I'm starting my ivf very soon, the 1st injection will be on Valentine's Day. Anyone going thr ivf the same time as me?

For those who have been thr ivf, can share ur experiences? My RE is Dr Yeong, I m still thinking whether I should change RE since he is leaving KKIVF end Mar.

Read from a few previous posting that there are a list of food to avoid during the program. can you share what are they?

Hi annie,

At KKH, they tranfer the embryos to the womb on the 2nd day after retrieval. Some other gynae may transfer on 3rd day.

Hi ET,

All the best to u. As for IVF experience in KKIVF, think it all summarised in our previous postings. Overall, u don't get to see your gynae very often. But think it's ok cos the nurse there are all trained to answer your questions. If u are doubtful, can always email your gynae to check. As for the list of food to avoid, I can only rememeber soy pdts, chicken, ginger, birdnest and chinese herbs.

Hi chemistry,

Thanks for your advise. Will take a step at a time. Now I'm wondering if I can take any medication to induce my menses to come so that I can do the blood test & start IVF soon. Perhaps I'll email Dr SF Loh to check if it's advisable to do so coz' not sure if that will affect the result of the blood test.

I guess I will stick to Dr SF Loh coz' most of you mentioned that he's quite a nice gynae & I trust you gals.

Nope....haven't gone for counselling though. Any advise when I should do so? After my blood test or before?

Hi chemistry,

huh...to avoid soy pdts, but i thot recently there is an article in straits time that research have proven that by increasing intake of soy pdts can increase implatation for ivf patient. and i have been increase my intake by drinking soy milk every morning since last wk.

Hi vonvon,

Think u can schedule an appt to see the gynae after the blood test cos gynae may need some of your blood test results. But for the social worker, make not much different whether to see her earlier or later loh.

Hi ET,

yah, i remember soy pdts is in the list. i avoided soy milk, bean curd etc during the treatment. Anyway, if u consume in moderate qty, should be ok lah. I did take some chicken that time too. My gynae only told me to avoid chinese herbs.

hi chemistry,

thanks for answering my questions.

I'll have to see my gynae again after cny to see what's the recommendation, but mentally I prepared she might suggest IVF for us.

Hi Chemistry,

How would the counselling by social worker and by the doctor like? can tell me briefly so that i can get myself prepared.

Hi ET,

The counselling by social worker is basically to prepare u mentally for the treatment. Talk about how hubby can play his part in IVF and coping with failure etc. At KKH, the social worker herself went thru IVF to conceive as well, she shared with me her experience as well.

As for gynae, he went thru the IVF process, show us some pictures of the embryos, review our condition and blood test results etc. He also share with me the sucess rate on IVF etc. Lastly, he will also witness the signing of some consent forms which are required by MOH.

For both counselling sessions, both hubby and wife have to be present.

Hi Chemistry,

During the briefing, kkivf nurse mentioned that at stage 2, it will be 2 injection (Lucrin + Puregon) per day, is that corrrect or i heard wrongly.

Hi Chemistry,

So when do we stop the Lucrin injection?

Btw, when the nurse teach us how to jab, do they do live demo or just brief us how to do it?

Hi ET,

U will continue with the jab (i.e Lucrin & Puregon) till 2 days before egg retrival. The nurse will demo how to do it. After that, u will have to do the injection in front of the nurse.

Hi Chemistry

How are you and bb doing?

To all trying for IVF/ICSI,

All the best and hope to receive more good news in this thread!!!

Hi Chemistry,

I really dont know whether I have the courage to poke myself. Hope the determination to success give me the courage to do it. cant depend on hubby coz he is worst than me, taking blood test already got problem...

HI tomatoes,

I'm fine. How about u? Got to know your bb gender already?

I'm 12 weeks now. 1st trimester is 13 weeks right? MS is tapering off and my appetite has improve a little, but still can't take all the fried stuff. Tummy still flat and still 1.7kg below pre-pregnancy weight. Hopefully will gain some weight in 2nd trimester.

Hi ET,

Dun worry, the jab is relly painless and needle is very fine. U can try pinching your tummy. U realise it's not painful cos got a lot of fat and not much nerves there.

Hi ET

Yes, it is not that difficult as you though, after you have poke the needle into your tummy fat, you will find that it is not that bad after all. I got super low threshold for needles. If I can do, anyone also can

Hi Chemistry

Great to know that everything is fine with you. Some say 2nd Tri start at 12wks, some say 13wks.

