Hi everyone. I'm new here. I will be starting IVF in June at KKIVF. My doctor is Kelly Loi. From reading the previous posts, doesn't seem like many of you are with this doctor..don't know what are my chances of success with her.
Some background history about myself.. I've been married for almost 10 years..4X conceive naturally but miscarried before 8 weeks. Only possibility why it happened could be because of hubby's poor sperm morphology and that's why cannot have healthy baby. Or mAYBE I wasn't careful enough or maybe it was the work,coffee and the smoking... Hope IVF/ICSI can change that..
I have handed in my resignation and will be taking a break from work to take care of myself. Last day of work is 29th May. Yippeee!
Good luck to all the strong positive ladies here who are tring or waiting for good news. We can do it!!

Hi Mel, Thanks for sharing with us the nice drawing of the cow baby. Your hubby is so talented!

Hi Lina, think i am going to 'export' one out fr SGP/M'sia. You got any lobang ie p/p who r willing 2 work overseas and are good? My pte insurance is going 2 pay 4 most of the delivery/antenatal/hospitalisation expenses, so that's a load off my mind. Will use the money 2 bring one good confinement lady here. But i think us eating good foods to nourish our body during confinement is just as important esp after what we've gone thru', else how 2 hv energy 2 have a 2nd/3rd? I tried 2 google 4 confinement lady in UK, but no luck, think must go by word of mouth. After my confinement lady go, will ask my Father-in-law 2 help out since he retired liao.

Hi Ltjabi
Glad 2 hear everything is alright with you. We must be extra careful during this period, as ivf babies are just too precious.

wy

Lina, btw, r u still taking herbs from Dr zou now that u r preggy? I'm still not sure if i shld go 4 accup this coming saturday. Kind of mixed response; some p/p encourage & some dun.

thanks,
wy

In preparation for our IVF in June, my hubby and I finally quit smoking!! Already quit for more than a month!;) Guilty to recall, when I was pregnant and miscarried the last four times, I was still smoking and drinking two cups of coffee a day. Now I only have one coffee in the morning but thinking to quit that too. Ladies, any tips on how else to prep my body ?

Ltjabi, I have two lovely doggies. One blind silky terrier and one chihuahua. Be careful never to lift your retriever up or let him pounce on you again!

Had not been logged in quite sometime. Saw there is a gathering or accup like tat on 01 May. Loved to join as I missed the last trip due to my work committment. Felt very baiseh.

Can I confirm to you gals later if I can join as I may need to return to office on 01 May for my financial accounts closing. Now still pending for my dept head advise.

Tink I'm the only person in finance line. Actually tinking of switching line as working in finance always very stress especially the closing period due to tight deadlines. Dun knoe if this continues, will affect my chances of getting pregnant.

Hi die die, miscarried 4 times is emotionally suffering. Did doc advised thing like chromosome test to find out the reson for habitual miscarriage?

dEvelyn,

haha don't scold you, you don't listen hehe.. good to drive you to sleep by force hehe...at least you get some rest hehe..you like little gal :p

Hi Dilemmagal

I'm also in the finance line and can appreciate that you sometimes need to work on public holidays. Seems like yr job is quite hectic, so will be difficult 4 u to commit 2 ivf when the time comes, unless you have a super understanding boss + colleagues and yr presence not always necc 4 each month's closing. Btw, which stage r u at? I hv since switched 2 more project work within a bank's finance dept. And it is more cool.

wy

Hi die, did your doc do any test on your mc? You seem to be able to conceive naturally, which I was wondering why you need to embark on ivf. Ivf is a stressful process and mc can also occur. Since you are having a more healthier lifestyle now, why dun try naturally for a few months first. I read that you have only quit smoking for a month. Give urself more time.

Just to share that 1 of my friend had mc 3 times. The doc even said that she is going to have difficulty in conceiving after the habitual mc. Anyway, she got preggy again and she quit her job this time and she even change gynea to someone she doesn' know. Now, she is a mother of 2 already. I think her stress level at work play an important part too.

If you have decided to continue with ivf, of cos we will give u our support here.

