Nicole, mu frd also told me kk nurse only say take more fish, soya product and egg whites they advise things like chicken essence or brazul nuts..

Chicken essence suppose to improve egg quality?

LYn,
I'm still doing acu but not taking TCM herbs anymore since I started Lucrin. I've been taking brazil nuts daily. Chicken essnce and Anmum on alternate days since I start Lucrin. Guess must step up once start puregon??

Lyn, I think individual reacts to TCM differently ba. My SIL is a strong believer but my bro doesnt believe at all... My bro always think that mutivit is good enuff to maintain the health of our body... no need TCM to tio....

sorry for unable to post for the past few days, I have delivered my baby boy via c section on the 21st May, same as Mel, bb is 3.32kg, height 49cm. I had stayed in KKH since 20 May 6pm till today, 25 May at 1pm! It was long stay for me, never did I expect this. Anyway, just got a little bit of time to pop in and update abit first. I will share my delivery story in more details later. I am having a very tiring time after delivery, I will find time to visit and post here asap.

I have yet to read the earlier postings, will read thru them soon too.

Mel,
congrats!!!

Sorry to be a bit rush here. Will share our labour experiences soon. Our boys are having the same birthday!

How have you been so far? Hope you are doing very well.

Keep updated!

lyn,

I am not sure which is which cos all the ladies here swear by al the above to avoid ohss. So I just take on alternate days cos become very jalat after a day or 2!

hi sierra,
i missed that 1 month lucrin jab by a few days due to the swine flu and started a week later with the daily lucrin jabs..

nicole,
so far i dun have bruises but only the burning sensation and soreness after injection...

i've started the brazil nuts 2 days ago and egg white 1 day after my puregon... for chicken essence i dun drink that frequently.. only when i feel that i need the strength to get thru the day... also afraid that it'll be too heaty... do u take the yolk with the egg white or just the egg white? when i boil 2 eggs i will take 2 whites and 1 yolk... i like yolk... seems very wasted to throw both away.. kekeke

Bliss and mel, two of u must be tired and busy now....... Anyway congrats and share with us ur stories when u r more settled down

Hi Eskimobaby,
U're now doing puregon? Hmm ... i was almost affected by the swine flu too... one day before i'm supp to start lucrin, they told me orange alert, cannot start at all! Seems like everyone else who started same ime or after me is already starting their puregon, except me!!

eskimobaby,

i also have the burning sensation after puregon jab and the bruises are showing today when I showed my sisters the jab holes. My hubb feels so heart pain for me, keeps telling my nephew that his auntie, me, is a very woman. Haha, make me so pai seh!

Sierra, ya lor i also very lazy to go nowadays. I m nw waiting for period to come. Ask u, for my next cycle 1st to the day i start lucrin will doc advise us to take any tcm or stop already?

sierra,
yeah.. started on puregon last fri 21 may... going for scan this Fri to determine when is ER/ET..

dun worry.. since u have already started on lucrin... u will go into stage 2 soon

that time i went down they refused to let me start on lucrin as it was on orange alert.. luckily the alert went down and i quickly called them againa aand managed to start.. if not i would have to wait for another cycle... and start the OCP all over again..

LYn,
Leading up to Lucrin, I didn't stop acu. Did it all the way. As to whether your doc will ask you to stop, i think most of them seems against mixing both western and traditional together - be it the TCM herbs or acu. I guess it's up to you. I didn;t consult Dr Sadhana abt continuing my acu before, during lucrin etc. But i just took it upon myself to stop the tcm herbs ... cos don't wish to mix.

great to read that the forum has life again! It is so much more fun that way!

Sisters
from what I gathered here, you should try to increase proteins intake to improve egg quality. Egg whites is to reduce bloatedness and to be honest I am really sick of eating eggs! As for brazil nuts, it is to help implantation as it has lots of selenium which is known to help implantation. Do remember to drink lots of warm water. No more cold drinks as need to keep womb warm.

Nicole
now I remember that I also had heavy headache when I started treatment. It could be due to stress, medication or caffeine withdrawal! But don't worry, the side effects will reduce as your body gets used to it.

Serene
yep, your beta really high!

Lyn
hope your at report soon so that you can start soon.