For me, people say during 2nd tri, the mum will feel energetic. But for me, I feel more tired than ever. I will probably know the gender a few weeks later. Me currently at 15/16 wks. Now getting a bit worried about the coming DS scan.

Hi Chemistry, tomatoes

Thanks for all your explanation and encouragement. Will be starting the Lucrin jab after CNY. Meanwhile, take good care and enjoy ur pregnancy!

Hi tomatoes,

Dun worry about the DS scan. Should be ok wan lah. Did u go for the maternal serum testing for DS? Suppose to be a blood test only.

I actually kinda of worry of my bb, mainly bcos of my weight issue. Wonder if it is growing well. At 10w6d, my bb is only 4 cm which seems to be on the smaller side. Although gynae say it's growing well, but I'm still very worry. I will only be seeing my gynae 2 weeks after CNY, which seems so long for me.

May I know how you decide to go for ICSI, IUI or IVF ? Was it recommended by the doctor or you basically did your own research and tell him what you want ? Would really appreciate if you could share with me....

For me, my HB sperm count is extremely low and quality is not good too, but gynae said could be due to no of days of abstinance (3 days). He has not recommended ICSI or IUI or IVF yet or any drugs for my hubby. We have started off the 1st cycle with clomid (100mg).

Tomorrow, I will be going down to see gynae to do v scan. So if my gynae doesn't suggest IVF, ICSI or IUI, I will really like to know how to tell him what I want. My hubby cant go with me as he cant take leave, so i m so stress...

Hi Gloria,

For me, my hubby has extremely low quality sperm, so RE suggested we go for ICSI since we have been TTC for 1.5 yrs with no result.

Hi Gloria,

Me too. My hubby went for 2 SA test, 3 month interval apart. Both results were bad, low count and quality. So doc refer us for ICSI after the 2nd SA test. And b4 that, they also check hubby for varicocele. If hubby is a varicocele case, medication & surgery can help to improve his condition.

Hi Tidy Fairy,

My RE is Dr Yeong, but he is leaving KKH for private practice so I may be changing my RE to Dr SF Loh.

Btw, my RE did not check hubby for varicocele before he recommend ICSI. I dont know why but it may be coz his other parameters is quite ok except for the quality which is way too low at 1% (1st SA) & 3% (2nd SA)

Hi Tidy Fairy

My doc is SF Loh. Usually, doc will not check for varicocele unless the SA results is bad. For my hubby's case, his count and quality are all very low and consistant over 2 SAs.

Hi Novem,

How are u? Starting your FET soon?

Hi ET & Chemistry,
Thanx for the sharing.. i went for my checkup and gynae suggested that we try natural way again.. i asked him whether can give my hubby medication to improve the sperm and gynae suggested another sperm check... to get a confirmation. hope the second SA will be more conclusive and maybe lead to something...

i think doing ICSI or SO-IUI or IVF would give us more control over this ... yesterday they told me gynae did egg-retrieval for 2 patients... i really hope the results will be good

chemistry,
may i know after how many consultations (and over how long ) then the gynae recommended IVF ? u take good care of urself and bb will be fine ...!

ET,
enjoy your CNY and after that you will start on your mission ! wish i can do IVF soon...

Hi Gloria,
Did the doctor suggest any medication for your hubby after all? My gynae suggested taking antioxidants/multi-vit supplements. I got my hubby supplements - antioxidants and minerals (including selenium & zinc). Take 2 pills twice a day.

Also, reduce hot showers & wear boxers.

Has your hubby made any lifestyle changes to try to improve sperm quality?

Hi Tidy Fairy,
My gynae did not advise my hubby to take anything at all... could be bcoz he has not even seen my hubby before .... i went for 3 checkups myself coz hubby cant take leave... he only drop by to give sperm sample... so, maybe tat's y my gynae keep 'working' on me... checking me for follicles, blood, uterus lining etc... but i think i m pretty normal leh, coz he cant find anything wrong ...

my hubby doesnt't drink or smoke, he takes cold showers only ... maybe i should buy him some boxer shorts for ventilation hor ?

feel tat should have went to gynae earlier.... now feel very helpless as feel clock ticking but i try to tell myself to relax lor... could have kicked myself for wasting all this precious years not doing anything.... new year resolution - this is my high priority project for the year... nothing can distract me from it...

Tidy Fairy, how abt you, are things going well with you ? has ur hubby checked for varicocele ?