Hi Sue,

u have calf strain ? Try to massage with baby lotion bah.. or soak leg in warm water.. is like that de.. i also feel superz tired .. plus i vomited again today... lolz...

Hi Lyn ,
See you there ya

Hi Itjabi ,
Ok good.. make sure it will not happen again k... haha my dog will be protected by hubby during 2ww.. cos she also very jumpy de.. so i have to be careful of her also... today my customer golden retriever also jump on me.. lucky i am on puregon .. keke...

Hi Die..
Aiyo.. change that nick name.. won’t die one.. be positive and miracle will happen de.. Sam as u, i am in a stressful environment.. super smoker.. 20sticks a day.. first IVF also failed with MC at 6ww... just bear in mind... quit before the start of IVF so u will not have withdrawal symptoms.. i talk only .. quite easy.. but not easy.. so u have to be well prepared okie.. no caffeine too.. Jia you jia you... Oh just read that u quit liao.. salute !!! Good job man !! Ok, it will be good to go Dr Zou there to tio body.. plus drink a type of herbs to cleanse up body toxic.. if possible, go and detox 1mth before your IVF cycle.. hope this helps.

Hi Dilemmagal ,
I remember u .. sure u can join us.. pls book with dr zou if u wanna go okie.. she should still have slot at 11am.. we will wait for one another then go AMK hub for chit chat..
This is the 3rd gathering liao.. so try not to miss it ya.. cya..

Hi Humburg jie,
Vomited again liao.. haiz.. feel so tired the whole day.. sianz .. hope all these are worthwhile .. will jia you jia you de... zzzz ... sleepy liao...

Hi sue,

thanks for the article. think will not go 4 accup becos the tried & tested sinseh, who poked my gf from conception till 36 weeks is not going 2 be the one treating me. so dun want 2 risk unless he got track record too.

wy

Hi WY ,

Yupz.. i guess that's one of the side effect bah.. i am having well-diet
.. nevermind, i only vomit once a day so far.. hope all works well.. i pray myself.. haha... :p

Thanks for all your warm welcomes.By the way, my real name ends with the letters 'die' thus my username is 'die'. Haha.. not because sure die la..

Hi Paule

finding accup is not easy but one who is good is hard. Have u had yr first scan? Mine is 13 May. hv u thot of confinement lady prob?

wy

Hi Libby and Noi,
Thanks ladies. Managed to get the brazil nut at Vivo City at Cold Storage. SGD5.50 per 100 g. Bought 200 g as the sales lady was not too happy when I start counting the number of nuts in 100 g. She could not understand why needed to count the Nb of nuts! So, to play safe, I bought 200 g. I think should be ok, right? How many did you take after ET?

Develyn and Noi,
Thanks for your encouragement for the jabs...but when I read Develyn's message, it really scares me! 25 jabs! wondering how I can endure it especially after reading some posts which mentioned it is really painful! scared..scared...but I am really eager to start the process. Very contradicting, right!

Sue,
I can understand how you feel. I also have a 7-year daughter and she always asks us what will happen to her when my hubby and I die. It really makes me very sad. I always tell her that her hubby and children would look after her but deep down, I know it will really be hard for her if something happens to us. So, really hope for miracle to happen!

Zaza,
Took my last BCP today and hope my menses would report ASAP to start the process. Dr. said that menses should start within 3 days after BCP. What did your Dr say?

Axjess
You must be excited to start Stage 2!

Mel Wong,
Love your hubby drawing. thanks for sharing!

Libby
Glad to read that your ET went well. Please update us when you are feeling well and take care...

Die,
Welcome to the forum.

Hi Gloriajeans

You mean the HCG shot 2 trigger ovulation? Mine was administered at home by DH. And around the tummy area like for puregon/gonal-f.

wy

WY
oic... guess the chinese community is quite big in london right? I remembered finding good chinese restaurants there...

my first scan is 30th april... in 4 days...

in fact, i was not intending to do confinement, coz all the women here in France do not practice confinement and yet all well... but my best friend said that our body are very different from theirs... so confinement is a must!

mother-in-law is quite old so not in the health to help me... at first, thought of employing a part-time maid to help me probably for half a day for the housework... didn't want to ask my mum coz she is very out-going person, in Singapore everyday go play mahjong, karoke etc etc, don't want to bore her with my confinement, but finally, my mum says she would be most willing to come and help me! so which is very good, coz my mum is a very good cook!

have you thought of going back to Singapore to give birth?

