different is no supression stage so shorter lo. As for the drug, the purpose is the same to stimulate our follicles only different hospital use differently. I think Gonal-F price is slighly higher..

hi develyn,
hope this will end by 1st trimester. Rest whenever you feel exhausted. Oh will be cool to give birth on your birthday. Counting down to the days will help to ease the agony that you suffer now. I have been marking down on days to deliver and looking forward to gynae scan. Ever since on no pay leave, i feel boring and useless doing nothing, not able to go out shopping. So this is something that i keep my spirits up.

Hi Juliana and develyn,
Dr Loh will advise you about the down syndrome package, twins will cost slightly more. There are different pricing to choose from, my cost $300 for singleton. There will be one blood test taken and a detail scan. Then they will give you a report to show the risk. Juliana, the down syndrome test is not necessary, can also skip this. By around 4-5 months, gender will be seen.

hi littlemilk,
stay positive.

Hi dream,
thanks for sharing about your gal. Glad that she is stronger now. I agree with you, not safe to leave in maid's hand and infant care can get more attention.

hi serene,
Was the delivery of your boy quite fast last time? i had 20 hours long labour, with induce medication and epidural, hope history does not repeat itself.

Hi Ros,
all the best for your ER on friday. Must rest well during your 2ww.

Hi Develyn, Chameleon, Serene,Juliana & other IVF mommies-to-be, really appreciate you sharing your positive experiences of IVF with us. It helps us to look beyond how we feel

Hi Vinwee ,

1st IVF D14 after ET - 573
2nd IVF D13 after ET due to hospitalize - 407

Hi Lina ,

Thanks for the advise.

Hi Juju / May ,

I am keeping my mind positive.. trying hard..

Boon Boon & Vinwee,
Thanks. i guess we all think alike as the journey to motherhood is a long and difficult one! but for some, it is such an easy journey that they don't realise how lucky they are.

Lina,
yep, won't dare to leave baby with maid. I only got a helper when she was in K2 (but then, she was in childcare the whole day) as I could not take the stress anymore (juggling family, work and the household chores) and my boss was really difficult (could not take leave when she was sick). I knew by that time that my daughter could tell me what happened at home while I am away.

Hi Pari,

Yes I'm on MC for the rest of the weeks....

Dream,

You are really a very good mother leh... For me, I still go trips w/o him. Either company trips or sometimes go short trips with hubby... Compared to you... I'm such a lousy mother.
I remember when Kester was 4mths old, I already go italy le... kekeke!

babyglaore,
you should go italy with your hubby.. very romantic... mayb you'll naturally get one Made in Italy! kekeke!

Hi Lina,
My 1st one not better than you... 16hours of labour!

No-idea,

Welcome, think no need to pay full, its pay as you do the tests and buy the medicine...

Dream, Boonboon, Vinwee, Develyn

Ok loh, will heed your gold and jade (very good) advice. Since you all encourage me, I feel less guilty to go for it now..heeeehee..
You two have the same reasoning as my hubby, life is short and stressful, must treat ourselves well. Thanks for knocking some sense into me..Dream, you are right leh, my hubby always push to me to make decisions because most of the things he quite easy. Luckily because he got such a character, so never blame me for having difficulties in having babies..;p

Dream,
Now I makaning the blackmores conceive well vitamins, its sold at guardian at around SGD46, its in a rectangular box and pick in color with a lady's picture outside. I bought it without discount and now guardian has 20% discount. Comes with a tablet with the vits and a capsule with the DHA. So must consume two tablets a day. You are like my colleague who is a doting mum
She also said she cannot enjoy herself if go on holiday without her baby or will keep thinking about him and end up cut short the holiday. Later holiday become mental torture camp..And yes, she went through great challenges to have him after her first girl.

Boonboon
All the best for your coming cycle. I wish I can be your cycling buddy. May you contribute to one of the successful numerator when your IVF centre reports their success rate..Jia you Jia you!!
And thanks for the flowchart on the embryo development, makes me very motivated when I read it. You are our walking encyclopaedia for ttc essential knowlegde..appreciate your knowlegde.