Hi Gloria,

I was referred for ICSI after 4 visits which was about 4 mths+. My hubby was given Vit E to take even b4 his SA test. But after that, the doc also never give any medication when SA test results is bad. He also asked my hubby to re-test again 3 months later. As the 2nd SA test didn't show any improvement, we were referred for ICSI. Did u check with gynae if SO-IUI can help?

Don't worry, there are also cases where hubby had very poor sperm count/quality which results in a pregnancy.

Hi Gloria,
Yes I think boxer shorts are one way of helping sperm quality. Can get reasonable ones from carefour. Branded ones are $7 & above each.

My hubby's SA was borderline. Morphology bad, so it's called teratozoospermia. I just get him to swallow the antioxidant supplements faithfully. Didn't go for subsequent SA to check again. We're just trying and praying...

Mustn't think that you're helpless. I also sometimes regret waiting (now 3.5 yrs married), but during the 1st few years of marriage, we really couldn't stand other people's naughty kids and didn't want to make personal sacrifices for kids.

Now main thing is to work on our relationship (be more loving) & reduce stress in our lives, including worrying about infertility. Easier said than done, huh?

Seems like the ICSI or IVF don't really increase our chances of getting preggie that much - our natural way of trying without medical assistance also is only 25% chance of getting pregnant.

Altho u make it a high priority, mustn't give ourselves a deadline to have kids - I think it's a self imposed stress factor. Just work on healthy eating and reducing stress.
like, drinking green tea - good for sperm & also our cervival mucus.

Is your hubby interested to try antioxidant supplements?

Hi Gloria,

Just went KKIVF to sign all ICSI documentation. Learn how to do injection and bou the Lucrin. I m ready to start my mission on Valentine's Day. Wish me luck!

Hi Chemistry,

Initially, I thot Dr Yeong is leaving KK in end March so I can still be in time to be under his care, but just been informed by the KKIVF nurse that he is leaving in 1st March so I need to change my RE. I m considering Dr SF Loh & Dr Sheila Loh. I m now very confused dont know which one as both are good. any advise?

Hi ET,
wow... so good that you are going to start your mission on such a auspicious day .. keep your spirits high and all the best to you ...
i don noe when i can start my ICSI or IUI... tomorrow i will go to see gynae with my hubby... i finally asked the gynae 'can i bring my hubby to see you on sat'.. heh heh.. coz i really feel that they should meet at least once ...

Tidy Fairy, i will see what the gynae says abt my hubby's condition tomorrow. hopefully the second SA results will be out and he can advise us... can even 'examine' my hubby coz he'll be there !!
same here - the 1st SA says he has some 'tetrazoospermia' / subfertile classification... don seem v gd hor ?

For us, we waited so long - abt 6 years.. coz i had a miscarriage in my 1st year.. so we never suspected that there was anything wrong (?)... by the time we really faced the facts, we went to a very agressive gynae who made me sign-up for laparoscope on the 2nd visit. As it was a day op, i thought nothing of it until she gave me so many days MC and i was in pain for many days (think she must be very chor-lor). and i found that it was actually a very invasive way of checking... that really put us off any gynae for the next 2 years...

Chemistry, thanks for sharing your experience with me. it makes me have some mental prep of how many months it may take before can embark on ICSI... my gynae has drawn up this plan for me - clomid + natural way 1st, then SO-IUI, if still cannot then ICSI, IVF...

weekend is coming... so happy.. let's all enjoy our weekend .. going to watch concert tomorrow night .. see u all on monday

Hi ET,

They allow u to buy the Lucrin so early? During my time, they only allow me to buy on the day of my injection and the nurse made me do the injection in their presence to make sure that I'm doing it right.

I think both Dr Lohs are good. I have heard of sucess cases under both of them. Personally, I have never had any of my ICSI reveiw done by Dr Sheila Loh, so can't comment much leh. As for Dr SF Loh, he is my gynae and definitely the type of doc I like and that why I'm continuing with him for my pregnancy. Even my hubby who initially does not like me to be examine by a male gynae also quite like him now.

Hi Gloria,

It's good that your hubby can go with u to see your gynae today. Think your hubby case not that bad lah. If your gynae say can still try IUI means his count/quality is still quite ok. For us, the only solution we are given is ICSI, IUI or IVF can't even help.