Sierra
good to read you are starting puregon. From there, everything moves very fast!

thanks for sharing your OHSS experience & ensuring it doesn't affect pregnancy chances.

Dream,
managed to retrieve 25 eggs, but only fertilised 6. Forgot how many frozen, too distracted by the OHSS symptoms.

Chris,
still in kkh. Just gained another 3 kg of water overnight. hopefully treatment will work soon. Nurses told me the worst case they had was someone who stayed 3 months. Wonder how she took leave for 3 months? Not to mention the hospital bills....

eskimobaby,
good for you
glad we all manage to start in the end. I can' wait to start puregon too this thursday. it's been a loooong wait! You're doing the daily lucrin jabs or the 1x jab?

Dream,
Thanks, i also hope time will just fly by once i start puregon already! Can't wait. Not looking forward to having to do daily jabs but have to suck it in and bear with it and just chiong all the way!

sierra,
doing the daily lucrin jabs.... now it's puregon jabs plus lucrin jabs... once u start on puregon it will be very fast... hang in there!

nicole,
do u need to continue with lucrin as well?

Dream ya this is the one and only time i wan my AF to quickly report! But tell u hor the best thing is i still havent tell my boss yet, hehe

lyn, ya lor... the lab test should be reliable lah.... i did once in Mt E lab and reading was 20.1 and the recent one in KK reads 20.6
That's why i oni got 2 eggs stimulated and retrieved mah.... all bcos of my FSH... think i'm gg to menopause very soon... sad.

My boy is 19 mths le...

That's y quickly embark the IVF journey while my body can stil produce eggs, though not many but i'm glad the one and oni one works!!

serene, ya i will tell him once AF reports. I m thinking of hw to tell him juz in case of him trying to persuade me to try clomid first.... I m thinking of this for the longest time thats y till now still have tell lor

serene, where got ppl menopause in their 30s one.. Ur boy only 19mths i tot after delivery of first child usually more fertile?

Lyn, tell your boss you dun one to waste time on clomid anymore...

Menopause occurs after all your egg diminished mah... My FSH level showing that i'm in the pre-menupasual stage you know!

i also tot after delivery wil be more fertile.... apparently it is not in my case lor...

But it is defintely true in my sister's case. She is 3 mths preg and her son oni 13 mths... kekeke! She almost fainted when she knew it was +ve. kekeke!

Brownie
That s really scary. I hope you recover fast. Your hubby must really worry for you. What was your dose of puregon? Please be strong

Eskimo
thanks. Counting down! 4 more days to go to BT!

Nicole and eskimo
may be you could try to bring out the Medicine 10-15 minutes before the jab so you won't have that burning sensation. Otherwise, try to get your hubby to pinch some of your flesh/fat from your abdomen and jab there.i must have lots of more fats that you ladies that s why I can tahan them or my nubby skills is very good

Sierra
Ivf is really a struggle at every stage. Testing our patience but finishing line is soon. Once you start puregon, you are on speed mode!

Lyn
difficult situation but I guess you need to tell him soon for back up. Just be honest with him. He should understand.

hi bliss,
do rest more during confinement. Take care

I had very heavy red fresh bleeding on sunday, rushed to 24 hours clinic. The nurse at counter wanted to take my urine sample. I told her bleeding and she insisted. So i gave a container with blood mix urine. The doctor scan and explained that baby is very active, doing somersault and strong heartbeat. She could see my panic face and still measure the length of baby. Why would i need to know the length of baby in this emergency? Anyway she said was due to placenta moving so i had bleeding. This is normal and i could resume normal work in 2 days. She refuse to give me a jab and claimed that progesterone pills will work.

When i returned home, bleeding continued for another 4 hours. I contacted Dr Zou and she said that as long as i have no cramps or sharp pain, should be ok. She taught me the glutinous rice cook with lotus method. My mom quickly prepared and i glup it down. Hubby collected a stronger portion of 'an tai herbs' from her. Within 2 hours, bleeding totally stopped. Today went to see my own gynae. He said that the jab will not help much as i am already after 1st trimester but still gave me a jab to ease my mind and he allow me to bedrest for a week under HL. Whew, what a scare i had! I am really amaze that a simple method of glutinous rice could stop bleeding. Now i take this twice daily.