Hi die,
U should start taking fish oil and folic acid. Take for at least a mth den try naturally. I was told by a india doc to take fish oil with omega 3.

Wonder anyone seeing Dr PC wong here? I just make appt with him to c him on 6th May. Hope my very last IVF journey will be a success one.

Paul le

whoa, u so lucky that yr mom is a good cook and willing 2 come! I agree that our bodies are different from other with natural pregnancies, so confinement 2 me is a must. explored e idea of going back to SGP for delivery but quite scared 2 travel at 7 months preggy + SGP may be too hot 4 us + my mom is not a fantastic cook, so go back oso quite useless ie still hv 2 get a confinement lady. You r not in Paris right? Will u hv probs getting the ingredients?
whoa, u are 2 weeks ahead of me. Pl update us with yr good news after yr first scan.

wy

i was very tempted to give birth in Singapore, but must fly back around 5 months preggy, DH sure dun agree..

yah, not living in Paris, some ingredients have to bring from Singapore, some stuffs can buy from chinatown in Paris in advance...

yup yup wld update on thursday after the scan

wy,
Was it Very painful or not to inject to tummy??
Is the needle size like suprefact? Or bigger?
I very sacred of this injection.
The last time i couldn't walk with the injection at my thigh.

Gloria, i had 2 syringes of ovitrelle + 1 last shot of gonal-f on the same day. It should be quite easy, not to worry, even my DH could inject 4 me. Hey, be brave, you've already gone this far liao, just a few steps more and yr dream of being a mommy will be realised! so chin up!

So excited for pau le.

Die, u also can take OBIMIN. U know what i recommended my cuzens to take OBIMIN and within 2 months they are pregnant. Envy them...

Girls, thanks for your kind words abt this little drawing...
agree that my hubby has this little talent... For him, it is easy... A few strokes of the pen, and something funny comes out... Mabbe that is why I'm envious of the efforts your hubbies go through for you... It is simply too easy for him.. Hai.. What to do... I choose him one..
anyway, glad that I can share this with you all... Hope the baby cow brings you all luck...

Wy - actually, I understand from a friend of mine that the confinement agencies in Singapore cater for confinement nannies flying abroad... Usually the nannies are singaporeans becos of our passports... Lesser travel restrictions... Perhaps you can try that...

thanks, WY.
every stage is like a test, it's more than just a 2ww.
I really salute each and every lady here for the courage of going thru this emotional roller coaster.
Jia You bah, ladies.

Develyn
Today 2nd jab of puregon, so far so good

Ohya, can i check with you, the KK IVF nurse tell me not to take any TCM medicine/ herb now.. (becos I asked her any food tat I need to avoid and any food I shld eat more, etc), but Dr Zou did gave me some, is it ok to consume? I called Dr Zou, she said that herbs is to assist me on the treatment, so, i still eat le. any comment?

Dream
Real excited! Just took a 2nd jab..Touch wood, still no sign of side effect..

Thanks libby and Mel for your assurance in the infection thingy. Called my dr up and was told that it's most likely I'll be put in a course of antibiotic as well just in case.

Mel: Your husband was put on 2 course of antibiotic and was not cleared... does that mean CARE will be doing another culture test after my husband's first course of antibiotic ends?

Mel, your husband so nice... can draw to cheer you up. I guess all our husbands are trying 1 way or another to give us the support we need at this moment. Sometime they do feel a bit helpless as there are only so much they can do... We instead have to deal with all the emotions that comes with all the hormone jabs, something our men can't help very much.

Hi Gloriajean, blesswbb,
I had my 1st cycle of IVF wit him and gonna do my 2nd cycle with him. So far u all guys got prob with him?

Twinnie, thanks for the link on preparing for IVF.

axjess, i guess everyone learns through experience. Don't worry i am sure Dr Zou would be able to assist you. Sisters from the forum highly recommend her.

Catherine, thanks. You will be doing in Sept?