Hi Chemistry,

I was told that all IVF cases have to be audited by the head of department Dr Sheila. Hence, she has to look thr all IVF case files and make notes or order more testes if any. As I have a few medical history, a bit complicated, she has ordered a few extra blood test to ensure that I m ok before i proceed and they have to closly monitor me during the stimulation jab as I have a higher risk of developing OHSS due to my complicated medical history.

Initially, I already decided to let Dr SF Loh take my case but now, i thot since Dr Sheila Loh read thr my case file, she knows better my condition. That's why now I m half hearted which RE to go to. I have seen SF Loh once, find that he is quite good, but I never seen Sheila Loh before.

Hi ET,

Just follow your heart and go to the doc which u think can handle your case best loh. Your know, some of the older folks believe that dr and patient must also have a kind of "yuan feng" in order for treatments to be sucessful. Somehow, i kinda fated to see Dr SF Loh wan cos during my 1st consultation when i pay subsidised rate, I got assigned to see him while most subsidised patients only get to see a registra. And also, I believe both Dr Lohs are good, so you will be in good hands regardless of which Dr Loh u go to.

Hi Chemistry,

I probably will take Dr Sheila Loh.

Btw, why they dont allow u to buy Lucrin early? I actually didnt ask to buy early. They ask me if I want to learn first then dont have to come back on the day when I start my injection. I thot it is better that way lor then i can save one trip down. But they only show me how & ask me to practice the injection on a stress ball. If on the day of injection I got problem then i will have to go down.

Hi Gloria,

I agree with Chemistry. I m also like Chemistry, the only solution is ICSI. I wanted to try IUI first but my RE dont recomend, he say the chances for us if we go for IUI will be very low.

Good morning... today everyone is so early !! my hubby & I went for our consultation together on sat and the 2nd SA result is slightly better than the 1st one.... the gynae then asked my hubby whether he was not in 'top form' for the 1st SA and my hubby said he was on medication for stomach flu .. aiyah... i want to bury my head in the ground ... so malu... is that an indication of comm breakdown....

so, we will have to try out natural way 1st maybe 2 - 3 cycles... the nurse say this is necessary before we go straight to other assisted methods... (but actually we have been trying for more than 4 years).. will follow and see how it goes...

Hi vonvon, annie_tan, westbb, tomatoes, how are you doing ? hope all of you are fine and well... miss all you notes. Pls continue to share with us how u are doing
do take care

How's everyone been? I haven't been posting for sometime... though i still pop in sometimes to catch up with everyone's progress. I'm now in my 26th week, and getting more and more clumsy and butter-fingers liao!

I just want to wish you all a HAPPY LUNAR NEW YEAR before we all busy ourselves with the CNY dinners and visiting!

~*~*~ To all mummies-to-be : A smooth pregnancy and delivery to a healthy Rooster baby!!!

~*~*~ To all ladies who are considering / trying IUI/IVF/ICSI : A successful and positive Pregnancy Test very very very soon!!!

Gong Xi Fa Cai & Happy Valentine's!! More good news to this thread !!!

Hi Gloria & westbb

I am good but feeling really tired and tummy getting heavier. Me around week 20th oredi. Tomorrow will be seeing my gynae again. Hopefully all is well.

Yes, it is good to plan IVF as your last resort. Who knows you may just strike along the way ;)

Wishing all you gals out there a Happy & Postive+++ Chinese New Year!!!!

Hi Chemistry,

sorry for MIA, he he he
I've been busy with work and big boss restricting us fm SMS,MSN and surfing net during work, so sian...

I went for the blood test on day 22nd, and result shown that I din ovulate last month, and planned for FET this cycle, was waiting and waiting for my dear AF to come, but till now 38th day still have not come yet...

do you gals have any ideas if ivf drugs affect ur cycle? I ask the nurse and my gynae, they ask me to do HPT first, but dun want la,,, i din even ovulate, how to have bb?? now only praying my AF come after 3rd day of CNY, dun want like my IVF cycle, AF (bad news) came on the new year day,,, choi...

well, I wish you all Happy Lunar New Year and may all our dreams come true real soon!

so glad to see westbb and tomatoes are doing well... wow westbb, you are 26 weeks pregnant, tat's wonderful ! i had read most of your earlier notes and really feel happy for you... you have been so encouraging ... How often do you go for your checkup now ? must be exciting when doing the baby scan... !!