Hi Lina

Glad 2 know bleeding has stopped. can see it Must be really hair=raising! Heard that early 2nd trimester can hv bleeding too. When I repeated the glutinous rice recipe to my Dr, he dismissed it. Good dat it has really worked for you. Do you mind sharing the recipe? tks

hi WY,
actually i was expecting bleeding to occur earlier as many ladies here also encounter that. And i gave up on western doctor's attitude of "sit and wait for bleed to stop". The recipe is very simple "5 thin slices of lotus root, cook with glutinous rice in a pot till like porridge. You may add in red dates for better taste". Ladies in china ate this for bleeding, so easy yet powerful method. Even my mom is totally surprise that glutinous rice could be used to cook porridge and taste quite nice too. She also ate a bowl.

however due to this bleeding in 2nd trimester, gynae is very certain that i will deliver early. Although my older child was deliver overdue but that will not help this pregnancy. I have informed company that i will be taking no pay leave till delivery. Lucky boss approve of it.

Lina: u mean u'll b going off early for delivery? how many weeks r u now, btw? I really think all pregnant woman should not be be made to work. So much stress and tiredness!

lina
that is really scary. Bleeding for such a long time. Luckily you managed to contact dr Zhou and get her recipe. It is good to know. When are you due? I guess your boss is quite understanding and you are right to play it safe. Baby health is more important. You must really take care. Another way is to ask your gynae to extend your HL or MC leave. Take care and rest well.

Bliss
thanks for updates and good to read you and baby are fine. Any reason why your stay was so long? Once you are home you will have even less time. I hope you have good support. Must be great to be back home

hi WY,
now 13 weeks, though work does not require me to walk or stand but travelling distance and stress might result in bleeding again. So for safety, i shall rest at home.

hi dream,
Thanks, i will take care. I am due in december. Only left with limited mc and HL as most taken up for ivf treatment. And after deducting HL, still not enough to last till delivery. Actually since BFP, i told boss and colleagues that i am at higher risk due to ivf. So they are prepared that i am taking leave.

lina
You are lucky to have such understanding boss and colleagues. In which fields are you? You would still be able to enjoy the maternity leave? Otherwise why do you thin that Ivf pregnancy is higher risk? Just wondering. I thought it would be the same for singleton. Is jt because of all medicatins we take?

Good morning ladies,

may everyone have a smooth and wonderful day!

Hi dream,

I definitely have fats around my tummy
and I even try to pinch it harder so I dun feel the pain of the needle, haha!

Hi eskimobaby,

ya I think all the hubbies whose wife are undergoing IVF would know how my hubby feels and are sayang their wife more now

Hi lina,

take care and think positive!

hi sierra,

what time are you going down for your appt at kk on thu? My appt is between 8 to 9am, maybe I'll see you there.

hi dream,
i will still get the maternity leave and during my absense, they will get a temp staff to replace me. I am in customer service. I used to think that ivf pregnancy is the same as normal pregnancy. My older boy was conceive via clomid, very smooth pregnancy, i could walk very fast to work till delivery and previous job stress level was much higher. However, after 1st ivf cycle failed due to bleeding for 3 days, i realized that every pregnancy is different. It could be due to the ivf medication we took. When i told my gynae that this is ivf pregnancy, he insisted on no BD for 1st trimester and after this bleeding, he said no BD till delivery. Big price to pay for having no income during this economy and might even lose job but weighing the cost of ivf treatment, no choice.

hi nicole,
thanks, will stay positive.

do u all hv any other side effects during puregon stage besides the 1 stated in the forms? I seems to be having some uncomfy ones these 2 days, flu, headache, heaty, bloatedness, tired, no appetite.

Am going down to dr zou's accu later, hope I am well enough to go down in a while.

hi eskimobaby,

yes, I am still on lucrin jab too. Once I got lost on which side should I jab puregon and lucrin and jab them on the same side then I jot down on ivf calendar what I did on that day, including what I eat just to keep track!

just saw from the net that we should not take gatorade drinks during ivf to prevent or control hyperstimulation as it is high in salt. But i tot I saw someone says it's ok? Better dun take!