Hi Gloria
The ovidrel (HCG) needle is jus like the suprefact needle very small and is injected on the tummy, believe me, its not painful..be brave, dear, Jia You!

Hi blesswbb
I'm with prof wong..but, maybe switching ivf doc..

Hi mel
Thanks for the drawing..your hubby can draw quite well : )

Hi Develyn
Do call up kk to check request to c dr loh okie, (vomitting no joke)...Pls take great care during this period..

Hi die
Welcome to the thread.

Hi Dilemmagal
I used to work in finance line too..with lots of deadline, meeting...can understand your stress..r u starting your ivf cycle soon?

daffodils - yeap.. my hubby went for 2 cultures after each course of antibiotics... they have to ensure that there is no residing bacteria in the semen.. unless you are going straight for ICSI.. else the success of petri dish ivf fertilization of your eggs will be lower mah... agree with your comment abt the helplessness of our hubbies... sometimes they are clueless too

dream - I agree wiv you ...ytd last day for BCP and hopefully AF report soon
My doc also say AF to report 2-3days later
Ytd also did some retail therapy with DH as he wants me to have comfy 2WW so we bought the comfy pillows, bolster n comforter sets .... heheheh ...

noi - I think it will be gd to bring what u have when u c Doc Yong and she could refer to it

Dear Fresh,
Thanks for your advice.After 4 times miscarriage, we have no confidence to try naturally again. Doctor has given the green light for IVF as there is really no other option since they can't conclude what's wrong. Maybe the process of selecting the sperm and the drugs and injections to support the pregnancy before and after will help to sustain this time. For other mummies, they are thrilled once they find out that they are preggy, for me, it will be worry, worry, worry, because after four miscarriages, chances of another one is very high.

BlesswBB, I will take your advice and buy fish oil with omega-3 today.I have been taking folic acid since Feb.

Sue, I'm not sure what Obimin is good for? Is it Vitamin B for stress?

One more thing to share with all ladies here. Many of you are taking ensure milk right. My friend said when she was preggy, her gynae told her to take fresh milk like HL milk so that she will not put on too much weight. Those of you who have weight issue like me may consider that?? I am 1.58m and weigh 67kg. Overweight!!!
so shy...

Dear Die,

Don't have negative thoughts, k? U will sure to become a mummy one day and it's all our dreams here. Anyway, do take care of your health in preparation of your ivf journey. Please take note of the following that we sisters here have collated:

<font size="+1">Do’s and Don’t</font>

<font size="-1">Stage 1 (Lucrin) </font>

- Chicken essence
- Gentle rotation in circle motion clockwise after you have jab your abdomen.

<font size="-1">Stage 2 (Puregon / Gonal-F) </font>

- Ensure milk or Anmum milk
- Chicken essence
- Soya products
- Egg whites (after ET increase dosage of egg whites)
- Brazil nuts
● Cold Storage, small "nut" push-cart stall outside e new Jurong Point 2 NTUC Fairprice Hypermart. It's also located near the Jurong Point 2 Old Town Coffee restaurant
● Cold Storage at Parkway 100g $3.90
● Cold Storage at Great World City
● Cold storage at Bugis for 100g @ $3.90. It located @ at the section where they sell all kinds of nuts eg peanuts, almonds etc
● NTUC at Ang Mo Kio Hub, near the vegetable weighting counter
● Carrefour, near the bread section. Price is $5.65 per 100gm
● Giant at Vivo City with shell type

<font size="-1">Stage 3 (2WW) </font>

- Continue egg whites for at least a week
- Ensure milk or Anmum milk
- 2-3 pieces of Brazil nuts daily
- No pineapple and water melon
- No squatting or carrying of heavy weights (anything that stresses the abdominal muscle)
- No hot sauna or soaking of lower half body in bathtub
- No intercourse
- Do not stand or sit in a position too long. Good to walk a bit to promote circulation
- No raw food and avoid oily and spicy foods as it may cause an upset stomach. High hormone levels cause bloatedness and hence add to discomfort
- No strenuous exercise
- No other medication (eg. TCM) other than those given by your Dr
- No massage on the shoulder and neck