As for me, i am now at CD25 but this few days there is some dark brown discharge...so i was wondering whether AF came early (usually 30 -32 days cycle)... but i forgot to replenish 'stock' in bag.. imagine my horror when i was at my MIL place for reunion dinner last night and felt more discharge coming... think the panty-liner cannot tahan... pray so hard don hv to ask my sis-in-law for pad... aiyoh... think it is so pah-sei to do this kind of thing at my IL place... knowing they are waiting for grandchild...

for me, if AF come, then will goto clinic to get the clomid . btw, it is 100 mg - is tat high ? then it is the start of new mission again... maybe i should get it today in case kana during CNY hor ... then no clomid... better tell hubby .

Happy Rooster Year to everyone... let's hope we all get little roosters this year

Hi Gloria

100mg is still ok. If can get clomid to standby then it is better lor. Of course I hope you won't have to use it ;)

Maybe it is just spotting. I heard some preggie ladies do have spotting b4 they tested positive. So keep us updated hor!

Happy Holidays everyone!

Hi Novem

I have heard that IVF drugs may affect our cycle. However, you may want to do a HPT just to play safe?

Hope everyone have a great year of rooster!

Hi Novem,

Hope your AF is not delay, but rather u have strike!!! It will be a great CNY "ang bao"!! Hope to hear good news from u next year!

Hi tomatoes,

How's your visit to gynae today? So it is a boy or gal? Very kapo....

Hi Chemistry

My bb is ok but me not ok. Sugar level in urine quite high and gynae ordered to do a Glucose Tolerance Test this Fri. The funny thing is I seldom eat sweet things nowadays and yet my sugar level high.

Still can't see the gender yet, maybe a month later. Tomorrow thinking of going seiyu to buy sterilizer cos got 20% discount for all bb products.

Hi tomatoes,

Glad to know your bb is ok. Oh no, I'm having appetite for sweet stuff nowadays. Can even finish 1 whole tube of sweets in a day. Think I better cut down, else my sugar level during the next visit sure shoot up also!

Hi tomatoes...
AF came yesterday while i was playing mahjong... so today going to collect the clomid & folic acid... try again this cycle ...

did you read about the baby-related article in straits time today ? more pple are going to see doctor regarding IVF ... think govt is trying v hard to psycho pple to think tat this is the in-thing to do... but then i m so slow, now then i realise that the withdrawal of 6k, 5k and 4k for assisted pregnancy is from our own medisave a/c... then donno why it is like govt 'give' us like tat hor ? but better than coughing out cold hard cash from our pocket...

may i know what is the oldest age that you have 'heard' of pple who got pregnant via IVF/IUI/ICSI ? i wanted to ask my gynae abt his 'oldest' successful case.. coz i m already 35... pls let me know coz i always read from books tat chances goes down quite drastically once you hit 35 and beyond... tat seems like THE watershed mark...

Hi Gloria

Wah, play mahjong? Did you win any??
Can enjoy a "Da-fei-nian" oredi

Sorry to hear about your AF. My RE did tell me b4 that chances will be reduced after 35, but there are still couples who succeed at 40+ too. So it is hard to say. For your case, since your RE advised you to go step by step (if there's no major problem with you or your hubby), then follow his advice maybe for maybe 6 months b4 trying IVF. Meanwhile, it may also be a good idea
to try SO-IUI during this 6 months.

Yes, we are actually taking from our own medisave when govt said that we withdraw more for assist procedures like IVF or IUI.

Frankly speaking, there are really alot of couples pregnant during the rooster year. And you might be one of us soon too

Hi Gloria,

Generally, a woman's chance of conceiving reduced significantly at 35 years old. Hence, regardless of the need to go thru IVF or not, we are not longer as productive as when we are younger.

In any case, I got to know a colleague's friend who got pregnant with IVF at 37 yrs old. In S'pore, they only allow women who are below 45 years of age to try IVF.

Hi Tomatoes..
thanks for your encouragement... i always feel a bit down recently ... i wonder whether it is the side effect of clomid ... quite moody... well, this year's 1st baby rooster is by a couple born in year of rooster too (ie mother 36 years ?) ... feel so encouraged....

how many times do u think pple try IVF ? do pple give up bcoz of financial constraint, emotionally drained or time has run out (more than 45 years)?

Hi Chemistry,
thanks for your info... successful at 37 years old... that gives me a ray of hope...

well, weekend is here again.. tomorrow can go shopping coz got sales everywhere... yippee.