Littlemilk,
I hope the spotting is a false alarm. I understand your urge to test with HPT and once you reach the day that is the earliest possible to test, you can use the Guardian inhouse brand in a stick form and cost around $10. That one can pick up pregnancy around 11/12 days post ovulation with a reasonable visible 2nd line.

Jude,
Welcome and start to bu yourself back. That is most important thing now. See, you made improvements over the two cycles and the next one can surely yield the crop.

Juliana, congrats and I hope to be like you too, carry twins in future..

Hi orangey, i dun work in gleneagle. Dr carthy chan is my sis gynea, according to her she is not a dr with alot of patience. Quite a handful of my patients did not have good comments abt her

Serene,

Thanks for assuring me, if can made in Italy is kquite cool, maybe can have shape shape nose since drink Italian water..heheee..sorry, I like to imagine..you another one work so late. Go home go home..

I not pregnant also tired, k, I go liao, you better go or little baby inside your stomach anger..;p bye bye..

itjabi: think as long as anyting to give u energy will do. Ribena is good. Poor gal. Hang in there.. U r 7 weeks now?? 5 more weeks to go b4 1st trimester ends. Hopefully u will start to feel better then. Huggz

Vinwee, ur frd really knows how to enjoy life and i feel that shld be the way coz beside having a child in life our relationship with hubby is also very important. I hope if next time i have children i want to be like ur frds too

Hi Itjabi ,

Yupz.. i am taking ribena, yakult , 100plus and sportage drinks.. 5 more weeks like 5 more years for me.. i am still counting down..

Serene,
Dont say that. Everybody is different. And as Lyn says, relationship with hubby is also important. So, everybody and every couple is different. it depends on what works for you!

Lyn,
I agree that it is also important to have a good and strong relationship with hubby. Heard that it is the best present you can give to your child!

Babygalore
Good to hear that I am not the only one! I think I am more the exception than the rule! and before we had our daughter, we went on many trips/holidays... met my hubby when I was only 20, married young at 24 and got my daughter when I was 30! So, we already have 10 years together before our daughter! May be that's why don't feel the need to go without her...Anyway, happy to read that we managed to change your mind and Italy, here you come!

Hi Develyn,

I'll skip the class lah... Not that I'm experience but I'm just plain lazy! kekekke! I didnt attend any class for my 1st one too!! Very lazy hor... now 2nd one lagi more lazy!! kekeke~

i'm back... was hospitalised for the past 2 days due to OHSS... it was torturous but at the same time i really learn how to take better care of myself...

develyn,
i really know how u feel... please give urself a pat on the back and move forward... our emotions are raw enuff already with the whole ivf process and now have to go thru OHSS also... my emotions also ding dong here and there.... sometimes i wonder if my babies (embbies) are still there but i'm still trying to talk to them every day to stick... today is my 5dpt

Hi eskimobaby,

Hope you are feeling better now... no wonder didnt hear from you the last 2 days... Please take care... I heard OHSS means high chance of BFP!! Good luck to you! When is HCG BT?

Hi Serene,

Oh u also #2 Baby.. aiyo.. i blur.. who Tori with 1st baby ?

Hi Eskimobaby ,

Omg.. u are hospitalized due to OHSS too.. Yes, it is torturing for me .. till now i am still having swelling ovaries and dr loh says nothing can be done.. it just take time..Just a good news for u , OHSS patients have high chance of BFP.. but have to endure thru' 1st trimester as there might still be pain and bloatedness.. When is your BHCG ?

Hi Develyn,

Ya I think Tori is 1st baby for her... Lina and me no. 2 le.

BTW, when are you going back to work? Or u r not working??

serene, y u on mc har? Anyway, do rest well hor.

Develyn, good tat u're managing well. Jus hav to overcome the discomfort with the passing time. Jia you and stay happy and cheerful.

More new friends by each day, yeah! Welcome to the thread, jude, juliana, may, vinwee, bunny. Jia you o.

Hi Gloria,
Ya, I'm on MC for the rest of the week... feel nausea thruout the day so my gynae gave me MC to rest at home... I went back to my previous gynae. Rem the one I told u and Pari abt? Actually was a bit pai seh to go back to him cos I didnt do IVF with him... but since he noes all my history so face thick thick go back to him lor... He told me ytd he taught Dr Loh the skills of IVF... kekeke!